Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas bonus for welfare recipients not only restored but increased

• 04-10-2018 10:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭

From 85 to 100 percent. Ah fair play regina, sure why give Job Dodgers any incentive to get out of bed in the morning and do an honest days work for an honest days pay..... Talk about an own goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Great another dole bashing thread, shove it up your arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Cutie 3.14

screamer wrote: »
    From 85 to 100 percent. Ah fair play regina, sure why give Job Dodgers any incentive to get out of bed in the morning and do an honest days work for an honest days pay..... Talk about an own goal

Sure off to the dole queue with yourself then if they have it so good...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Apt name for the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Glad to hear it. Expensive time of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

Couldn't care less what you guys think. It's pure disgraceful to give more money to people who won't work from our already over generous and over stretched welfare fund. Pensioners, disabled and genuine job seekers no problem but the work shy wasters, not a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,879 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It was impossible for university educated workers to figure out how much 85% was. Much easier when you tell them to double the figure. And it will be the pensioners who get the most of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭engiweirdo

Tis easy tell the bollixes on here with the constant dole envy/hatred have never had to survive on it, or look forward to Christmas stuck on it with a family. FOAD ye miserable cnuts in fairness like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

engiweirdo wrote: »
    Tis easy tell the bollixes on here with the constant dole envy/hatred have never had to survive on it, or look forward to Christmas stuck on it with a family. FOAD ye miserable cnuts in fairness like.
    You seem like a reasonable, well balanced individual.

To OP has a point. Pensioners, carers, the disabled should be more than looked after. The able bodied who just don’t wish to work are the ones who should “FOAD” as you put it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Whinge whinge whinge, change the record ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

Fantastic news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭bassy

who gives a fook,talking about it aint gonna change nothing.................................

sure what about politicians on thousands for doing nothing and ex ones on a big pension...................................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Top laughs! Lads in budget 18, a worker on 30,000 received a w1.50 weekly usc reduction. The welfare warriors an extra fiver a week and I expect the same this budget. Well, you have an option, renua... or vote for more of the same!

bassy wrote: »
    who gives a fook,talking about it aint gonna change nothing.................................

sure what about politicians on thousands for doing nothing and ex ones on a big pension...................................

If we did away with the whole lot of them, what was saved in a year probably wouldn't pay the social welfare bill for a week.

Couldn't care less what you guys think. It's pure disgraceful to give more money to people who won't work from our already over generous and over stretched welfare fund. Pensioners, disabled and genuine job seekers no problem but the work shy wasters, not a chance.
    No it’s a great use of the money. The akaconh health service , infrastructure , housing , world class national debt , Can Defo do with the few hundred million less thanks going to be sent up in smoke on the welfare increases !

If we did away with the whole lot of them, what was saved in a year probably wouldn't pay the social welfare bill for a week.

Honestly , at over twenty billion, it would probably be a few hours, if even !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭bassy

sure there all on turas nua,bright futures ahead................................

You seem like a reasonable, well balanced individual.

To OP has a point. Pensioners, carers, the disabled should be more than looked after. The able bodied who just don’t wish to work are the ones who should “FOAD” as you put it.

Or on BTEA, "activation schemes" etc? How do you plan on identifying the exact amount who "dont want to work" (what <2% of the polulation) and isolating them to remove the bonus? Or do you just like having someone to look down your nose at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Is it actually called a bonus? Is it not called something less insulting to workers who pay for it that don't themselves get a bonus, like a supplementary payment.

Why don't workers get more tax credits for Christmas from the government as a bonus? I'd don't get a bonus myself, you'd see ice in hell before that happens.

People are working and struggling just as much as the next person on welfare. Just cause your working doesn't mean you don't need a hand. You'd be a euro over the thresholds for help from working and its tuff luck from the great elite above us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Top laughs! Lads in budget 18, a worker on 30,000 received a w1.50 weekly usc reduction. The welfare warriors an extra fiver a week and I expect the same this budget. Well, you have an option, renua... or vote for more of the same!

Instead of €1:50 to workers and €5 to those on dole how about spending the tax money on public services, housing or job investments. Spend money to make money makes everyone's life better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,428 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

So €400 euro cash in hand just before Christmas from the dole office (actually probably 600 because i'm sure there will have to be an advance too?)

It's not right, simple as that. There is no moral or ethical argument for it when you think of the majority workers many of which are really struggling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

how about spending the tax money on public services

You will want to sit down before you hear this.

Ready?

Tax money is already spend on public services.
    €61,000,000,000's worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Such an original reply. Did you come up with it all by yourself or did you get help?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

But wait the guberment is bleeding robbing us ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Great. Another dole bashing thread. Well over due from the last one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

engiweirdo wrote: »

Or on BTEA, "activation schemes" etc? How do you plan on identifying the exact amount who "dont want to work" (what <2% of the polulation) and isolating them to remove the bonus? Or do you just like having someone to look down your nose at?
    Yeah, pull your head out of your ar*e there. There are plenty of long, long term recipients of the dole who don’t want to work. They simply don’t. And it’s the rest of us footing the bill for them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

So lads... what are ye going to spend your hard earned bonus on? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Lets bash working people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,428 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I wonder what percentage of workers will get €600 tax free in to their hands just before Christmas?

Instead of €1:50 to workers and €5 to those on dole how about spending the tax money on public services, housing or job investments. Spend money to make money makes everyone's life better.

I was literally thinking this today. All the cuts we made, efforts made by all and they are all been reversed. Unless I missed something but are we not seriously still in a bad way as in we still owe out billions on billions of Euro.

I really can't understand it, we are literally walking into it again. FG at the wheel this time, FF on the hand break. If FF had any respect for us they would stop this mess for the sake of the people. Instead they want FG to create a similar mess so they are even.

The lads in Europe and Rest of the world must be looking on in disbelief at this ****.

It's like once one group got pay restored, they the whole house came down. No it's just constant indirect taxes or adjusting old ones, and the same group in the middle again constantly taking the hit. At this rate I wouldn't be surprised if Bertie was put back behind the wheel again.

It’s an appallingly run country. When the **** hits the fan again , lol! The last time national debt was minuscule, this time it’s off the wall. Next time round they really will be making “hard decisions “!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

92,000 long-term unemployed. An extra weeks payment at Christmas will be great for retailers. Multiplier effect and all that. I don't begrudge them it. Expensive time of year plus it's hard to feel anger when I know I'll be getting a nice bonus from work as I have done since started in my present job.
    Anyway guys to those that wish to bash away at the recipients I'm sure you'll feel better for it. ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭Always Be Closing

If you’re on illness benefit are you entitled to it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I think the frequency of these tiresome threads is a very good barometer of the economic success of the country.
    We must be booming.

Yeah, pull your head out of your ar*e there. There are plenty of long, long term recipients of the dole who don’t want to work. They simply don’t. And it’s the rest of us footing the bill for them.

I know they exist, mostly they're on disability these days for one reason or another(no signing). They are not by any means the majority of SW recipients. Your recovery is working in Dublin alright but places like the South East are still running at recession rates of unemployment. Are they all just lazy fcukers too? There are plenty of lads who maybe not having had the head for re-education are long term unemployed through circumstance and now nearly unemployable at this stage. The neat little narrative of dole=lazy, is lazy bs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

... and yet here you are...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

TallGlass wrote: »
    I was literally thinking this today. All the cuts we made, efforts made by all and they are all been reversed. Unless I missed something but are we not seriously still in a bad way as in we still owe out billions on billions of Euro.

I really can't understand it, we are literally walking into it again. FG at the wheel this time, FF on the hand break. If FF had any respect for us they would stop this mess for the sake of the people. Instead they want FG to create a similar mess so they are even.

The lads in Europe and Rest of the world must be looking on in disbelief at this ****.

It's like once one group got pay restored, they the whole house came down. No it's just constant indirect taxes or adjusting old ones, and the same group in the middle again constantly taking the hit. At this rate I wouldn't be surprised if Bertie was put back behind the wheel again.

Most of the rest of the continent has a worse budget deficit than Ireland has.

The gov isn't really accruing new debt... though isn't paying down existing debt either.

The government are pretty much breaking even.... the idea of running a surplus and paying down debt would give them an aneurysm.

I wonder what percentage of workers will get €600 tax free in to their hands just before Christmas?

Everyone in the company I work for will be getting far in excess of 600. Small company only 210 working for it. Doubt we are the only ones though.

If you’re on illness benefit are you entitled to it?

yes

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    Everyone in the company I work for will be getting far in excess of 600. Small company only 210 working for it. Doubt we are the only ones though.

Small companies don't have 210 people on the payroll.

It’s an appallingly run country. When the **** hits the fan again , lol! The last time national debt was minuscule, this time it’s off the wall. Next time round they really will be making “hard decisions “!

The hard decision at the moment is if the cap on bankers pay should be raised from 500k to 1m.

If that type of talk was mentioned in Greece, it would have sparked a riot. Us Irish are such push overs its unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

So €400 euro cash in hand just before Christmas from the dole office (actually probably 600 because i'm sure there will have to be an advance too?)

It's not right, simple as that. There is no moral or ethical argument for it when you think of the majority workers many of which are really struggling.

Utilitarianism, Contractualism, Duty based ethics, rights based ethics.... there's actually quite a few.

It is better to wait until inflation increases to pay down the debt. It was borrowed at very low fixed rates, and will be cheaper in real terms then.

Of course inflation might never get beyond 2 or 3 percent again. Back in the day when it was touching 20%, everything was supposed to be perfect if we ever got it down to 5%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭trixiebust

This.

Feck off begrudgers.

Small companies don't have 210 people on the payroll.

Compared to some of our competition we are small. Although one of the best at what we do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    92,000 long-term unemployed. An extra weeks payment at Christmas will be great for retailers. Multiplier effect and all that.

Imagine now that figure if they gave every worker a Christmas tax or cash top up equal to their weekly pay packets ,

Next time round they really will be making “hard decisions “!

In 2007 the national debt was €47bn
    10 years later it broke past €200bn

A repeat of the 2008 recession will break the country.
    No two ways about it.

In 2007 the national debt was €47bn
    10 years later it broke past €200bn

A repeat of the 2008 recession will break the country.
    No two ways about it.

If you think that's bad take a look at Japan.

The government are pretty much breaking even.... the idea of running a surplus and paying down debt would give them an aneurysm.

It's literally mind boggling. You save when the going is good. The effort was made to tidy things up and it's all just been undone as if things where fine back then.

I'd rather the debt be brought under control and down to a reasonable level, it's still far to high from what we are told. Or give it to services that badly need it.

TallGlass wrote: »
    It's literally mind boggling. You save when the going is good. The effort was made to tidy things up and it's all just been undone as if things where fine back then.

I'd rather the debt be brought under control and down to a reasonable level, it's still far to high from what we are told. Or give it to services that badly need it.

The debt is under control, because tax income is now in line with spending. In the recent bad times, spending was 60 billion a year but tax income was only 30. Those are rough figures from memory.

Gatling wrote:
    Imagine now that figure if they gave every worker a Christmas tax or cash top up equal to their weekly pay packets ,

What really intrigues me about threads like this is the level of moaning by some. Honestly if the dole is so great why isn't the unemployment rate higher. Like it's painted as a wonderful life. Seems strange anyone would choose work. 2.2 million people, myself included must be awful idiots .