Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just had a bit of a barney with a neighbour

• Registered Users Posts: 14,546 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Some people would argue with the nails on their toes.....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 20,806 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Some people would argue with the nails on their toes.....:rolleyes:

I don't agree with you :p

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Seriously Conor you are not in a district court now and moving goalposts to make your point won't wash with me. Just be yourself.

That said, you haven't a clue about urban living, beyond what you may have experienced in your profession. I say this with respect as you obviously never grew up in an urban environment. Lots of people live happily in housing estates. However housing estates are very different places to rural Ireland/areas and issues such as the OPs are quite common. In fact I could quote even worse issues from experience. I think you have trivialised the circumstances in the OP. What's acceptable in a housing estate is a completely different world to your view, which you appear to accept by suggesting there is something to be learned from (as you say) country bumpkins. I related to the OP because I grew up in housing estates and I have seen many versions of the door kicking parent. It can also come down to a garden wall backing onto a green area and the owners or even renters getting peeved off at kids sitting up on said wall glaring into the garden/house. A really simple yet common issue. Tell the kids off and you may be on the receiving end of an angry parent. Whats lacking is basic manners and behaviour and respect for some semblence of privacy.

But your point is that swearing at kids playing and kicking doors is okay in estates because, well, you know estates.

I just don't think the bar for acceptable human behaviour should be lower for people in estates, that somehow they get more latitude to behave badly because they are edgier or angrier. And that expecting better behaviour is "quaint".

I guess we'll just have to agree to disagree. Maybe it is my background in law as you say, as you know probably know law does not allow for some defence of "people in estates can behave worse and should get away with more"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,613 ✭✭✭Feisar

If they do it again . .stand in front of the window with wearing nothing only a menacing smile.

Ya know there's nearly a valid point here! Nearly. You ring the Gardaí ten times about kids staring in your window and nothing is done. You run around in the buff in your own home and suddenly there is an issue!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,317 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Because they are kids.

Not sure why you put "playing" in inverted comes, the word was used by the OP. If you think they were doing something more nefarious, you should take it up with the OP.

The reason is because the were actually peering in the windows which I wouldnt count as play.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

For accuracy, kids were told by a an adult to "f*** off" and came back.

I just wouldn't swear at children like that. As I said, I'd probably laugh at it and think, Jesus, what if they saw me doing something stupid like playing air guitar or dashing out of the shower for a towel. Sure, if they actually did something wrong on my property, egged a window or something, I'd get annoyed. But not for looking in a window. It just wouldn't bother me like it bothers some.

Interesting cultural and social divide on this thread.

the f word gets used in many places in every sentence. No big deal.

and some have never seen the way some estate kids behave. Leading sheltered lives.

Do you have children, OP?

And are you male or female?

Just wondering about the effect of seeing a fella kcking the front door, and whether the gardai treat it differently when it's a woman's door! Although they didn't care when my neighbour kicked/thumped my door, having waited til my boyfriend was away from home, and then waylaid me and roared abuse at me, twice, as I was leaving the house, and I'm female. the point of it is, my boyfriend's a lot bigger than I am)

Not a hope when it was the 80 year old local man . Who used to break the gate down and once wired it up to the electric fence ( lucky I do nto have a pacemaker) ... attacked my old collie with his stick who ran to me yelping then claimed she had bitten him, defecated on my path. set fire to the bushes,,,

I am old and disabled and although the gardai attended they said they could do nothing. Only time they made a fuss was when he raised his fist to them an threatened to kill them .

So not a hope widdershins... sorry!

Oh conor; that was over a defunct right of way by the way.

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Lots of rural one off housing attitude on display here. A real quaint picture being painted at the expense of others and their opinions. Try living in a large housing estate in an urban area. Private or council. Yes we are all technically on top of each other and it carries a lot of problems and issues with it.

There is an incredible amount of naivete from a few on the thread. There really is. Wonder how long they would last on an estate . Where also lack of any real privacy makes boundaries vital given the range of folk living there.

And yes I have lived like that, and in a bedsit in a house full of folk who were far less than anything anyone here would tolerate. You learn fast to protect the small amount of personal privacy you have . And often the kids are the worst; and I love kids. Unless you stand up for your privacy and boundaries? And not doing that is not fair to the kids either.

I grew up in a post war semi in a good area and even when we were friends with the kids next door we would never enter a house without being invited, let alone their gardens. We had neighbours we never ever met as they were just not that way inclined.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Graces7 wrote: »
    Not a hope when it was the 80 year old local man . Who used to break the gate down and once wired it up to the electric fence ( lucky I do nto have a pacemaker) ... attacked my old collie with his stick who ran to me yelping then claimed she had bitten him, defecated on my path. set fire to the bushes,,,

I am old and disabled and although the gardai attended they said they could do nothing. Only time they made a fuss was when he raised his fist to them an threatened to kill them .

So not a hope widdershins... sorry!

Oh conor; that was over a defunct right of way by the way.

Yes, that's what happened when neanderthal man went off his rocker. I was reminded of the futility of trying to prosecute, after the gardai had already had a word with him about a previous outburst. I don't even know if it was an official caution.
    It's not just housing estates either, I'm in the country and he's a farmer.
    I've heard he had a go at another local woman since then. Caused a huge stir because she's lived here much longer than him :D That's how it works.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,892 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Interesting cultural and social divide on this thread.

the f word gets used in many places in every sentence. No big deal.

and some have never seen the way some estate kids behave. Leading sheltered lives.

its the naieviety that shocks me.

The condescending attitudes are a bit hard to take as well.

Maybe those Country Bumpkins who pity those having to live in a housing estate and dont mind people looking in their windows need a bit of a reality check. Rural crime is a huge issue, how many old people have been burgled and murdered in their own home. So crime does not just exist in housing estates.

I certainly dont have a background in law, but have first class degree in being streetwise, ie basic cop on.

Old west Dublin proverb: People looking in windows up to no good!

• Registered Users Posts: 20,176 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

anewme wrote: »
    its the naieviety that shocks me.

The condescending attitudes are a bit hard to take as well.

Maybe those Country Bumpkins who pity those having to live in a housing estate and dont mind people looking in their windows need a bit of a reality check. Rural crime is a huge issue, how many old people have been burgled and murdered in their own home. So crime does not just exist in housing estates.

I certainly dont have a background in law, but have first class degree in being streetwise, ie basic cop on.

Old west Dublin proverb: People looking in windows up to no good!

I'm a country bumpkin who lives in a housing estate, have done for decades, including a couple in West Dublin. And I assert that fucking and blinding at children, like grown men kicking doors, is acting like a knacker. The problem here is the same as eejits keeping huge dogs in little farting-jacket urban properties - kids get bored, and boredom at that age eventually leads to mischief. Acting like a baluba on anyone's part can't and won't help. And rural life isn't usually anything like idyllic, either - believe you me, there's assholes everywhere.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 272 ✭✭Stars and Stripes

Specialun wrote: »
    So i was up stairs an hour ago and i could hear my dog going nuts barking..a ran down, opened the door to see 3 kids staring in my living room window..they were actually leaning on the window sill. I went out a said go away..10 mins later its off again..i stormed out and shouted at them " i said go away, this isnt your house and get off my lawn" . I caught a kids bike and pushed it back into the middle of the green

15 mins later i hear my door bell and its my neighbour

"What gets you off shouting at my kids" is what im greeted with
    " they were on my lawn twice pal, this is my house and not there playground" says I
    " you have no right to raise your voice at my kids" says he
    Im a bit pissed off now so I says " listen her pal dont come to my door mouthing off. Wouldnt it be more in line if you disciplined the kids. You dont own this green and they shouldnt be on my lawn. Now go away "

He this boots my front door and storms off

What a massive dick.

Have you had any instances like this. Are your neighbours dicks
    I have had young lads kicking their football into my garden, I don't mind it only I'm afraid they might hit the window sometime (happened my neighbor with a sloithar and put the window in). Best thing I did was to go out to the garden and pick up the ball and said to them " listen lads I don't mind you playing football, but just keep the ball down low, otherwise you might put in me or the neighbors window and then you won't be able to play any football. Ok" and hand them back the ball. Possibly if your are a male they tend to listen a bit more to you. There only nippers, not out to commit the crime of the century.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

Things were done differently in those days allright! NO CHEEK to adults allowed.

And the other side of it too....if some owlfella from the Estate called to our Door and had the audacity to kick it for whatever reason, as someone said above, get outa that garden, a persons home was their castle , he would be picking himself up off the ground and retreating....quickly. No Gardai involved either. Have seen it happen

You can still do this if person is on your property.
    Some idiot came banging on my parents door one evening looking to fight my brother who was in the Lebanon with the army at the time ( he was actually looking for the next door neighbour ) Dad, who was late 60s at the time grabbed him by the shirt & carried him out to the gate & chucked him out on the road closing the gate behind him. Guards were called & when dad explained that the guy was on the property the guard said he could have hit him a couple of times as well as he shouldnt have been on the property let alone up to the front door. The guy was lucky, firstly that my dad didnt know he could hit him & secondly that my brother wasnt at home :D

have first class degree in being streetwise, ie basic cop on.

Well pat yourself on the back!

I lived in estates in Cork and Dublin. And somehow I managed to avoid swearing at kids and kicking doors.

Maybe they could learn to live more like us country bumpkins and relax a little...if anything it would help the blood pressure if they could just laugh at the sight of kids peering in a window?

I lived in estates in Cork and Dublin. And somehow I managed to avoid swearing at kids and kicking doors.

But you enjoy seeing kids peering in the windows.

You've also recommended for OP to call around with a gift of a bottle of wine and apologise to neighbour who abused him at his front door and kicked it.

Many would call that tolerating and rewarding bad behaviour.

So its fair to say you have a different view than most.

Yes, that's what happened when neanderthal man went off his rocker. I was reminded of the futility of trying to prosecute, after the gardai had already had a word with him about a previous outburst. I don't even know if it was an official caution.
    It's not just housing estates either, I'm in the country and he's a farmer.
    I've heard he had a go at another local woman since then. Caused a huge stir because she's lived here much longer than him :D That's how it works.

same here re the country and a farmer etc. IS IT THE SAME MAN!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,317 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

The point here is not the kids playing but the fact that they were looking in the window.

A ball coming over the wall into your garden is only annoying if you have to throw it back for about the 10th time in a day.
    Kids running in to retrieve ball is fine.

10-12 year olds looking in your window is not ok and parent following up with kick at door is most certainly not ok either.
    This "kids will be kids" attitude is fine in a general sense but they need to know the boundaries and what is acceptable and what is not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

There is an incredible amount of naivete from a few on the thread. There really is. Wonder how long they would last on an estate . Where also lack of any real privacy makes boundaries vital given the range of folk living there.

And yes I have lived like that, and in a bedsit in a house full of folk who were far less than anything anyone here would tolerate. You learn fast to protect the small amount of personal privacy you have . And often the kids are the worst; and I love kids. Unless you stand up for your privacy and boundaries? And not doing that is not fair to the kids either.

I grew up in a post war semi in a good area and even when we were friends with the kids next door we would never enter a house without being invited, let alone their gardens. We had neighbours we never ever met as they were just not that way inclined.

Christ, you'd swear living in a housing estate was like fighting in Vietnam. There's like 6 or 7 estates at most where that comparison could be made.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

You missed a golden opportunity to shout 'GERROOURRAADAT GARDEN'. I feel your pain.

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭nikkisclearout

I can not get over some of the responses on this thread! Children entered the ops garden, peering in his windows and then came back and did it a second time and people are telling him to chill out, ignore it, not a big deal, you shouldn't have told them off.

What ever happened to privacy and respect? Why should anyone have to live with random people peering in their windows? absolutely mind boggling!

Stick to your guns OP you did nothing wrong.

Saw another thread where a woman had a problem with her neighbours kids jumping the wall and playing on her tramploine without permission and damaging things in her shed. The general consensus was the woman shold get rid of her trampoline?????

• Registered Users Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

Get a scarecrow for the garden...........

• Registered Users Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭Phil.x

Pal = hardshaw talk, more like comedy talk.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭Phil.x

I can not get over some of the responses on this thread! Children entered the ops garden, peering in his windows and then came back and did it a second time and people are telling him to chill out, ignore it, not a big deal, you shouldn't have told them off.

What ever happened to privacy and respect? Why should anyone have to live with random people peering in their windows? absolutely mind boggling!

Stick to your guns OP you did nothing wrong.

Saw another thread where a woman had a problem with her neighbours kids jumping the wall and playing on her tramploine without permission and damaging things in her shed. The general consensus was the woman shold get rid of her trampoline?????

Yeah Op, get rid of your dog, problem solved.

Christ, you'd swear living in a housing estate was like fighting in Vietnam. There's like 6 or 7 estates at most where that comparison could be made.

Interesting that what you read into my post was nothing to do with what I actually wrote.

Why is that please?

All I was saying was that there needs to be respect for privacy. As there does. And which clearly there was not here .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Not even. 12.30 yet and i get the feeling quite a few posters are bladdered already!

• Registered Users Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

We're all going to heaven lads whaaaaaaaaaaay

• Registered Users Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

Do you live in council housing? If so maybe let it go. Who knows what the mad neighbour may be capable of.

annascott wrote: »
    Do you live in council housing? If so maybe let it go. Who knows what the mad neighbour may be capable of.

Op said it's his property, which he paid 300k for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

annascott wrote: »

Yeah, posh people from private estates are saints. Sure what harm could your typical architect from Foxrock do.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,293 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

Christ, you'd swear living in a housing estate was like fighting in Vietnam. .

YOU DON’T KNOW MAN, YOU WEREN’T THERE! :eek:

They were everywhere maaaan, Window sills, garden wall even in the fookin Trees.

They aren't human.

If you're frightened of dying and... and you're holding on,

you'll see these little devils tearing your life away.

But if you've made your peace,

then the devils are really angels,

freeing you from the earth. :rolleyes:

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=