Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIV-37,063 ROI (1,801 deaths) 12,886 NI (582 deaths) (02/10) Read OP

Level 3 has an impact

528369.JPG

• Registered Users Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭CorkRed93

tails_naf wrote: »
    On the topic of the GAA, my kids do camogie and while the local club and coaches are amazing, social distancing is nowhere in sight. While we're all avoiding one another like the (literal) plague, training sessions are full on, contact, group huddles, the works. It seems so strange my wife is spaced 2 meters apart, limited to 6 doing non contact dancing while GAA is a free for all.

Your kids are in poorly ventilated overcrowded classrooms 8hrs a day. Outdoor training is a lot safer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

New Zealand doing great. Great bunch of lads.

https://twitter.com/Styo28183449/status/1313146593261088770?s=20

• Registered Users Posts: 16,108 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I'm a student and have followed every single recommendation. Why should people like me be blamed? Idiotic way of thinking. Bizarre, honestly.

I am not blaming you or anyone else who sticks to the recommendations

• Registered Users Posts: 85,560 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

polesheep wrote: »
    Almost every citizen in the country is helping to spread it, that's how the virus works. Can you honestly say that you have stuck rigidly to the restrictions?
    CorkRed93 wrote: »
    Bit harsh on the 14-19 year olds in secondary schools.
    Everyone is helping spread it. The student comments are bizarre.
    Saw a group of 40+ year old women on the lash around town the other day. Stupid selfish 40+ year olds, bellends!

Cop on with the student bashing. Im a student and following the regulations, as are all my friends. Its 50/50 as it is in practically every age group. Just the focus is on students, as ever

I don't care what age group if you are having large gatherings and house parties, selfish bellends

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

rob316 wrote: »
    You'll never get the numbers down with schools open. They have to stay open but I just can't see how they can. The teachers will refuse to work soon anyway

If we go into Level 4 or 5 I could see the teachers dropping tools, to be honest and I would largely support that. There is no standardised approach to teachers/schools and it leaves them very vulnerable.

• Registered Users Posts: 54,987 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Nphet's job is to offer advice it is the job of government to weigh up that advice with other factors.
    You seem to be confusing the meaning of advice and an order.

Exactly..

Simple: take the advice and slated

Don’t take it and go for a compromise/less restrictive measures: slated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

walshb wrote: »
    I kind of have stuck to them..

You see what I mean? We're all living in glass houses.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,639 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I don't care what age group if you are having large gatherings and house parties, selfish bellends
    Your constant posts about house parties and students suggest otherwise, but okay.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 285 ✭✭TexasTornado

Car crash interview now on Newstalk with Madigan. Siding with Danny McCoy over health professionals in NPHET.

Apparently restrictions are "working" at present. My god useless government mouthpiece

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Boggles wrote: »
    NPHET come out and say given the trend and rise in numbers we need a month "circuit breaker" if you need those 2 things to operate fully.
    Let's do the circuit breaker if it is required, but give people and businesses time to prepare. If the government comes out with a "Level 3" plan this evening, and the strategy is to cross our fingers, we'll be back here next week with Level 5 dropping out of the sky.

I'd much prefer them to say we're going to a 4 week lockdown from Sunday evening with schools closed to get the numbers under control, do what you have to do to get ready.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,677 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

So Tony wanted to let everyone know he is back:D The people getting upset earlier should have realised the government would reject the advice to go to level 5. Those recommending the restrictions probably knew well the government would do so, but are now happy that a compromise has been reached. It also means people who were complaining about the Government previously, will now side with it, and be a bit more accepting of level 3 restrictions nationwide, which was probably the plan all along.

titan18 wrote: »
    Yup, and then people to have the cheek to go look what we're doing to their mental health by stopping them socialising. Why should I care about their mental health if they don't give a **** about my physical health or my parents physical health.

You should hold that to a mirror.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭Coybig_

New Zealand are 6 hours away from the nearest country and unlike us, do not share a land border with another country. Anyone spouting on about New Zealand is a total idiot.

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tails_naf

nimrod86 wrote: »
    Honestly not having a go at you, but if that's the case and you're obviously not all that comfortable with it -why are you sending your kids to camogie at the moment?

Actually we have pulled back from it. Doesn't stop it from happening though...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Gradius

More restrictions for 4 weeks.

And then the numbers go down.

And then we open up.

And then the numbers go up.

And then we lockdown.

And then we open up.

And then we lockdown.

And then we open up.

And then we lock down.

And then we open up.

And then we lockdown.

And the numbers go down.

And then we open up.

And then we lockdown.

And then we open up.

And then we lockdown.

And then we open up.

And then we lockdown.

And then we open up.

And then we lock down.

And then we open up.

And then we lockdown.

And the the numbers go down.

And then we open up.

And then we lockdown.

A cunning plan!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 285 ✭✭TexasTornado

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Are you wumming or do you really think NPHET should be running the country?

You'll have explain to me what wumming is pal.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭CorkRed93

Gradius wrote: »
    More restrictions for 4 weeks.

And then we open up.

And then we lockdown.

And then we open up.

And then we lockdown.

And then we open up.

And then we lock down.

And then we open up.

And then we lockdown.

And the numbers go down.

And then we open up.

And then we lockdown.

And then we open up.

And then we lockdown.

And then we open up.

And then we lockdown.

And then we lock down.

And then we open up.

And then we lockdown.

And then we open up.

And then we lockdown.

A cunning plan!

As we were told last week this is the "plan" for 9 months. utter carnage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭Coybig_

Car crash interview now on Newstalk with Madigan. Siding with Danny McCoy over health professionals in NPHET.

Apparently restrictions are "working" at present. My god useless government mouthpiece

It absolutely wasn't a car crash interview. What on earth are you babbling on about?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

584Wtr wrote: »
    https:// www. rte.ie/news/world/2020/1005/1169604-who-covid-spread/

This would mean that 780 million people have been infected worldwide.

If the 1.04 million worldwide covid death total is correct, then the mortality rate is roughly 0.13%.

Yes but people could have died from it and not known that was the cause of death if they were not tested....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,466 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

A sobering thread regarding the current situation in the UK. Of course it's unlikely to get that far gone considering stricter restrictions will be implemented before it can get that bad. Right?

https://twitter.com/faisalislam/status/1313145585558523911

• Registered Users Posts: 85,560 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

polesheep wrote: »
    Almost every citizen in the country is helping to spread it, that's how the virus works. Can you honestly say that you have stuck rigidly to the restrictions?

Yes as best I can, I have avoided any large gatherings, had close confirmations and weddings cancelled, is it too much for everyone to play their part and cop on during a deadly virus pandemic

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭HeyV

So, apart from what coverage this gets on the 6 o’clock news this evening, there is no brief being shown today?

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭nimrod86

tails_naf wrote: »
    Actually we have pulled back from it. Doesn't stop it from happening though...

Ah right, fair enough! We'd be in a far better situation all round if more people did the same and took personal responsibility over things! Not involved in the GAA or sports myself, but from what I'm hearing coming out over the past few days it seems they really need to get their act together and start hammering local clubs not following the guidelines!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,922 ✭✭✭spookwoman

Someone has some serious delusions of grandeur if they think just because they are a good little so and so that everyone else is doing the exact same thing.

I keep seeing that meme Set of encyclopedias for sale, no longer needed , the husband know f*cking everything.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,463 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Blondini wrote: »
    So a bunch of non-medical suits have ignored doctors orders on our behalf?

Sounds great.

Yeah because the suits actually have to think of a wide range of consequences. If anything the doctors have an easier brief here - if in doubt, lock down.

However that's no way to run a country. The government has done exactly what was asked of them here - considered the medical recommendations, considered the wider impact and met somewhere in between.

Some people seem genuinely annoyed we aren't locking down. Rather weird, though not an attitude you'd encounter offline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭Goldrickssan

Huge questions now about this government. If they can't accept the advice of NPHET they aren't fit for office.

They answer to us not NPHET

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

So Tony wanted to let everyone know he is back:D The people getting upset earlier should have realised the government would reject the advice to go to level 5. Those recommending the restrictions probably knew well the government would do so, but are now happy that a compromise has been reached. It also means people who were complaining about the Government previously, will now side with it, and be a bit more accepting of level 3 restrictions nationwide, which was probably the plan all along.

Tony has damaged himself and NPHET. He was too impatient to make a statement. All he had to do was to highlight serious concerns all week and he would have got his greater enforcement and probably a mix of level 3 and level 4.

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Yes as best I can, I have avoided any large gatherings, had close confirmations and weddings cancelled, is it too much for everyone to play their part and cop on during a deadly virus pandemic

As I said, we're all in glass houses.