Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nora Quoirin. [Read mod note in post #1 - updated 14/08]

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭N365

It could also be something similar to the Michela Harte case, a burglary gone wrong and the burglar maybe covering it up.

The fact is, we simply don't know and neither do those searching, so everything has to be covered.

No evidence of a burglary

• Registered Users Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

I find this case absolutely horrific. The child’s parents are adamant that she has been abducted, and obviously knowing her and her limitations better than anyone, they simply can’t fathom that she could do such a thing. Apparently she had mobility as well as learning difficulties.

I’d be fearful that the Malaysian authorities are doing all the can to protect the country’s reputation as a safe place given their economic dependency on tourism. They are at pains to rule out any foul play so one would wonder if all these resources being used to search a jungle is in fact a huge waste of time when all avenues should have been explored from the onset. They seemed to discount any criminal involvement very quickly which struck me as a little defensive.

I think it unlikely at this juncture that the poor little girl will suddenly appear safe and well but I do hope, for their sake, that they do find out what happened to her. It’s every parents’ worst nightmare.

• Registered Users Posts: 67,292 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

N365 wrote: »
    No evidence of a burglary

There is no evidence of anything as yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Blaizes

Merkin wrote: »
    I find this case absolutely horrific. The child’s parents are adamant that she has been abducted, and obviously knowing her and her limitations better than anyone, they simply can’t fathom that she could do such a thing. Apparently she had mobility as well as learning difficulties.

I’d be fearful that the Malaysian authorities are doing all the can to protect the country’s reputation as a safe place given their economic dependency on tourism. They are at pains to rule out any foul play so one would wonder if all these resources being used to search a jungle is in fact a huge waste of time when all avenues should have been explored from the onset. They seemed to discount any criminal involvement very quickly which struck me as a little defensive.

I think it unlikely at this juncture that the poor little girl will suddenly appear safe and well but I do hope, for their sake, that they do find out what happened to her. It’s every parents’ worst nightmare.

Sometimes people are found safe and well, as a parent would never be giving up hope just like hers. Positive thoughts and strength to the family of Nora

• Registered Users Posts: 7,507 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

firstly i hope she is found. preferably alive

where does the trail end. could she have been knocked down and the driver is covering it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

Could she have been picked up and carried where the scent ends, No car involved?

There is no evidence of anything as yet.

Exactly. So why suggest it could have been burglary?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

I don’t know this girl but my heart is absolutely broken

It's a possibility...nothing more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

That's what's wrong with this thread. People are just rattling out every possibility without foundation.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,208 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

The Michaela Harte case was an inside job of course : members of staff stealing from her hotel room.

It's plausible that a staff member could be in some way responsible for Nora's disappearance. I'd find the idea of a stranger showing up at the place where she was sleeping and abducting her harder to believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

If it was a burglary gone wrong, there may be no evidence at all. Burglars use gloves etc. to help prevent fingerprint evidence. Add to that the fact that staff at the resort could have keys for the house, meaning there would be no signs of a break-in. Even if it was not staff, the fact that it is a tourist property means someone could easily have spare keys cut.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,617 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

interesting also how New Zealand govt advises their citizens about travelling to Malaysia:

https://www.safetravel.govt.nz/malaysia

"Avoid non-essential travel to coastal areas of eastern Sabah (from Kudat to Tawau, including Sandakan, Lahad Datu, Kunak and Semporna, including the offshore islands and dive sites) due to the risk of kidnapping'

People kidnaped in the past have been adult tourists though, held for ransoms.

Just on this-Malaysia is essentially two countries separated by the South China Sea. The Sabah area where kidnappings have taken place is over 2,000km away from peninsular Malaysia where Nora and her family are located.

The latest Indo article on the case says that Nora had been sleeping upstairs but that the open window (with the unidentified fingerprint) was in the living room downstairs. It also says that she has problems with her balance and walking alone would be difficult for her.

If it was a burglary gone wrong, there may be no evidence at all. Burglars use gloves etc. to help prevent fingerprint evidence. Add to that the fact that staff at the resort could have keys for the house, meaning there would be no signs of a break-in. Even if it was not staff, the fact that it is a tourist property means someone could easily have spare keys cut.

A burglar that breaks in leaving no evidence, doesn’t steal anything so changes his mind and tip toes upstairs and takes girl from bed without waking her sisters sleeping in the same room, carries her downstairs out the window and into the jungle leaving no trace.Ok.

You are assuming that is what happened, when nobody knows what happened in the house.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

interesting also how New Zealand govt advises their citizens about travelling to Malaysia:

https://www.safetravel.govt.nz/malaysia

"Avoid non-essential travel to coastal areas of eastern Sabah (from Kudat to Tawau, including Sandakan, Lahad Datu, Kunak and Semporna, including the offshore islands and dive sites) due to the risk of kidnapping'

People kidnaped in the past have been adult tourists though, held for ransoms.

Sabah is on the island of Borneo and is less developed and poorer than the mainland so it is like comparing apples and oranges. I have lived in Kuala Lumpur for 2 years now and its the safest I have ever felt in a city. Yes its not perfect and things happen but by no means is it a dangerous place.

Strazdas wrote: »
    The Michaela Harte case was an inside job of course : members of staff stealing from her hotel room.

It's plausible that a staff member could be in some way responsible for Nora's disappearance. I'd find the idea of a stranger showing up at the place where she was sleeping and abducting her harder to believe.

This is what I am thinking. If you look at a map of the resort, there are little roads and laneways leading to the cottages. It is very feasible (depending of course on where her scent ended) that she was made walk from the house and placed in a car parked on one of those lanes, 100m away from her room.

You are assuming that is what happened, when nobody knows what happened in the house.

I’m not assuming that that happened. I’m saying the opposite. For ****s sake.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭chicorytip

It is not beyond the bounds of possibility that, having left her room through the window and wandered out, she may have been attacked, killed and her body secreted by a wild animal, a cat or ape maybe. There are a large variety of such in Malaysia generally. A snake attack may also be possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,200 ✭✭✭Spon Farmer

Merkin wrote: »

My first thoughts about were not that the Malaysian olive were trying to protective tourism industry by saying no foul play but that maybe they didn't understand or take seriously the child's condition. It could make all the difference in finding her.

It might be possible that she was so tired and disoriented that she left the room, maybe even by the window, but after a week long search they'd surely have found her by now. How far could she actually get?

Finding no evidence of foul play just means that Nora could have be taken without much difficulty.

And yet weren't they only in the country a few hours. and went straight to bed when they got to the resort? How was she identified as a target so quickly?

Strazdas wrote: »

Maybe the family were followed from the airport?

I’m not assuming that that happened. I’m saying the opposite. For ****s sake.

But you have no idea what happened in the house and are ruling out a burglary gone wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

FWIW, I dont think that is what happened either. I was merely pointing out that a burglary does not necessarily mean there is 100% chance of forensic evidence being left behind.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Mother is Northern Irish and the father is french i think ?

why did we send a member of the Gardai out there ? why not PSNI ?

Child might have a Irish passport but no real connection to Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 16,108 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

mynamejeff wrote: »

Nora is an Irish citizen , we look after our own and its great to see a Garda liason officer go out there

I didn't know a Guard had been sent out. Don't the family live in London? I assumed Scotland Yard had sent people?

I believe Scotland Yard are helping

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Portsalon

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Nora is an Irish citizen , we look after our own and its great to see a Garda liason officer go out there

The same reasoning applies to that brainless ISIS bride and her innocent child, but no garda has been sent out to help them. It's a PR stunt by Charlie Flanagan and/or Drew Harris and should be called out for what it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,108 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Portsalon wrote: »
    The same reasoning applies to that brainless ISIS bride and her innocent child, but no garda has been sent out to help them. It's a PR stunt by Charlie Flanagan and/or Drew Harris and should be called out for what it is.

So you see no difference between the two cases at all ? Really ?

If the Guard can be of some support to the family then it doesn't matter if it is a stunt.

However, it should be Scotland Yard. The family live in London and Scotland Yard detectives would have more influence if they thought the local authorities weren't following the right path. I'm not disparaging the Guards, just "Scotland Yard" is well known around the world.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

75% of the family in kuala lumpar are traveling on Irish passports. They have a lot of maternal connections on this island. It doesn’t matter where they live. They have found themselves entirely blamelessly in a tragic situation.If there’s anything the Irish state can do to help them then we are bound to do it.
    Ms Smith went to extraordinary lengths to deliberately put herself and her child in extraordinary danger with absolutely no reason or excuse to do so and is a potential security risk to innocent Irish people if we give her consular help.
    There’s no comparison.