Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it just me or have SF vanished?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,788 ✭✭✭✭maccored

As a matter of interest, who is the current Health/NHS minister in the Northern Ireland assembly?

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/who-are-the-new-ministers-in-the-northern-ireland-executive-1.4137271
    The UUP with sixth choice appointed North Antrim MLA Robin Swann as Minister of Health.

doesnt matter who the minister is - Westminster runs the NHS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Sultan_of_Ping

smurgen wrote: »
    Don't worry, they're looking after the health care workers well now!

https://twitter.com/paddycosgrave/status/1243888703958892547?s=19

Paddy should stick to party planning and wearing jumpers.

Here's the thing any epidemiologist will tell you......comparing stats and curves across countries is pointless unless the countries are comparable in their demographic and socio-economic factors.

If you think he has anything useful to say, you are sadly mistaken.

https://twitter.com/paddycosgrave/status/1236234782796910592?s=21

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

The NHS in NI IS a devolved power
    Nurses were on strike because Stormont didnt give them their pay rises because it didnt sit for a few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,083 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Weepsie wrote: »
    That's a typical answer there. When you can't engage you say some ah!the like that.

ye all must have amazing arms to be able to move the goalposts so much and deflect even morem

I made a simple statement about how FG are managing the crisis - quite well but with some lapses and mistakes - and I get along winded reply about your political stance and a bit of a rant about SF, that has nothing in it for me to reply to tbh..

The 15000 number was forecast if we intoduced no restrictions.

I disagree.

but let's say that is what he said. Where is the sense of it?

'We look like we will hit 15,000 lads...lets introduce minor restrictions'.

but, we don't go anywhere near 15,000 and it's:...'lets lock the country down as it has never been locked down before'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Yeah, anyone using an opinion of Paddy Cosgrave to support their argument should have given up long ago.

He's still grinding his axe because people didn't bend over backwards to give him a load of stuff for free for his nonsense gathering of the self interested.

He's not missed, Web Summit is not missed and he knows it.

So he's lying? Our healthcare workers are not taking a particular hammering? More so than other countries? Stick you finger in your ears.toe the party line.the number will speak the truth.

https://twitter.com/Castletonian/status/1243697698722787329?s=19

https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1243961951224463361?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,822 ✭✭✭✭First Up

but, we don't go anywhere near 15,000 and it's:...'lets lock the country down as it has never been locked down before'.

I think you should leave it to people who know what they are talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

First Up wrote: »
    I think you should leave it to people who know what they are talking about.
    This site would be empty if we applied that rule. The boozers are closed so where else can people spout ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,750 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

I made a simple statement about how FG are managing the crisis - quite well but with some lapses and mistakes - and I get along winded reply about your political stance and a bit of a rant about SF, that has nothing in it for me to reply to tbh..

They're not able to handle the least bit of criticism, good at dishing it out though. Still hurting since the election result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭NewRed2

Bah, I had a gander but couldn't find it. What post number was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Sultan_of_Ping

smurgen wrote: »
    So he's lying? Our healthcare workers are not taking a particular hammering? More so than other countries? Stick you finger in your ears.toe the party line.the number will speak the truth.

https://twitter.com/Castletonian/status/1243697698722787329?s=19

https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1243961951224463361?s=19

Basic stats......what are the testing regimes? If you are testing randomly and without a plan those figures are worrying......if testing is focused, following a pre-screening and screening then a high hit rate means tests are not being wasted.

So, if you are going to throw figures around, provide the context for them or else there just so much useless noise.....and there's already too much of that around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,750 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Yeah, anyone using an opinion of Paddy Cosgrave to support their argument should have given up long ago.

He's still grinding his axe because people didn't bend over backwards to give him a load of stuff for free for his nonsense gathering of the self interested.

He's not missed, Web Summit is not missed and he knows it.

Gathering of the self Interested? Is this the web Summit you're referring to? That's still a successful annual event since it's move to Portugal.

Or are you referring to The Gathering when you're talking about the Gathering of the self interested? Leo's spin doctor John Concannon is one of those to thank for The Gathering.

No you didn't, you stated this. And to this I replied.

You opened the door about political stances and have several times accused me of having one that I don't. I'm well within my rights to correct you on that.

You're bluster and deflection, nothing more.

If it smells like a duck...etc etc.

I have no interest who you support or don't support. I saw an arrogant position redolent of FG arrogance and called it out. Happy to withdraw the FG bit if it upset you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭CtevenSrowder

I disagree.

but let's say that is what he said. Where is the sense of it?

'We look like we will hit 15,000 lads...lets introduce minor restrictions'.

Disagree all you want my point is backed up by the article you posted.

The restrictions are brought in step by step, as opposed to an immediate and complete lockdown, as they can only be imposed for so long before they become counter productive (so the argument goes). The aim is slow the spread, and each increase in restrictions slows it that bit more.

Here's a quote from Dr. Tony Holohan from 17th March

"We're not recommending lockdown. It would be very easy to recommend every airport, workplace, every part of society to close. That might reduce the spread of the virus, but it would be a disproportionate response" .

So faced with the projections showing 15,000 cases - minor restrictions.

Now when the numbers come no where near the projections we have the hardest lockdown ever seen in the state?

There is no shame in admitting you got something wrong and it is a sign of strength to be able to accept advice or that you may have gotten something wrong.

Now when the numbers come no where near the projections we have the hardest lockdown ever seen in the state?

There is no shame in admitting you got something wrong and it is a sign of strength to be able to accept advice or that you may have gotten something wrong.

I didn't get anything wrong, we still have an increase in cases. We are slowing that even more. I don't think you quite get how it works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

Anyone any information about supplies of Helmet CPAP available to the Irish Hospital system, and whether their use forms any part of the treatment strategy.

Big advantage of CPAP is that it does not require intubation of the cases for which it is inititaily suitable.

It is relatively simple technology so it may be possible to produce and assemble here.

20160524-respiratory.jpg?itok=zo6Bw2lC&timestamp=1464030316

Italians have been adapting French diving masks with 3-D printed fittings.

ISINNOVAjpg-780x470.jpg

One study from Italy showed 30% of admissions needed respiratory support which was met with Helmet CPAP (not face mask CPAP*).
    https://rebelem.com/covid-19-a-powerful-message-from-italy/

Few days ago I read a report somewhere that Italians had found that with CPAP usage a significant number of the hospitalised did not deteriorate to the expected extent and so did not need ICU beds. (didn't link it unfortunately).

https://www.nih.gov/news-events/nih-research-matters/helmet-based-ventilation-eases-respiratory-distress
    https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/?term=Exhaled+air+dispersion+during+non-invasive+ventilation+via+helmet+masks

Bekker, your post is better suited to the main cornoavirus thread then it is here.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058064876&page=499

I didn't get anything wrong,

I was talking about FG.

We'll have to agree to disagree. I think there isn't a plan. This is a one day at a time situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

Bekker, your post is better suited to the main cornoavirus thread then it is here.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058064876&page=499

:eek: Thanks, yes of course it is, was checking something in this one forum 'fore I got called away and didn't check open forum before posting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,822 ✭✭✭✭First Up

Comments like this illustrate why we are lucky there are not enough dunces to vote the mathematically challenged into office.

First Up wrote: »
    Comments like this illustrate why we are lucky there are not enough dunces to vote the mathematically challenged into office.

Well..it only makes sense as a strategy if they didn't actually believe we were gonna hit 15,000.
    If they did believe it, then it was irresponsible not to lockdown.

Well..it only makes sense as a strategy if they didn't actually believe we were gonna hit 15,000.
    If they did believe it, then it was irresponsible not to lockdown.

They did believe we'd hit 15000... if we introduced no restrictions. The restrictions were then implemented step by step, each a bit more extreme then the last. We're now at the one were we more or less have nowhere left to go.

So we let it spread first then try and lockdown?

Doesn't make sense no matter which way you spin it. If you think something is going to spin out of control...lock down.

I think Leo was egging the pudding maybe and wanted to scare people into compliance...it didn't fully work out, so now we need law and full lockdown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,752 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Doesn't make sense no matter which way you spin it. If you think something is going to spin out of control...lock down.

I think Leo was egging the pudding maybe and wanted to scare people into compliance...it didn't fully work out, so now we need law and full lockdown.

I think your digging and digging trying to get around the point of admitting you where wrong.....its been done to death now and your still wrong, admit it and move on.....cant see another few pages of this

As I said:
    The restrictions are brought in step by step, as opposed to an immediate and complete lockdown, as they can only be imposed for so long before they become counter productive (so the argument goes). The aim is slow the spread, and each increase in restrictions slows it that bit more.

If you disagree with Dr. Holohan's expert opinion fair enough. Sure give the HSE a call there and see if they'll let you take over instead. The policy we've implemented has been implemented by virtually all countries in Western Europe affected by this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Blaze420

It didn’t work because quite a few people in this country seem to have some form of mental retardation and think they can do whatever they want whenever they want. These steps might mitigate that but if it continues I’d duly support the use of force to make them understand, be that rubber bullets or tear gas. The time for niceties is well over now, follow the ****ing rules or suffer the consequences

You're a scientist now?
    Which university?

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    I think your digging and digging trying to get around the point of admitting you where wrong.....its been done to death now and your still wrong, admit it and move on.....cant see another few pages of this

If you believe something is going to go out of control (and 15,000 cases is out of control) do you take action as soon as you realise that or wait?

Take your time answering and think through using 'logic'.

Because it makes no 'logical' sense to me...unless the Taoiseach was trying to scare and projections never really showed that growth.

I suppose if you believe the HSE and our medical pro's(Not to mention the bould FG) have a history of infallibility then you can have faith. I don't believe that, sadly.

If you believe something is going to go out of control (and 15,000 cases is out of control) do you take action as soon as you realise that or wait?

Take your time answering and think through using 'logic'.

Because it makes no 'logical' sense to me...unless the Taoiseach was trying to scare and projections never really showed that growth.

I suppose if you believe the HSE and our medical pro's(Not to mention the bould FG) have a history of infallibility then you can have faith. I don't believe that, sadly.

Jesus, this is claptrap of the lowest order.