Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs when/will they re-open - the Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

TomTomTim wrote: »
    I've seen the opposite. There's a far higher visible presence of junkies and scumbags. I've only been in town twice in the last few months. The first time I seen junkies fighting at the Spire, the second time I seen some security guards at a shop around the IFSC having to hold two junkies down who tried to rob a shop. It's making Dublin look ten times worse than usual.

Because they're not diluted by workers, shoppers, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,948 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

For those who thought the threat of having their licence removed would be a deterrent to publicans, think again. As i predicted, nobody will be losing their licence

https://westernpeople.ie/2020/09/10/first-mayo-prosecution-for-pub-flouting-covid-restrictions/#.X1pgxGhKg2x
    Gardai have objected to the renewal of a license for an Achill pub who openly flouted the law in relation to Covid-19 restrictions.

Speaking at the local district court today (Thursday), Inspector Denis Harrington objected to the renewal of the licence of Joe Fadian, licensee of Ted Lavelle’s, Cashel, Achill. He noted two files relating to the breaches had been sent to the DPP. A prosecution was directed on one of the files while directions were awaited in the second.

He noted this was ‘not a normal application’ but on numerous occasions, the licensee was not compliant with advice and regulations imposed as a result of the spread of Covid-19.

Four local gardai had called to the premises on numerous occasions over the past number of weeks and had advised Mr Fadian of the restrictions and what he needed to put in place. “He has failed to put any measures in place or take advice and that is why we are here today.”

He noted there had been a number of incidents of patrons drinking at a pool table and that people cannot drink or serve from the bar counter, people must be seated.

“It is not rocket science,” said Insp Harrington, “But he has continued to ignore our advice despite every other premises in the area being compliant, we have checked them almost daily.”

Solicitor Rory O’Connor said his client would state his premises does comply with the setup but gardai say it doesn’t. “This is a difference of opinion.” He suggested that the gardai meet with Mr Fadian on his premises and discuss the issue.

Insp Harrington suggested that the licensee be given two months to ‘change his ways’, if he did the issue may not trouble the court. However, if he did not start to comply, they will progress the proceedings.

Judge Fiona Lydon adjourned the case to November 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭questionmark?

For those who thought the threat of having their licence removed would be a deterrent to publicans, think again. As i predicted, nobody will be losing their licence

https://westernpeople.ie/2020/09/10/first-mayo-prosecution-for-pub-flouting-covid-restrictions/#.X1pgxGhKg2x

Hold on. The judge has giving him two months to cop the hell on. If he doesn't cop on and the case comes before the court in two months but the judge doesn't remove the licence then we will know wheter the licence will be lost.
    I say the guards preference as well as the court is for the landlord to get his sh1te together rather than closing the premises down.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

So nothing happens him once he sticks to the rules now. Every pub should have opened waited till renewale time and claimed the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

You mean like nurses and doctors? Also how about the people who are not elderly and have underlying health conditions, or anyone that may be near elderly such as cooks cleaners orderlys etc.

I am not saying this is has been handled terribly in the last couple of months but you paint a way too simplistic picture

What I'm saying is many in homes are not trained staff, many are asylum seekers and others.
    I've seen it myself they were on top of each other on transport and getting up into other people's space and touching each other etc like hugs, hand shakes etc etc.....

These workers were bringing the virus in in many cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,719 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Would a frontline worker been given the ridicule if they posted a video of them and others failing around the place drunk acting the bollox etc??

Looking back now this condescending claps and praise was over the top. Not all doctor's and nurses are saints belive me that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,356 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Would a frontline worker been given the ridicule if they posted a video of them and others failing around the place drunk acting the bollox etc??

Looking back now this condescending claps and praise was over the top. Not all doctor's and nurses are saints belive me that

You're starting to come unglued man, just pay the €9 and get a few pints into you.......

Yes, if nurses or doctors put up videos of themselves getting locked on phoneboxes or pouring shots into each others mouths, they'd be crucified, and rightly so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,468 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Live music will be allowed when pubs reopen once social distancing is observed

Some places are doing dine and music atm

I'd take anything as close to pre covid pub experience as possible but still won't be a fan of session music if it goes beyond 2 songs ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

Nooooooooooooooooooooooo

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 442 ✭✭freak scence

the messiah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Banana Republic.

City centre is quieter than normal times but its pretty much like this every day now and I'm in work for a few days of the week in the city. Bit of an over exaggeration from your friend.

Don't worry all of them are still around.

All city centres will suffer as people stay local

Well he showed the pictures and there wasn’t much going on but he was only in the city for the day so comparing to where we live most likely it’s like a different world. Nothing to lose sleep over.

I think the claps were not condescending at all, they were putting their families and their lives at risk weather they are saints or sinners and having to watch ppl die alone and watch ppl outside not being able to be there for their parents grandparents brothers or sisters. So believe you that. Plus everyone is entitled to enjoy themselves so that’s BS if we are judging ppl for enjoying themselves now within certain safe limits obviously.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 442 ✭✭freak scence

I think the claps were not condescending at all, they were putting their families and their lives at risk weather they are saints or sinners and having to watch ppl die alone and watch ppl outside not being able to be there for their parents grandparents brothers or sisters. So believe you that. Plus everyone is entitled to enjoy themselves so that’s BS if we are judging ppl for enjoying themselves now within certain safe limits obviously.

bit odd they could do all this dancing and clapping and hoards of people meant to be on their death beds dying happy clappy trappy

So what they are supposed to be permanently grieving? They deserve to forget about it all too, if you are dealing with that all day then you need to do something that’llput a smile on your face, they deserve it more then anymore. It’s still a ridiculous point.

Looking likely pubs will be open from the 21st no matter what the numbers are but more and more likely its following the restaurant model of table service, time limit and the 11pm/11.30pm close

The closing time is ****ing BS with **** all to be gained from it. As was said everyone will congregate on the streets and house parties will still happen. They should go back to what is was normal pre lockdown or at least have later closing times Fri/Sat/BH Sundays

The first big test of the openings will be the October BH weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Looking likely pubs will be open from the 21st no matter what the numbers are but more and more likely its following the restaurant model of table service, time limit and the 11pm/11.30pm close

The closing time is ****ing BS with **** all to be gained from it. As was said everyone will congregate on the streets and house parties will still happen. They should go back to what is was normal pre lockdown or at least have later closing times Fri/Sat/BH Sundays

The first big test of the openings will be the October BH weekend.
    As soon as people start to do that they will be shut down again.

I thought people just wanted to be able to go to the pub to get a pint?
    Now it's already more demanding...
    Not sure people realise we are still in the middle of a pandemic. It's not really relevant that some people want a later bar.

Suckit wrote: »
    As soon as people start to do that they will be shut down again.

I thought people just wanted to be able to go to the pub to get a pint?
    Now it's already more demanding...
    Not sure people realise we are still in the middle of a pandemic. It's not really relevant that some people want a later bar.

It's no shock that people are garbage.

"we have to learn to live with this virus

OK, here's the guidelines to live with it, sit down and go home an hour earlier on Fridays and Saturdays.

Not like that."

All will be revealed tomorrow

Not feeling confident and hope I'm wrong but think we won't see the wet pubs open next Monday

I knw opening as scheduled is part of the level plan but the health experts will advise 'not just yet'

All will be revealed tomorrow

Not feeling confident and hope I'm wrong but think we won't see the wet pubs open next Monday

I knw opening as scheduled is part of the level plan but the health experts will advise 'not just yet'

NPHET are the ones who gave it the green light. They'll open everywhere bar Dublin which I'd suspect will be pushed out by 2 weeks to give 3 weeks from new restrictions starting tomorrow

I hope when they open next Monday, they bar every cnut who uses the term "wet pub"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

They're still keeping the 105 minute rule in from next Monday. Just f*ck off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

GiftofGab wrote: »

If that's as bad as Dublin gets as far as restrictions go then I'd count the blessings and keep quiet.

GiftofGab wrote: »

Its the dangling carrot. Behave for 3 weeks and we'll open the pubs and bring Dublin in line with the rest of the country.

Fairly straightforward, how it is now really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭inthenip

If that's as bad as Dublin gets as far as restrictions go then I'd count the blessings and keep quiet.

And they'll just head all over the country instead. Great logic if true.

inthenip wrote: »
    And they'll just head all over the country instead. Great logic if true.

There's not that far you can go if you're drinking.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

This time next week, jukebox playin the tunnnes and dancing on the pool table.

Its the dangling carrot. Behave for 3 weeks and we'll open the pubs and bring Dublin in line with the rest of the country.

Fairly straightforward, how it is now really

Perfectly reasonable too.

There's not that far you can go if you're drinking.

Clonee, parts of blanchardstown and lucan, loughlinstown, naul, and anywhere North of balbriggan you're a 5 minute taxi from the next county over.

You're not making it more difficult for people to get a drink.