Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Why are our Gardai "soft" looking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭scamalert

If my job was to deal with scum that have 50 offenses, and no ****ing rights basically to do anything and joined that that your only weapon is pepper spray at best to defend and try to avoid some cnut putting in claim because you touched them, id probably sit in my driveway all day, since what's the point ?

In states and many other countries cops will usually put you face down then ask questions at best and pray if you open your mouth besides asked to do so, here they need 5 backups to deal with single cnut to get out of the car even thou no insurance or tax are present and if touched person will claim assault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

The gardai you see on a daily basis are the bottom of the chain with the least responsibility.

If you've seen members of the armed force or riot squad they are as intimidating as anything you see on the continent.

Last week I was in Kilkenny for the visit of Charles and camilla and there was an armed Garda present with a massive rifle tucked away very unsubtly a bag over his shoulder. Obviously the gun was intimidating but the uniform he was wearing looked like props from a police drama or something.

For the most part I'm a fan of AGS and our police is actually heralded worldwide showing as an unarmed force that still does an excellent job of maintaining the peace. I'm glad that we don't have gardai walking around with AK's hanging from their shoulders, it's completely unnecessary intimidation.

Also having seen the Garda riot squad in live action twice (they were deployed when we had a massive session at the end of the Leaving cert :P ), the other time being when those Pediga people were on O'Connell street last year, they are certainly not to be messed with and in terms of training and preparation are definitely on a par with anything on the continent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭boobycharlton

Public order unit are just regular guards on overtime who've done the training course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

I blame the donuts I do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

What I don't get is you never see any tall female guards. There are plenty of tall women around, but it's as if they restrict female applicants to no higher than 5ft 2 or something.

Maybe they need to make high heeled shoes standard issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭JJayoo

I like the hats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

The country is more or less lawless. Around my way, it's like something out of Mad Max. I haven't seen a guard in 6 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭368100

and they have lovely cells that cannot be used because the beds are 2 inches higher than they are supposed to be and it would violate H+S to put someone in there.

This sort of stuff is what's wrong with the country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭rgace

368100 wrote: »
    This sort of stuff is what's wrong with the country

Shoddy workmanship Ted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

twinytwo wrote: »
    just throwing it out there...Mike Tyson is 5'8 and at 50 you still wouldnt mess with him

Ahh he's more than 5'8". Mayweather is 5'8" and looks a lot shorter than Tyson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭rtron

Is it coz some of them have the soft voice, you know like priests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

The Gardai need to take the attitude test that those mean mo-fo'es that man US Immigration booths at Dublin airport have to pass...no messing with them boys...had the pleasure of meeting one of the Donald's finest in Dublin airport a couple of weeks ago(name of Beaver...was afraid to snigger to myself for fear of being banged up...)-have to say I was far more scared of him than I ever have been encountering any of the Gardai....not sure why the need for the naked hostility though???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

They got rid of the minimum height ,
    so of course a garda that is 5ft 3 is not as tough looking as
    one thats 6 ft plus.
    If the gardai are looking to arrest a criminal there,ll be 2 or 3 of them .
    we need female gardai to deal with the public and women and children .
    Most of the time a garda .s job is going on patrol , responding to alarms
    etc using physical force is a small part of their job.
    They man checkpoints look for people speeding etc
    Theres some story about american cops ,it says they we
    use their guns maybe once or twice a year .
    And all american cops are armed .
    the average woman is not tall ,
    so don,t expect tall female gardai.
    go into town on st patricks day,
    or into temple bar,
    you,ll see dozens of burly looking gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭Strong Life in Dublin

I have no problem with there being no height restriction but I agree that they should be more fit. If they are fit then their height shouldn't be too much of a disadvantage.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 161 ✭✭Allah snackbar

I went to school with a guy that went off to join the guards , he was fat , he failed his fitness test 3 times so they just let him pass out without it , that's a joke , he's still a useless **** so the guards didn't change him much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Physical size doesn't matter. It's all about the garda eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Johnny Jukebox

I saw the guards in action at the H-Block riots in Ballsbridge in 1981. They took on some of the most hardened rioters from the North and battered them back into the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I went to school with a guy that went off to join the guards , he was fat , he failed his fitness test 3 times so they just let him pass out without it , that's a joke , he's still a useless **** so the guards didn't change him much

Yeah course ya did, I have a friend who failed his leaving cert but his dads cousins sister in laws uncle was a guard and got him in through the back door. He failed all his policing exams but they still let him through because his dads cousins sister in laws uncle made a phone call. :rollseyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Threads a bit of surprise , it's a nice warm up for " why do our teachers get such long holidays " thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    Bloody useless cops we have. I've seen little girls trying to pass as guards have their arses handed to them by teenage boys outside a chipper at 3am. Another time while taking an early morning stroll I had to come to a male and female guards' rescue in restraining a hoodlum because she had put her pepper spray in her own eyes and couldn't see a thing. Fcuking pathetic they are. Next time you pass a young guard, hold eye contact with him and see can he go the distance with it.

Sounds like they should sign you up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

Who knew there were so many hard men on boards all measuring cocks in this thread. 'Next time you see a guard look him in the eyes and see can he hold it', lol makes you tough as ****ing nails

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,392 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Ben Gadot wrote: »
    Sounds like they should sign you up.

I have a rule of thumb. The harder an anonymous person tries to sound on the internet, the more I assume they are a wuss.

I believe jayesdiem to be the exception to this rule. :mad:

In my real life experience, real hard men never tried to impress others about how hard they were. They didn't have to.

My work nights out are the best for faux hardness. Mind you even when locked and agro, some people still prefer the cheap shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭RandomName2

seachto7 wrote: »
    You look at them, and they don't look in any way threatening, or authoritative.

I saw the police in action last week in Spain, and they don't f*ck about, and they actually look like they'd turn you over as well.

[...] f*ck you up.
    gramar wrote: »
    Failing that if you're not close to 6 feet and 14stone and look after yourself physically then you shouldn't be in the guards.
    Caliden wrote: »
    Ever since they got rid of the height requirement most new recruits aren't intimidating enough to be taken seriously.

Because the chief characteristic of the police is intimidation and beating people up? I'm assuming you're against female police officers as well?

What is this, the 17th century? If a police officer is getting into a brawl then they're probably doing something wrong.

With a quick note to gramar that Conor McGregor might want a word

My work nights out are the best for faux hardness. Mind you even when locked and agro, some people still prefer the cheap shot.

The cheap shot usually works because it's usually directed at someone who won't or can't respond. Serial offenders always end up hitting the wrong man eventually.

Aye, though when I suspected one finally got his arse handed to him he claimed it was because he was "pushed over" when drunk during a brawl he wasn't involved him.

Still got his arse handed to him though. Karma is a bitch and a good teacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

In my real life experience, real hard men never tried to impress others about how hard they were. They didn't have to.

To be fair now lads I wholeheartedly agree with this same stance. I'm just saying how I see the situation based on my experience. Considering nobody knows my actual identity here there is no need for me to try to look tough. Even if you did know me, that is not my motivation.