If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

weisses wrote: »
    In a pub adhering to social distancing after 8 pints = factual :rolleyes::D

who said anything about 8 pints ?
    Bit of a leap there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,340 ✭✭✭joeguevara

It's factual, unlike your posts blaming the wrong people for masturbating in public.

See, even when you had a good point to make you fcuck it up. I incorrectly blamed him for exposing himself and not ma5turbating in public. Learn to win your battles when you have a good point.

hetuzozaho wrote: »
    Is there any good links to what they need to do?

Ive been in:
    - Pubs with small pizza ovens behind bar cooking pre made pizzas they get delivered, no kitchen.
    - Pubs with sandwich makers on bar counter - no kitchen etc.
    - Food delivered.
    - Pubs with pre made up cheese boards in fridge behind bar.

Is all that against the rules?

Only one of these that would be possibly against the rules (as it may not be a substantial meal) is the toasted sandwich. But on the face of it, all would probably work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭weisses

who said anything about 8 pints ?
    Bit of a leap there

10 it is so then

point is ..Alcohol doesn't improve ones behavior re social distancing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,505 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Neowise wrote: »
    2 months ago was June 5th.
    Pubs that serve food reopened June 29th.
    Pubs been closed since march 15th.

Is it possible, do you think, that maybe if the pubs were open, then these people would still be alive?

Would it also be possible, that painting all 'Irish people' with the same brush is being a tad racist?

Did you know that liberty for irish citizens is promised in the Irish constitution.

Liberty is available. I intend to enjoy mine above ground and out of a hospital or cemetery while trying to live and enjoy as best I can with what’s happening, WITH certain common sense restrictions. By your argument then their should be no pub closing times, or licensing laws even, ‘liberty’ :rolleyes: this is covid country... where liberty enables us to make common sense, fair, difficult and health informed decisions , so we can all continue enjoying freedom, wellbeing and so on.

The alternative is anarchy. If life reopens absolutely as normal, this virus runs rampant, infecting Gardai, defense forces, health workers, public service workers we are fûcked, absolutely fûcked. There WILL be anarchy, lawlessness...a breakdown of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Glenomra

Strumms wrote: »
    Liberty is available. I intend to enjoy mine above ground and out of a hospital or cemetery while trying to live and enjoy as best I can with what’s happening, WITH certain common sense restrictions. By your argument then their should be no pub closing times, or licensing laws even, ‘liberty’ :rolleyes: this is covid country... where liberty enables us to make common sense, fair, difficult and health informed decisions , so we can all continue enjoying freedom, wellbeing and so on.

The alternative is anarchy. If life reopens absolutely as normal, this virus runs rampant, infecting Gardai, defense forces, health workers, public service workers we are fûcked, absolutely fûcked. There WILL be anarchy, lawlessness...a breakdown of society.
    So please tell us why isn't the virus in Sweden running rampant', infecting police, 'defense forces, health workers, public service'. why aren't they ' fûcked, absolutely fûcked'. why isn't there 'anarchy, lawlessness...a breakdown of society' in Sweden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,800 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

DeanAustin wrote: »
    The government have made a decision, based on medical advice, to keep pubs closed. You may not agree with that decision but to assume that it's based on some Machiavellian motivation is just sad and pathetic really.

It's only the 11PM closing time I'm taking issue with. That is discrimination based on an estalishment stereotype that there's no "respectable" reason to be out late at night, and it's bullsh!t. As long as the 90 minute rule is followed, the time of day is irrelevant. On what basis is the virus more likely to spread at night than in daylight?

Glenomra wrote: »
    So please tell us why isn't the virus in Sweden running rampant', infecting police, 'defense forces, health workers, public service'. why aren't they ' fûcked, absolutely fûcked'. why isn't there 'anarchy, lawlessness...a breakdown of society' in Sweden.

Because Sweden having spent a good deal of time there and indeed knowing a great number of them... I can tell you have very different social habits to us, have very different perspectives, outlooks and personalities to us... they are home birds, Friday night is one of them calling me up inviting me over, they cook a meal, some music, few drinks watch a football game on TV, PS4... whatever... then pub for last hour....in this situation... they are responsible, our rebel outlooks and social neediness .. and reliance on pubs for social enjoyment .... think bad news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,808 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Because Sweden having spent a good deal of time there and indeed knowing a great number of them... I can tell you have very different social habits to us, have very different perspectives, outlooks and personalities to us... they are home birds, Friday night is one of them calling me up inviting me over, they cook a meal, some music, few drinks watch a football game on TV, PS4... whatever... then pub for last hour....in this situation... they are responsible, our rebel outlooks and social neediness .. and reliance on pubs for social enjoyment .... think bad news

This.

Let's be honest here lads, opening the pubs here means a lot of us (and by us I mean the Irish in general) getting shítfaced and abandoning all social distancing.
    I know it, the government know it, you know it. Don't pretend it's any conspiracy or unfairness by yer man in the Dail..
    The kids need to go back to school, we can get shítfaced at home if we want to for a few more weeks. That's the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,644 ✭✭✭✭briany

Given that the Irish government is committing to its current course of action, the best thing to do would be to watch how the UK fares now that its own pubs are open again. The UK has a similar, if not identical, pub culture to Ireland, and they also have a reservoir of infection. If the UK does not experience a significant spike in cases over the next few weeks, then this is probably the nearest indicator we'll get of how opening normal pubs affects things over here.

Supercell wrote: »
    This.

Let's be honest here lads, opening the pubs here means a lot of us (and by us I mean the Irish in general) getting shítfaced and abandoning all social distancing.
    I know it, the government know it, you know it. Don't pretend it's any conspiracy or unfairness by yer man in the Dail..
    The kids need to go back to school, we can get shítfaced at home if we want to for a few more weeks. That's the difference.

A lot of pubs would barely have the room to ensure social distancing is enabled and maintained... add in alcohol, covid, no.... not a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,199 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

briany wrote: »
    Given that the Irish government is committing to its current course of action, the best thing to do would be to watch how the UK fares now that its own pubs are open again. The UK has a similar, if not identical, pub culture to Ireland, and they also have a reservoir of infection. If the UK does not experience a significant spike in cases over the next few weeks, then this is probably the nearest indicator we'll get of how opening normal pubs affects things over here.

Doesn't even need to be all of the UK, just follow what happens up North.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭bladespin

Doesn't even need to be the the North, just follow the buses and taxis crossing the border ;)
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,617 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    So between last night and this lunchtime th Taoiseach was wary of saying whether pubs will open this year. Then Eamonn Ryan said that pubs will open this year. This is my biggest issue with this new government is the fact that the messaging is bad. By having two leaders saw two very different things doesn't help confusion and confusion isn't what we need.

Wouldn't be like Ryan to get confused. Must have fallen asleep during the key notes delivered.

The schools should take priority at this point. My issue is that when they do reopen and the inevitable outbreaks happen, the current government strategy of delaying decisions and reactionary short term planning is going to cripple so many people financially.

It is possible to both reopen and have an aggressive strategy towards to dealing with outbreaks but that kind of complex planning seems to be beyond the interests of our government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,837 ✭✭✭Macy0161

What about Scotland, where they're saying one of the clusters that has Aberdeen back in more restrictions is pub based?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

It's only the 11PM closing time I'm taking issue with. That is discrimination based on an estalishment stereotype that there's no "respectable" reason to be out late at night, and it's bullsh!t. As long as the 90 minute rule is followed, the time of day is irrelevant. On what basis is the virus more likely to spread at night than in daylight?

I'd usually be totally in agreement with ya. Have worked in the bar trade since I was 18 but how many Irish bars or restaurants kept their kitchen open till midnight before now? I think if the law could have been crafted better it would be that anywhere that already had late kitchens pre-covid could keep them open but that's obviously not possible. Anywhere now extending kitchen hours "with a limited menu" is doing so to disguise the fact that they are letting people stay longer than 105 minutes. Sure there might be a side effect of benefiting people who do like to go out late and maybe places would realise there was a demand for it (one can dream) but that is not their intent.
    When all this is said and done then I think we can and should revisit the ridiculous rules where you can only get a drink between certain hours of the day.

Closing pubs at 11pm is discrimination? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭Onesea

I live in Norway, they are a little similar.However the pubs are open months, public transport never stopped. Schools opened up months. No spread of the virus. Some clusters here and there.. Ireland is a basket case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,786 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Did the Govt give a new date that they *might* open on yesterday or is this indefinite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭bladespin

Onesea wrote: »
    I live in Norway, they are a little similar.However the pubs are open months, public transport never stopped. Schools opened up months. No spread of the virus. Some clusters here and there.. Ireland is a basket case

I wouldn't go that far tbh, community spread is very small here thankfully, that's the scariest of them all IMO, if we can control that we're winning, shows the basic guidelines work and are being followed for the most part.

Our current numbers are mostly work related in areas prone to the spread (people working closely), while not ideal it could be possible to contain/avoid with random HSE/A spot checks etc Are they doing this or just sitting back waiting.

The biggest issue with locking down is coming out of it as we're seeing, we protected out healthcare (right thing to do) but think we over did it.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,305 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Relax I didn't use Irish people in a generalizing manner, it was used so I didn't have to Particularize. And what I said certainly isn't ignorant, the world perception of Irish people are people who are fond of their alcohol. I can confirm this also as a person born in Ireland to Irish parents that certainly in my circles alcohol was a major problem even though at the time none of us saw the problem with it. If you're proud that Ireland is seem a nation of drinkers then that's a problem.

Again I'd like to reiterate, I've no problems with pubs, I just think it being the only form or socializing and entertainment for many people is unhealthy and dangerous

looks like you are in a spin, you dont even understand your own words.....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,164 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Did the Govt give a new date that they *might* open on yesterday or is this indefinite?

Review in 3 weeks but followed up by Martin saying he can't guarantee pubs will open again this year. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,837 ✭✭✭Macy0161

rob316 wrote: »
    Review in 3 weeks but followed up by Martin saying he can't guarantee pubs will open again this year. :rolleyes:
    I'm no fan of his, but how can he give a guarantee, if it's subject to review?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,786 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

jaysis, cant see it happening at a time they are re-opening the schools. Probably the end of October at the earliest if even that.

Is there anything stopping these pubs doing a deal with a local takeaway to supply the 9 euro food and then open that way?

jaysis, cant see it happening at a time they are re-opening the schools. Probably the end of October at the earliest if even that.

Is there anything stopping these pubs doing a deal with a local takeaway to supply the 9 euro food and then open that way?

Absolutely nothing,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,644 ✭✭✭✭briany

Wasn't there a publican on the radio last week saying he was planning to do this very thing?

Theoretically, I don't see anything wrong with that, so long as the publican has the means to socially distance and the resolve to actually enforce it.

The only problem with it would be that even as it stands you have a number of food pubs taking liberties with the rules. I'd have to think that many chip-bag pubs that are only doing the chipper deal to pay lip service to the rules would only be happy to stretch things even further, and the patrons would be gung-ho to follow along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭vid36

Pubs and Restaurants to close from this afternoon in Aberdeen due to an upsurge in cases.
    https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-53666665

Review in 3 weeks is pointless. They'll have to wait until schools have been open at least a few weeks to determine how that has gone. Easily 7/8 weeks before pubs have any chance of opening unfortunately

Onesea wrote: »

You’ll be well aware then in the different social habits that the Norwegians have to pubs and socializing in general.. said it weeks back, we can’t be looking at what others are doing and saying “ yes, let’s replicate this here, look it’s working, look it’s ok up there! “

Instead of taking a system being successful with a whole different set of personalities and social habits we have to examine our own social habits , weaknesses and implement here, whatever we need to.

Looking at Norway, Finland, Austria, Azerbaijan... is a futile exercise... this is US, this is HERE this is NOW.. what’s best for US ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭madmax72

I work in a bar that has been closed since March.My boss is going to reopen next week doing pizzas which we were doing before the lockdown.I think the only pubs that won't try this to get themselves open are pubs that unfortunately will not reopen.Im glad to be going back as my boss is going to follow all social distancing contact tracing etc