Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXII-215,743 ROI (4,137 deaths)111,166 NI (2,036 deaths)(22/02)Read OP

The Cabinet is meeting to sign off on the plan and it has been acknowledged that the immediate period ahead will be difficult with Level 5 restrictions set to be extended until at least 5 April.

The plan will see the Pandemic Unemployment Payment and supports for businesses extended until the end of June.

This is it...!?

What a total disgrace.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,634 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Does anyone know when plan is going to be published?

The big man is giving his speech at 6 so probably around then.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Fits with the "vaccines won't work" guff that McConkey and Killeen have been coming out with the past few days

• Registered Users Posts: 3,436 ✭✭✭celt262

Does anyone know when plan is going to be published?

Probably have to have a few more meetings and then let the Minister for Health know whats going on so he doesn't make a tit of himself again.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,128 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

celt262 wrote: »
    Probably have to have a few more meetings and then let the Minister for Health know whats going on so he doesn't make a tit of himself again.

And let Norma in on the secret so she knows what classes are going back and not come out with some complete rubbish

• Registered Users Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Sconsey

This is what happens when you give awkward scientists the opportunity to wield political power.

The pandemic, for them, is an opportunity to perform an experiment; a poor experiment and one with disastrous results. And naturally, they care nothing for ordinary people - all that matters is the lab results and crunching numbers.

Professor Nolan and the Eternal Prefect, Ronan Glynn, exemplify this attitude.

It's now time for the politicians to take back control - to take "advice" from NPHET and to factor that advice into the many other factors that go into running a successful country.

We don't want Michael Martin to throw us a bone; this time, there must be some substantial meat attached.

Otherwise, people will grow lethargic and more likely to breach restrictions.

The perma-lockdown hasn't worked. It's time, like the rest of Europe, to move on and open up to a reasonable, sensible, mature, and cautious degree.

If other European countries have so far managed opening up successfully, there is no reason why we are unable to, either.

You don't really believe that horsesh1t you have written do you?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

This is it...!?

What a total disgrace.

Have you been living under a rock?

This has been leaked for days!

Stheno wrote: »
    Have you been living under a rock?

This has been leaked for days!

I had hoped, given the vocal frustrations leveled against Martin and the clear desire by most of the population for some sort of positive hope, that some significant tweaks would have been made.

But no, it's back to Level 5 for at least the next 5+ weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,397 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

If you read through it, there isn't a single verifiable claim anywhere in that article.

What are their sources? Who are they quoting?

Doesn’t appear to be much to it. They've just picked random quotes from a psychology textbook and have alleged that certain people have said these things - without being clear about who said it, who they said it to, or where they said it. There's little to nothing of actual substance there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

This group need to be taken off air immediately or at the very least challenged hard by presenters. Yesterday trying to stop schools reopening, claiming vaccines don't work...there is no balance to the debate in Ireland and we've normalised the extremists. Shame on the media for promoting this shower.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,993 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The big man is giving his speech at 6 so probably around then.

If he drops the 5km limit he will regain the attention of some of the flock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

If he drops the 5km limit he will regain the attention of some of the flock.

He won't because they tied non evictions into the 5km travel restrictions. Drop the restriction and evictions are on the cards again. Clever or a sign our legislators are fùckwits.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,094 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

The pandemic, for them, is an opportunity to perform an experiment;
    Threadbanned

• Registered Users Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭dalyboy

This group need to be taken off air immediately or at the very least challenged hard by presenters. Yesterday trying to stop schools reopening, claiming vaccines don't work...there is no balance to the debate in Ireland and we've normalised the extremists. Shame on the media for promoting this shower.

https://mobile.twitter.com/griptmedia/status/1364193937955692545

This is ground breaking stuff.
    There needs to be an investigation done into this if further evidence is provided.
    Legal action against these loopers should follow.

It’s not if , it’s when will the anti-science media supporters run for the hills.

I had hoped, given the vocal frustrations leveled against Martin and the clear desire by most of the population for some sort of positive hope, that some significant tweaks would have been made.

But no, it's back to Level 5 for at least the next 5+ weeks.

Ah you had hope

There's the problem right there :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Sinister but not overly surprising

• Registered Users Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

No evidence so. Grand job.

The wikipedia article on isn't a bad place to start.
    Raind made an excellent post on it in somewhere in an earlier thread.

In short contact tracing in the UK showed an increased positivity rate among close contacts. The indication there would be a higher attack rate for this variant. This has also now been observed in Ireland in close contacts. Even if Mr Reid and Mr Donnelly make an absolute shambles of explaining that. The variant itself has a higher binding affinity in the binding domain of the virus. This indicates a physical mechanism by which it would be more transmissible. Mathematical modelling in the UK and now our own universities also support the increased transmissibility. US CDC models also similar.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Arghus wrote: »
    If you read through it, there isn't a single verifiable claim anywhere in that article.

Doesn’t appear to be much to it. They've just picked random quotes from a psychology textbook and have alleged that certain people have said these things - without being clear about who said it, who they said it to, or where they said it. There's little to nothing of actual substance there.

I said “if this is true” and it has been quoted elsewhere with that same question.

Saying that we have seen some strong and well publicised negative messages in recent days on the effectiveness of vaccinations.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,319 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Aren't our media fully engaged with this behavior already?

giphy.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 7,307 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Kha1993 wrote: »
    Not sure where anyone is saying to ignore it. The solution is to continue level 5 but with some low risk activities open outdoors, a relaxation of a law that can fine you for going over 5km past your house and then relax further in line with vaccinations.

Not sure where anyone mentioned “ignore it”. Hyperbole of the highest order. Along with the usual blame the public schtick.

And if we’re going down the road of the deadly variant being our Christmas present - then *WE* certainly didn’t give that to ourselves.
    There have been several posts on this forum where individuals have been advocating for people to not present for tests. Looks like an "ignore it" position to me.

dalyboy wrote: »
    https://mobile.twitter.com/griptmedia/status/1364193937955692545

This is ground breaking stuff.
    There needs to be an investigation done into this if further evidence is provided.
    Legal action against these loopers should follow.

It’s not if , it’s when will the anti-science media supporters run for the hills.

It isn't groundbreaking stuff, it's a load of unsubstantiated hearsay.

Gript are making claims without providing any evidence. Surely you'd want to see to see evidence before you believe such things?

This tweet is going to circulate around and get talked about and will be accepted as fact by some people, but, if you look at it, there's no hard evidence for the things that the article alleges.

It's boilerplate misinformation designed to generate clicks and "engagement".

• Registered Users Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

I don't like some of what the ISAG group say but this is gript media. That's about as reliable a source as Donald's Trump rectum. Would need something a lot more substantial than that.
    Yes, if you give a strain an inherent advantage it will grow to be the dominant strain.
    If a strain is given no advantage but grows to become the dominant strain anyway, then it is strong evidence that it is more transmissible.

Please stop. There are many pathways to dominance. It does not have to more transmissible. The advantages that make a strain fittest for replication may not necessarily make it more transmissible.

giphy.gif

But it is unsubstantiated hearsay. That is what it is. Read through it again. Where's their evidence?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,512 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I'm in a shared house and the landlords have been wanting to sell the place since September 2019, but because of the pandemic and lockdown, they have given us extensions. So no matter how much I want the lockdown over, I'm glad we're stuck in this 5 KM rule. Our latest extension is till the start of June and unless the government change tenants rights with a longer distance added, I'm happy sticking to this 5 KM rule. Another problem with the current situation though is that we can't view other houses because of the rule, so we can't even shop around for a new gaff.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

It isn't groundbreaking stuff, it's a load of unsubstantiated hearsay.

Gript are making claims without providing any evidence. Surely you'd want to see to see evidence before you believe such things?

This tweet is going to circulate around and get talked about and will be accepted as fact by some people, but, if you look at it, there's no hard evidence for the things that the article alleges.

It's boilerplate misinformation designed to generate clicks and "engagement".

You're right about the tweet, in isolation it seems likely to be guesswork. However a poster mentioned that two individuals that are part of the ISAG group were on the Matt Cooper show yesterday basically dismissing vaccines as non effective, further to that Tomas Ryan had an opinion piece in the Indo about the dangers of a return to school another ISAG member. It's a strange coincidence imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,028 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Fyp.

But it is unsubstantiated hearsay. That is what it is. Read through it again. Where's their evidence?

I agree there needs to be evidence provided otherwise it’s just hot air. However if evidence is provided what would your opinion be?

• Registered Users Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

I'm in a shared house and the landlords want to sell the place since September 2019, but because of the pandemic and lockdown, they have given us extensions. So no matter how much I want the lockdown over, I'm glad we're stuck in this 5 KM rule. Our latest extension is till the start of June and unless the government change tenants rights with a longer distance added, I'm happy sticking to this 5 KM rule. Another problem with the current situation though is that we can't view other houses because of the rule, so we can't even shop around for a new gaff.

Obviously it is a bit **** if you have to move out but imagine how **** that must be for the property owner - not even allowed sell their own property and possibly incurring costs to keep it

• Registered Users Posts: 7,634 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Turtwig wrote: »
    The wikipedia article on isn't a bad place to start.
    Raind made an excellent post on it in somewhere in an earlier thread.

In short contact tracing in the UK showed an increased positivity rate among close contacts. The indication there would be a higher attack rate for this variant. This has also now been observed in Ireland in close contacts. Even if Mr Reid and Mr Donnelly make an absolute shambles of explaining that. The variant itself has a higher binding affinity in the binding domain of the virus. This indicates a physical mechanism by which it would be more transmissible. Mathematical modelling in the UK and now our own universities also support the increased transmissibility. US CDC models also similar.

Thanks, evidence at last!

In hindsight I was probably overly snarky in my earlier posts. I'm just fed up of constantly seeing that dominant strain graph posted as irrefutable evidence.