Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lunchtime Live with Ciara Kelly [Mod warning post #1]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭Lemongrease

yes, ecstasy is far less harmful than alcohol by basically every measure out there.

20101106_WOC504_0.gif

great whataboutery there though :rolleyes:

obviously touched a nerve if you had to post a thread i started from 7 years ago though ;)

I think its your nerves that are affected tbh

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

yes, ecstasy is far less harmful than alcohol by basically every measure out there.

great whataboutery there though :rolleyes:

obviously touched a nerve if you had to post a thread i started from 7 years ago though ;)

To be fair it does obliterate your post and knocks you down from your pontificating high horse to a drug using degenerate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

doylefe wrote: »
    To be fair it does obliterate your post and knocks you down from your pontificating high horse to a drug using degenerate.
    not really, as I don't use ecstasy, and the hospitals/Garda stations aren't full of people with ecstasy-related injuries/assault/public order offences every weekend.
    nor is ecstasy remotely a cause for Ireland becoming a nation of overweight slobs.

try again.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Mod note

back on topic please, take drug chat to pm.

thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Yesterday she was discussing how depressing soap operas are.
    She started the topic by stating that they are "so bad they make her want to kill herself"
    Very bad choice of words coming from a GP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,302 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

She had some nut job on today who believed that she was addicted to fake tan. I think she called it Tanorexia.

I know that the summer is silly season & there's not much news but I thought this was a terrible topic. I don't blame Ciara for this. I really think her producer should get the boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    She had some nut job on today who believed that she was addicted to fake tan. I think she called it Tanorexia.

I know that the summer is silly season & there's not much news but I thought this was a terrible topic. I don't blame Ciara for this. I really think her producer should get the boot.

Well if there's one thing I've learned from this thread is that Ciara Kelly is not to blame for anything and is never at fault. :rolleyes:

Just ike the two times she parked in Disabled Bays were because she had a valid reason.......

I don't know anything about producing a show but they seem to filling it with anything medical related. This nonsense of Tanorexia is not medical. Ciara isn't a psychologist & was the wrong person to interview this person. Ciara didn't sound interested in the topic imo

I think the likes of Pat Kenny can stand on their own two feet. I think the likes of Pete the vet & the health insurance guy would be better suited to Ciara's show. I don't know how much input she has on the content of her show but I think much of the content is wrong for the show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I don't know anything about producing a show but they seem to filling it with anything medical related. This nonsense of Tanorexia is not medical. Ciara isn't a psychologist & was the wrong person to interview this person. Ciara didn't sound interested in the topic imo

I think the guest possibly didn't suffer from any serious psychological issues (excessive tanning can be a serious issue especially when Sun beds are used) but was probably 'addicted' to tan when it was fashionable and not 'addicted' when it went out of fashion around the time recession struck. In the same way I conquered addiction to high heels because they are less fashionable now than they were five years ago. I think Ciara treated it as relatively fluff item which it was. It was still far superior item to discussion with Jonathan Healy about Cork.

It's not just the Lunchtime but quite a few programmes suffer from August fatigue. When doing some boring stuff at work I often prefer podcasts than live radio atm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller Returns

What does a producer do exactly? Genuine question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,079 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

What does a producer do exactly? Genuine question.

Has big influence in selecting topics, order of topics, coordinating contributors to the show and the team of researchers who provide data to the presenter and guiding the presenter in the direction the interview is expected to go.

As I understand it anyway.

Has big influence in selecting topics, order of topics, coordinating contributors to the show and the team of researchers who provide data to the presenter and guiding the presenter in the direction the interview is expected to go.

As I understand it anyway.

Ah right, thanks. Important job so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

The show is just a woeful and I'm sick of the typical people who contact the show as they all seem to hold 'Masters' in something even the ones who left school after the Inter. Probably just my inferiority complex. I think I'll set up a Go Fund Me page for people like me who don't have a 'Masters'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Del.Monte wrote: »
    The show is just a woeful and I'm sick of the typical people who contact the show as they all seem to hold 'Masters' in something even the ones who left school after the Inter. Probably just my inferiority complex. I think I'll set up a Go Fund Me page for people like me who don't have a 'Masters'.
    Let me ease your complex...I work in 3rd level and can safely say that a lot of Masters programmes are a load of rubbish. An industry designed to keep students in our lectures halls for another year, whilst paying a hefty fee for the privilege to do so. There are some exceptions, sure, but I think a lot of Masters have been devalued/diluted by the abundance of them out there. Sometimes less is more.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

enjoyed that brutal interview with paul williams going into graphic detail of larry murphys escapades at 2pm with ciara sweating buckets. two egotistical idiots talking over one another with absolutely no broadcasting skills and no idea of how an interview should be conducted. williams was so excited he sounded like he was tugging the skeleton out of himself during the description of what larry got up to..."and then ciara, and then, and then I chased him all over europe when i was doing my piece of sh*t documentary on TV3"...STFU the pair of ye.

sightband wrote: »
    enjoyed that brutal interview with paul williams going into graphic detail of larry murphys escapades at 2pm with ciara sweating buckets. two egotistical idiots talking over one another with absolutely no broadcasting skills and no idea of how an interview should be conducted. williams was so excited he sounded like he was tugging the skeleton out of himself during the description of what larry got up to..."and then ciara, and then, and then I chased him all over europe when i was doing my piece of sh*t documentary on TV3"...STFU the pair of ye.

Someone yesterday asked what a producer does. Well today he/she was banging on the glass with one hand while slicing a finger across their neck in a "kill it" mime. People here like to criticize ciara on this thread but dear god I absolutely can't stand Paul Williams. When he reports a crime , he is the show & the crime plays second fiddle to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Someone yesterday asked what a producer does. Well today he/she was banging on the glass with one hand while slicing a finger across their neck in a "kill it" mime. People here like to criticize ciara on this thread but dear god I absolutely can't stand Paul Williams. When he reports a crime , he is the show & the crime plays second fiddle to him.

I’ve always said Williams is the worst presenter on Newstalk (even trumping Kelly); the thoughts of the two of them together is too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

I’ve always said Williams is the worst presenter on Newstalk (even trumping Kelly);

He's worst by a long shot.
    the thoughts of the two of them together is too much.

It was brutal.

Williams basically stroking himself to completion on the gory details of Larry Murphy's crimes. All the while inserting crime babble to make himself feel like some sort of authority on the subject.

And to top it off, Ciara signed off by attributing the title of criminologist to Williams. The guy isn't even a proper journalist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

And to top it off, Ciara signed off by attributing the title of criminologist to Williams. The guy isn't even a proper journalist.

He has masters in criminology. Are you so desperate you have to attack her for describing someone accurately?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,998 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

meeeeh wrote: »
    He has masters in criminology. Are you so desperate you have to attack her for describing someone accurately?

He has a masters of criminology in arts, not Journalism, Sociology, Psychology or Law, also the masters is relating specifically to the internal structures of an garda siochana and has nothing to do with the criminal underworld.

This in no way makes him a criminologist by definition, the title he conferred on himself nothing more.

He did actually study journalism...... but dropped out after 1 year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

anyone listening today.
    aparantly ciara thinks we all should have free speech and can say what we like once its legal to say. she also thinks that people shouldnt lose their jobs for using free speech.

im sure her predicessor would have a word to say on that

anyone listening today.
    aparantly ciara thinks we all should have free speech and can say what we like once its legal to say. she also thinks that people shouldnt lose their jobs for using free speech.

im sure her predicessor would have a word to say on that

I criticize her a lot but if she said that fair play to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

I criticize her a lot but if she said that fair play to her.

i agree with her on that point but its very hypicrital given the witch hunt that she was part of that got her the job . that statment goes against her actions

Was she part of the witch hunt, though? I thought she kept quiet about it.

He has masters in criminology.
    I did not know that, my mistake.
    Are you so desperate you have to attack her for describing someone accurately?

I wasn't trying to attack her, it's he that gets on my nerves.
    I'm neutral on her overall, she's not the worst but not especially my cup of tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,079 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Today's conversation was very very interesting. It was an out and out debate. Ciara vigorously defended Paddy Cosgraves right to invite Marine LePen to the Web summit.

Would love to hear more debates like this and to see extremist thinking challenged rather than dismissed.

During the conversation, she said that anyone is entitled to free speech as long as they are not inciting hatred, or slandering anyone. I wonder what crossed her mind when said that last bit.

Was she part of the witch hunt, though? I thought she kept quiet about it.

Oh please, please, let's not do this again.

For some little old Ciara is an upstart that ousted her sponsor through Machiavellian machinations and leveraging the baying mob.

For others Hook, not for the first time, displayed his true character. His advertisers didn't really want to be associated with that. Newstalk saw it as commercially more sensible to put him out to pasture in the graveyard slot. The free market in action.

I don't think going over it again will move people from either camp

Today's conversation was very very interesting. It was an out and out debate. Ciara vigorously defended Paddy Cosgraves right to invite Marine LePen to the Web summit.

Would love to hear more debates like this and to see extremist thinking challenged rather than dismissed.

During the conversation, she said that anyone is entitled to free speech as long as they are not inciting hatred, or slandering anyone. I wonder what crossed her mind when said that last bit.

I'll have to listen to that interview.

"I wonder what crossed her mind when said that last bit". What do you mean?

http://www.thejournal.ie/ciara-kelly-high-court-3916848-Mar2018/