Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The death of Thiago Cortes MOD NOTE IN OP

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭Joe Kane

Similar thing happened my uncle a few years ago.

Hit & run, yer man an illegal immigrant just so happened to be Brazilian too walked free from court.

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭celticWario

A sad tale but I do not support the deliveroo cyclists taking the law into their own hands over this.

Let the guards do their job not amateurs biking about

The Gardai are amateurs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,892 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

The Gardai are amateurs.

No, they are the designated police force for this state

RIP to this man

I just wish there was genuinely appropriate prison sentences for the absolute scum who deserve it

I fear we will never get proper prison sentences from FF FG SF labour greens etc

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 85 ✭✭macpaccrack

I went out with a Brazilian girl for a while. On our first date I asked her what made her pick Ireland to learn English, thinking i'd be proud of the answer, Ireland being the land of saints and scholars and all that. She said it's the easiest place to get a visa for and easy to pick up money working off the books.

And was that before or after you became utterly obsessed with being anti immigration?

You’re having a laugh, it’s nothing to do with the working class - none of these people work anyway.
    It’s to do with people’s frustration with the out and out scum we get bled dry for in our taxes only for the same scums to wreck good honest people's lives and then laugh in their faces about it.

People are bloody sick of it. At what point can we call a spade a spade?

This is it, why would anyone refer to the permanently unemployed as working class. Underclass maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

quokula wrote: »
    The anti-working class bigotry is as bad as the xenophobic bigotry on this thread. There was a road collision, and nobody here saw it or knows how it occurred, but seem to have decided what happened based on whether they hate foreigners / young people / delivery companies / Dubliners more. The Gardai will hopefully get to the bottom of what actually happened.

Condolences to the family of mister Cortes.

Your attitude of leniency is what leads to this type of crime.

Your post has made me feel sick to my stomach.
    There is no hope for decent people in this country to expect justice when attitudes similar to yours abound.

Happy4all wrote: »
    what? as opposed to if we had a Shinners govt?

You will note i included sf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,637 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Brazil is an amazing place with the friendliest of people. A lot of them have nothing but they can’t do enough for you. Sure it has its problems like any country but it’s a beautiful place and well worth a visit.

RIP to this young man. Horrible way to die.

working for deliveroo and living in Dublin doesn’t sound to me like something that can work financially.

I don’t doubt that these lads will be found, if they have not fled the country already, with finger prints, cctv, dashcams and the fact that 4 people can’t stay quiet It won’t be long before they get caught hopefully.

I don’t doubt either that they have records and it won’t be their first day in court.

I must say it was great to see those complete toe rags being chased in their own area by the Brazilians.

Finally someone has stood up to them and when they were directly confronted they ran like the cowardly rats they are.

For some background. I live in the North Inner city and know the area well. People are saying classist this and classist that but I am from the community so I don't mind saying it. Most people in my area aren't going to amount to anything and have no intention of even trying. They are happy to collect welfare, sell drugs and party. There are SOME with young families who will work hard for a trade but those are not representative of the community.

There has been a very big issue of the youths actively targeting the influx of Brazilians in the area. They'll attack them, threaten them with knives, rob their money or bicycles and generally threaten and intimidate them. However its worse than that, the 'adults' in the area close ranks when the Brazilians (or anyone else from outside the area) stand up to them and will defend these little ****ers.

The ONLY thing that has surprised me is that the first killing of a Brazilian by these toe rags was by a car and not a hammer or screw driver. Believe me its only a matter of time going on what I see weekly.

The Brazilians don't report it because (1) the guards don't care (2) go to report a crime as a Brazilian and depending on the guard you might be getting asked questions on your visa.

The guards REGULARLY stop deliveroo guys on bikes searching their bags for drugs but known local gear dealers in the area just stroll past them. The guards don't touch them. They don't even challenge them. Far easier for the Guards to push around some young Brazilian students than actually tackling the dangerous elements in the community. Helps Mr.Guard feel better about himself because they've lost the respect of the community a long time ago.

From what I have seen yesterday the Brazilians aren't going to tolerate this scumbaggery any longer and will take matters into their own hands with these scumbags. To be perfectly honest they have little other choice because they are being targeted so often.

Yesterday a man was killed. He was a man with a young family. He recently engaged and working hard to support a masters degree in business. He was loved by the community and has never been involved in crime. He is exactly the type of person we want in Ireland. Works hard, pays his taxes, wants to study and pay for a high level degree and doesn't cause trouble.
    He was killed by 4 known thugs, with a history of crime in a stolen car. They left him to die on the road and have no guilt whatsoever. They are likely generations of welfare recipients living rent free in the city centre attacking hard working people like Thiago just trying to live his life the right way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,597 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Have to say it was great to see videos of people standing up to these scumbags on their own patch (courtesy of the taxpayer), warmed my heart!

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Zookey123

Yep nothing better than seeing the cowards run for their lives. Too bad they didnt get caught and have a taste of their own medicine.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

[quote="macpaccrack;114510996

The Brazilians don't report it because (1) the guards don't care (2) go to report a crime as a Brazilian and depending on the guard you might be getting asked questions on your visa.

Typical throughout institutions in this country. If your raise a problem, you become the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,047 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

was there some issue that a TD was trying to get rectified through a bill re purchasing of unregistered cars

Typical throughout institutions in this country. If your raise a problem, you become the problem.

It sort of like the Guards resent being asked to do work for Brazilians. They have this superiority complex and will just fob them off. If they're persistent in wanting something investigated then the guards get combative and will start asking questions about their visa to scare them off.

Basically they'll just about get off their arses and do some work for an Irish person but all bets are off if you're a foreigner from outside the EU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭John Hutton

Young scumbags like these used to be sent off to industrial schools (not that this was necessarily right). Now we have gone too far the other way and are afraid to do anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Zookey123

It sort of like the Guards resent being asked to do work for Brazilians. They have this superiority complex and will just fob them off. If they're persistent in wanting something investigated then the guards get combative and will start asking questions about their visa to scare them off.

Basically they'll just about get off their arses and do some work for an Irish person but all bets are off if you're a foreigner from outside the EU.

Sounds like you are generalising a bit there tbf. I am sure some gardai might act that way but highly doubt thats the mind set of the majority unless you have some evidence to prove otherwise?

I will be donating to his Gofundme.

Tragic reading his father's comments and leaving behind a young family.

You'd think Deliveroo would pay for his body to repatriated or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Feisar

Young scumbags like these used to be sent off to industrial schools (not that this was necessarily right). Now we have gone too far the other way and are afraid to do anything.

Society doesn't have the stomach to deal with them. We failed these people since the foundation of the State, third/fourth generation unemployment. No amount of amenities will change things. We need to eradicate them from society, either a bullet to the base of the skull or perpetual incarceration. It's not a question of right or wrong, it's just that we failed and now need to remove the cancer.

I said it in the thread about the Chinese lady that was pushed in the canal. People were OMG! she could have died, well now someone has.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,739 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

RIP to the man that died.

He was out earning a living, something the pond life in that car know nothing about because they will be welfare leeches from cradle to grave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Gerry Hatrick

Why are people mentioning working classes and social housing on this thread? I'm failing to see the connection to that and the hit and run.

Feisar wrote: »
    Society doesn't have the stomach to deal with them. We failed these people since the foundation of the State, third/fourth generation unemployment. No amount of amenities will change things. We need to eradicate them from society, either a bullet to the base of the skull or perpetual incarceration. It's not a question of right or wrong, it's just that we failed and now need to remove the cancer.

I said it in the thread about the Chinese lady that was pushed in the canal. People were OMG! she could have died, well now someone has.

Failed them?

They DONT WANT TO WORK. Believe me I know them.

Look at the Brazilians working their asses off in freezing conditions and regularly getting abused and attacked just so they can scrape together enough money to pay their rent to live in a squalid, crowded apartment and maybe one day afford to pay for a high level degree.

Meanwhile these ****ing scumbags who never have to worry about rent, have FREE EDUCATION if they bothered to try go to University and receive so many different welfares its hard to keep track of it - jobseekers, single mother, child allowance, disability (when they are NOT actually disabled) I could go on and on. And these are the ****ers that will turn around and attack you or break your window or rob your new phone or kick your wing mirror off your car.

They'll kill a hard working man, think so little of him that they'll leave him to die on the street and if they do go to prison then I guarantee you that they and their families will see them as the victims. The disconnect and entitlement on these people is something that you need to live there to witness. They'll be packing their bags for 3 weeks in Lanzarote while complaining about how they have nothing --- they can't even see how ridiculous it is that someone can never hold down a job but can still afford to go on holidays, go to the pub every weekend and live in a nice apartment in the centre of the city.

Why are people mentioning working classes and social housing on this thread? I'm failing to see the connection to that and the hit and run.

Because most of these scumbags live in social housing paid for by the rest of us.

Some people refer to them as being from a working class back round which is incorrect, they are welfare scroungers who never worked just like their parents and should be in a category all to themselves.

Failed them?

They DONT WANT TO WORK. Believe me I know them.

Look at the Brazilians working their asses off in freezing conditions and regularly getting abused and attacked just so they can scrape together enough money to pay their rent to live in a squalid, crowded apartment and maybe one day afford to pay for a high level degree.

Meanwhile these ****ing scumbags who never have to worry about rent, have FREE EDUCATION if they bothered to try go to University and receive so many different welfares its hard to keep track of it - jobseekers, single mother, child allowance, disability (when they are NOT actually disabled) I could go on and on. And these are the ****ers that will turn around and attack you or break your window or rob your new phone or kick your wing mirror off your car.

They'll kill a hard working man, think so little of him that they'll leave him to die on the street and if they do go to prison then I guarantee you that they and their families will see them as the victims. The disconnect and entitlement on these people is something that you need to live there to witness. They'll be packing their bags for 3 weeks in Lanzarote while complaining about how they have nothing --- they can't even see how ridiculous it is that someone can never hold down a job but can still afford to go on holidays, go to the pub every weekend and live in a nice apartment in the centre of the city.

I think you missed what I was getting at. We failed their grandfathers. A third or even forth generational leech isn't going to suddenly become a productive member of society.

Edit - DNA wise they are the same as us. A 1000 odd years ago their and our ancestors were members of a tribe/group of circa 50 people. I'd say if one didn't pull their weight one would be shunned and die or be killed. Somewhere in recent times whinging meant getting a hand out and these people have been whinging since.

My boy is only 14 months old and I'm already teaching him whinging won't get him what he wants.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,156 ✭✭✭opinionated3

I think you missed what I was getting at. We failed their grandfathers. A third or even forth generational leech isn't going to suddenly become a productive member of society.

Nobody was failed. They know the difference between right and wrong, working for a living and being a layabout. They are scum. Stop trying to make excuses for them

Maybe you could flesh that out a bit more as to how their Grandfathers generation was failed by society.

We would be talking around the 1950s and 60s I'm guessing when most people barely had a pot to piss in, how come others reared children to become decent members of society when they were in the same poverty trap as these families.

The only way the state has failed them is making them too reliant on it and they do nothing for themselves, any problem they ring the council and let them solve it.

Nobody was failed. They know the difference between right and wrong, working for a living and being a layabout. They are scum. Stop trying to make excuses for them

Go back and read my 1st post in this thread and my solution is a bullet to the base of the skull. Excuses?

Maybe you could flesh that out a bit more as to how their Grandfathers generation was failed by society.

We would be talking around the 1950s and 60s I'm guessing when most people barely had a pot to piss in, how come others reared children to become decent members of society when they were in the same poverty trap as these families.

The only way the state has failed them is making them too reliant on it and they do nothing for themselves, any problem they ring the council and let them solve it.

You know when rich people say they got a bounce of the ball/rub of the green. Well these jokers got a hand out and kept getting them. Their kids did and so on. Is it any wonder their is a sense of entitlement?

Because most of these scumbags live in social housing paid for by the rest of us.

Some people refer to them as being from a working class back round which is incorrect, they are welfare scroungers who never worked just like their parents and should be in a category all to themselves.

People from social housing work and pay rent also.

Sorry to clarify. We might not have failed the current crop of shíte however we allowed them to be reared by wasters. What did we expect to come from that?

People from social housing work and pay rent also.

Never said otherwise, but we all know skangers like this lot also live in social housing because they don't work at all and so its free for them.

Is there any evidence these lads lived in social housing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭spakman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

I like to know the exact position of drivers and cyclist before I condemn or sympathise.

I've had two experiences with drliveroo cyclists in the past week.
    Neither would have impressed me with their cycling or even pretending to follow any of the rules of the road, which cyclists are supposed to do too.

Yes the people in the car were capable of causing damage/death with their vehicle but every road user has a responsibility to drive/cycle with care and attention.

I like to know the exact position of drivers and cyclist before I condemn or sympathise.

Neither would have impressed me with their cycling or even pretending to follow any of the rules of the road, which cyclists are supposed to do too.

Yes the people in the car were capable of causing damage/death with their vehicle but every road user has a responsibility to drive/cycle with care and attention.

Absolute gobsh*te.

spakman wrote: »

So you've no idea so.

They drove off and left him on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭spakman

So you've no idea so.

I know what the likelihood is, and I'd say you do too.

They drove off and left him on the road.

Yes but he saw some deliveroo cyclists cycling badly the other day so he's not sure if he should sympathise with the man mown over by joyriders and left on the road to die while they ran off

Yeah you are right they probably live in a 1 million euro house in Castleknock and go to Trinity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

They won't do fk all for Irish people either unless they have to.

It's becoming a serious threat to our society along with the completely out of touch judiciary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Sounds Victorian/American Justice system but for serious crimes we need to look at lowering the age of criminal responsibility.

If you're old enough to go cruising around in an illegally held car you are old enough to be able to suffer the consequences when it goes wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Daragh1980

Some on the Left are remarkably quiet about this given that it seems the joyriders are underprivileged. I guess the usual excuses will start.

Daragh1980 wrote: »
    Some on the Left are remarkably quiet about this given that it seems the joyriders are underprivileged. I guess the usual excuses will start.

How are they under privileged. Do you have information on the suspects? How do you know this.

spakman wrote: »
    I know what the likelihood is, and I'd say you do too.

Iv'e no idea. Best not to spread unsubstantiated rumours until the facts come out i know that though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

And we all thought the NI Commish would sort this all out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Daragh1980

How are they under privileged. Do you have information on the suspects? How do you know this.

Friend who has lived all his life in north inner city told me.

Daragh1980 wrote: »
    Friend who has lived all his life in north inner city told me.

Taxi driver is he :rolleyes:

For god's sake that's just hearsay.

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭tiger_cub

Niallof9 wrote: »
    Emailed Martin highlighting this. I suppose its just anti pc to be vocal about it. Ireland has always had a chip on its shoulder around law enforcement even among the middle class etc.

I live in D1 and while it’s always been bad, the last few months since lockdown have been absolutely lawless. Scheduled fights between kids shutting down roads, gangs patrolling and since June it‘s been fireworks starting at lunchtime going to all hours of the night. The complex I live in had to make calls to the Gardai multiple times a day since about May given the level of unrest all over the neighbourhood. The odd day a patrol car would drive by but rarely stopped and I can’t blame them really.

My real issue came on Wednesday when the Dail came back to sit at the Convention Center. There’s now about 12 on foot Gardai, 2-4 mounted Gardai and an aqua unit boat cruising the Liffey at any point during the day. So the Ministers and TDs are more deserving of protection than the families and young professionals who live in the area and all of the workers who come through the area on a daily basis?

To the posters trying to make this about cycling - North Wall Quay is arguably the widest road in city center. At 10.30pm there is very little traffic. (But cycling doesn’t even come into it)

This incident hit me hard. I’ve emailed Helen McEntee to ask her to account for disparity in Gardai resources in the area through the summer (and indeed Monday night) versus two days later when the Dail is sitting 200m from where this man died on his own on the side of the road. I don’t expect a response but I’m so damn irate about this I‘ll nearly keep going and email every one of the 160 TDS until someone gives some answers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

They won't do fk all for Irish people either unless they have to.

It's becoming a serious threat to our society along with the completely out of touch judiciary.

I think the knock on of the judiciary not acting or dishing out appropriate sentencing is leading to the Guards in the area being demotivated.

The judiciary need to be held to account.