Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs when/will they re-open - the Megathread

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭UI_Paddy

mloc123 wrote: »
    Similar videos of Dame Lane on twitter last night

Yeah my uncle was in the area and said it was madness. If the pubs are shut again it will be the owners' fault. They had a second chance to prove they could operate safely with threats to have their licenses revoked. Now it's looking more likely they may have blew it.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,362 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

UI_Paddy wrote: »
    Yeah my uncle was in the area and said it was madness. If the pubs are shut again it will be the owners' fault. They had a second chance to prove they could operate safely with threats to have their licenses revoked. Now it's looking more likely they may have blew it.

And the worst thing is that a small minority of pub owners who let everyone go mad, stay as long as they wanted, stand as close as they wanted, will ruin it for the majority who probably did a great job.

It'll just be a blanket pub ban again, and all are punished.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,214 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

UI_Paddy wrote: »

And yet the videos are mainly of people standing around drinking cans, they didn't get them out of pubs in Dame Lane. Don't see why they would be shut down when inside they're operating as per the guidelines.

Issue appears to be people went out, bars and restaurants were full, they didn't have bookings, went around to spar and started drinking in the street with 2 or 3 places doing takeaway pints also.

Inside the bars was fine, its fairly simple stop the off trade in the area. Dame Lane, Camden street etc have all be like this the last few weeks, last night is nothing new

• Registered Users Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭s8n

And yet the videos are mainly of people standing around drinking cans, they didn't get them out of pubs in Dame Lane. Don't see why they would be shut down when inside they're operating as per the guidelines.

Issue appears to be people went out, bars and restaurants were full, they didn't have bookings, went around to spar and started drinking in the street with 2 or 3 places doing takeaway pints also.

Inside the bars was fine, its fairly simple stop the off trade in the area. Dame Lane, Camden street etc have all be like this the last few weeks, last night is nothing new

.....which people then circumvent by bringing their own cans. Its the lack of common sense which is causing this issue

s8n wrote: »
    .....which people then circumvent by bringing their own cans. Its the lack of common sense which is causing this issue

Thats the point, if your going out book a table somewhere its pretty straight forward or just go to another area of town and find somewhere with tables available.

I dont see why anyone would want to stand in Dame Lane drinking cans, it wasn't even nice weather in Dublin yesterday to be drinking outside.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Thats the point, if your going out book a table somewhere its pretty straight forward or just go to another area of town and find somewhere with tables available.

I dont see why anyone would want to stand in Dame Lane drinking cans, it wasn't even nice weather in Dublin yesterday to be drinking outside.

The problem is, there’s more more craic to be had and a bit of a buzz outside the pub now mixing and mingling with others, rather than the sterile, socially distanced environment inside, if the video is anything to go by. Cheaper too! It sounds like it’s kinda when the smoking ban was introduced, there was better craic in the smoking area as there was inside.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

Yeah I don't see why the bars are being called out here. Presumably any of the open ones weren't doing takeaway so weren't even contributing drink to dame Lane gathering.

Anyone know if mercantile is open? Dame tavern and stags head look closed anyway.

I know bankers is open, but they wouldn't be selling drink to the people in video either.

Fair enough have a word with bars doing takeaway now as we have started new phase of actually opening premises.

Yep and covid or no covid the garda can manage groups of people drinking cans in city centre.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

I love the way some people blame those who were drinking in the streets etc.

Blame the politicians/bureaucrats who appear to be doing everything to destroy the economy and cause misery (as crazy as that seems).

When the lock-down was first imposed back in early March, pretty much everybody agreed with it. And managed it. Locking down for a few weeks is fine; for a few months is difficult, but people accepted it as long as it was a necessity. Now, almost 4 months since being locked down, the curve long since flattened, the numbers very low and with a lot of the summer gone, people just want to experience a bit of normality for a few hours.

Many people, even avid anti-FG people, commended the government for their handling of the crisis in March/April. However, instead of moving to the next phase (getting the country back up and running in a safe manner), the government seem to just fall back to that one-trick-pony of keeping things mostly locked down. Mix in the bureaucrats and you end up with this mess.
    1. How exactly does spending 9 euro on a meal prevent you from getting infected?
    2. How exactly did somebody come up with 90/105 minutes? Surely, if you have been sitting next to someone for 105 minutes, you are no less at risk sitting next to them for 4-5 hours.

These 2 ridiculously stupid rules are the main problem here. Instead of all pubs being open since the June weekend, offering a low-risk environment, we are in July, with most pubs still shut, a few pubs religiously following the rules, some "kinda following them" and a few ignoring them.

If all the pubs were open, observing practical processes to ensure a low risk environment, then we wouldn't have people crammed in to alley-ways etc.

tl;dr
    Don't blame the people on the streets, blame the cúnts who refuse to allow them socialise safely.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

Group of people I know have been in the same pub since 3pm and will probably remain there for the night. Pubs all over doing it.

I'm not an expert by any means but it is hard to see how this will not lead to a spike in cases.

• Registered Users Posts: 85,900 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

close and fine the pub owners, fine the ignorant drinkers too, house arrest curfew them

• Registered Users Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭Blut2

People are going to socialize and drink either way. Thats just how it is, you're never going to get single people under 40 to stay at home indefinitely.

Given that it makes far more sense to have them in pubs drinking, where they'll actually be socially distanced at tables. And where servers can serve them drink, the bathrooms get disinfected regularly etc. Because otherwise they'll just go to house parties and they're way, way less socially distanced. Way more mingling, in much smaller spaces, with a single fridge and bathroom shared between loads of people.

Its basically the same story as prohibition - except this time its of socializing instead of alcohol. It doesn't work in either case. Either legalize it and control it, or it'll happen illegally and more dangerously anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,797 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

dotsman wrote: »
    I love the way some people blame those who were drinking in the streets etc.

Blame the politicians/bureaucrats who appear to be doing everything to destroy the economy and cause misery (as crazy as that seems).

When the lock-down was first imposed back in early March, pretty much everybody agreed with it. And managed it. Locking down for a few weeks is fine; for a few months is difficult, but people accepted it as long as it was a necessity. Now, almost 4 months since being locked down, the curve long since flattened, the numbers very low and with a lot of the summer gone, people just want to experience a bit of normality for a few hours.

Many people, even avid anti-FG people, commended the government for their handling of the crisis in March/April. However, instead of moving to the next phase (getting the country back up and running in a safe manner), the government seem to just fall back to that one-trick-pony of keeping things mostly locked down. Mix in the bureaucrats and you end up with this mess.
    1. How exactly does spending 9 euro on a meal prevent you from getting infected?
    2. How exactly did somebody come up with 90/105 minutes? Surely, if you have been sitting next to someone for 105 minutes, you are no less at risk sitting next to them for 4-5 hours.

These 2 ridiculously stupid rules are the main problem here. Instead of all pubs being open since the June weekend, offering a low-risk environment, we are in July, with most pubs still shut, a few pubs religiously following the rules, some "kinda following them" and a few ignoring them.

If all the pubs were open, observing practical processes to ensure a low risk environment, then we wouldn't have people crammed in to alley-ways etc.

tl;dr
    Don't blame the people on the streets, blame the cúnts who refuse to allow them socialise safely.

The blame of those people on the streets is squarely on the people on the streets and not on anyone else. You know the think of personal responsible?

As for the rule you know damn well why as it has been explained here to you numerous times at that is that these pubs decided to open under a restaurant licence and under such licence you have to serve meals and not just peanuts or a small sandwich. But you know this but you just want to pass the blame on to people who can not follow the rule to others to make you feel better when you don't follow them. To suggest in 2 weeks time that somehow the same that are not following them now will somehow do so when pubs open and maintain distance is laughable.

Blut2 wrote: »
    People are going to socialize and drink either way. Thats just how it is, you're never going to get single people under 40 to stay at home indefinitely.

Given that it makes far more sense to have them in pubs drinking, where they'll actually be socially distanced at tables. And where servers can serve them drink, the bathrooms get disinfected regularly etc. Because otherwise they'll just go to house parties and they're way, way less socially distanced. Way more mingling, in much smaller spaces, with a single fridge and bathroom shared between loads of people.

Its basically the same story as prohibition - except this time its of socializing instead of alcohol. It doesn't work in either case. Either legalize it and control it, or it'll happen illegally and more dangerously anyway.

Are you saying that this would not happen if all pubs were open and people allowed to socialize in pubs with social distancing. Did you not see the scenes in the UK from the weekend!!!! They can now go to a pub but they have to eat as these pubs agreed to open as a restaurant licence which stipulates you have to serve meals to people and not just drinks, crisps and peanuts

• Registered Users Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

talking out your ass , same as usa gimps saying they will not wear a mask

Thank you kindly for your informative input. Apologies for applying logical thinking.
    The blame of those people on the streets is squarely on the people on the streets and not on anyone else. You know the think of personal responsible?
    Personal Responsibility? Yes, I am aware of it, and a firm believer in it. The people on the streets have, for the most part, been very responsible over the past 4 months. However, with the government refusing to take responsibility for getting the country back together, and with zero suitable alternatives, these people are doing the best with what is available to them.

After all, we are talking about humans. And just because some humans don't enjoy socialising, or love being "holier than thou", doesn't mean that all humans are that way. Most humans, especially young adults, will always need to socialise. Most humans need to enjoy life, and see socialising as a big part of that enjoyment. So we need to stop pretending we can just get everybody to lock themselves in their homes indefinitely.
    As for the rule you know damn well why as it has been explained here to you numerous times at that is that these pubs decided to open under a restaurant licence and under such licence you have to serve meals and not just peanuts or a small sandwich. But you know this but you just want to pass the blame on to people who can not follow the rule to others to make you feel better when you don't follow them. To suggest in 2 weeks time that somehow the same that are not following them now will somehow do so when pubs open and maintain distance is laughable.
    But it is the sheer stupidity of forcing them to pretend they are restaurants is the problem here. Pubs should have been opened, as pubs, since the start of June. If all pubs were opened, without stupid rules, but with sensible precautions (social distancing, table service, ppe for bar staff, additional outdoor seating/tables, regular cleaning etc), then people wouldn't have to pack themselves into alleyways just to meet their friends and have a few drinks and feel normal for a few hours.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭Beanybabog

I went to a gastro pub today, it’s very much a restaurant type of place anyway. I wasn’t even drinking as I’m pregnant but the food there is really good. Nothing really different apart from staff in masks and some sanitiser. We only stayed 1.5 hours anyway as we had small kids that kick off but they didn’t seem to move people- 1.5 hours wasn’t enough time for the meal and a drink unless your like us and have to pay the bill before the ice cream is finished. It was doing ok, but they had free tables still. Seemed to be a lot of elderly people who weren’t afraid to go. One table of 4 near me must all have been late 70s at least and were horsing into the wine, I’d say they’ve been dying to get out and it was as safe as a place like that can be I suppose

dotsman wrote: »
    Thank you kindly for your informative input. Apologies for applying logical thinking.

Personal Responsibility? Yes, I am aware of it, and a firm believer in it. The people on the streets have, for the most part, been very responsible over the past 4 months. However, with the government refusing to take responsibility for getting the country back together, and with zero suitable alternatives, these people are doing the best with what is available to them.

After all, we are talking about humans. And just because some humans don't enjoy socialising, or love being "holier than thou", doesn't mean that all humans are that way. Most humans, especially young adults, will always need to socialise. Most humans need to enjoy life, and see socialising as a big part of that enjoyment. So we need to stop pretending we can just get everybody to lock themselves in their homes indefinitely.

But it is the sheer stupidity of forcing them to pretend they are restaurants is the problem here. Pubs should have been opened, as pubs, since the start of June. If all pubs were opened, without stupid rules, but with sensible precautions (social distancing, table service, ppe for bar staff, additional outdoor seating/tables, regular cleaning etc), then people wouldn't have to pack themselves into alleyways just to meet their friends and have a few drinks and feel normal for a few hours.

The government is getting the country back and opening the country in stages so if there is a spike they may only role back something and not others. Just because you and another's do not like it does not give you reason to act how you like. Yes people need to socialize and have enjoyment it does not just have to be be young adults. However responsible adults know how to do this and do this safely. They also know how to take responsibility for there own actions and not blame others because they do not like it.

So you are saying if pubs just open with the rules they are minus food we would have been fine? A look to see what happened in the UK this weekend would prove us otherwise and yes this will happen in Ireland is what I am saying. I saw no social distancing and been safe and been responsible last night do you?

These pubs decided to open on a restaurant licence no one forced them to do so and those who do not are making it harder for those who did open and those who did not open and are following the rules

• Registered Users Posts: 554 ✭✭✭vafankillar

Had a good look walking by myself. Dame Tavern was the main pub selling the pints and the globe around the corner was selling pints and lots of the cans people were drinking.

saying that lots were just drinking whatever from the shops too. add came up on my facebook for take-away pints for the lotts pub, they had a notice of some bs like "please remember to follow government guidelines and do not stand around drinking on the streets"

such performative nonsense, as if what? people are gonna get the bus home with their pints first or something

Contradictory guidelines and regulations has been one of the cornerstones of this whole thing

• Registered Users Posts: 38,167 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Numbers going up which are to be expected but i wonder how they were impacted with the opening of restaurants/food pubs ?

The week of the 20th July is going to be fun

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Numbers going up which are to be expected but i wonder how they were impacted with the opening of restaurants/food pubs ?

The week of the 20th July is going to be fun

The numbers are broadly in line with last week. You wont see phase 3 numbers until at least the end of this week/ start of next

• Registered Users Posts: 28,458 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Did pubs closed after kitchens closed at the weekend or did they stay open till normal pub closing times?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭lickalot

murpho999 wrote: »
    Did pubs closed after kitchens closed at the weekend or did they stay open till normal pub closing times?

A lot of Country pubs are alive and kicking like nothing has changed.

Dunno about the city pubs.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭bennyineire

lickalot wrote: »
    A lot of Country pubs are alive and kicking like nothing has changed.

Dunno about the city pubs.

Good man, have you been all over the country drinking in pubs all week ?

I can only speak for Tullamore as I've been to no other town.
    5 of the 30 pubs are currently open and all reportedly compiling.

I myself was in 1 on Saturday, I had to book a table. I had a meal, 4 pints and was on my way after 2 hours

• Registered Users Posts: 38,167 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I myself was in 1 on Saturday, I had to book a table. I had a meal, 4 pints and was on my way after 2 hours

Jesus 30 pubs in Tullamore

Only ever there for GAA matches (O Connor Park is a nice stadium) so prob never took much attention to the size of the town

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭lickalot

That's Offaly though, there a big backwards in that part of the country.

Havn't been all over the country but know the county i'm in half of them are open, know in Cork, Waterford, Kilkenny and Tipp as well there's plenty open. Its go around the back door job for a lot of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

NIMAN wrote: »
    Hopefully we won't see these type of scenes in Ireland, but we all know it'll happen

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-53296689

Not relevant to Ireland. The pubs will not reopen.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,363 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Havn't been all over the country but know the county i'm in half of them are open, know in Cork, Waterford, Kilkenny and Tipp as well there's plenty open. Its go around the back door job for a lot of them.

That's not 'open' in any conventional sense.
    I'd consider 'open' to be front door open, tv visible, sandwich boards advertising drink/food offers on display, and visibly welcoming trade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭kenmm

That's Offaly though, there a big backwards in that part of the country.

They can't even write goodly down they're

• Registered Users Posts: 20,692 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Went out for food and a couple of pints on Saturday evening in a well know Dublin pub ,
    There was 10 of us in total booking was for half 8 but couple of us arrived early about 10 past 8 and orders pints,
    I was the first tot leave at quarter to 12 , The rest of the lads left of there own accord at about quarter past 12,

We where sat in an area in the corner well away form anyone else,
    To be fair the pub was ran well and there was no one standing around and no one at the bar, Ques for the toilets where managed well to ,

Went out for food and a couple of pints on Saturday evening in a well know Dublin pub ,
    There was 10 of us in total booking was for half 8 but couple of us arrived early about 10 past 8 and orders pints,
    I was the first tot leave at quarter to 12 , The rest of the lads left of there own accord at about quarter past 12,

We where sat in an area in the corner well away form anyone else,
    To be fair the pub was ran well and there was no one standing around and no one at the bar, Ques for the toilets where managed well to ,

And were you guys asked if from same household or just allowed to not socially distance around same table without questions?