Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Why are our Gardai "soft" looking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

gramar wrote: »
    Guards should be seven feet tall, with arms like tree trunks, eyes like steel, cold, hard and a shock of hair, red like the fires of hell.

Failing that if you're not close to 6 feet and 14stone and look after yourself physically then you shouldn't be in the guards.

Same physical standards should be required for the defence forces. Nothing worse looking on a parade lineup than short soldiers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

positron wrote: »
    OP suggesting we should recruit from outside Ireland? Follow Ryanair's lead?

Not a bad idea... Okay it is a bad idea.

Who is saying that? people are comparing the police force here to police around Europe.

ZeroThreat wrote: »
    Same physical standards should be required for the defence forces. Nothing worse looking on a parade lineup than short soldiers.

Someone i know was in an army on the continent and is 6ft 4 - he was in the ceremonial part of the army. They put the handsome/tall/physically impressive soldiers there as a representation of the army as a whole. makes sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Parchment wrote: »
    Someone i know was in an army on the continent and is 6ft 4 - he was in the ceremonial part of the army. They put the handsome/tall/physically impressive soldiers there as a representation of the army as a whole. makes sense.

I think they do it in Italy. Almost sure they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭Gravelly

ZeroThreat wrote: »
    Parchment wrote: »

I remember reading somewhere about an army (I think it was North Korea) who had the tall soldiers parade past the great leader, and when they came to the end of the street they'd run back around the block to parade past him again so the world would think they had an entire army of tall lads....

seachto7 wrote: »
    I think they do it in Italy. Almost sure they do.

i was tempted to commit petty crime when in Italy just to get tackled by some of the police i saw.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 BlueStratos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

A lot of continental countries have paramilitary police forces - gendarmerie in France, caribeneiri in Italy, guardia civil in Spain. Our police force would be considered a community police force in another EU country.

JAYSUS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭Gravelly

I chose

Wrong thread dude.

PS; that was waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay more than I ever wanted to know about you.

PPS; Posting about your tool on a thread called "why are our Gardai soft looking" must be one of the greatest Freudian slips ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

once they can handle themselves in a fist fight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

Give them free access to gyms and take them out from behind desks dealing with bullsh**t paperwork. They're being paid rubbish money and being made to work long hours on top of many of them having to commute, ending up with many subsisting on convenience foods. They don't lead anything like a healthy lifestyle.

They are on better money than a lot of police forces in Europe including the UK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

Give them free access to gyms and take them out from behind desks dealing with bullsh**t paperwork. They're being paid rubbish money and being made to work long hours on top of many of them having to commute, ending up with many subsisting on convenience foods. They don't lead anything like a healthy lifestyle.

They are on better money than a lot of police forces in Europe including the UK.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

Why would the Gardai have be rock hard most of there work is pulling cars for no road tax. Then going to court to nail the serious Offenders with no road tax say for being a month out of date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭Irish Raven

silverharp wrote:
    they got rid of the height requirement and replaced it with a fitness test , I want my guards to be good ol' South Tipperary farmers sons, hulks of men. I mean if some 6'4 rugby player out of his head of drink and cocaine has you by the neck, who do you want coming to your rescue? also there is not much a female cop can do if someone doesn't want to cooperate

gramar wrote:
    Everytime in Dublin airport passport control I get a warm smile and 'Thanks Gramar'...never fails. They'll be passing me out a mug of tea with the passport next.

Typical Irish mentality of complaining....if they do their jobs and restrain people, people are on the radio's giving out and in the papers, on about garda brutality.....if they dont look like a stereo typical world wide police officer, they are not fit for purpose...

This country is a joke....anarchy is rife....we should let the low life's getting paid for sitting at home on the couch, run and police the country, they seem to know how to do everything bar get a job!

OP this ain't a reflection of you working or not...

Rant over!!

Gardai soft `looking. There getting payed way to much money for such a easy Job. If it was a harder Job and less pay you would get the meaner looks then .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Gardai soft `looking. There getting payed way to much money for such a easy Job. If it was a harder Job and less pay you would get the meaner looks then .

That's up there with the biggest pile of shíté I have read on this site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

Bloody useless cops we have. I've seen little girls trying to pass as guards have their arses handed to them by teenage boys outside a chipper at 3am. Another time while taking an early morning stroll I had to come to a male and female guards' rescue in restraining a hoodlum because she had put her pepper spray in her own eyes and couldn't see a thing. Fcuking pathetic they are. Next time you pass a young guard, hold eye contact with him and see can he go the distance with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Mr.H wrote: »

They're on the same money in the UK. Anyway, it doesn't matter what police are being paid abroad, this is Ireland.

TallGlass wrote: »
    That's up there with the biggest pile of shíté I have read on this site.
    Work on building site in London Labouring and then you will see what really work is and what very low pay is. Compared to gardai big pay .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,308 ✭✭✭Irish Stones

seachto7 wrote: »

In Italy, they prefer to look good, but will equally f*ck you up.
    Are you sure?
    We think the same of ours and look at others' police with a bit of admiration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    A lot of continental countries have paramilitary police forces - gendarmerie in France, caribeneiri in Italy, guardian civil in Spain. Our police force would be considered a community police force in another EU country.

Some years ago,when Minister for Justice,Micheal McDowell actually posed the question..."What type of Police Force does Ireland want ? ".

He went on to describe the types as outlined by Pinch Flat,but concluded that the current "Civic Guard" setup,effectively a Community Police Force,operating with the consent and co-operation of "the Community" as the preferred option for our State.

That,at least,is the theory anyway.

However,the Ireland of today is a tad further on from the DeVelara era and the Broy Harriers,which even in terms of a Uniform,now leaves our Gardai ill equipped to deal with basic Policing occurences.

Also,and as is now all to readily apparent,there is a significant shortfall in the basic training now being provided to Gardai.

The ethos of our Police Force now MUST be addressed,as the long standing,and still confidential "Garda Code" can no longer be justified as the basis on which to construct a modern responsive Law Enforcement agency.

A good starting point might be to ask "What is the purpose of a Police Force" and work on from there ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Typical Irish mentality of complaining....if they do their jobs and restrain people, people are on the radio's giving out and in the papers, on about garda brutality.....if they dont look like a stereo typical world wide police officer, they are not fit for purpose...

This country is a joke....anarchy is rife....we should let the low life's getting paid for sitting at home on the couch, run and police the country, they seem to know how to do everything bar get a job!

OP this ain't a reflection of you working or not...

Rant over!!

there has been instances where guards were beaten up by teenagers, so erm the pc's are being put at risk to be pc.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Are you sure?
    We think the same of ours and look at others' police with a bit of admiration.

I lived there. Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Green Peter

Never judge a book by it's cover, I learned the hard way!

The min you mention money, and big money, Gardai get payed this seems to very sore subjected to Gardai . The will call you all the names for having a opinion that the are very well payed its a great job there is a lot Gardai Millionaires, with there side lines from get into property from having the job for life in the Gardai bank manger loves that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

They're more Carbonara than Carbonari.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Green Peter

The min you mention money, and big money, Gardai get payed this seems to very sore subjected to Gardai . The will call you all the names for having a opinion that the are very well payed its a great job there is a lot Gardai Millionaires, with there side lines from get into property from having the job for life in the Gardai bank manger loves that.

I get the feeling you hate all gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,401 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Because they're nancy boys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Jayesdiem wrote:
    Next time you pass a young guard, hold eye contact with him and see can he go the distance with it.

Have noticed this as well. They're in a position of authority yet very few exude it.