If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

yes with the schools opening approaching it does look like the non-restaurant pubs opening will not be happening due to the increase in social interactions due to the schools and a period to see how that will go.

re comparisons to other countries on pubs that is not directly relevant as that does not take into account cultural factors such as how people drink in different countries and in what sort of environments (e.g. a lot of pubs in Ireland and the complete opposite of social distancing in design and use and not easily adaptable)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 916 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

It seems like some would like the pubs to close for good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,786 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

briany wrote: »
    Wasn't there a publican on the radio last week saying he was planning to do this very thing?

Theoretically, I don't see anything wrong with that, so long as the publican has the means to socially distance and the resolve to actually enforce it.

The only problem with it would be that even as it stands you have a number of food pubs taking liberties with the rules. I'd have to think that many chip-bag pubs that are only doing the chipper deal to pay lip service to the rules would only be happy to stretch things even further, and the patrons would be gung-ho to follow along.

yeah Id say that is what the government are afraid of, publicans paying lip service to the 105 minute rule already exists with food pubs and so they dont want to expand it further. Its something that is impossible for the Gardai to police (and nor do they have the time and resources to) so instead the govt. just wont let more pubs open to avoid the problem getting worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,763 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Need a few drinks

'I'm fond of a drink helps me laugh helps me cry'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭mean gene

So basically we can't go to a pub without buying a meal due to some dirty factories and idiots that can't maintain social distancing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭MurDawg

Do people actually believe people in pubs full of pints will stick to any guidelines such as spacing or time limits?

Pubs bring out the rascal in anyone

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭mean gene

MurDawg wrote: »
    Do people actually believe people in pubs full of pints will stick to any guidelines such as spacing or time limits?

We sure do pubs have been opened weeks without clusters p1ssing out of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

mean gene wrote: »
    So basically we can't go to a pub without buying a meal due to some dirty factories and idiots that can't maintain social distancing

9 Euro chicken wings, and enjoy a couple of pints. Simples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,743 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

MurDawg wrote: »

Pre-covid maybe.

But now I am fairly certain anyone acting the bollix won't be tolerated. In fact, it could be a good excuse for some establishments to ban the usual lads that get annoying,leery or obnoxious when they have beer in them.

Which contrary to some people's beliefs in here, doesn't constitute the entire pub-drinking clientelé.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

mean gene wrote: »
    We sure do pubs have been opened weeks without clusters p1ssing out of them

You can only have a cluster if someone there has the virus to pass on. If all the pubs in your local town opened up and were packed to the rafters this weekend, then there is a fair chance that nobody would get infected from that....because there are no "live" cases in your area (lets assume).

However, if there is one person with the virus, then they can seed a cluster and you get a bit of a disaster. Read this report about Aberdeen. They have a cluster there and because it came from one particular bar, and because people tend to then go on to other bars, there is a list of 28 venues affected.

So because of possibly one infected person in one bar, the whole city is now in lockdown. If you could have known in advance who that person could be, then you could have not let them into that bar. Or if you could have known in advance what bar it would be, you could have closed that bar for that night. But you can't know. The only way to prevent a possible event is to close all bars.

If they close them preemptively then they are bastards for closing down the craic. If they don't close them then there are two possibilities - nobody has it and therefore nobody catches it and it doesn't spread, or someone has it, spreads it and we end in lockdown and everyone is moaning about being out of work and crying that bars weren't' shut earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭joe40

Even if pubs were to open, the 2 metre social distancing requirement would mean zero crack or atmosphere.
    It would be like a restaurant with no food. Certainly not my idea of a night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭AUDI20

Muahahaha wrote: »
    jaysis, cant see it happening at a time they are re-opening the schools. Probably the end of October at the earliest if even that.

Is there anything stopping these pubs doing a deal with a local takeaway to supply the 9 euro food and then open that way?

Pubs and hotel bars can open if they are operating as restaurants which means they must have a licence to serve food and are under very strict requirements from the health & safety authority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

jaysis, cant see it happening at a time they are re-opening the schools. Probably the end of October at the earliest if even that.

Is there anything stopping these pubs doing a deal with a local takeaway to supply the 9 euro food and then open that way?

I don't think so. I wonder what happens if someone gets sick after a meal. I know chances are slim and all that but maybe there's a concern there? Plus you still need a kitchen and a dishpit at least to wash up unless you're gonna put greasy brown paper bags in front of punters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,807 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

ShooterSF wrote: »
    Plus you still need a kitchen and a dishpit at least to wash up unless you're gonna put greasy brown paper bags in front of punters

I had some mighty nice pizza out of a cardboard box last night. No cutlery required either with pizza. The pints were tasty too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Acosta

Pub down the road is pretty much open as normal, other than it being table service only. They have food, but it's optional. Had several pints in there, happy out and well away from anyone as they have a big outside seating area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,928 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

I’ve a lot of sympathy for pubs at this stage.
    I understand they need to stay closed, but we aren’t being as strict on travel as we need to be and there is no indication of what level the country needs to get to for them to open. The unknown is the worst part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Outbreak on Aberdeen linked to numerous pubs...if we opened pubs Monday, we would be in the same boat...

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-53666665

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    Outbreak on Aberdeen linked to numerous pubs...if we opened pubs Monday, we would be in the same boat...

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-53666665

At least 5 pubs in Dundalk opening Monday serving food from local takeaways. They will all be open bar a few within the week imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,928 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

The biggest problem I have with this is not the pubs losing money, or people going out of business, it’s the lack of a published exit strategy by the government as to how we get to a stage that the pubs are open. They haven’t told us what needs to happen for that stage to be viable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I had some mighty nice pizza out of a cardboard box last night. No cutlery required either with pizza. The pints were tasty too.

hmmmm......People after a few drinks eating food with their hands and licking their fingers.......sure what could go wrong.

At least 5 pubs in Dundalk opening Monday serving food from local takeaways. They will all be open bar a few within the week imo

yeah I would say thats what will happen. They would still need to apply for and receive a restaurant license though. Its also not sure if they can legally outsource their food safety requirements to a local takeaway. If they're serving burgers and chips they're still responsible for the food being safe. I can see the HSE sticking their oar into pubs who go down this road. The pubs can try it for sure but Id say the HSE are going to have trouble with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭the rock29

People need to know when they are opening is it three weeks or next year and as for staff they need to know so they can move on with the lives work wise or family. Pubs will get some form of compensation maybe but they still have the court case in October against FBD insurance the government is making a joke of the hole situation make a decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,326 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

The biggest problem I have with this is not the pubs losing money, or people going out of business, it’s the lack of a published exit strategy by the government as to how we get to a stage that the pubs are open. They haven’t told us what needs to happen for that stage to be viable.

They know from the start what's required but Leo publicly said we can't do it as not to offend the English and also as we're not Irish anymore were Europeans.
    The Jacinda show is the only one worth watching, the sooner Leo gets to grips with the Idea the better. I'd like to think Tony left to look after his wife but himself and Leo were publicly disagreeing with each other when he left. Tony wanted 0, Leo was eyeing a career in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,609 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

hmmmm......People after a few drinks eating food with their hands and licking their fingers.......sure what could go wrong.

And if the pizza was served on a plate it would remove these concerns?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Sure how else do you eat your chicken wings?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

yeah I would say thats what will happen. They would still need to apply for and receive a restaurant license though. Its also not sure if they can legally outsource their food safety requirements to a local takeaway. If they're serving burgers and chips they're still responsible for the food being safe. I can see the HSE sticking their oar into pubs who go down this road. The pubs can try it for sure but Id say the HSE are going to have trouble with it.

They don't need a food licence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Pubs need to tackle this one head on and do what the hairdressers did - build their own set of guidelines, be really restrictive, and present this to the Government and NPHET for approval.

The biggest risk now is the fact that people are falling out of love with the pubs anyway. People are realising that 3 nights a week down the boozer isn't actually all that great and if they can call into a mate for a few drinks of an evening, that's just as good and a fraction of the price.

Young people are meeting up without pubs, and they're not hating it. We've talked for years in Ireland that we go to the pub because of a lack of alternatives. People are discovering alternatives now that they have to, and tbh they just won't return to the pubs in the same numbers.

Even if the pubs opened tomorrow, a large chunk of people will stay away for safety. And may never return, except for the odd weekend meetup.

The pubs who haven't been able to open under restaurant licences need to start thinking about their own future strategy. Just reopening as a local boozer won't be enough unless you're in a town centre. Within a year pubs are going to be closing en masse.

They don't need a food licence

I thought they did to serve and sell food :confused: At least all the food pubs were going on about their restaurant licenses meaning they are more restaurants than pubs

Either way serving food in a pub presumes you have a kitchen which has been inspected and passed by the HSE/Food Safety Authority of Ireland. There is likely a law that says food has to be prepared and cooked in an approved kitchen on the same premises that it is being served to customers in. Thats where I could see the HSE putting the kibosh on the idea. Insurance issues arise too if someone gets sick from food served, who is to blame, takeaway or publican, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

I thought they did to serve and sell food :confused: At least all the food pubs were going on about their restaurant licenses meaning they are more restaurants than pubs

Either way serving food in a pub presumes you have a kitchen which has been inspected and passed by the HSE/Food Safety Authority of Ireland. There is likely a law that says food has to be prepared and cooked in an approved kitchen on the same premises that it is being served to customers in. Thats where I could see the HSE putting the kibosh on the idea. Insurance issues arise too if someone gets sick from food served, who is to blame, takeaway or publican, etc

My local used to do Wings Wednesday, wings from a place across the road and a pint for a tenner, never had an issue with the HSE about it.