Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rowan Croft the gran torino

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Boxing.Fan

Nic_Col wrote: »
    If you feel something needs to be reported to the Gardaí then go right ahead, why wait for someone else to do it?

Who made the threat, what have I missed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Nic_Col

Well mostly because I wouldn't have access to the same information as boards.ie, who would have the IP address, registration information and logs of the death threat

And if you report it to the Gardaí, an investigation could begin on the basis of your report in which case the Gardaí would get that information anyway. If you feel something needs to be reported to the Gardaí the onus is on you and only you. There's nothing at all stopping you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Nic_Col

Boxing.Fan wrote: »
    Who made the threat, what have I missed?

No idea, I'm assuming it was deleted.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I have zero respect for anyone that throws any liquid over a person like that. Doesn't matter how much of an asshole he is.

Seems it's ok in some "tolerant" people's minds to punch, assault and throw stuff at people they disagree with ideologically. The irony is off the scale.

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Walter Bishop

Omackeral wrote: »
    Seems it's ok in some "tolerant" people's minds to punch, assault and throw stuff at people they disagree with ideologically. The irony is off the scale.

Any comment on Tan Torino saying it's ok to burn down hostels with immigrants in them?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

I still can't get over the sheer hypocrisy of people's outrage at this.

The guy is literally excusing a terrorist attack that could have killed someone. The network of the far right is so small and underground it's very likely he knows who is responsible for this.

The hotel burned down in donegal still had someone in it ffs. That's attempted murder.

But no, let's be outraged at someone getting covered in milk.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Omackeral wrote: »
    They will beat Tolerance into you :eek: Entirely for your own good of course :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

The guy is literally excusing a terrorist attack that could have killed someone. The network of the far right is so small and underground it's very likely he knows who is responsible for this.

The hotel burned down in donegal still had someone in it ffs. That's attempted murder.

I think the guy's views are abhorrent and he's an absolute muppet and anyone that gives the guy credence is on the same level of muppetry imo. You can dislike both the man the action taken against the man.

What annoys me is this 'the tolerant are really actually intolerant' argument. This is the action of one person, their intolerant action doesn't somehow excuse the intolerance of people on the far-right. And if those far-right views are challenged in a non-violent manner for the ****tyness that they are, that's not intolerance, that's public discourse and protest.

I think the guy's views are abhorrent and he's an absolute muppet and anyone that gives the guy credence is on the same level of muppetry imo. You can dislike both the man the action taken against the man.

What annoys me is this 'the tolerant are really actually intolerant' argument. This is the action of one person, their intolerant action doesn't somehow excuse the intolerance of people on the far-right. And if those far-right views are challenged in a non-violent manner for the ****tyness that they are, that's not intolerance, that's public discourse and protest.

I'm not excusing her actions. Communists and right wing fascists are diametrically opposed in their opinions.

But it's obvious one side is much much more dangerous than the other right now. One is committing terrorist attacks against the state with no regard for the safety of the public. The other is chucking milkshakes.

I think it should be obvious which side is worse here. So the false equivalence is completely laughable to me.

Anyone who thinks the milk shake chuckin commies are the dangerously intolerant ones here need their heads checked.

I'm not excusing her actions. Communists and right wing fascists are diametrically opposed in their opinions.

But it's obvious one side is much much more dangerous than the other right now. One is committing terrorist attacks against the state with no regard for the safety of the public. The other is chucking milkshakes.

I think it should be obvious which side is worse here. So the false equivalence is completely laughable to me.

Anyone who thinks the milk shake chuckin commies are the dangerously intolerant ones here need their heads checked.

If you use violence to get your point across, you can't claim any sort of moral high ground. Also, anyone espousing communism in this day and age is a tit as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,211 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

If you use violence to get your point across, you can't claim any sort of moral high ground. Also, anyone espousing communism in this day and age is a tit as well.

Burning down direct provision centers vs chucking a milkshake. the two are not on the same moral plane.

I agree with everything there.

But what are we doing to fight the sh1t he puts out there? Clearly he and loopers like Gemma OD are influencing people.

Some of the people they are influencing are already dangerous this sort of stuff emboldens them. These are the kind of people that no logical argument will really work on and are willing to use (and have used) violence as long as they think enough people are on their side.

So when cowards are burning down buildings in the night, what are we doing to fight it?

It may be a false dichotomy but when the commies are the only people standing up to these turds, I'll look the other way when then splash symbolic bit of milk on them.

Burning down direct provision centers vs chucking a milkshake. the two are not on the same moral plane.
    I wonder how far the Milk Shake Throwers will go if they don’t get their way .

They are already taking the Violence Method .

• Registered Users Posts: 5,510 ✭✭✭Wheety

just had a look at his twitter and a few of those commenting. I must be living a sheltered life as I had no idea all this crap was going on.

blinding wrote: »

Well the fascist terrorists are already well ahead of them in terms of resorting to violence so I think they're the priority right now.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,211 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Probably nowhere near as far as burning down buildings with peoiple inside

Well the fascist terrorists are already well ahead of them in terms of resorting to violence so I think they're the priority right now.
    What makes you think that Antifa are not Facists .

They use Violence , they wear Masks while using Violence .

If it acts like a Facist , uses violence like a Facist . = Facist to me .

What makes you think that Antifa are not Facists .

They use Violence , they wear Masks while using Violence .

If it acts like a Facist , uses violence like a Facist . = Facist to me .

Nationalism is a key component of fascism. Sorry but Antifa are not nationalists. They're that very confused breed of person that is an Anarcho-Communist.

They're violent, they're oppressive, they can sometimes be dangerous. But they are not fascists.

You know the communists were pretty violent. But there's a definition of fascism and it doesnt fit the Anarcho-Communists. I feel like you just want to paint them as Fascist because you know the word has such a negative connotation but it does show your (and anyone else who immediately points to the "antifa are the fascists") lack of knowledge on the groups beliefs and goals.

Nationalism is a key component of fascism. Sorry but Antifa are not nationalists. They're that very confused breed of person that is an Anarcho-Communist.

They're violent, they're oppressive, they can sometimes be dangerous. But they are not fascists.

You know the communists were pretty violent. But there's a definition of fascism and it doesnt fit the Anarcho-Communists. I feel like you just want to paint them as Fascist because you know the word has such a negative connotation but it does show your (and anyone else who immediately points to the "antifa are the fascists") lack of knowledge on the groups beliefs and goals.
    So , They are Facist Communists or Communist Facists .

Stalin , Mao killed millions and millions . When they are killing you maybe it does not matter if they are called Facists , You are still Dead .

So , They are Facist Communists or Communist Facists .

Stalin , Mao killed millions and millions . When they are killing you maybe it does not matter if they are called Facists , You are still Dead .

Nope, You are taking the adjective fascist (pretty innocent like when people use the term nazi to describe someone unwilling to compromise) and making it the noun Fascist, which has a set definition. You cant just change the definition of the word sorry. It makes you as dumb as the Antifa types who try to redefine racism.

And again, they are Anarcho-Communists. Between reading my post and replying to it did you even check to see what any of these words mean?

I agree with everything there.

But what are we doing to fight the sh1t he puts out there? Clearly he and loopers like Gemma OD are influencing people.

Some of the people they are influencing are already dangerous this sort of stuff emboldens them. These are the kind of people that no logical argument will really work on and are willing to use (and have used) violence as long as they think enough people are on their side.

So when cowards are burning down buildings in the night, what are we doing to fight it?

It may be a false dichotomy but when the commies are the only people standing up to these turds, I'll look the other way when then splash symbolic bit of milk on them.

And what if something worse gets added to that symbolic bit of milk. Do you keep looking the other way?

The Grand Torino is averaging about 5k views per video with 16k subscribers. Even if every single subscriber is from the Republic of Ireland that works out at roughly 0.33% of our population - that is very little influence tbh.

I'd wager his reach is amplified slightly by the amount of people on Twitter giving out about him and sharing videos of him. Milkshaking a guy does little beyond increasing his profile and giving him ammo to attack others with.

If you think he is engaged in unlawful activity, seriously just report him to the Guards.

To me they are Communists acting like Facists . If you behave like a Facist ? Are you a Facist ?

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Boxing.Fan

Anti facist action Ireland is literally made up of people who claim to be nationalists, how does that one work? Or is it a different brand of nationalism?

And what if something worse gets added to that symbolic bit of milk. Do you keep looking the other way?

The Grand Torino is averaging about 5k views per video with 16k subscribers. Even if every single subscriber is from the Republic of Ireland that works out at roughly 0.33% of our population - that is very little influence tbh.

I'd wager his reach is amplified slightly by the amount of people on Twitter giving out about him and sharing videos of him. Milkshaking a guy does little beyond increasing his profile and giving him ammo to attack others with.

If you think he is engaged in unlawful activity, seriously just report him to the Guards.

Sort of a stupid point. Of course if something gets added it becomes much more serious. Kind of ceases to be symbolic then doesn't it?

Fringe will always be fringe. I am not worried about him raising up voters to bring about some kind of fascist Irish government. I am worried about more attacks by his followers which suspiciously happen while he is in the locations of the attacks.

I would say the gardai are already aware of his presence, influence and reach. But like any fascist mouthpiece I would say he's kept his hands clean and alibi iron clad.

To me they are Communists acting like Facists . If you behave like a Facist ? Are you a Facist ?

It's fascist and no, if a communist is being violent, they are a violent communist. There's a lot of this subtle twisting of language these days to eradicate their meaning and power.

'Oh, everybody is a fascist now... that guy over there with the brick and anarchy t-shirt is a fascist as well. Anyway, about those Kike bankers and those filthy muslims that are overrunning our countries and eradicating our culture that I was talking about...'

Weren’t the Nazi’s , National Socialists .

Socialists , doesn’t that have leftwing connotations .

How come the Nazi’s turned into Facists if they were Socialists ?

Boxing.Fan wrote: »
    Anti facist action Ireland is literally made up of people who claim to be nationalists, how does that one work? Or is it a different brand of nationalism?

It actually is yes. Nationalism in Ireland just means Republicanism. We've never really had a nationalist movement that compares to the brits, americans, germans, spanish or french.

But it was more a smear tactic by the british government to paint republicans as nationalists and since the Irish never really had a nationalist movement, they never fought against the label.

But by definition Irish Nationalists are not really Nationalists. Just like how National Socialists were not really socialists.

Ahhhhh so thats what I'm dealing with.

Seriously, if you even need me to answer that you're really out of your depth discussing anything beyond Blue's Clues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

I would say you suffer more from ignorance of history if you think the Nazis were actual Socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Harvey Weinstein

Can you provide proof that it was a terrorist attack.
    Do you have info on the perpetrators or is this just speculation on your part.
    Has anyone been arrested and charged can you give us a link and proof that the arrested person or persons are members of a far right group.