Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NCT discontinue lift inspections (now with places with working lifts)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

Lifts working again

tumblr_1a4deef10df52e9a580b81b629779bed_0405f91b_400.gif

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Why have the gardai not come out and stated the exact situation with expired NCT certs? it makes sense for anybody who is due an NCT to just wait until these lifts are sorted. gardai should just suspend the awarding of penalty points for anybody whose NCT cert is expired since the problems with NCT lifts was announced.

PS. Fair play to AXA for clarifying their insurance situation

• Registered Users Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭bladespin

Why have the gardai not come out and stated the exact situation with expired NCT certs? it makes sense for anybody who is due an NCT to just wait until these lifts are sorted. gardai should just suspend the awarding of penalty points for anybody whose NCT cert is expired since the problems with NCT lifts was announced.

Really don't think that's the gardai's call.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭elperello

bladespin wrote: »
    Really don't think that's the gardai's call.

Indeed not.

They are having a special February Road Safety Month in conjunction with the RSA.

Among the initiatives they list checkpoints including a focus on NCT as well as other matters.

https://www.garda.ie/en/about-us/our-departments/office-of-corporate-communications/news-media/road-safety-month-of-action-february-2020.html

Just tell them Mr Henderson of the NCT said you'd be grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,649 ✭✭✭creedp

Typical Irish solution .. feck the citizen. Nct contract awarded .. company cant fulfill the contract .. individual driver has to go through the charade of paying for a service that company cant provide. This is utterly ridiculous. NCT should be suspended until the bloody service can be provided. What a country.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭maestroamado

I am wondering what to do.we have car due NCT in coming weeks.
    As far as i can figure out all tests are "FAIL" and will be passed in the coming weeks/months/year when all sorted.
    Is it not better to wait and get tested later when we can get pass when all equipment in order?

Whats the view here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Bikerman2019

If you go for the test, they will do what they can. Anything involving the faulty lift equipment will not happen.
    You will get a cert showing incomplete. The insurance companies have already said that is fine, we understand blah blah, so your insurance is not affected. The gardai cannot do you either, it is out of your control. When the lifts are fixed you return to finish the test.

DONT do it, and you risk having the book thrown at you, invalid insurance, prosecution, the works.

Dont do this. Do not give them any excuse to do you.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Having your test partially done is IMO better than have it delayed. There's no official word from the AGS regarding partial test due to NCT's broken lifts, however it's unlikely they'd have a problem with that. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Bikerman2019

joujoujou wrote: »
    Having your test partially done is IMO better than have it delayed. There's no official word from the AGS regarding partial test due to NCT's broken lifts, however it's unlikely they'd have a problem with that. :)
    Definately. Any gardai do have liberty so if you get stopped and have a semi certificate, they wont do anything, its all over the news.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,294 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

If you go for the test, they will do what they can. Anything involving the faulty lift equipment will not happen.
    You will get a cert showing incomplete. The insurance companies have already said that is fine, we understand blah blah, so your insurance is not affected. The gardai cannot do you either, it is out of your control. When the lifts are fixed you return to finish the test.

DONT do it, and you risk having the book thrown at you, invalid insurance, prosecution, the works.

Dont do this. Do not give them any excuse to do you.

Pretty much this. It will be a pass up to a certain point, ie, use of the lift. Use of lift they will call you back for.

creedp wrote: »
    Typical Irish solution .. feck the citizen. Nct contract awarded .. company cant fulfill the contract .. individual driver has to go through the charade of paying for a service that company cant provide. This is utterly ridiculous. NCT should be suspended until the bloody service can be provided. What a country.

The two multi nationals who should be bearing the responsibility must be having a good laugh.

MAHA and Applus can sort it out at their leisure because they certainly aren't under any pressure from official Ireland.

The motorist gets to waste his time and money and sit in their waiting room for another 45 minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Minime2.5

what if you have an upcoming driving test

• Registered Users Posts: 20,176 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Apologies if this has already been dealt with, I'm a bit late to this party. What is the Garda position on these failed NCTs? How are people to avoid running afoul of the Rozzers while this situation is ongoing?

elperello wrote: »
    The two multi nationals who should be bearing the responsibility must be having a good laugh.

MAHA and Applus...

Oh, Maha are the same crowd that make the shock dynos. I wouldn't imagine they're having a laugh, no, whatever about Applus.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,413 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

jimgoose wrote: »
    Apologies if this has already been dealt with, I'm a bit late to this party. What is the Garda position on these failed NCTs? How are people to avoid running afoul of the Rozzers while this situation is ongoing?

Nobody from AGS or Department of Justice or Government have stuck their head above the parapet on this one so far. The silence is deafening.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Nobody from AGS or Department of Justice or Government have stuck their head above the parapet on this one so far. The silence is deafening.

Why am I not amazed.

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭AlfaZen

So the consensus here is to go and get a partial test due to the lift issue?

I personally think, the lack of a definitive aligned communication between the NCT, AGS and the insurance companies is nothing short of a disgrace. Especially when the sanctions for not having a valid NCT could lead to a void insurance policy or 5 penalty points.

Joe public are forced to go to and NCT centre at least twice to complete a test. Joe public take the full brunt of the costs involved in going to the test centre twice and Jow public runs the gauntlet with the AGS on not having a valid NCT and plays roulette with their insurance cover.

My solution:
    1. Majority of tests to go on-hold until the lifts at the test centre have been cleared (excl. PSVs and vehicles that fall under item 4 below)
    2. Drivers must produce 2 documents to the Gardai a.) Evidence of a booking during the dates affected and b.) evidence of a new future booking within 2 months of the date of the original booking.
    3. All Insurance companies to send customers a written disclaimer that they are fully covered once the have the bookings a. and b. above.
    4. Any car which cannot or does not meet the above needs to put through the partial test and have confirmation that they have been checked by a dealer. (e.g. cars for sale on the second market)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭maestroamado

"Using vehicle (car) without valid test certificate (NCT)"

I had a look at the list of offences since i posted i am now wondering if this partial test means anything.
    Surely it's unlikely someone can be prosecuted for not having something that cannot be issued...

jimgoose wrote: »
    Oh, Maha are the same crowd that make the shock dynos. I wouldn't imagine they're having a laugh, no, whatever about Applus.

MAHA would have been on the hook if Applus had to close down because they can't deliver the service they are contracted to.

• Registered Users Posts: 47 Jsman11

Update 4th February 2020

NCTS can confirm that underbody vehicle inspections will recommence in an additional eight centres around the country in the coming week. This follows the delivery and planned installation of new vehicle lifts.

The centres where these new Vehicle Inspection lifts are being introduced, which is based on maximising geographical spread and catering for large population centres, include:

- Cork (Little Island)
    - Limerick
    - Northpoint, Swords, Co. Dublin
    - Fonthill, Dublin 22
    - Galway
    - Letterkenny
    - Waterford
    - Killarney

These eight centres are in addition to the six locations, Deansgrange (South Dublin), Ballinasloe, Athlone, Skibbereen, Ballina, and Enniscorthy, announced last Friday 31 January.

Lifts at these locations will be used primarily for those drivers who are due to undergo a Driving Test, NCT Taxi roadworthiness test, the trade (car dealerships) and those due for their NCT retest.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

The silence from the minister of transport, sport and tourism is deafening on this.

The NCT legislation is his responsibility. By doing nothing he is abdicating his responsibility as minister.

Leaving it to piecemeal responses by each and every individual insurance company (be a long time waiting on that), gardaí to ignore the law, taxis unable to undergo suitability test and licence renewal, cars not certified for driver licence testing, questionable legality of driving a car without a valid NCT abroad, ... The longer one thinks about it the more secondary effects there are.

The most efficient way to deal with the problem would be to introduce a statutory instrument to enable the issuing of temporary NCT certificates for vehicles that pass the other parts of the test.

With one swoop of the pen the minister could mitigate all the secondary effects of not being able to perform a full test for the next few weeks/months.

It is the government's duty to govern. If they cannot lead and take the appropriate action to address practical and legislative problems then they are not doing their duty. They are either indifferent or incompetent. Is it too much to expect them to do something to earn their generous salaries?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,230 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

The current Minister for Transport might not be there for much longer.....I'd hazard a guess that he doesn't give a sh!t about this issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,773 ✭✭✭taytobreath

Have they given any sort of timeline when all this will be resolved?

elperello wrote: »
    Indeed not.

They are having a special February Road Safety Month in conjunction with the RSA.

Among the initiatives they list checkpoints including a focus on NCT as well as other matters.

https://www.garda.ie/en/about-us/our-departments/office-of-corporate-communications/news-media/road-safety-month-of-action-february-2020.html

Just tell them Mr Henderson of the NCT said you'd be grand.

In all fairness the major focus is speeding, drink-driving, seatbelts and phones. The other things are just mentioned at the end saying there will be an opportunity to check these as well and why not if it makes more people compliant. Couldn't see anyone getting done for having a partial nct with nothing else wrong

No problem with the general thrust of the initiative but it takes a special lack of awareness to include the NCT without mentioning the current hiatus.

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭Eireann81

Jsman11 wrote: »
    Update 4th February 2020

Lifts at these locations will be used primarily for those drivers who are due to undergo a Driving Test, NCT Taxi roadworthiness test, the trade (car dealerships) and those due for their NCT retest.

Note that they have edited yesterday's update and removed the bit about the lift locations being used for "those due for their NCT retest"

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭zepman

Update 4th February 2020

NCTS can confirm that underbody vehicle inspections will recommence in an additional eight centres around the country in the coming week. This follows the delivery and planned installation of new vehicle lifts.

The centres where these new Vehicle Inspection lifts are being introduced, which is based on maximising geographical spread and catering for large population centres, include:

- Cork (Little Island)
    - Limerick
    - Northpoint, Swords, Co. Dublin
    - Fonthill, Dublin 22
    - Galway
    - Letterkenny
    - Waterford
    - Killarney

These eight centres are in addition to the six locations, Deansgrange (South Dublin), Ballinasloe, Athlone, Skibbereen, Ballina, and Enniscorthy, announced last Friday 31 January.

Cheers! I saw this last night and immediately booked my retest (for the pending underbody inspection) for Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,651 ✭✭✭✭beauf

Update 4th February 2020

NCTS can confirm that underbody vehicle inspections will recommence in an additional eight centres around the country in the coming week. This follows the delivery and planned installation of new vehicle lifts.....

Where are you getting this info?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭wonski

beauf wrote: »
    Where are you getting this info?

Ncts website.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The silence from the minister of transport, sport and tourism is deafening on this.
    Hardly a shock F, We are talking of Shane Ross here, an educated beyond his meagre capabilities stuffed shirt, who has demonstrated a staggering ignorance on matters of transport, and in areas where he pretends expertise has provided a long list of public pronouncements that were embarrassingly wrong headed. AKA a thundering gobshite. One can only hope he doesn't get within an asses roar of political power again.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.