Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chitchat 3

• Registered Users Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭visatorro

whelan2 wrote: »
    Had a cow in the slurry tank this evening. Not in new shed. I'd say she was there a day or 2. Got her out and she walked away. Oh had taken a load or two out of that tank on Monday and left a pallet over the manhole as he was to go back to it...

Big job getting her out?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

whelan2 wrote: »
    Had a cow in the slurry tank this evening. Not in new shed. I'd say she was there a day or 2. Got her out and she walked away. Oh had taken a load or two out of that tank on Monday and left a pallet over the manhole as he was to go back to it...

In the slurry tank for 2 days and walked away?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    In the slurry tank for 2 days and walked away?

Ye. It's not a deep tank only holds about 10k gallons. I was closing a gate and heard a moan. The pallet was moved over on tuesday from where it was. I didn't pass too much remarks. We lifted the slats with the pallet forks on the digger. Got a rope around her neck and a halter on her. Then the hip lifter . Lifted her out , took the lifter off and she walked into a shed. She's a dry cow. The lad that's building the shed was a great help. Going to have wine tonight. Slats are all back down and manhole closed

• Registered Users Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Absolutely.
    Anyone could see these grants coming. But grant aiding dairy farmers without giving a thought to the traditional calf rearers/buyers is beyond shortsighted.
    Gov need to go big on this and ‘create’ a veal industry. Big money needs to be invested NOW to be in some way prepared for when live exports of calves are finished.
    Bit of vote buying...a few quid being thrown about to be seen to address the issue...etc etc.
    I honestly believe that if huge money isn’t spent on this immediately there’s the possibility of a less than desirable outcome.

Wouldnt the calf to beef man be better off letting the dairy farmer bring the calves to weaning our 6 weeks plus at which point mortality rates and labour/facilities needed will be minimal....
    Beef farmers need to play the game now and stay away from buying young calves, they are going to have to be fed and well cared for now given bord bia auditors will be on the hunt for bad eggs, with beef prices the way they are the dairy farmer needs to be subbing the beef man to take care of his problem childern. our let him bring them to beef and take his chances with Larry

• Registered Users Posts: 11,180 ✭✭✭✭Base price

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Wouldnt the calf to beef man be better off letting the dairy farmer bring the calves to weaning our 6 weeks plus at which point mortality rates and labour/facilities needed will be minimal....
    Beef farmers need to play the game now and stay away from buying young calves, they are going to have to be fed and well cared for now given bord bia auditors will be on the hunt for bad eggs, with beef prices the way they are the dairy farmer needs to be subbing the beef man to take care of his problem childern. our let him bring them to beef and take his chances with Larry
    Some of us beef farmers need to continue to make a living. We buy dairy bull calves to rear/finish. Why should we have to wait to buy older bull calves at probably exorbitant prices whilst the dairy farmer gets State aid to facilitate his part of the transaction.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Base price wrote: »
    Some of us beef farmers need to continue to make a living. We buy dairy bull calves to rear/finish. Why should we have to wait to buy older bull calves at probably exorbitant prices whilst the dairy farmer gets State aid to facilitate his part of the transaction.

You'll get them very keenly priced I reckon, if live exports are stopped, the sheer supply of calves that will flood the market means it will be a buyers market for calves

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭K9

Couldn’t agree more, said something similar months ago. All beef farmers are doing is providing free labour so the dairy farmer can milk more cows. They’d be better off getting a job working for them rearing the calves. IMO a calf is the dearest animal you can buy

You'll get them very keenly priced I reckon, if live exports are stopped, the sheer supply of calves that will flood the market means it will be a buyers market for calves
    You are ignoring my previous post https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=112061730&postcount=7287

I'm more than aware what happens to dairy bull calf prices because of a glut in the system be it due to inclement weather, BSE, etc. I've been buying and rearing calves for nearly 40 years.

If live exports cease the few factories that cater for calves won't be able to cope with the numbers - therefore there needs to be a realistic, financial, sustainable solution that includes all farmers, not just one for dairy farmers.

Absolutely.
    Anyone could see these grants coming. But grant aiding dairy farmers without giving a thought to the traditional calf rearers/buyers is beyond shortsighted.
    Gov need to go big on this and ‘create’ a veal industry. Big money needs to be invested NOW to be in some way prepared for when live exports of calves are finished.
    Bit of vote buying...a few quid being thrown about to be seen to address the issue...etc etc.
    I honestly believe that if huge money isn’t spent on this immediately there’s the possibility of a less than desirable outcome.
    I doubt there is financial viability for a veal industry in Ireland. As previously posted I looked into it some years ago. We have a 3 maybe 4 month window for purchasing calves. The input costs (milk replacer, meal and straw) are prohibitive before you take into account the variability of factory prices including transport costs to mainland EU.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,600 ✭✭✭straight

I'm expecting a few dairy farmers to be in the top 10 of Ireland's rich list...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Millionaire only not

straight wrote: »
    I'm expecting a few dairy farmers to be in the top 10 of Ireland's rich list...

I’m expecting to pick up cheap parlour in next few years !

Mooooo wrote: »
    Dried off the last of the cow's yday. Plenty milk on the cubicles today and they weren't exactly driving milk perhaps averaging 10 to 12 litres

Hay or straw only answer but Ud want to do it 2/3 days before u tube

K9 wrote: »
    Couldn’t agree more, said something similar months ago. All beef farmers are doing is providing free labour so the dairy farmer can milk more cows. They’d be better off getting a job working for them rearing the calves. IMO a calf is the dearest animal you can buy

No all that’s happening is free labour and cheap beef for Larry !
    People would want seriously grow up!
    Why has ireland to lead the way for climate change , much less not slaughter unwanted calves at birth !
    New Zealand and Uk gets away with it and if Ireland did it in a humane way what’s the problem!
    Giving money towards men that can afford calf feeders Christ’s sake !
    If not slaughter make the dairy farmer pay 20/50 towards the calf and further subsidy of say 50 from government !
    The dairy farmer is the one to pay for the unwanted product !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

1.5m between 17,000 dairy farmers, thats a grant of 88 euros each if we all apply

from what i read nothing said beef farmers are not eligible, they are writing to dairy farmers as this is where the extra 200k calves will be coming from

production right tooted for 2021 so next year could be the last increase in numbers

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,073 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Absolutely.

This is nothing more than a pr stunt.no point in it and will make zero difference to situation.much better off throwing the 1.5 into a semen sexing lab because this is the only solution.by the way calf rearing will have to be done on dairy farms because theres not many now knows how to rear a calf

• Registered Users Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Base price wrote: »
    I doubt there is financial viability for a veal industry in Ireland. As previously posted I looked into it some years ago. We have a 3 maybe 4 month window for purchasing calves. The input costs (milk replacer, meal and straw) are prohibitive before you take into account the variability of factory prices including transport costs to mainland EU.

It’ll have to be revisited BP.
    When you throw in a few hundred thousand extra calves remaining in Ireland the only outlet I can think of is veal. The veal calf is finished and slaughtered before the cow produces another calf. Holding them to finish at 30mts is going to result in a massive numbers explosion...Larry would love that.

At the end of the day the dairy farmers aren’t going to give up their xbreds, and why should they, Teagasc and the Gov advised them that that was the only option for expansion. That dairy expansion was largely funded by Government was it not??

Veal would take out the surplus crap calves and leave room for the traditional beef suckler animals to maintain the quality of proper Irish beef. Irish beef needs to have a core herd of decent beef animals to be able to compete against all the other countries that do produce quality beef animals...the likes of France with its purebred Charolais, Limousins, Blondes etc would wipe the floor with Irelands xbreds in the international beef markets.

IMO the Gov and the dairy industry will need to financially support a new veal industry. If you throw plenty money at veal it’ll take off...it took off with dairy didn’t it? In France the veal processors are strong enough to be able to grant aid the expansion and future of their own industry...how come?

The whole issue is a good example of the law of unintended consequences when Governments get involved in markets...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭stretch film

We've one ordered, I'd be trying to get the grant on it if possible. Advisor reckons itll be some what like the fooder scheme back in 17/18 where you just apply

Retrospectively??
    Have a deal done too. Don't like the idea of waiting for ages to get approval and then being at the end of a long queue for installation.
    An over subscribed scheme will leave little enough after fees.
    How many max grants on say feeders in 1.5 mil and that's not including all other equipment

Retrospectively??
    Have a deal done too. Don't like the idea of waiting for ages to get approval and then being at the end of a long queue for installation.
    How many max grants on say feeders in 1.5 mil and that's not including all other equipment

200 calf feeders. It's a pittance.

I knew the sum 😊 a pittance indeed. Take away the Cost of applying also.
    And ffs opening it a few weeks before calving.

I don't see any stipulation on gov,. Ie about it being for dairy farms only. Icsa commented yesterday actually

I knew the sum 😊 a pittance indeed. Take away the Cost of applying also.
    And ffs opening it a few weeks before calving.

I don't see any stipulation on gov,. Ie about it being for dairy farms only. Icsa commented yesterday actually

I think it's just a token , to be seen to be doing something about the situation but not worth a fook in reality

• Registered Users Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Retrospectively??

I'll see what next week brings info wise on it. We're putting it in regardless of the grant but if theres one to be got I may aswell get it. My advisor reckons itll be something like the fodder scheme. You just apply and work on and if you get approval happy days

It’ll have to be revisited BP.
    When you throw in a few hundred thousand extra calves remaining in Ireland the only outlet I can think of is veal. The veal calf is finished and slaughtered before the cow produces another calf. Holding them to finish at 30mts is going to result in a massive numbers explosion...Larry would love that.

At the end of the day the dairy farmers aren’t going to give up their xbreds, and why should they, Teagasc and the Gov advised them that that was the only option for expansion. That dairy expansion was largely funded by Government was it not??

Veal would take out the surplus crap calves and leave room for the traditional beef suckler animals to maintain the quality of proper Irish beef. Irish beef needs to have a core herd of decent beef animals to be able to compete against all the other countries that do produce quality beef animals...the likes of France with its purebred Charolais, Limousins, Blondes etc would wipe the floor with Irelands xbreds in the international beef markets.

IMO the Gov and the dairy industry will need to financially support a new veal industry. If you throw plenty money at veal it’ll take off...it took off with dairy didn’t it? In France the veal processors are strong enough to be able to grant aid the expansion and future of their own industry...how come?

The whole issue is a good example of the law of unintended consequences when Governments get involved in markets...

Veal wont work as you no continuity of supply and the export of veal
    will only feck up European veal.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Its 40% of 7500e so its 3000 per feeder which works out at 500 2 station feeders

• Registered Users Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

K.G. wrote: »
    Veal wont work as you no continuity of supply and the export of veal
    will only feck up European veal.

The calves that are being exported are already going for veal in European markets.
    In fact it makes a lot more economic sense that the calves are reared and processed in Ireland than exported on the hoof.
    One would think that 40ft reefer containers full of veal are a much more efficient way of exporting veal than specialised attic trailers with live calves?

Why wouldn’t there be a continuity of supply? Rear the xbred calves to 10-12mts before slaughter. They’ll probably need the extra few weeks to finish anyway...

The calves that are being exported are already going for veal in European markets.
    In fact it makes a lot more economic sense that the calves are reared and processed in Ireland than exported on the hoof.
    One would think that 40ft reefer containers full of veal are a much more efficient way of exporting veal than specialised attic trailers with live calves?

Why wouldn’t there be a continuity of supply? Rear the xbred calves to 10-12mts before slaughter. They’ll probably need the extra few weeks to finish anyway...

So either two things.one we have a veal season where people eat alot of veal and have little veal next 9 mo ths or we export a glut of veal every.12 momths-not a promising setup for any business.veal is not the answer in my books.as for x breeds i can only say there is a big move away from them in our area for 3 reasons
    The x breed calf problem
    X breds have little advantage over fr now in fertility and if anything lads are thinking of how to depressurise calving season
    Increasing milk volumes. Around west cork many places have hit max stocking rate and are looking to increasin production per cow rather than hunting numbers. Not talking about 10 k litres more try ing to move from 5000l acow to 6000 or 7000.taking on more land involves a series of investments which fellas are saying is not worth the hassle with the margin in milk at the moment

Its 40% of 7500e so its 3000 per feeder which works out at 500 2 station feeders

It's a limited pool of money and open to as many applicants as wish to avail of it
    400 feeder applications half the money and so on.
    Plenty other items will be applied for. Minimum amount is 1000

• Registered Users Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

K.G. wrote: »
    So either two things.one we have a veal season where people eat alot of veal and have little veal next 9 mo ths or we export a glut of veal every.12 momths-not a promising setup for any business.veal is not the answer in my books.as for x breeds i can only say there is a big move away from them in our area for 3 reasons
    The x breed calf problem
    X breds have little advantage over fr now in fertility and if anything lads are thinking of how to depressurise calving season
    Increasing milk volumes. Around west cork many places have hit max stocking rate and are looking to increasin production per cow rather than hunting numbers. Not talking about 10 k litres more try ing to move from 5000l acow to 6000 or 7000.taking on more land involves a series of investments which fellas are saying is not worth the hassle with the margin in milk at the moment

Veal is lovely. It's a wonder that it's not really available at all. There's surely potential to soak up a good few calves even if it is seasonal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Clear test:)

Happy Christmas

Veal is lovely. It's a wonder that it's not really available at all. There's surely potential to soak up a good few calves even if it is seasonal

Rosé grass fed veal is the nicest of all reportedly