Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Almost every position the left has, is actually just an attack on Christian beliefs?

• Registered Users Posts: 25,486 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

sk8erboii wrote: »
    Kinda like the 'rightists' getting offended by titles?

The last few pages have not been about the op subject rather it's been all about the title. If the OP changed it then fair enough (don't know if or why they would) but if it was a mod/admin then would love to know the reasoning behind it.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

DS86DS wrote: »
    A Leftist calling other people snowflakes. The height of pot, kettle, black.

Both of ya are coming off as fcuking eejits tbh.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

Omackeral wrote: »

The other lad seems to be off his antipsychotic meds lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

No, kinda like people getting annoyed at the attempted demolition of theads by trying to make the topic look stupid and unserious by butchering the thread title.
    Except it was never a serious thread... The OP literally said as much back on page 1. This has been pointed out only 10-15 posts back.

So why so offended? It seems like it's because you're just desperately looking for an excuse to be honest. Which is pretty much exactly what the term 'snowflake' refers to.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

lol who tf actually cares.

You obviously care a great deal considering you've posted more than any other single poster in this thread for the last couple days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Dante7

Good to see the thread title returned to its original. I hope we don't see any nonsense like that again

• Registered Users Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

It waiting to be approved so it can be posted on the discussion thread.

As stated in the OG thread, for the title to be changed in the way that it was, was the height of petulance irregardless of the thread subject.
    threads started that are based on silly identity politics and IMO, has absolutely no place in AH

This is purely a subjective opinion. If a moderator is unable to mod from an objective point of view and proceeds to take the p*ss with threads they don't agree with, they should be moderating on a different part of the forum where they will be impartial and not show a level of disdain to posters. The cynic in me thinks this wasn't a coincidence, to coinciding with the others examples.

Yes AH is suppose to be light hearted and Im 100% sure that there have been mods that would've loved nothing more than to close a thread or knuckle down: but don't. But to see a mod be so impartial in such a visible way on AH was distasteful.

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭speckled_park

If a thread title on migrants or islam was butchered it would cause outrage too so all is fair. It wouldnt be pc thou, as for bashing the church etc it is fairly acceptable among posters ( for their own reasons ) and society aswell. Slight double standard i think would be fair to say?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,261 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Omackeral wrote: »

I think they've both been banned from posting in this thread (although I might be thinking of a different thread, so I'll give them the benefit of the benefit of the doubt on that one).

Also - just noticed the thread title's been fixed - is that recent or have I just not noticed?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

The gimp that changed it should be relieved of his position as a moderator. They either have an agenda or they're just a childish idiot

Ah, it was Christmas.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,183 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

No, kinda like people getting annoyed at the attempted demolition of theads by trying to make the topic look stupid and unserious by butchering the thread title.

You don't see that happening to Pro-Left and anti-Traditionalist threads do you?

Or maybe like most Leftists you prefer a safe and boring echo chamber where your views aren't put under any scrutiny.

get over yourself would ya. As I've mentioned before, have you seen the louise O'Neill thread? The title is changed almost weekly. There's feck all complaints about it.

The gimp that changed it should be relieved of his position as a moderator. They either have an agenda or they're just a childish idiot

You seem to know a lot about how moderators should behave for someone registered less than a month.

Unless you're just another rereg.

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭Robocop Corcoran

Grayson wrote: »
    get over yourself would ya. As I've mentioned before, have you seen the louise O'Neill thread? The title is changed almost weekly. There's feck all complaints about it.

You seem to know a lot about how moderators should behave for someone registered less than a month.

Unless you're just another rereg.

Moderators are not exclusive to Boards.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

Dante7 wrote: »
    Good to see the thread title returned to its original. I hope we don't see any nonsense like that again

Ha!

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭I Am The Law

The left? The left of what? The only left I've seen in the last month is the queue to the shopping centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭DS86DS

David Icke on attack by Leftists on Western values and free speech

https://youtu.be/OYC9MtwQgOo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

The lizards did it?

All these crusty old men and their conspjracy theories are becoming a parody tbh fam

These people are doing a lot of research into the agenda of people like Zuckerberg and Soros against the general population, for the benefit of ordinary people including you.

But you would rather side with people who would shut down your free speech and other rights you had for their agenda of control and manipulation.

If only leftists had a brain and used it.

These people are doing a lot of research into the agenda of people like Zuckerberg and Soros against the general population, for the benefit of ordinary people including you.

But you would rather side with people who would shut down your free speech and other rights you had for their agenda of control and manipulation.

Research implies neutrality to begin with.

It's kind of hypocrtical that you regurgitate long youtube videos that you have swallowed blindly and then accuse people of being "leftist" or "having no brain"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

At one point, Icke believed himself to be the messiah. He believes the world is run by lizard people. The man most likely had a mental break decades ago and there is nothing credible about what he says, it's pretty sad tbh. But he is not engaging in research.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,347 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Ask the black NFL players how they feel about free speech when they tried kneeling in support of police violence against their community and the US president and right wing media called them unpatriotic..

Nah. Im smarter than these people. Anyone who’s mentally ill enough can scour the internet and make 3 hour videos about... (Soros, pedophiles, liberals, kalergi plan etc etc,)

It doesnt make them smart. It makes them schizophrenic.

Nah. Im smarter than these people. Anyone who’s mentally ill enough can scour the internet and make 3 hour videos about... (Soros, pedophiles, liberals, kalergi plan etc etc,)

It doesnt make them smart. It makes them schizophrenic.

You like to think you're smarter when in reality all you are doing is gulliblly accepting everything the Leftist establishment tells you is fact.

You like to think you're smarter when in reality all you are doing is gullibly accepting everything the rightist establishment tells you is fact

Ah yes. The ‘establishment’ controlled by lizard people or was it soros?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 840 ✭✭✭The Late Late Show

rossie1977 wrote: »
    The Western tradition of freedom is under assault from the far right who want to turn us into a theocracy like Saudi Arabia...and hence Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale.

See how easy that is

'Left', 'right' and 'Christian beliefs' have all become distorted by 'pick and choose' opportunist types who have an opinion and want to back it up by scripture. The Handmaid's Tale is a fable about that basically: Gilead were not interested in the ENTIRE bible (Jesus never gets mentioned other than he is assumed to be the lord who opens in their phrase) but only in the parts that 'justified' their crazy dictatorship.

'Rightwing' has been defined as warmongering, Christian types who hold racist, sectarian or misogynist beliefs by the left. 'Leftwing' has been described as violent spreaders of communist revolution, atheist types who hold anti-business and anti-prosperity views and want all but themselves to live poor by the right. In reality, this is not true.

Warmongering rightwingers? Yes, we can easily find them. From Hitler to John Bolton to ISIS, they are there. But what about Stalin, Mao and Pol Pot? Leftwing warmongers are also extremely common. And what about Milosevic the communist nationalist? Is he the right or the left or both? Imperialism is a rightwing thing where one race or nation looks down on the other? Yes. We have had the British, Spanish, etc. empires and the American invasions of places like Iraq. But what about the Soviet Union's empire?

Misogyny is a rightwing thing? Sure. Real world Gileads exist like Saudi Arabia and ISIS. But what about Ceausescu and Pol Pot? Leftwing misogyny exists too.

Christianity is a rightwing religion? Well, what about Jesus' socialist like message? Populism is defined as rightwing yet it is a very socialist even communist thing.

Communists can never be capitalists? Well, what about China, the world's leading communist state but also one of the leading capitalist economies.

Left and right is meaningless in other words. Evil and good has been done in both names and the reality is all systems are a mix of different traits. Extremists whether their basing their ideology on the Bible, the Koran or the writings of Karl Marx all tend to end up the same: pick and choose what they see justifies their agenda and ignore the rest. The Handmaid's Tale and other Margaret Atwood dystopian novels are driving that point home. She even went as far as to say this in talks about all the regimes throughout the world that inspired Handmaid's and concluded all fanatic regimes are the same. It is obvious whether one faced a leftwing Khmer Rouge terrorist or a rightwing ISIS terrorist, one's life would be 100% in danger. Make no mistake about it though, there are and will always be fanatics out there who will want to take away people's freedom to set up their own regimes and use some ideology from right, left, religion or atheistic theory to do so.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

Ah yes. The ‘establishment’ controlled by lizard people or was it soros?

David Icke is not left wing or right wing. His politics are informed above all by the belief that the human race is led by alien lizards with a shape shifting ability who are on earth to mine mono-atomic gold and are indifferent to our interests.

If Icke is indeed as he claims the son of the Godhead than he has a clear responsibility to inform us of this.

We may laugh at this idea (what the lizards would want I suggest ...) but let me just say ...

Maybe V is not mere entertainment but a warning to us all

In a world where leftist trash like the inbetweeners , cash in the attic, nationwide and the ploughing championship goes on and on and on and on

why was V cancelled

No one knows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Why was the remake of V cancelled?

Because it was crap.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,715 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

More V, more Morena Baccarin

• Registered Users Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Did....... Did someone link to David Icke as a credible/valid viewpoint?