Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users Posts: 7,262 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Multipass wrote: »
    Same as last time - they’re going to try to control movement by causing as many traffic jams as possible. So much for essential travel. This is what you call policing by consent....

It's the typical nanny-state nonsense this country is infatuated with.

The have published guidelines. Why not treat people like adults and let them make their own mind up about whether their journey is necessary or not?

This idea of setting up checkpoints to encourage and advise people not to travel is complete nonsense. It shows the absolute contempt and patronizing attitude our 'leaders' have for the ordinary people of this country.

Most of those people caught in tailbacks this morning are people working hard to pay their bills and their taxes

Shameful actions by Government once again and all to placate the hysteria-brigade.

• Registered Users Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Pitch n Putt

Osborne wrote: »
    Checkpoints seem to be going well this morning.

https://twitter.com/NoelGleeson10/status/1313748640716992512?s=19

Dopes.Not the guards but those who instructed this.
    Get off the road out of the way. Absolute jokeshop. Causing frustration for nothing.

Traveling to work is essential we’re told so get the fcuk out of the way and let people do so.

surely the idea is to cause enough grief and people will be late, frustrated or even give up and go home.. imagine you were perhaps a surgeon driving into the matter for a 9am start, or a front line worker heading to the ICU from laois or kildare..how does that shyte help now?? i

The bottom line is that the Gov have lost the people, meat plants, golfgate and that wagon who went to spain but got leo's blessing and a new job are typical examples. They present a do as we say not as we do culture and people have had their fill of it..that's representative in the car numbers and unfortunately front liners and actual essential workers are caught up in it but whos fault is that!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Dopes.Not the guards but those who instructed this.
    Get off the road out of the way. Absolute jokeshop. Causing frustration for nothing.

Traveling to work is essential we’re told so get the fcuk out of the way and let people do so.

A load of ****e. 5 young fellas in a car,
    Gardaí.. were are you going,
    Driver.. were just going for a spin Garda and night go walk on beach
    Gardaí.. Your not meant to leave your own county
    Driver.. Yeh we know but we have no beaches
    Gardaí.. Fair enough so enough yer day lads

The Gardaí are getting overtime for this

the traffic chaos this morning is a fckuing joke! People are stressed already to breaking point! Most people are hard working and obeying restrictions while also trying to work and get kids to school. These last 7 months have been appalling for most of us.......huge uncertainty, huge loss of what once was an odinary life.....this kind of behaviour is what will drive people absolutely mad , it will break them !

A poor bus driver rang in trying to get 30 special needs kids to school, stuck in a long tailback with the kids getting really upset and stressed. A nurse driving home after a 13 hour shift stuck for an extra hour in a tailback, almost asleep at the wheel! Well done Gardai!!

This is not the way!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,849 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

N4 is a total disaster.
    And now they want to shut the off licenses to stop house parties.
    McEntee raising this motion. She is so out of touch with reality.

House parties won't stop, they just use drugs instead

• Registered Users Posts: 23,372 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

the traffic chaos this morning is a fckuing joke! People are stressed already to breaking point! Most people are hard working and obeying restrictions while also trying to work and get kids to school. These last 7 months have been appalling for most of us.......huge uncertainty, huge loss of what once was an odinary life.....this kind of behaviour is what will drive people absolutely mad , it will break them !

A poor bus driver rang in trying to get 30 special needs kids to school, stuck in a long tailback with the kids getting really upset and stressed. A nurse driving home after a 13 hour shift stuck for an extra hour in a tailback, almost asleep at the wheel! Well done Gardai!!

This is not the way!

Its not the Gardai's fault that there are idiots (like the ones in dundalk10's post above yours) needlessly clogging the roads. The actions of a few selfish dopes are causing those who are actually capable of following rules the extra pain.

The have published guidelines. Why not treat people like adults and let them make their own mind up about whether their journey is necessary or not?

Treating people like adults would require at least some expectation that they will act like adults and as recent behaviours have shown (incluyding many posters comments in here) many are unable or unwilling to act as adults. The post Ive quoted below demonstrates this quite well.

Fair play to the guards for getting out there and trying to enforce the guidelines it really is a pity they werent given the powers to hand out fines to anyone without documented proof of a necessary journey outside their county.

I have absolutely no issue with people travelling for necessary reasons (work that simply cannot be done from home, medical appointments, dropping shopping to family isolating etc) but far too many are "going to meath for a pint" or going somewhere hiking, going to non essential events, going on holidays etc.
    A load of ****e. 5 young fellas in a car,
    Gardaí.. were are you going,
    Driver.. were just going for a spin Garda and night go walk on beach
    Gardaí.. Your not meant to leave your own county
    Driver.. Yeh we know but we have no beaches
    Gardaí.. Fair enough so enough yer day lads

The Gardaí are getting overtime for this

5 absolute idiots in that story anyway, brain dead morons.

Such a pity they couldn't be haded min 100 euro fines each on the spot, we would be making serious money for the state with the amount of idiots unable to respect the guidelines.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭normanoffside

pjohnson wrote: »
    Its not the Gardai's fault that there are idiots (like the ones in dundalk10's post above yours) needlessly clogging the roads. The actions of a few selfish dopes are causing those who are actually capable of following rules the extra pain.

His was a hypothetical post. 99% of the people the Gardai are stopping at this time of the morning are going to work or school and the Gards are just causing delays and stress.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I have absolutely no issue with people travelling for necessary reasons (work that simply cannot be done from home, medical appointments, dropping shopping to family isolating etc) but far too many are "going to meath for a pint" or going somewhere hiking, going to non essential events, going on holidays etc.

Going to Meath for a pint at 8am on a Wednesday morning. Going hiking on the N4 at 8am on a Wedndesday morning.

pjohnson wrote: »

Are you having a laugh? Dundalk10 was trying to make an ironic point!! Having restrictions of this level at peak commuter time is an absolute joke!! There is no excuse for it, its not rocket science 10to know that people are going to and coming from work at 9am, going to Chemotherapy, and kids are getting to school , they're hardly going on their holidays FFS :mad::mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,262 ✭✭✭facehugger99

His was a hypothetical post. 99% of the people the Gardai are stopping at this time of the morning are going to work or school and the Gards are just causing delays and stress.

The idea of setting up these checkpoints and causing congestion carnage is an absolute tone-deaf response by Government.

Do they honestly think people driving into Dublin on the motorway at that hour of the morning are doing it for the craic or because they enjoy communing into Dublin?

The politicians are in a fcuking bubble when it comes to understanding the lives of the citizens of this country. To have people unnecessarily delayed and stressed when trying to drop their kids to school or get into work so they can pay their mortgage is shameful. It really illustrates what this country has descended to in the last 7 months.

I fully expect one of Varadkar's underlings to tell him twitter is aghast at the checkpoints and he needs to make a statement saying he doesn't agree with them - what a joke of a country we have.

patnor1011 wrote: »
    We will never go to level 5 again.

Its almost a certainty that we will based on the current upward trend of the virus coupled with many people's inability to behave and follow the guidelines.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,849 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

The idea of setting up these checkpoints and causing congestion carnage is an absolute tone-deaf response by Government.

Do they honestly think people driving into Dublin on the motorway at that hour of the morning are doing it for the craic or because they enjoy communing into Dublin?

The politicians are in a fcuking bubble when it comes to understanding the lives of the citizens of this country. To have people unnecessarily delayed and stressed when trying to drop their kids to school or get into work so they can pay their mortgage is shameful. It really illustrates what this country has descended to in the last 7 months.

I fully expect one of Varadkar's underlings to tell him twitter is aghast at the checkpoints and he needs to make a statement saying he doesn't agree with them - what a joke of a country we have.

Blocking the N4 when people from Lucan go Intel to work and school in Leixlip, vice versa.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,283 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

I think these checkpoints are trying to encourage people to work from home of possible.

Employers aren't as flexible as at the start of all this.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

the ones they should be going after are not out of their beds yet:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 13,860 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I've said it before and I'll say it again.

Politicians like to be seen to be doing something.

Doesn't have to be the right thing, just doing something that can give the impression that they are pro-active.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Its almost a certainty that we will based on the current upward trend of the virus coupled with many people's inability to behave and follow the guidelines.

Rubbish. We’ll start using the private hospitals before we go anywhere near level 5. It doesn’t matter about the upward trend anymore. The fact of the matter is, we cannot afford level 5 restrictions anymore. This also means that if we did somehow go to level 5 there’d be no money left to line the pockets of middle and upper management of the shambles of a health service we have. We’re trying to live with covid now, deal with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Treating people like adults would require at least some expectation that they will act like adults and as recent behaviours have shown (incluyding many posters comments in here) many are unable or unwilling to act as adults. The post Ive quoted below demonstrates this quite well.

Fair play to the guards for getting out there and trying to enforce the guidelines it really is a pity they werent given the powers to hand out fines to anyone without documented proof of a necessary journey outside their county.

5 absolute idiots in that story anyway, brain dead morons.

Such a pity they couldn't be haded min 100 euro fines each on the spot, we would be making serious money for the state with the amount of idiots unable to respect the guidelines.

The b@stards!! Getting fresh air!! Firing squad is too good for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,770 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Rubbish. We’ll start using the private hospitals before we go anywhere near level 5. It doesn’t matter about the upward trend anymore. The fact of the matter is, we cannot afford level 5 restrictions anymore. This also means that if we did somehow go to level 5 there’d be no money left to line the pockets of middle and upper management of the shambles of a health service we have. We’re trying to live with covid now, deal with it.

Spot on.. there was a post yesterday in the last thread about Pascal raiding the "rainy day" fund for €1.5Bn. This is the strongest indicator yet that the finances are under a lot more pressure than we're being told.

There won't be a level 5. There may be a level 3/4.5639853 :rolleyes: but we will not be going back to a March/April-style lockdown again.. in fact, as the economic impacts worsen, expect (as it is already) the "advice" to be just that.. advice, not requirements.

People (as they should have all along!) are going to have to take personal responsibility for their own safety and actions rather than depending on "the Government/NPHET" to decide for them.

Even Leo said yesterday that it was on the cards for a short period of time.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,770 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Even Leo said yesterday that it was on the cards for a short period of time and he is against lockdowns if possible.

That's Leo worried about the impact on his image/profile after the backlash from the media over his comments on Monday night.

Leo will change with the wind if he thinks it'll benefit him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Even Leo said yesterday that it was on the cards for a short period of time.

They have to keep the threat of a level 5 alive. If people know we’re never going there, they’ll realise they can do whatever they want.

• Registered Users Posts: 989 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

It does look like there may be a need for a so-called circuit-breaker in the near future unfortunately. Health service is heading for breaking point. Wholly the fault of Government and HSE mismanagement, but is the reality unfortunately.

Why the insistence that schools are not a source of transmission though? This is increasingly puzzling. I realise the stats don’t show any significant rate of increase in positive cases in the very young, but tracing in general and pod system method of contact tracing in schools is nowhere near thorough and results in guesswork.

Personally I think it’s a slow inching towards herd immunity, they’ve been hellbent on keeping them open and trying to convince us all the risk to teachers and kids is low (it is anyway, but that’s a different argument).

If they want a circuit-breaker why not try close just the schools for four weeks? Yes would be a huge disruption again for working parents and upsetting for kids, but still the lesser of two evils when compared to a level 5 lockdown for all.

Could they not shorten the Christmas and Easter holidays if it worked? Just a restructuring of the rest of the school year - same amount of hours worked for teachers and same time in class for students.

Worth a try before going nuclear?

It does look like there may be a need for a so-called circuit-breaker in the near future unfortunately. Health service is heading for breaking point. Wholly the fault of Government and HSE mismanagement, but is the reality unfortunately.

Why the insistence that schools are not a source of transmission though? This is increasingly puzzling. I realise the stats don’t show any significant rate of increase in positive cases in the very young, but tracing in general and pod system method of contact tracing in schools is nowhere near thorough and results in guesswork.

Personally I think it’s a slow inching towards herd immunity, they’ve been hellbent on keeping them open and trying to convince us all the risk to teachers and kids is low (it is anyway, but that’s a different argument).

If they want a circuit-breaker why not try close just the schools for four weeks? Yes would be a huge disruption again for working parents and upsetting for kids, but still the lesser of two evils when compared to a level 5 lockdown for all.

Could they not shorten the Christmas and Easter holidays if it worked? Just a restructuring of the rest of the school year - same amount of hours worked for teachers and same time in class for students.

Worth a try before going nuclear?

The schools are a major source the dogs in the street know that, they need to be closed asap if we want to take fighting back against the surge seriously.

• Registered Users Posts: 989 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

The schools are a major source the dogs in the street know that, they need to be closed asap if we want to take fighting back against the surge seriously.

You’re agreement has made me rethink that argument - I think I’ve been conditioned to disagree with everything you say.

Might need to lie down for a bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,849 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I am totally against primary schools closing! I dont think we the current bull**** numbers, any schools should be closing. Wouldnt surprise me here though, that they would be too scared to upset the primary teachers, if only secondary schools were to close :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭uli84

The guy fined for going fishing earlier this year further than 5 km, how did he dare? Such a danger travelling in a car and fishing on his own. not sure if to laugh or to cry, anything to make ordinary people miserable

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/he-has-no-excuse-man-broke-covid-restrictions-twice-in-one-day-to-go-fishing-court-hears-39596801.html

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭wardides

uli84 wrote: »
    The guy fined for going fishing earlier this year further than 5 km, how did he dare? Such a danger travelling in a car and fishing on his own. not sure if to laugh or to cry, anything to make ordinary people miserable

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/he-has-no-excuse-man-broke-covid-restrictions-twice-in-one-day-to-go-fishing-court-hears-39596801.html

In fairness the country was on full scale lockdown at that time. And it's not the act of fishing on his own, it's what if he decided to stop in a shop on the way out? Then drove past a lidl on his way home and jumped in to pick up a couple of bits? Before you know it a cluster in one area has jumped 30km away and so on and so on. The fact that he was caught twice is pretty stupid and deserved punishment for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Just in the car there on the way to the shop. Pat Kenny on Newstalk: “next up,
    are we a nation obsessed with death?”
    Without even the slightest hint of irony!!