Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relationships - Age limits

• Registered Users Posts: 6 DublinLady22

I doubt the age of a man causes any increased risks in pregnancy or have any effect at all on the child, despite the faddy research coming out in recent years alleging to show that it does.

The risk of autism stuff is small and likely due to environmental factors, to upbringing. In general you have to be very cautious drawing conclusions when looking at anything related to autism or similar conditions in long-term epidemiological studies. Remember when some study showed that vaccines supposedly caused autism? It's a similar idea. If it was something like cystic fibrosis sure, otherwise there could be any number of reasons explaining the effect.

It certainly has a result on birth success anyway. In a study by European Society of Human Reproduction and Embryology examining IVF success of over 7000 couples in Boston from 2000-2014, it was found that while the lowest birth rates were for women over 40, where the woman was under 40 it was the man’s age that affected birth decline, even taking into account other variables that may cause a decline e.g. smoking. It was found that a woman under 30 who had a partner over 40 had a 46% lower birth rate than women of the same age who had a partner aged 30-35. Even when the women were age 30-35, if their partners were younger than 30, they had a 30% in birth success over the previous group.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

No mid-life crisis here. I mean I just ran away to Asia and started a new life....oops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Nijmegen wrote: »
    None of you heard the rule divide your age in half and add 7?

If x/2 + 7 > y then we're all good on the societal approval front?

Not necessarily. According to Glamour magazine, whose primary audience is women aged 18 to 34, the is Tom Hardy, who will turn 41 in a couple of days. Second on the list is 36-year-old Jamie Dornan. Twenty-eight-year-old Anthony Joshua is third, 37-year-old Ryan Gosling is fourth, and 46-year-old Idris Elba is fifth.

So, the top 5 sexiest men, according to Glamour readers, include two men in their forties, two more in their late thirties, and one in his late twenties. Forty-one-year-old Ryan Reynolds, 43-year-old David Beckham, and 42-year-old Benedict Cumberbatch all make the top 20 as well.

Firstly, I do not think any of these 'most beautiful/sexiest' lists are an accurate representation of what the average person finds attractive (I haven’t heard anyone gush over David Beckham for at least 10 years, and certainly not women in their 20s today!).

Even with this in mind, 40% of Glamour's readership are women aged 25-34 years old (can't put links, but a quick google will show the result). Only 23% are younger than this, the remaining 37% being older. So not quite a good representation of younger women voting for older men.

I find it interesting that on the FHM list, many of the women have starred in recent superhero movies, which may give an indication as to what sort of person (and the type who would actually bother!) voting for any of these. Regardless, there are plenty of late 30s and 40s women on the 2017 FHM list e.g. Beyoncé, Jennifer Lopez, Kim Kardashian, Gisele, Jenner Anniston to name a few.

In relation to the guys you have listed, with the exception of Ryan Reynolds, who is ten years the senior of Blake Lively, all the other (married) men in the list you have given are married to women similar in ages to themselves or even in some cases older.

Tom Hardy: Charlotte Riley (36).
    Jamie Dornan: Amelia Warner (36).
    Ryan Gosling’s wife: Eva Mendes (44).
    David Beckham: Ms. Posh Spice (44).
    Benedict Cumberbatch: Sophie Hunter (40).

Aside from Beckham, all the above men have married in recent years. If such men are some of the most desirable in the world, and arguably could have all the 20 year old models they could ever want, it is interesting that they have all chosen to spend their lives with women who are close in age to them or older.

It's hardly just my personal opinion. :) Female students having crushes on older male lecturers and professors is relatively common, and well documented. It's much less common when the genders are reversed.

In my university, it is the reverse. Plenty of guys talk about what they’d like to some of the female lecturers, most of the girls just cringe at the male lecturers’ bad jokes. However, even disregarding anecdotal evidence, Pornhub released their 2017 statistics and the MILF category was the 3rd must searched for category, beating searches for ‘teen’ which only came in at number 6, showing a fair proportion of guys must find 'older' women attractive.

There is something rather odd about a 17 yr old in a relationship with a person ten years their senior. Candie made some interesting points earlier about this. What sticks out for me the most is that at that young age there is still so much exploring and growing up to be done. In saying all that though the course of love doesn't always follow a traditional path. It's an emotion therefore logic is often missing.

I didn't set out to find an older man and he certainly bucks the assumption that they will be in a place to settle down. He is fierciely independent now as a result of being around the block. Everyone is different. I hope things work out for the OP. A bit of live and let live wouldn't go astray here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

It certainly has a result on birth success anyway. In a study by European Society of Human Reproduction and Embryology examining IVF success of over 7000 couples in Boston from 2000-2014, it was found that while the lowest birth rates were for women over 40, where the woman was under 40 it was the man’s age that affected birth decline, even taking into account other variables that may cause a decline e.g. smoking. It was found that a woman under 30 who had a partner over 40 had a 46% lower birth rate than women of the same age who had a partner aged 30-35. Even when the women were age 30-35, if their partners were younger than 30, they had a 30% in birth success over the previous group.

That doesn't necessarily mean that those women with older partners are having less babies because their partners are older per se and they can't get it up or are shooting blanks . Rather, it may be that the older partners don't want any more children whereas the younger male partners might be more inclined towards having them. It's probably a combination of both things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭bottar1

Sounds like you're having a mid life or menopausal crisis running around with that toy boy.

No big deal until she wants commitment, marriage and babies in a couple of years when you are still only a young fella by comparison and not wanting that level of relationship.

Fair point but I was aware of that going in - and to be fair she had made me aware of the situation early on - and long-term is what I'm going for :)! But It's a good point if you didn't consider it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 DublinLaw

That doesn't necessarily mean that those women with older partners are having less babies because their partners are older per se and they can't get it up or are shooting blanks . Rather, it may be that the older partners don't want any more children whereas the younger male partners might be more inclined towards having them. It's probably a combination of both things.

It was a study of 7000 couples going through IVF where both of the partners wanted children. Couples with an older male (and as mentioned, where the woman was over 40) had less success.

bottar1 wrote: »
    Fair point but I was aware of that going in - and to be fair she had made me aware of the situation early on - and long-term is what I'm going for :)! But It's a good point if you didn't consider it.

Did you not think you were getting yourself tied down very young?

Most 23 year old lads want to spend the next 5 years or so getting up on as many things with holes as possible. Not getting shackled to a long term "partner".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭ginandtonicsky

Most 23 year old lads want to spend the next 5 years or so getting up on as many things with holes as possible. Not getting shackled to a long term "partner".

Have you been in love? Attitudes change very quickly when you meet the right person.

Not only men btw. Most women want to date around and explore the market and not be tied down at that age too. It was the last thing I wanted at 23, but then I wasn't in love and shacked up with someone I saw my future with.

Yeah but at 32 now I don't want to get tied down with a partner and potentially, marriage and children any more now than I did at 23. No interest in it.

Apparently my aunt is lighting candles for me in various churches in the hope I'll marry. She'll need to light an awful lot more. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭bottar1

I've always been fairly mature for my age but even then I thought love was a load of bollocks and well, I can tell you that changed quickly.

Love at first sight sort of thing, like I've never experienced with any other previous relationship.

It changed my perspective on everything. I've always been fairly future focused and honestly the future would be better with this person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Firstly, I do not think any of these 'most beautiful/sexiest' lists are an accurate representation of what the average person finds attractive

You don't think the average heterosexual woman finds the likes of Tom Hardy, Jamie Dornan, or Ryan Gosling attractive? Interesting.

In any case, my point was about the age profile represented in these lists, not about whether the specific individuals listed are or are not attractive.

Men listing the sexiest women overwhelmingly go for women in their 20s and early 30s. FHM's top ten sexiest women in 2017, with ages at the time, were:

1. Gal Gadot (32)
    2: Emilia Clarke (30)
    3: Alexis Ren (20)
    4: Margot Robbie (27)
    5: Scarlett Johansson (32)
    6: Lais Ribeiro (26)
    7: Emily Ratajkowski (26)
    8: Megan Fox (31)
    9: Beyoncé (36)
    10: Jennifer Lawrence (28)

Notably, five of these women are in their twenties and another four are in their early thirties. At 36, Beyoncé was notable for being four years older than the next oldest woman in the top 10.

Compare Glamour's list of the top 10 sexiest men for 2018:

1. Tom Hardy (41)
    2. Jamie Dornan (36)
    3. Anthony Joshua (28)
    4. Ryan Gosling (37)
    5. Idris Elba (46)
    6. Harry Styles (24)
    7. Henry Cavill (35)
    8. Prince Harry (33)
    9. Kit Harrington (31)
    10. Chris Hemsworth (35)

Just two of these men are in their 20s and two are in their early 30s. Only one woman on the FHM list was over 35, but six men on the Glamour list are 35+.

No matter how much you want to quibble, the age profiles of the respective lists tells a story.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,099 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

It’s far more than a simple case of ‘reverse the genders’ as though the same standards apply though. They don’t. Often when a man in his mid-40’s has related his relationship with a younger woman in her 20s, it reads like they see themselves as having ‘saved’ these women, which generally comes off as cringeworthy if I’m being honest. I can understand in that context why the way they present their circumstances might draw a negative reception from people of both genders, in equal measure.
    In age gap relationships I've noted in such couples I've known that if anything older woman, younger man(if it's ten years or more and the guy is say early 20's) gets as much if not more behind the back whispers and static than older guy, younger woman. I've also found the most static tends to come from other women, in both scenarios. Certainly when I or mates, male and female have been in relationships with anything thought a bit off piste - age gap/non Irish say - it was far more women felt the need to comment, usually negatively. Though Women™ as a group tend to be more into social commentary in the Real World™, men tend more to keep their own counsel, beyond early adulthood anyway, so both probably share the same opinions, just it's more likely women will voice them.
    It certainly has a result on birth success anyway. In a study by European Society of Human Reproduction and Embryology examining IVF success of over 7000 couples in Boston from 2000-2014, it was found that while the lowest birth rates were for women over 40, where the woman was under 40 it was the man’s age that affected birth decline, even taking into account other variables that may cause a decline e.g. smoking.
    Yep, which is interesting from the standpoint that the results contradicted the stats from natural non IVF births. Reasons for that? In couples with fertility issues it's just as likely to be the man shooting blanks(some research suggests it's more likely). So the men in an IVF study are already at a disadvantage. If you're sub fertile at 30, it ain't gonna improve with the years. Also my point earlier that an older guy who can naturally attract younger women compared to the average of his peers is likely able to do so because he is physically healthier and fitter than his peers and this would be reflected in his "looks" and his fertility. I'd be willing to bet that if you took a section of his peers of the same age they'd have more fertility problems.
    Firstly, I do not think any of these 'most beautiful/sexiest' lists are an accurate representation of what the average person finds attractive
    +1000. Such lists are as likely to be made up by agents and PR people clattered out by the bored office junior journo and almost exclusively feature current "stars". Like "best albums ever" often contain recent stuff that will be utterly forgotten in a decade's time.

Aside from Beckham, all the above men have married in recent years. If such men are some of the most desirable in the world, and arguably could have all the 20 year old models they could ever want, it is interesting that they have all chosen to spend their lives with women who are close in age to them or older.
    Aye. Most people end up with others roughly the "same" as them in age, background, looks, social status etc. Now there are enough famous or semi famous and/or wealthy blokes who go younger, sometimes much younger(Leo DeCaprio(Sp?)) would be one, but generally speaking...
    However, even disregarding anecdotal evidence, Pornhub released their 2017 statistics and the MILF category was the 3rd must searched for category, beating searches for ‘teen’ which only came in at number 6, showing a fair proportion of guys must find 'older' women attractive.
    True. the Milf category is very popular. Though a relatively recent thing. It didn't exist as a "thing" in the 70's or 80's porn. Either a learned behaviour or fulfilling an existing market? I'd say mostly the latter myself. The next level up from "Milf"(anyone over 25 to around 35) is "Mature"(late 30's and up) is also popular. "BBW", IE fat lasses are also very popular. As I've said before porn gives a far better idea of the broad scope of men's tastes than the fashion world or Hollywood ever has.

It would be interesting to see the stats on who is watching which genres? Is Milf more searched by younger men or men of that age, or older? Though I remember watching some documentary on porn where one of the women joked that she did a "teen" scene and a "milf" scene on the same day. :D It is a bit skewed too as outside of "BBW" stuff the majority of porn actresses from "teen" to "milf" have figures in the top range of what's considered alluring regardless of their ages.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,855 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Yeah but at 32 now I don't want to get tied down with a partner and potentially, marriage and children any more now than I did at 23. No interest in it.

Apparently my aunt is lighting candles for me in various churches in the hope I'll marry. She'll need to light an awful lot more. :D

Genuinely, what business is it of hers?

That sort of legacy attitude is why there is even a question that brings up these sort of threads. So long as any two people are of legal age and of sound mind (i.e. neither mentally impaired or vulnerable to any sort of abuse) to enter into a relationship, friendship with benefits it really is not one bit of anyone elses business.

Yes the old adage of 0.5x +7 is there, but at 41 if i want to date an 18yo and she does me, then i will. (not in a billion years will that happen i can assure)

They say people need to learn the value of 'no', but they also need to learn the value of '**** off and mind your own business'.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,099 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

No matter how much you want to quibble, the age profiles of the respective lists tells a story.
    Yep, they do and consistently so. Like I said earlier it's roughly a ten year difference. One theory holds that one reason for this and the fact men don't suffer an equivalent menopause is while men and women can be attractive or not outa the box, men have an advantage in that they can earn extra attraction points, to the degree that they can even offset their physical looks(the list is long enough of old plain, even ugly powerful/famous men with much younger, much prettier women). More resources, social status and power etc. Unless a man is born into that it takes time to earn and accrue these things, so biology allowed for that extra time to do so.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,520 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Genuinely, what business is it of hers?

That sort of legacy attitude is why there is even a question that brings up these sort of threads. So long as any two people are of legal age and of sound mind (i.e. neither mentally impaired or vulnerable to any sort of abuse) to enter into a relationship, friendship with benefits it really is not one bit of anyone elses business.

They say people need to learn the value of 'no', but they also need to learn the value of '**** off and mind your own business'.

Yeah but you could say that about a lot of things but we do benefit as individuals the fact that we are part of a society where someone else may offer us advice from time to time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

There is something rather odd about a 17 yr old in a relationship with a person ten years their senior. Candie made some interesting points earlier about this. What sticks out for me the most is that at that young age there is still so much exploring and growing up to be done. In saying all that though the course of love doesn't always follow a traditional path. It's an emotion therefore logic is often missing.

I didn't set out to find an older man and he certainly bucks the assumption that they will be in a place to settle down. He is fierciely independent now as a result of being around the block. Everyone is different. I hope things work out for the OP. A bit of live and let live wouldn't go astray here.

Tis true. I believe Jonathan Ross proposed to his wife Jane, when she was 17 and he was 27. And, on the outside at least, they seem to be a contented couple. In my first houseshare in college, one of my housemates was 19 and her boyfriend was 29. They broke up after 1.5 years but while they were together, it wasn’t weird, they fit together well. So there are exceptions indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭ginandtonicsky

g&t was asking the question in terms of her friend that owns a dating agency, that many of the men were looking for a young woman as opposed to women their own age. In that context it’s very much a “buyers market” as it were, as those men would not only have the kind of money to be throwing at dating agencies, but they would also have the kind of wealth that would enable them to keep a young woman enthralled and entertained.

These aren't wealthy men, they're ordinary average men who aren't having luck in the real world and have paid a fee to get a bit of help meeting a woman to settle down with. A high percentage are men from rural areas, lots of farmers, not wealthy, stylish, highly accomplished and well groomed men by any stretch of the imagination.

She spends most of her time "managing expectations" around them and imploring them to understand that their target market isn't going to be resulting in as many dates as they'd like and they should perhaps broaden their horizons, because she has to make sure the attraction and compatibility is coming from both sides and the 25-year-old women coming to her aren't going to be open to dating men 45 and upwards in most cases.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Daisy78

I have a friend who is with a girl 15 years he,s junior . he,s been with her year,s now they have a kid together but it has got to the stage where she want,s to be out partying now and he just want,s a quite life . she goes out with her friends & he,s up the fooking wall . when he first got with her he use to brag to me look at me with a girl 15 years my junior and smile :) . now he just gives out fook about her been out with her mates . funny how things turn around :):):):) ... life is a strange thing ..

Ah see he can’t have it both ways. If you go out with someone who is that much younger you have to be okay with the fact that you more than likely won’t be spending your weekends sitting on the couch watching Netflix. What reason has he to give out?

Daisy78 wrote: »
    Ah see he can’t have it both ways. If you go out with someone who is that much younger you have to be okay with the fact that you more than likely won’t be spending your weekends sitting on the couch watching Netflix. What reason has he to give out?
    +1 D. Another factor in this are individual personalities. Sometimes this is labelled "maturity", but for my money often, if not usually inaccurately. I've known many the 20 odd year olds, men and women, who went from school/college to the "quiet life" near overnight. I've known 40 year olds, hell, even 70 year olds that kept that plasticity of mind more usual in chronologically much younger people.

Only today I was hanging out with a chap in his 60's, a newly minted grandfather with it, that the only way he'd do a weekend sitting on the couch watching Netflix would be if you nail gunned his arse to said coach. And trained a gun at him. Attack dogs a plus. His wife is the exact same. They're not necking disco biscuits and clubbing or anything, but they live very vibrant lives and have never stopped engaging with new things.

A cocoa and slippers with added cardigan type is not going to gel longterm(or short term) with a still exploring always open to new things type. Regardless of the age gap or gender. I've even seen such doomed pairings in people of the same age. It's all about compatibility IMHO. Now in the majority of folks that is to be found within the same general age/background/intelligence/life stages, but in the minority such compatibility can also be found in quite on the surface different general age/background/intelligence/life stages. And if it works, then more power to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭Ilovethe bonesofyou

For me, you can't really put an age on love. If there's an initial attraction between two people, regardless of the age, if they begin dating, love can grow and you can fall for that person.

It's easy for people to say I'd have this or that limit if they're partnered with someone of a similar age or if they're single and being idealistic but the reality is, if they were partnered with someone older or younger, they wouldn't be singing from that hymn sheet. Having said that, if there is a big age gap and one person in the relationship is below the age of twenty, I'd say there would still be a bit of growing up to do there and it wouldn't really feel appropriate to me.

With regard to the op I'd say go for it. She's 25 so it's not like she's young and foolish anymore! I met my now wife when I was 31 and she was 25 and we're like pigs in sh!te :D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

banie01 wrote: »
    Is the rule not half your age plus 7??

Its twice her age plus 7.

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭ZzubZzub

As others have said, it depends on the 2 of ye!
    My husband is 41, I’m 29 and we’ve been together for 8 years and age has never been an issue. On saying that, we’ve always been on the same wavelength with what we want in life.

A close friend of mine is currently in the process of getting divorced. They had a 14 year age difference but never had agreed on kids and the future and they ignored that for 10 years.

Good luck either way!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

whats with older men lusting after younger women anyhow??.....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

As a guy in his 40s, I wouldn't say there's necessarily anything wrong being in a relationship with a woman much younger than you but for me, it'd be an exception rather than a rule. Actually having a preference for that age dynamic is weird to me.

And no way would I have went out with a 17 year old when I was in my late 20s. I'd say most parents would take a pretty dim view of their own 17 year old kid being in such a relationship.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Wibbs wrote: »
    In age gap relationships I've noted in such couples I've known that if anything older woman, younger man(if it's ten years or more and the guy is say early 20's) gets as much if not more behind the back whispers and static than older guy, younger woman. I've also found the most static tends to come from other women, in both scenarios. Certainly when I or mates, male and female have been in relationships with anything thought a bit off piste - age gap/non Irish say - it was far more women felt the need to comment, usually negatively.

Yeah I guess I was thinking in that moment particularly of examples online, and and one in particular on here who took a woeful amount of flack for his relationship where his now wife is half his age, as in he’s middle-aged and she was 19 when they met. Even the opening post of this thread sounds familiar from the perspective of the kinds of things I’ve heard men say to other men when they developed what I would describe at least as an infatuation with a young woman. It wasn’t love, it was as though they were re-living what they felt were the lost years of their youth when there wasn’t a girl their age would even entertain them then so they never had that chance for that kind of relationship with someone their own age.

I can think of only one example from my own experience where a friend of mine who was in her 40s at the time recently divorced from her husband and decided she too wanted the chance to recapture what she felt should have been the best years of her life. I just couldn’t get with it when she pursued a relationship with a guy who was only 20 at the time, and told her as much. I don’t know how it worked out as we’re no longer in touch. Initially I thought it was only a fling, but she started talking about their future together and I just thought “nah, can’t get on board with that...” Her female friends however thought she was something of a legend for bagging herself an adolescent toy boy.

Though Women™ as a group tend to be more into social commentary in the Real World™, men tend more to keep their own counsel, beyond early adulthood anyway, so both probably share the same opinions, just it's more likely women will voice them.

I suppose you did say the real world and I’d have to agree men do tend to be more accepting of other men’s choices in terms of relationships, but I can think of numerous examples of men warning other men off ‘gold-diggers’ for example, where those men feel perfectly free to offer their opinions on how a man may be placing himself in a financially precarious position. In my experience at least, women are thinking about their friends welfare in terms of the emotional cost, whereas the financial cost tends to be at the forefront of most men’s minds when they see their middle-aged friend rocking up to the bar with some arm candy :D

And no way would I have went out with a 17 year old when I was in my late 20s. I'd say most parents would take a pretty dim view of their own 17 year old kid being in such a relationship.

He’s a while off it yet but certainly I’d take a very dim view if my son at 17 came home with a 27 year old. I’d be telling her she should have a word with herself. I remember when I was 17 and I developed an infatuation with my 23 year old teacher. She had the sense to put me straight there and then rather than entertain the thoughts of any sort of a relationship, and it’s only now that I am older I can see it was not just the best thing she could have done for herself, but it was the best thing she did for me too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Yeah I guess I was thinking in that moment particularly of examples online, and and one in particular on here who took a woeful amount of flack for his relationship where his now wife is half his age, as in he’s middle-aged and she was 19 when they met.

Was she not 16/17 when they met, and he in his very late 30's? Or am I thinking of a different poster? The guy I'm thinking of said he used to babysit this girl's child with his previous girlfriend while his soon-to-be girlfriend/wife was at school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

My girlfriend is 7 years older then me.

I am 26 she's 33.

No one seems to care about the age gap as both of us are happy to have meet each other.

After all age is a number as long as you are happy.