Christmas bonus for welfare recipients not only restored but increased

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 330 ✭✭All Seeing Eye

BumChum wrote: »
    Ah! that's what you are led to believe isn't it?!

Through some otherworldly level of complications, no, she is simply long term unemployed. It is a complete and utter fiasco, the whole system. I have tried several times to help with forms and regulations and meetings and calling into clinics etc. It resulted in some someone calling to her house every Wednesday with some shopping. And even that only lasted a very short while.

I honestly don't know all the ins and outs, but for starters, the sibling doesn't have anything officially wrong with her. Went to doctors, asked for medical records, trying to "prove" the obvious.....got no where!

I understand how it sounds to someone who hasn't dealt with it before (and even for me it is cursory). But the systems are incompetent. Literally left clueless as to what happens next, IF anything will happen.....and on and on.

So....simply long term unemployed was the result.

Is she getting called in for courses and interviews from SW. That’s what they usually do with long term unemployed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Ah! that's what you are led to believe isn't it?!

Through some otherworldly level of complications, no, she is simply long term unemployed. It is a complete and utter fiasco, the whole system. I have tried several times to help with forms and regulations and meetings and calling into clinics etc. It resulted in some someone calling to her house every Wednesday with some shopping. And even that only lasted a very short while.

I honestly don't know all the ins and outs, but for starters, the sibling doesn't have anything officially wrong with her. Went to doctors, asked for medical records, trying to "prove" the obvious.....got no where!

I understand how it sounds to someone who hasn't dealt with it before (and even for me it is cursory). But the systems are incompetent. Literally left clueless as to what happens next, IF anything will happen.....and on and on.

So....simply long term unemployed was the result.

So, officially, she is not a carer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 BumChum

If a Christmas bonus was given to people in that situation I wouldn’t be on here giving out about it. Instead it’s given out to all and sundry and in most cases used to purchase luxury items for Xmas such as slabs of cheap beer and crates of alcopops

But that's my point. I'm sure there are close neighbours of my relative who know the full story. But then there will be people who live a bit further away and don't know anything. They probably see her coming and going, bags of groceries. "sure look at your one, having a grand oul time, whereas I have to work etc etc"

There are no doubt a lot of people who are scrounging for no good reason. But when things are kept so invisible through statistics, and even observed behaviour....how do you know the amount of people that aren't screwed over like her?

And on a separate but related point, what if she decided to get a slab of beers at Christmas? Let me tell you, not in a thousand years would you swap places with her. Don't begrudge people a couple of "luxuries" (that amount to what, 150 quid?!) over Christmas. You don't know the story, and neither do I know the story of people I see every day about me.

Is she getting called in for courses and interviews from SW. That’s what they usually do with long term unemployed.

I'm really not up to speed as I live in a completely different area now. There was something going on with getting called for courses or something.

I think (stress on "think"), that the guys in social welfare are aware of the situation and let it pass to SOME kind of extent. Its all a bit mickey mouse, but there you go!

But that's my point. I'm sure there are close neighbours of my relative who know the full story. But then there will be people who live a bit further away and don't know anything. They probably see her coming and going, bags of groceries. "sure look at your one, having a grand oul time, whereas I have to work etc etc"

There are no doubt a lot of people who are scrounging for no good reason. But when things are kept so invisible through statistics, and even observed behaviour....how do you know the amount of people that aren't screwed over like her?

And on a separate but related point, what if she decided to get a slab of beers at Christmas? Let me tell you, not in a thousand years would you swap places with her. Don't begrudge people a couple of "luxuries" (that amount to what, 150 quid?!) over Christmas. You don't know the story, and neither do I know the story of people I see every day about me.

I know their stories and they are far from the situation you are describing about your relative.

Fair enough, I know a few questionable things myself about people around me too. But where does it leave you in terms of conclusion?

I know people that are certainly not getting enough help, and probably people who are getting too much. Same with you I suppose.

What can you do?!

Fair enough, I know a few questionable things myself about people around me too. But where does it leave you in terms of conclusion?

I know people that are certainly not getting enough help, and probably people who are getting too much. Same with you I suppose.

What can you do?!

One good one would be to bring in maintenance rules like they have in the USA basically absent fathers are hounded to the ends of the earth to pay for their children. That would cut out the whole single mothers scam.

Oh theres a real scam in that alright! Know of a couple childhood friends (not my friends, of each other)...both got pregnant about the same time, now "have" 3 bed houses each, a stones throw (literally) up the road from the parents houses, right across the road from each other. One of them even has a drive in garage, something I'd love to have! Both mysteriously "single".

The only sensible conclusion is that the entire system needs to be nuked and built up again from scratch, not just social welfare but the whole damned country. Picking up on the odd thing like an extra payment for social welfare over Christmas, its never going to change anything, it just gets filed under the "pissed off" section of the brain. Either change everything, or change nothing, otherwise more and more people get lost in tiny bits of increasing bureaucracy here there and everywhere. Death by a thousand cuts :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,215 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

they couldn't no .

libraries are closing and lots have closed. lots of places never had them or will have them either. news papers are eventually going to go online only. radio might do the same long term all be it not any time soon.

poor value for money compared to the smart phone which can do more.

next.

you mean earn a living. i don't believe anyone works because of "pride and self respect" "pride and self respect" don't pay the bills.

irrelevant as it has nothing to do with the fact that libraries aren't easily accessible or don't exist depending on area.

There are 330 public libraries in Ireland. They are actively recruiting at the moment so they are not closing. Very few towns without a library service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭atticu

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    I read so many posts here whinging about the bonus but yet noone has admitted that they will be quitting their job because dole life is so attractive. Wonder why? ;-)

Sorry, but how do you link two things that have nothing to do with one another?

Complaining about the free money going to people and quitting you job have nothing to do with one another.

You do know that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Melendez

Samsgirl wrote: »
    There are 330 public libraries in Ireland. They are actively recruiting at the moment so they are not closing. Very few towns without a library service

There were 849 towns in Ireland in 2011, so, no, most towns don't have a library. Not everyone lives in a town.

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    Now I know you're lying .

There is a strange water tower there. Great view. Rough spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,157 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Never mind. We are all equal. Those on SW will get a fiver, so will workers due to USC reduction. Well that's what I have heard re the budget.

BUT.... those working will still have to pay for commuting, childcare, medical costs and all the rest of it.

Great little country all the same isn't it? Very equal.

Never mind. We are all equal. Those on SW will get a fiver, so will workers due to USC reduction. Well that's what I have heard re the budget.

BUT.... those working will still have to pay for commuting, childcare, medical costs and all the rest of it.

Great little country all the same isn't it? Very equal.

Diesel and petrol going up hitting those who drive for work a lot more.

Melendez wrote: »
    There were 849 towns in Ireland in 2011, so, no, most towns don't have a library. Not everyone lives in a town.

Well, they have to go to town to collect their dole so they wouldn't be too far from a library.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭atticu

they couldn't no .

libraries are closing and lots have closed. lots of places never had them or will have them either. news papers are eventually going to go online only. radio might do the same long term all be it not any time soon.

poor value for money compared to the smart phone which can do more.

next.

you mean earn a living. i don't believe anyone works because of "pride and self respect" "pride and self respect" don't pay the bills.

irrelevant as it has nothing to do with the fact that libraries aren't easily accessible or don't exist depending on area.

Can you please link to the figures of how many libraries have closed in the last year.

Well, they have to go to town to collect their dole so they wouldn't be too far from a library.

Reality check.

In case you jumped in without being sure what you were discussing.

You do realise you are trying to make the point that it is more economically efficient for people on social welfare to buy a radio and visit libraries rather than buy a smartphone (ignoring the actual communication capabilities of the phone)?

Really?

Reality check.

You do realise you are trying to make the point that it is more economically efficient for people on social welfare to buy a radio and visit libraries rather than buy a smartphone (ignoring the actual communication capabilities of the phone)?

Really?

No reality check needed m'dear. Just pointing out that there are many libraries, 330 in the country which are accessible to anyone popping into town to collect their dole.

Reality check.

Really?

The radio is €25 and the library is free. If there is a more “economically efficient” smartphone than €25 all in, please let me know, I’d buy a few of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,366 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

No reality check needed m'dear. Just pointing out that there are many libraries, 330 in the country which are accessible to anyone popping into town to collect their dole.

Do people actually still collect dole in this day and age?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Do people actually still collect dole in this day and age?

Yes, to prevent fraud

Ok, I suppose if they have headphones they can listen to their radios in the library. And maybe the library staff can take phone messages for them once they become familiar.

Wouldn't be the first time library staff have done so.

The radio is €25 and the library is free. If there is a more “economically efficient” smartphone than €25 all in, please let me know, I’d buy a few of them.

Libraries are not free.

Yes they are. What were you charged for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,366 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Libraries are not free.

A once off payment of €5 won't break the bank.

Not even a once off payment. All.membership is free now

Ok. So staff volunteer and premises are donated by the public. No stock costs. No heating, lighting, security. Everything is free. No resources wasted here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Again another poster just demonising anyone who doesn’t agree with the Christmas bonus trying to make out we have some sort of character flaw or are some sort of psychopaths with no empathy rather than coming up with a compelling argument. Unfortunate that your friends emigrated I’m sure they have nice lives in their new countries. Plenty of jobs here now if they want to come back.

Touch a nerve did I?

Libraries are not free.

They are 100% free.