Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it just me or have SF vanished?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,370 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Runaways wrote: »
    Oh god

When did they go off script?
    What script.
    They were calling for full lockdown over a week ago and consistently since

Exactly. They were calling for a full lockdown when NPHET were not recommending that.

NPHET and the CMO have consistently told us that if we have a full lockdown at the wrong time it will not work, because we need everyone on board and they know that it is a time limited measure.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

It would be better if SF kept quiet - they've spent decades telling people not to trust "the system" and as long trying to subvert the various authorities and institutions in the Republic and in the North. They can't undo that work among their followers and membership in a few weeks.

Plus, they literally have no expertise - leadership and progression in SF depends on ideological reliability, not inherent ability, which explains why they have what they have running their party.

Show me one post where SF gave dangerous advice in relation to the Corona virus?

It would be better if SF kept quiet
    It would be better still if they took their lead on medical matters from the CMO and NPHET.

Phoebas wrote: »
    Exactly. They were calling for a full lockdown when NPHET were not recommending that.

NPHET and the CMO have consistently told us that if we have a full lockdown at the wrong time it will not work, because we need everyone on board and they know that it is a time limited measure.

This could potentially end in rolling lockdowns to September 2021 do you see a massive risk of non compliance with an early lock down of a week?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Runaways

It would be better if SF kept quiet - they've spent decades telling people not to trust "the system" and as long trying to subvert the various authorities and institutions in the Republic and in the North. They can't undo that work among their followers and membership in a few weeks.

Plus, they literally have no expertise - leadership and progression in SF depends on ideological reliability, not inherent ability, which explains why they have what they have running their party.

Can you tell me what expertise Simon Harris has? To be in charge of such a serious brief?
    Can you tell me what expertise Leo has when he was in health and then welfare and made an unholy balls of both? And then what expertise he had to end up Taoiseach?

And that golden child of all Eoghan Murphy?
    In what universe is he appropriate for minister for housing? What relevant skills does he have?

Fact is we have a whole team of incompetents in briefs they have no business being in.

Coveney is doing a great job. The rest?

Don’t even

• Registered Users Posts: 436 ✭✭Sultan_of_Ping

smurgen wrote: »
    Is that why Leo got the leadership ahead of coveney?

No, he got it because of something SF wouldn't understand - within the party he won the contest for ideas, plus he was just better organised.

It might come as a surprise to SF but dissent, discontent, factional politics are the signs of a healthy political party - it's a positive that the leader has to look over their shoulder and see two or three leaders-in-waiting willing, when necessary, to articulate potential policies at odds with the party.

Can you tell me what expertise Simon Harris has? To be in charge of such a serious brief?
    Can you tell me what expertise Leo has when he was in health and then welfare and made an unholy balls of both? And then what expertise he had to end up Taoiseach?

And that golden child of all Eoghan Murphy?
    In what universe is he appropriate for minister for housing? What relevant skills does he have?

Fact is we have a whole team of incompetents in briefs they have no business being in.

Coveney is doing a great job. The rest?

Don’t even

Yeah, I'm not sure there's too many would agree with that - seem to be doing a pretty job according to my bro (the doctor) and de ma (the retired nursing sister).

You'd wonder what unholy mess we'd be in now if we had an SF minister in Health!

Yeah, I'm not sure there's too many would agree with that - seem to be doing a pretty job according to my bro (the doctor) and de ma (the retired nursing sister).

You'd wonder what unholy mess we'd be in now if we had an SF minister in Health!

If you’re really celebrating any minister current or formers performance in health you really really haven’t been paying attention.

• Registered Users Posts: 586 ✭✭✭dh1985

In Ni where SF are in power there is no complete lockdown and flights weren't cancelled from italy like people here are saying should have happened in the south. In fact schools in Ni were open a week later in NI under SF watch. Talking out of both sides of their mouths as per usual.

This could potentially end in rolling lockdowns to September 2021 do you see a massive risk of non compliance with an early lock down of a week?
    The lockdowns will only be successful if they are timed correctly and they have a very high degree of buy in.

That is why SF should support NPHET and not contradict it, especially based on political rather than medical reasoning.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,781 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

dh1985 wrote: »
    In Ni where SF are in power there is no complete lockdown and flights weren't cancelled from italy like people here are saying should have happened in the south. In fact schools in Ni were open a week later in NI under SF watch. Talking out of both sides of their mouths as per usual.

You do know about Arlene Foster and that other party called DUP, or do you want a lesson?

That's because the UK government and their experts weren't recommending it at the time. SF in the north called for this however. But some FG lads in here would have called that dissenting voice wreckless and that maybe SF should have just shut up there also and listen to Westminster and their experts.

If you’re really celebrating any minister current or formers performance in health you really really haven’t been paying attention.

Saying someone is doing a "pretty good job" is not celebrating anything - just acknowledging that they're holding it together in unprecedented circumstances and having the cop on to follow (and in some cases set) good international practice.

But look, SF's job is to be the professional, perpetual complainers - we all get that. Once you view them through that lens their behaviour makes sense.

And, really, if Varadkar came out and said he'd come up with a cure or a vaccine, some people would still criticise him for not coming up with it sooner!

• Registered Users Posts: 67,253 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

The lockdowns will only be successful if they are timed correctly and they have a very high degree of buy in.

That is why SF should support NPHET and not contradict it, especially based on political rather than medical reasoning.

In a perfect environment where our health service has been proven to be competent.

Sadly, given the state of the health service and the fact that FG were effectively voted out of office, that is NOT the case.

There is no 'should have' here. You cannot ask for all shoulders to be put to the wheel and then arrogantly dismiss advice.

In a perfect environment where our health service has been proven to be competent.

Sadly, given the state of the health service and the fact that FG were effectively voted out of office, that is NOT the case.

There is no 'should have' here. You cannot ask for all shoulders to be put to the wheel and then arrogantly dismiss advice.

It is SF who were arrogantly dismissing advise from NPHET not the other way around.

But you're right - we cannot ask for all shoulders to be put to the wheel. We know that SF will continue to do what SF tend to do; oppose for the sake of opposition.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Well said & nicely put.

Nobody can stand over NI's health system, which is why SF usually keep quiet about it. Longest waiting lists there in the NHS, suicide crisis, highest rate of anti-depressant use etc.

All of the above aren't SF's fault, obviously, but SF did collapse the Assembly rather than work on fixing them. That is genuinely reprehensible.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

You're no one to judge.you mind is still blown by long term government bonds.

You got your ass handed to you on that one. Still triggered I see.:pac:

It is SF who were arrogantly dismissing advise from NPHET not the other way around.

But you're right - we cannot ask for all shoulders to be put to the wheel. We know that SF will continue to do what SF tend to do; oppose for the sake of opposition.

Show us a link where they're arrogantly dismissing the advise from NPHET?

That's because the UK government and their experts weren't recommending it at the time. SF in the north called for this however. But some FG lads in here would have called that dissenting voice wreckless and that maybe SF should have just shut up there also and listen to Westminster and their experts.

Its always someone else's fault. :p

Did ya look up government long term debt in investopedia yet?

What have they 'opposed' in relation to the Virus?

• Registered Users Posts: 586 ✭✭✭dh1985

Exactly the same as what FG are doing here, listening to the experts but yet you are criticising that course of action saying they did not go into lockdown sooner. Against the advise of hoolihan.
    Hypocritical comes to mind

What have they 'opposed' in relation to the Virus?
    Show us a link where they're arrogantly dismissing the advise from NPHET?

SF have been opposing NPHET for almost a week now in calling for a lockdown when NPHET have been saying that the time was not right for it.

SF weren't doing this based on their own advise from their own team of doctors and epidemiologists - it was based on political opportunism. That is the height of arrogance in the middle of a crisis.

SF have been opposing NPHET for almost a week now in calling for a lockdown when NPHET have been saying that the time was not right for it.

SF weren't doing this based on their own advise from their own team of doctors and epidemiologists - it was based on political opportunism. That is the height of arrogance in the middle of a crisis.

Asking for a further step is not 'opposing' anything, they have been flat out across their social media and press releases endorsing the message given so far.. Catch yourself on.

Did ya look up government long term debt in investopedia yet?

Did you provide the link yet where Greece and Ireland are borrowing at the same rate?

Asking for a further step is not 'opposing' anything, they have been flat out across their social media and press releases endorsing the message given so far.. Catch yourself on.

It is, because it is very clear to all that the timing and the longevity of any lockdown is key to its success.
    If you do it a week early then the sustainability of it is at risk.

We need clear consistent messaging from everyone in leadership positions, including SF, but they went off on a politically motivated tangent.

Did you provide the link yet where Greece and Ireland are borrowing at the same rate?

Never said that.are you just out and out lying now?

It is, because it is very clear to all that the timing and the longevity of any lockdown is key to its success.
    If you do it a week early then the sustainability of it is at risk.

We need clear consistent messaging from everyone in leadership positions, including SF, but they went off on a politically motivated tangent.

Show us where they went against the advice of the expert's?

It’s funny watching people just utterly making stuff up.

Heard Mary lou and Doherty in interviews during the week and they didn’t make this crisis political at all. In fact they were supportive of everything being done. I think at one stage she mentioned having an all island approach to it but we saw the DUP knock that in the head as usual.

The degree to which SF rattle certain people to such an extent they resort to making stuff up that just didn’t happen is quite funny.