Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are our Gardai "soft" looking?

• 19-05-2017 11:06am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭

Well, I'm not saying all Gardai are soft looking, but there's a fair whack of them who could do with keeping away from the table and going to a gym.

You look at them, and they don't look in any way threatening, or authoritative.

I don't know if it's the uniform or what. They seem to wear these oversized reflective jackets which are horrible.

I saw the police in action last week in Spain, and they don't f*ck about, and they actually look like they'd turn you over as well.

In Italy, they prefer to look good, but will equally f*ck you up.

I have seen Gardai in action, well able to handle themselves but not a whole lot.

Too many stories in the news of Gardai getting assaulted.

I have seen bangardai with arses the size of houses. (No good in a foot pursuit, let's be honest).

Lots of pudgy youngfellas on the beat.

I'm no oil painting myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Give them free access to gyms and take them out from behind desks dealing with bullsh**t paperwork. They're being paid rubbish money and being made to work long hours on top of many of them having to commute, ending up with many subsisting on convenience foods. They don't lead anything like a healthy lifestyle.

Also, give them a bloody uniform that is fit for purpose.

I'm not a Garda btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Guards should be seven feet tall, with arms like tree trunks, eyes like steel, cold, hard and a shock of hair, red like the fires of hell.

Failing that if you're not close to 6 feet and 14stone and look after yourself physically then you shouldn't be in the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

gramar wrote: »
    If you're not close to 6 feet and 14stone and look after yourself physically then you shouldn't be in the guards.

Ever since they got rid of the height requirement most new recruits aren't intimidating enough to be taken seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭dashoonage

I blame Topaz....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

That Guard in that porno was "hard" looking. :)

Seriously though (I think), they got rid of the mandatory strength test a number of years ago in the interest of equality and that. So a 5 foot 2, 8 stone person can join, and is expected to 'keep the peace'. :confused:

The answer to the question is because they can get away with it.
    Go to Holland or Germany. Some cops are armed, some aren't. However there were none of them I'd think I'd have a good chance in a fight against.
    People like to idealise about having harmony and not having a physical "threat" as part of the police's powers but it's an ideal that doesn't bear out. Despite looking like they could destroy just about anyone I know I found the police there helpful and sometimes in Amsterdam they just stop for a chat.
    Compare that to here or England. Here we have Gardai a tad over 5 foot but looking about 12 stone. England last time I was there had heavily armed police in some areas. One of which was on her own, struggling to put lip-balm on for about 15 seconds with the end of the barrel of her rifle rubbing against her chin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

... if you're not close to 6 feet and 14stone and look after yourself physically then you shouldn't be in the guards.

But, but, but, ...human rights and equality?! how dare you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

I don't see the point of sending some bangardai out on the beat either. Call it equality if you like, but the ones I've seen woudln't be much use up against the likes of the Dundons and the likes, unless it's a case you need a female Garda to tackle a female scumbag?

Gardai here should be made do self defence or boxing classes or the likes. Regular fitness tests. They'll be able to "keep the peace" then.

Do you really think a bunch of scumbags brawling will be bothered about a 5ft Garda trying to break it up.....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

I often wonder about their capability to run after someone or tackle someone. I was in Greece recently and the police there were not to be messed with. Same in Poland - really fit and able police force.

As a woman - i do think it was wrong for the height restriction to be removed unless youre some kind of powerhouse if your small youre not as useful in a fight/restraint situation as a taller person.

The fitness test for entry is awful....... a 70 ear old could pass. There is no ongoing assessment.......... they are encouraged to keep it up or some such bull****.
    The answer to the question is because they can get away with it.......
    indeed, 100% agree, it's almost the culture to be a porky Garda, no pig pun intended

Long hours etc no time to train is bollocks, many of them have other interests/occupations that take up time.

A few months in templemore doesn't make them handy with the batton either.

They are a joke for the most part, any AGS that think otherwise post a pic hiding your face to back up your point :)

The males AGS are as good/bad as the females now and a porkey ban Garda with an appetite for a bag of crisps with the BLT and marsbar isn't rare judging by what you'd see strolling about the streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Our new garda station cost 3,000,000, has a gym and showers, has big tv (that someone was watching soccer all Thursday afternoon on - which means they have a satellite or chromecast) and they have lovely cells that cannot be used because the beds are 2 inches higher than they are supposed to be and it would violate H+S to put someone in there.
    Nothing soft about our crowd...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

The ones I know wouldn't be soft looking. I'm good friends with one who does a lot of boxing and kickboxing and goes for runs every day. I certainly wouldn't like to take him on on a Saturday night after the nightclub.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I haven't been home for a year has law and order has broken down in that time??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

why do I read after hours.......its like the Daily Mail for 9 year olds.....

I wouldn't be too bothered about the height. Plenty of tough small people out there.

But most I've seen are either too fat or too small, male and female. It's only a small few I've seen who look like they'd break you in half.

I do think the old school Garda is starting to change though (no sense of humour, a Garda even when they're off duty, jobs on ths side etc) or am I wrong?

The ones I know wouldn't be soft looking.................

Well we aren't on about their c0cks now to be fair
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=103554887

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

The ones I know wouldn't be soft looking. I'm good friends with one who does a lot of boxing and kickboxing and goes for runs every day. I certainly wouldn't like to take him on on a Saturday night after the nightclub.

I'd have to agree - I know 4 guards fairly well, and I wouldn't fancy tangling with any of them (including one who's a woman).

On a sort of related note, I passed a young guard on the street during the week and he had one of those ridiculous haircuts where the back and sides are shaved, but the top is long and greased back - was amazed he is allowed get away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

What would be 'hard-looking'?
    I'd rather a Garda be a short fat badass than a 6foot + bodybuilder who can't fight for poop.

Gravelly wrote: »
    I'd have to agree - I know 4 guards fairly well, and I wouldn't fancy tangling with any of them (including one who's a woman). ................

But you are quite likely a law abiding citizen who wouldn't fancy tangling with anyone :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

they got rid of the height requirement and replaced it with a fitness test , I want my guards to be good ol' South Tipperary farmers sons, hulks of men. I mean if some 6'4 rugby player out of his head of drink and cocaine has you by the neck, who do you want coming to your rescue? also there is not much a female cop can do if someone doesn't want to cooperate

Sweden looks worse if this is anything to go by

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

As laughable as it is, they have a very strict "dress code" that they must follow which means their hair has to be a certain length and facial hair is a no no. Otherwise they probably would not be able to do their job. This look then tends to lend towards a more soft look compared to police in other countries.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

They really are pathetic looking. Their uniforms are absolutely ridiculous looking, not intimidating at all. I have seen knackers get the better of them a few times in town, rookies out on the streets. Maybe that's why you never seen them any more on the beat.

Compare to German or Spanish cops. You just wouldn't f*ck around with them. They look so cool standing their with their shades, maybe even chewing on a cocktail stick.

I think it's the more military style of their uniforms that makes them look hard, and you don't seem to see as many cherub faced ones.

T

Compare to German or Spanish cops. You just wouldn't f*ck around with them. They look so cool standing their with their shades, maybe even chewing on a cocktail stick.

I think you're on about the George Michael video...

Augeo wrote: »
    But you are quite likely a law abiding citizen who wouldn't fancy tangling with anyone :)

True enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

The police in Poland are very intimidating. As soon as you land in the airport they're there armed and scattered about the place. Arrive in Ireland and it's howya missus shockin weather. They wouldn't beat eggs

silverharp wrote: »
    they got rid of the height requirement and replaced it with a fitness test , I want my guards to be good ol' South Tipperary farmers sons, hulks of men. I mean if some 6'4 rugby player out of his head of drink and cocaine has you by the neck, who do you want coming to your rescue? also there is not much a female cop can do if someone doesn't want to cooperate

Sweden looks worse if this is anything to go by

I love that it was a non-cop (another migrant possibly) that was able to take him down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

anna080 wrote: »
    The police in Poland are very intimidating. As soon as you land in the airport they're there armed and scattered about the place. Arrive in Ireland and it's howya missus shockin weather. They wouldn't beat eggs

Everytime in Dublin airport passport control I get a warm smile and 'Thanks Gramar'...never fails. They'll be passing me out a mug of tea with the passport next.

anna080 wrote: »

We got stopped in Poland at a checkpoint - just a regular checkpoint. They were armed to the teeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

OP suggesting we should recruit from outside Ireland? Follow Ryanair's lead?

Not a bad idea... Okay it is a bad idea.

positron wrote: »

Isn't there a recruitment ad on the radio at the moment? Get the Polish lads on board.... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

Guards should be seven feet tall, with arms like tree trunks, eyes like steel, cold, hard and a shock of hair, red like the fires of hell.

Failing that if you're not close to 6 feet and 14stone and look after yourself physically then you shouldn't be in the guards.

Same physical standards should be required for the defence forces. Nothing worse looking on a parade lineup than short soldiers.

positron wrote: »

Who is saying that? people are comparing the police force here to police around Europe.

ZeroThreat wrote: »
    Same physical standards should be required for the defence forces. Nothing worse looking on a parade lineup than short soldiers.

Someone i know was in an army on the continent and is 6ft 4 - he was in the ceremonial part of the army. They put the handsome/tall/physically impressive soldiers there as a representation of the army as a whole. makes sense.

Parchment wrote: »
    Someone i know was in an army on the continent and is 6ft 4 - he was in the ceremonial part of the army. They put the handsome/tall/physically impressive soldiers there as a representation of the army as a whole. makes sense.

I think they do it in Italy. Almost sure they do.

ZeroThreat wrote: »
    Parchment wrote: »

I remember reading somewhere about an army (I think it was North Korea) who had the tall soldiers parade past the great leader, and when they came to the end of the street they'd run back around the block to parade past him again so the world would think they had an entire army of tall lads....

seachto7 wrote: »
    I think they do it in Italy. Almost sure they do.

i was tempted to commit petty crime when in Italy just to get tackled by some of the police i saw.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 BlueStratos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

A lot of continental countries have paramilitary police forces - gendarmerie in France, caribeneiri in Italy, guardia civil in Spain. Our police force would be considered a community police force in another EU country.

JAYSUS

I chose

Wrong thread dude.

PS; that was waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay more than I ever wanted to know about you.

PPS; Posting about your tool on a thread called "why are our Gardai soft looking" must be one of the greatest Freudian slips ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

once they can handle themselves in a fist fight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

Give them free access to gyms and take them out from behind desks dealing with bullsh**t paperwork. They're being paid rubbish money and being made to work long hours on top of many of them having to commute, ending up with many subsisting on convenience foods. They don't lead anything like a healthy lifestyle.

They are on better money than a lot of police forces in Europe including the UK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

They are on better money than a lot of police forces in Europe including the UK.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

Why would the Gardai have be rock hard most of there work is pulling cars for no road tax. Then going to court to nail the serious Offenders with no road tax say for being a month out of date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭Irish Raven

silverharp wrote:

gramar wrote:
    Everytime in Dublin airport passport control I get a warm smile and 'Thanks Gramar'...never fails. They'll be passing me out a mug of tea with the passport next.

Typical Irish mentality of complaining....if they do their jobs and restrain people, people are on the radio's giving out and in the papers, on about garda brutality.....if they dont look like a stereo typical world wide police officer, they are not fit for purpose...

This country is a joke....anarchy is rife....we should let the low life's getting paid for sitting at home on the couch, run and police the country, they seem to know how to do everything bar get a job!

OP this ain't a reflection of you working or not...

Rant over!!

Gardai soft `looking. There getting payed way to much money for such a easy Job. If it was a harder Job and less pay you would get the meaner looks then .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Gardai soft `looking. There getting payed way to much money for such a easy Job. If it was a harder Job and less pay you would get the meaner looks then .

That's up there with the biggest pile of shíté I have read on this site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

Bloody useless cops we have. I've seen little girls trying to pass as guards have their arses handed to them by teenage boys outside a chipper at 3am. Another time while taking an early morning stroll I had to come to a male and female guards' rescue in restraining a hoodlum because she had put her pepper spray in her own eyes and couldn't see a thing. Fcuking pathetic they are. Next time you pass a young guard, hold eye contact with him and see can he go the distance with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Mr.H wrote: »

They're on the same money in the UK. Anyway, it doesn't matter what police are being paid abroad, this is Ireland.

TallGlass wrote: »
    That's up there with the biggest pile of shíté I have read on this site.
    Work on building site in London Labouring and then you will see what really work is and what very low pay is. Compared to gardai big pay .