Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lunchtime Live with Ciara Kelly [Mod warning post #1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

haven't listened to the show in a long time, it's just not great radio for my working environment. the give out 'health warnings' on every other show when they think they talk about something that little ears shouldn't hear, but any time i've switched over to Newstalk earlier than usual and she's on, i usually have to switch off again.

Fionn Davenport's sex talk on a Thursday night a few years ago was probably safer, even with all the feckin detail they used to go in to. i always thought that segment was just teenagers sending in shiz they thought would never get read out on air.

it's LBC in the mornings for me, at least mystery hour on Thursday is quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

doylefe wrote: »
    In the car for 5 mins at lunch time and happened to catch some fella the show on about his male privilege and that we should allow a bit of discrimination against men to "balance things up" for women.

Ciara chims in and says that anyone who disagrees that men have an inherent privilege are just wrong.

What scutter!

I'll tell that to the countless homeless men I see begging on the streets the next time I'm in Dublin.

Also you can just picture what that privilege fella looks like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Ant McPartlin crashes his car when he's pissed and it's the drinks industry's fault…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,201 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

CK just called one of her listeners an 'eejit'.

Just listening to her again, she seems to think her job is to sensationalize everything, and then provide simplistic analysis and answers. Tabloid radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,314 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Ant McPartlin crashes his car when he's pissed and it's the drinks industry's fault…

Drink drivers are scum but I can't help feel sorry for this guy. His life seems to be falling apart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

J Mysterio wrote: »

Just listening to her again, she seems to think her job is to sensationalize everything, and then provide simplistic analysis and answers. Tabloid radio.

That’s very unfair......on practitioners of tabloid radio.

I’d call her something but I’d get banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

J Mysterio wrote: »

so basically the same as the rest of the daytime lineup.

Breakfast - Williams, no further comment necessary.
    Moncrieff - frothy nonsense and barely disguised book promos.
    Yates - ignorance and simplicity that appeal to the bar-stool morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,000 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

so basically the same as the rest of the daytime lineup.

Breakfast - Williams, no further comment necessary.
    Moncrieff - frothy nonsense and barely disguised book promos.
    Yates - ignorance and simplicity that appeal to the bar-stool morons.

Newstalk has taken an absolute dive in quality in the last 3 years.

Moncrief is actually the worst example as you can track the decline. 5+ years ago his show was still reasonably okay but he's really fallen down the well of thinking "im great! therefore everything that comes out of my mouth is great and everyone who disagrees with me deserves ridicule"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

I remember there used to be a late night current affairs talk show as well. Late Night Live with Declan Carty. That was when I first heard that Michael Jackson had died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,201 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

I remember there used to be a late night current affairs talk show as well. Late Night Live with Declan Carty. That was when I first heard that Michael Jackson had died.

Eh... Ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Interesting timing on the release of this story. But Newstalk and Ciara Kelly are being sued for her loose tongue and general b1tchiness.
    I said at the time that I thought that they may have pre-emptive with the apology, in the hope that the doctor would not sue. And it appears that this is the case, cos he IS suing.
    "Newstalk and host Ciara Kelly sued by practitioner of alternative therapy over comments made on radio show"
    http://www.thejournal.ie/ciara-kelly-high-court-3916848-Mar2018/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Interesting timing on the release of this story. But Newstalk and Ciara Kelly are being sued for her loose tongue and general b1tchiness.
    I said at the time that I thought that they may have pre-emptive with the apology, in the hope that the doctor would not sue. And it appears that this is the case, cos he IS suing.
    "Newstalk and host Ciara Kelly sued by practitioner of alternative therapy over comments made on radio show"
    http://www.thejournal.ie/ciara-kelly-high-court-3916848-Mar2018/

You mean all the outrage on this thread was in support of a hack offering woodoo medicine. Riiiight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

The big wheel always turns..

I'd say George is grinning into his cornflakes this morning..

I always thought he would sue. A GP criticised another GP live on radio.

The are routes she could have gone down to get this guy & the treatment of her father investigated. She could have lodged an official complaint to the medical practitioner board or whatever they are called. She chose not to do this.

She left the GP no choice but to sue. She should have known better as a doctor let alone as a broadcaster

Yeah poor man's reputation is damaged and he might get fewer opportunities to heal people of autism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Newstalk had plenty of warning on this though. In the months before she was making all sorts of statements on Twitter about unnamed men who were guilty of sexual misdemeanors, which I thought was irresponsible and childish. If she had thought somebody broke the law, she should have gone to the guards. Maybe somebody from Newstalk should have had a word with her about the position of responsibility that she now held, but I'm sure that if they did she would have tweeted about her freedom of speech being suppressed, so Newstalk couldn't win.
    I think that one of the dangers of being part of the echo chamber that is Twitter is that you get so used to people slapping you on the back and retweeting you that you feel like you can say whatever you want and there will be no repercussions. But real life is not Twitter, and if you malign somebody then you are responsible for it. She obviously wanted to take a few pot shots at that doctor, and wasn't mature or experienced enough to hold her tongue. And I'd say NT will pay heavily for her mistakes.
    Sort of ironic given that NT got rid of Hook because he offended people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    I always thought he would sue. A GP criticised another GP live on radio.

The are routes she could have gone down to get this guy & the treatment of her father investigated. She could have lodged an official complaint to the medical practitioner board or whatever they are called. She chose not to do this.

She left the GP no choice but to sue. She should have known better as a doctor let alone as a broadcaster

What did she say exactly? It doesn't give details in the linked article.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

I'd like to hear Butterski's reaction to it being another GP suing Kelly. They are the lowest of the low after all...

As a layperson, that therapy he is peddling sounds a tad nonsensical.

I'd like to hear Butterski's reaction to it being another GP suing Kelly. They are the lowest of the low after all...

This one is a specialist in chelation therapy and therefore so much more qualified. :D

Completely separately, I think their licences should be cancelled the moment they start practicing alternative medicine. It's too easy to mislead people that they are offering proven treatment.

What did she say exactly? It doesn't give details in the linked article.

I can't remember exactly. It was something like :The doctor took her father off cholesterol meds. She said live on air that she (a doctor herself) believed this led to her father's death.

This isn't like you or I saying something like that in the pub. This is a trained doctor saying another doctors action led to her father's death.

As I mentioned before there are avenues available for reporting doctors, their treatment & advice. She didn't avail of this. Instead she decided to tell the world without giving the doctor in question due process. She deserves to pay dearly for this imo.

I wonder why she didn't advise her father herself or why he did not take her advice if it was offered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

Swanner wrote: »
    The big wheel always turns..

I'd say George is grinning into his cornflakes this morning..

George's "crime" was of the heinous type of defying the PC concensus of the narrow media bubble. In the adult world away from the false outrage it doesn't really matter. Ciara is alleged to have entered the real world of personal reputation. The man had no choice as his professional standing was being impugned despite much doubt as to effecificy of such treatments. She was a blunt instrument and should have known better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭UsedToWait

I can't remember exactly. It was something like :The doctor took her father off cholesterol meds. She said live on air that she (a doctor herself) believed this led to her father's death.

This isn't like you or I saying something like that in the pub. This is a trained doctor saying another doctors action led to her father's death.

As I mentioned before there are avenues available for reporting doctors, their treatment & advice. She didn't avail of this. Instead she decided to tell the world without giving the doctor in question due process. She deserves to pay dearly for this imo.

I wonder why she didn't advise her father herself or why he did not take her advice if it was offered.

Eh, is this the same doctor who is now referring patients to the States for 'alternative' treatment, or are the two things unrelated?

I think it is irrelevant what type of treatment this particular doctor provides. The fact is that she defamed him on public radio. I can't believe she thought she would get away with it.

UsedToWait wrote:
    Eh, is thus the same doctor who is now referring patients to the States for 'alternative' treatment, or are the two things unrelated?

I have no idea if this GP contributed to her father's death. She abused her position & publicly blamed him. We have due proses in Ireland and she robbed him of that.

He could be a Voodoo doctor for all I care. He is entitled to due proses. She should have reported him & produced the evidence & let a panel of doctors decide. She had no right to do what she did and her & her employer will pay dearly for this.

I think it is irrelevant what type of treatment this particular doctor provides. The fact is that she defamed him on public radio. I can't believe she thought she would get away with it.

Yes but I think I heard that story about her father's doctor before, and I don't think I heard the piece with the 'alternative' guy.

So I think it's important - did she get this guy (if it's the same person) on the radio to purposely challenge him about her father's death, or is this two separate doctors she's calling out?

UsedToWait wrote: »
    Yes but I think I heard that story about her father's doctor before, and I don't think I heard the piece with the 'alternative' guy.

So I think it's important - did she get this guy (if it's the same person) on the radio to purposely challenge him about her father's death, or is this two separate doctors she's calling out?

I might be confused. I thought her father's doctor was the alternative doctor??

I have no idea if this GP contributed to her father's death. She abused her position & publicly blamed him. We have due proses in Ireland and she robbed him of that.

He could be a Voodoo doctor for all I care. He is entitled to due proses. She should have reported him & produced the evidence & let a panel of doctors decide. She had no right to do what she did and her & her employer will pay dearly for this.

^ Sorry, maybe I'm being stupid here.
    What I'm asking for clarification on is the nature of the alleged defamation.

Is it 'this guy is practising woo medicine'
    or
    'this guy killed my Da'
    Or both?

I might be confused. I thought her father's doctor was the alternative doctor??

He is a GP and alternative doctor. He has the same qualifications as Ciara.

Some GPs practice acupuncture alongside "real" medicine. Someone suffering from Bells Palsy will recover more quickly if treated with acupuncture and "real" medicine than someone being treated with "real" medicine alone. Acupuncture wouldn't be used by a GP for everything or even that often but sometimes it has its place in the GPs surgery

UsedToWait wrote:
    Is it 'this guy is practising woo medicine' or 'this guy killed my Da' Or both?

This guy is a GP. Has his own GP practice. He advised her dad to come off cholesterol meds & she says this is why her dad died. Now she'll have to prove her theory in court or pay the GP compensation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

This guy is a GP. Has his own GP practice. He advised her dad to come off cholesterol meds & she says this is why her dad died. Now she'll have to prove her theory in court or pay the GP compensation

Doubt it'll get to court. Newstalk's insurers will pay him something less than a couple of days in the High Court would cost.

Happens all the time to media organisations. Even if she or NT think they could win, if it costs less to pay him off, he'll get paid, especially if there's no realistic probability of recovering costs from him.