Hamsterchops wrote: » As a matter of interest, who is the current Health/NHS minister in the Northern Ireland assembly?
The UUP with sixth choice appointed North Antrim MLA Robin Swann as Minister of Health.
smurgen wrote: » Don't worry, they're looking after the health care workers well now!https://twitter.com/paddycosgrave/status/1243888703958892547?s=19
Weepsie wrote: » That's a typical answer there. When you can't engage you say some ah!the like that. ye all must have amazing arms to be able to move the goalposts so much and deflect even morem
CtevenSrowder wrote: » The 15000 number was forecast if we intoduced no restrictions.
Weepsie wrote: » Yeah, anyone using an opinion of Paddy Cosgrave to support their argument should have given up long ago. He's still grinding his axe because people didn't bend over backwards to give him a load of stuff for free for his nonsense gathering of the self interested. He's not missed, Web Summit is not missed and he knows it.
FrancieBrady wrote: but, we don't go anywhere near 15,000 and it's:...'lets lock the country down as it has never been locked down before'.
First Up wrote: » I think you should leave it to people who know what they are talking about.
FrancieBrady wrote: » I made a simple statement about how FG are managing the crisis - quite well but with some lapses and mistakes - and I get along winded reply about your political stance and a bit of a rant about SF, that has nothing in it for me to reply to tbh..
smurgen wrote: » So he's lying? Our healthcare workers are not taking a particular hammering? More so than other countries? Stick you finger in your ears.toe the party line.the number will speak the truth.https://twitter.com/Castletonian/status/1243697698722787329?s=19https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1243961951224463361?s=19
Weepsie wrote: » No you didn't, you stated this. And to this I replied. You opened the door about political stances and have several times accused me of having one that I don't. I'm well within my rights to correct you on that. You're bluster and deflection, nothing more.
FrancieBrady wrote: » I disagree. but let's say that is what he said. Where is the sense of it? 'We look like we will hit 15,000 lads...lets introduce minor restrictions'. but, we don't go anywhere near 15,000 and it's:...'lets lock the country down as it has never been locked down before'.
CtevenSrowder wrote: » Here's a quote from Dr. Tony Holohan from 17th March "We're not recommending lockdown. It would be very easy to recommend every airport, workplace, every part of society to close. That might reduce the spread of the virus, but it would be a disproportionate response" .
FrancieBrady wrote: » So faced with the projections showing 15,000 cases - minor restrictions. Now when the numbers come no where near the projections we have the hardest lockdown ever seen in the state? There is no shame in admitting you got something wrong and it is a sign of strength to be able to accept advice or that you may have gotten something wrong.
CtevenSrowder wrote: » I didn't get anything wrong,
CtevenSrowder wrote: » Bekker, your post is better suited to the main cornoavirus thread then it is here.https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058064876&page=499
FrancieBrady wrote: Now when the numbers come no where near the projections we have the hardest lockdown ever seen in the state?
First Up wrote: » Comments like this illustrate why we are lucky there are not enough dunces to vote the mathematically challenged into office.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Well..it only makes sense as a strategy if they didn't actually believe we were gonna hit 15,000. If they did believe it, then it was irresponsible not to lockdown.
CtevenSrowder wrote: » They did believe we'd hit 15000... if we introduced no restrictions. The restrictions were then implemented step by step, each a bit more extreme then the last. We're now at the one were we more or less have nowhere left to go.
FrancieBrady wrote: » So we let it spread first then try and lockdown? Doesn't make sense no matter which way you spin it. If you think something is going to spin out of control...lock down. I think Leo was egging the pudding maybe and wanted to scare people into compliance...it didn't fully work out, so now we need law and full lockdown.
The restrictions are brought in step by step, as opposed to an immediate and complete lockdown, as they can only be imposed for so long before they become counter productive (so the argument goes). The aim is slow the spread, and each increase in restrictions slows it that bit more. Here's a quote from Dr. Tony Holohan from 17th March "We're not recommending lockdown. It would be very easy to recommend every airport, workplace, every part of society to close. That might reduce the spread of the virus, but it would be a disproportionate response" .
Shefwedfan wrote: » I think your digging and digging trying to get around the point of admitting you where wrong.....its been done to death now and your still wrong, admit it and move on.....cant see another few pages of this
FrancieBrady wrote: » If you believe something is going to go out of control (and 15,000 cases is out of control) do you take action as soon as you realise that or wait? Take your time answering and think through using 'logic'. Because it makes no 'logical' sense to me...unless the Taoiseach was trying to scare and projections never really showed that growth. I suppose if you believe the HSE and our medical pro's(Not to mention the bould FG) have a history of infallibility then you can have faith. I don't believe that, sadly.