Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The death of Thiago Cortes MOD NOTE IN OP

• Registered Users Posts: 13,918 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Have to say it was great to see videos of people standing up to these scumbags on their own patch (courtesy of the taxpayer), warmed my heart!

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Zookey123

Yep nothing better than seeing the cowards run for their lives. Too bad they didnt get caught and have a taste of their own medicine.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

[quote="macpaccrack;114510996

The Brazilians don't report it because (1) the guards don't care (2) go to report a crime as a Brazilian and depending on the guard you might be getting asked questions on your visa.

Typical throughout institutions in this country. If your raise a problem, you become the problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,772 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

was there some issue that a TD was trying to get rectified through a bill re purchasing of unregistered cars

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 85 ✭✭macpaccrack

Typical throughout institutions in this country. If your raise a problem, you become the problem.

It sort of like the Guards resent being asked to do work for Brazilians. They have this superiority complex and will just fob them off. If they're persistent in wanting something investigated then the guards get combative and will start asking questions about their visa to scare them off.

Basically they'll just about get off their arses and do some work for an Irish person but all bets are off if you're a foreigner from outside the EU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭John Hutton

Young scumbags like these used to be sent off to industrial schools (not that this was necessarily right). Now we have gone too far the other way and are afraid to do anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Zookey123

It sort of like the Guards resent being asked to do work for Brazilians. They have this superiority complex and will just fob them off. If they're persistent in wanting something investigated then the guards get combative and will start asking questions about their visa to scare them off.

Basically they'll just about get off their arses and do some work for an Irish person but all bets are off if you're a foreigner from outside the EU.

Sounds like you are generalising a bit there tbf. I am sure some gardai might act that way but highly doubt thats the mind set of the majority unless you have some evidence to prove otherwise?

I will be donating to his Gofundme.

Tragic reading his father's comments and leaving behind a young family.

You'd think Deliveroo would pay for his body to repatriated or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,613 ✭✭✭Feisar

Young scumbags like these used to be sent off to industrial schools (not that this was necessarily right). Now we have gone too far the other way and are afraid to do anything.

Society doesn't have the stomach to deal with them. We failed these people since the foundation of the State, third/fourth generation unemployment. No amount of amenities will change things. We need to eradicate them from society, either a bullet to the base of the skull or perpetual incarceration. It's not a question of right or wrong, it's just that we failed and now need to remove the cancer.

I said it in the thread about the Chinese lady that was pushed in the canal. People were OMG! she could have died, well now someone has.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 16,348 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

RIP to the man that died.

He was out earning a living, something the pond life in that car know nothing about because they will be welfare leeches from cradle to grave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Gerry Hatrick

Why are people mentioning working classes and social housing on this thread? I'm failing to see the connection to that and the hit and run.

Feisar wrote: »
    Society doesn't have the stomach to deal with them. We failed these people since the foundation of the State, third/fourth generation unemployment. No amount of amenities will change things. We need to eradicate them from society, either a bullet to the base of the skull or perpetual incarceration. It's not a question of right or wrong, it's just that we failed and now need to remove the cancer.

I said it in the thread about the Chinese lady that was pushed in the canal. People were OMG! she could have died, well now someone has.

Failed them?

They DONT WANT TO WORK. Believe me I know them.

Look at the Brazilians working their asses off in freezing conditions and regularly getting abused and attacked just so they can scrape together enough money to pay their rent to live in a squalid, crowded apartment and maybe one day afford to pay for a high level degree.

Meanwhile these ****ing scumbags who never have to worry about rent, have FREE EDUCATION if they bothered to try go to University and receive so many different welfares its hard to keep track of it - jobseekers, single mother, child allowance, disability (when they are NOT actually disabled) I could go on and on. And these are the ****ers that will turn around and attack you or break your window or rob your new phone or kick your wing mirror off your car.

They'll kill a hard working man, think so little of him that they'll leave him to die on the street and if they do go to prison then I guarantee you that they and their families will see them as the victims. The disconnect and entitlement on these people is something that you need to live there to witness. They'll be packing their bags for 3 weeks in Lanzarote while complaining about how they have nothing --- they can't even see how ridiculous it is that someone can never hold down a job but can still afford to go on holidays, go to the pub every weekend and live in a nice apartment in the centre of the city.

Why are people mentioning working classes and social housing on this thread? I'm failing to see the connection to that and the hit and run.

Because most of these scumbags live in social housing paid for by the rest of us.

Some people refer to them as being from a working class back round which is incorrect, they are welfare scroungers who never worked just like their parents and should be in a category all to themselves.

Failed them?

They DONT WANT TO WORK. Believe me I know them.

Look at the Brazilians working their asses off in freezing conditions and regularly getting abused and attacked just so they can scrape together enough money to pay their rent to live in a squalid, crowded apartment and maybe one day afford to pay for a high level degree.

Meanwhile these ****ing scumbags who never have to worry about rent, have FREE EDUCATION if they bothered to try go to University and receive so many different welfares its hard to keep track of it - jobseekers, single mother, child allowance, disability (when they are NOT actually disabled) I could go on and on. And these are the ****ers that will turn around and attack you or break your window or rob your new phone or kick your wing mirror off your car.

They'll kill a hard working man, think so little of him that they'll leave him to die on the street and if they do go to prison then I guarantee you that they and their families will see them as the victims. The disconnect and entitlement on these people is something that you need to live there to witness. They'll be packing their bags for 3 weeks in Lanzarote while complaining about how they have nothing --- they can't even see how ridiculous it is that someone can never hold down a job but can still afford to go on holidays, go to the pub every weekend and live in a nice apartment in the centre of the city.

I think you missed what I was getting at. We failed their grandfathers. A third or even forth generational leech isn't going to suddenly become a productive member of society.

Edit - DNA wise they are the same as us. A 1000 odd years ago their and our ancestors were members of a tribe/group of circa 50 people. I'd say if one didn't pull their weight one would be shunned and die or be killed. Somewhere in recent times whinging meant getting a hand out and these people have been whinging since.

My boy is only 14 months old and I'm already teaching him whinging won't get him what he wants.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭opinionated3

I think you missed what I was getting at. We failed their grandfathers. A third or even forth generational leech isn't going to suddenly become a productive member of society.

Nobody was failed. They know the difference between right and wrong, working for a living and being a layabout. They are scum. Stop trying to make excuses for them

Maybe you could flesh that out a bit more as to how their Grandfathers generation was failed by society.

We would be talking around the 1950s and 60s I'm guessing when most people barely had a pot to piss in, how come others reared children to become decent members of society when they were in the same poverty trap as these families.

The only way the state has failed them is making them too reliant on it and they do nothing for themselves, any problem they ring the council and let them solve it.

Nobody was failed. They know the difference between right and wrong, working for a living and being a layabout. They are scum. Stop trying to make excuses for them

Go back and read my 1st post in this thread and my solution is a bullet to the base of the skull. Excuses?

Maybe you could flesh that out a bit more as to how their Grandfathers generation was failed by society.

We would be talking around the 1950s and 60s I'm guessing when most people barely had a pot to piss in, how come others reared children to become decent members of society when they were in the same poverty trap as these families.

The only way the state has failed them is making them too reliant on it and they do nothing for themselves, any problem they ring the council and let them solve it.

You know when rich people say they got a bounce of the ball/rub of the green. Well these jokers got a hand out and kept getting them. Their kids did and so on. Is it any wonder their is a sense of entitlement?

Because most of these scumbags live in social housing paid for by the rest of us.

Some people refer to them as being from a working class back round which is incorrect, they are welfare scroungers who never worked just like their parents and should be in a category all to themselves.

People from social housing work and pay rent also.

Sorry to clarify. We might not have failed the current crop of shíte however we allowed them to be reared by wasters. What did we expect to come from that?

People from social housing work and pay rent also.

Never said otherwise, but we all know skangers like this lot also live in social housing because they don't work at all and so its free for them.

Is there any evidence these lads lived in social housing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭spakman

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

I like to know the exact position of drivers and cyclist before I condemn or sympathise.

I've had two experiences with drliveroo cyclists in the past week.
    Neither would have impressed me with their cycling or even pretending to follow any of the rules of the road, which cyclists are supposed to do too.

Yes the people in the car were capable of causing damage/death with their vehicle but every road user has a responsibility to drive/cycle with care and attention.

I like to know the exact position of drivers and cyclist before I condemn or sympathise.

Neither would have impressed me with their cycling or even pretending to follow any of the rules of the road, which cyclists are supposed to do too.

Yes the people in the car were capable of causing damage/death with their vehicle but every road user has a responsibility to drive/cycle with care and attention.

Absolute gobsh*te.

spakman wrote: »

So you've no idea so.

They drove off and left him on the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭spakman

So you've no idea so.

I know what the likelihood is, and I'd say you do too.

They drove off and left him on the road.

Yes but he saw some deliveroo cyclists cycling badly the other day so he's not sure if he should sympathise with the man mown over by joyriders and left on the road to die while they ran off

Yeah you are right they probably live in a 1 million euro house in Castleknock and go to Trinity.