Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you "No Go" areas on boards?

• 16-11-2016 9:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭

Lately I find myself avoiding certain parts of boards as I fell they have a groupthink narrative and shout down anyone that disagrees or challenges them, or just use petty juvenile labels.

Is there no go areas for you on boards?

(Politics cafe and any immigration thread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Not forums but there are certain types of threads that I avoid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Suas11 wrote: »
    Not forums but there are certain types of threads that I avoid.

It probably is more threads than whole fora tbf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

TLL....I always feel like the sly old fox in the chicken house in that forum...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

After Hours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Oh God, not this thread.

I'm out

/thread

TLL....I always feel like the sly old fox in the chicken house in that forum...

I prefer TLL to TGC tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Avoid (mostly) soccer and rugby fora. Politics and the Ladies' Lounge, the Gentlemen's Club, Beer Guts and Receding Hairlines and the Nocturnal Forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Many years ago I always said I would stay out of politics and AH,
    Now I primarily post in AH, politics, and political cafe ,
    PC I find almost ridiculous at times less actual light discussion and more personal attacks .

But I wouldn't consider anything really no go for me

Oh God, not this thread.

I'm out

/thread

love the passive aggressive contribution!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

I really see no need to visit the sheep forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

The cycling w@nkers forum.
    They are over there today justifying some prick cyclist punching a driver in front of his wife and kid.
    Dare you say anything negative at all about one of the entitled (unts and banned straight away as they only like to pat each other on the back and stop any criticism whatsoever.

Mod-Banned

I really see no need to visit the sheep forum.

There's a sheep forum???

I love reading the farmers forum, it seems a very helpful one.

I don't avoid any forums but threads are a different matter. I don't go near the very political or divisive discussions. So abortion debate, public sector pay, industrial action, same sex marriage, etc. I like to have a bit of fun here and not get caught up in serious matters. I have enough of that in my own life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I avoid any thread that seems working class.

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Avoid (mostly) soccer and rugby fora. Politics and the Ladies' Lounge, the Gentlemen's Club, Beer Guts and Receding Hairlines and the Nocturnal Forum.

Cyclists in the motoring forum can be a very sensitive people

mansize wrote: »
    love the passive aggressive contribution!

Twas humour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

And god help you if you criticise cyclists in the cycling thread...
    http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057671105/16

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

I avoid certain threads because I'll only vex myself by getting involved.

I'm only involved in online forums with about 10 years but the changes I've witnessed in the attitudes towards each other is saddening. This change is far more evident in the American forums, ime, but that crap is becoming the norm here now.

And god help you if you criticise cyclists in the cycling thread...
    http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057671105/16

Jaysus, where lost souls wander.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

Jaysus, where lost souls wander.

But threads on favourite ST ship I do enjoy... NCC1701D FTW!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

There's a sheep forum???

Yeah I inadvertently found it one night when I saw a thread titled...."how long does your ram last?"
    I was much disappointed.....bloody click bait!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Used to post a lot in AH and the Politics forums but tend to avoid both these days. Got tired of having the same arguments with the same people. Tend to stick mainly to the Games and Soccer forums nowadays though I'll still occasionally pop into AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

OK, I'll avoid that in future. Not sure as a cyclist or a motorist, but whatever. I'm doubly sensitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Atheism or 'other' Religious forums. Very bigoted people in both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭gossamer

Animal and Pet Issues, well when I used to look at it there was some ridiculous sh1te being spouted. I give my doggy woggy a special organic dry mix I source from Sweden, at five euro per kernel it's such a bargain. I get him a special mix because Pedigree Chum is DIRT and you should be hung for feeding your dog that you filthy piece of sh1t. Only the best for my fur babies!

That and the beauty form. UGHHH. I llloooooovveeee wooopie woopie woo lipstick it really gives me that clown effect I'm going for. And only 50 quid - bargain!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

There's a sheep forum???

Yes! I love rambling on the boards: you get a bit of knowledge about areas of life totally removed from your own experience. The filthy rich watch snobs are a fascinating species. Ranting and Raving is brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Mostly now just in AH, used to be in politics a lot, rather just sometimes read there now as its just usuall roundabout stories. I like the GAA and non drinkers group fora to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,093 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I avoid certain threads because I'll only vex myself by getting involved.

I'm only involved in online forums with about 10 years but the changes I've witnessed in the attitudes towards each other is saddening. This change is far more evident in the American forums, ime, but that crap is becoming the norm here now.

I joined Boards ten years ago, I posted for about 12 months then got so fed up with the quality of responses and posting that I stopped. About 18 months later I came back (and probably got a bit thicker skinned) but I do think that interaction has improved considerably over the past 5 or 6 years.

In AH now you can have reasonable discussions, occasionally very genuine personal discussion, and still have the odd thread about pissing, if that's what you want.

Places I avoid - there are a few, but mostly because I am not interested in the topic. I can't be bothered with the endless polarised cyclist/motorist squabbles in the respective forums, but there are loads of other forums that I should take a look at and just don't think to. I agree the farming forum is interesting even if you have no idea what they are on about, there is a good community in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Politics. People get way too invested in arguments that lead to nowhere. Also as another poster mentioned, threads about the likes of Abortion, the Public Sector and Social Welfare.

looksee wrote: »
    I joined Boards ten years ago, I posted for about 12 months then got so fed up with the quality of responses and posting that I stopped. About 18 months later I came back (and probably got a bit thicker skinned) but I do think that interaction has improved considerably over the past 5 or 6 years.

In AH now you can have reasonable discussions, occasionally very genuine personal discussion, and still have the odd thread about pissing, if that's what you want.

Places I avoid - there are a few, but mostly because I am not interested in the topic. I can't be bothered with the endless polarised cyclist/motorist squabbles in the respective forums, but there are loads of other forums that I should take a look at and just don't think to. I agree the farming forum is interesting even if you have no idea what they are on about, there is a good community in there.

The Techies are very good in the computer section, lots of good advice, even the tradesmen / building section has good info. :)

The Personal issues forum even got a mention on Newstalk (in a positive way)

The Gaming humour thread keeps me laughing.

Rant and Rave can put you in a good move.

Legal forums can get you out of jail (j/k)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

A&A.

I'm an atheist and I think half of the lads in there are as mental as religious nuts. Constantly looking for something to whinge about and something to oppress them. It's like some threw a load of third wave feminists, twitter activists and religious fundi's in a pot and that forum was the result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

A&A.

I'm an atheist and I think half of the lads in there are as mental as religious nuts. Constantly looking for something to whinge about and something to oppress them. It's like some threw a load of third wave feminists, twitter activists and religious fundi's in a pot and that forum was the result.

On the basis of my boards experience, I'd say the most annoying flatmate you could ever end up with would be an atheist pet-owner that's an avid cyclist.

You'd be up for manslaughter within a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

The atheist forum. Real bang of self-satisfied overweight neckbeard about the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,859 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I read, listen and talk about politics everyday, but I rarely feel the urge to go near the Politics Forums on Boards. It can be fairly depressing.

For a long while I would have avoided anything vaguely political in After Hours too, but now, sometimes, I get sucked in. I'm starting, or at least trying to, recognise that in general it isn't really worth it, and by the time anything of that ilk gets to 400 reply+ territory whatever debate that was once there has long since vanished and it's become about the same three or four posters multi-qouting each other dismissively to try to win an argument between themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

I try to avoid any political threads these days. Mainly because I'm a white middle-class college-educated heterosexual male living in a first-world country. What valid issues do I have to complain about?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

Whenever you feel stupid or pointless go read a few threads the pro life campaign post in. You'll feel amazing for not being that moronic and inept and backward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,859 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I try to avoid any political threads these days. Mainly because I'm a white middle-class college-educated heterosexual male living in a first-world country. What valid issues do I have to complain about?

Loads, it would seem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

Arghus wrote: »
    Loads, it would seem!
    Having to moan about the rise of cigarette prices seems invalid compared to not being able to legally ride a bike because of your gender ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭darlett

I like to avoide the "Rate my run. I ran 5k in my bare feet, shaving off 0.8 seconds off my PB, and I think that it was made possible because I've finally started sewing my own personalised nipple bandages onto my chest, and I haven't had a beer since 1992 and I find I'm getting more out of life than I ever did when I was happier younger".

I'm simultaneously jealous of, guilty from and mainly bored with their dedication to the art of running. Sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

... but the changes I've witnessed in the attitudes towards each other is saddening. This change is far more evident in the American forums, ime, but that crap is becoming the norm here now.
    What has changed?
    What is emboldened. People were more civil, friendly, open and polite even when in disagreement. Even people you weren't familiar with were better-mannered but now, even here, if you spell a word wrong you're going to be on the receiving end of some little ar$eholes definition of justice.

Could we have a poll? Most disliked forum? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

I avoid the Cycling Forum ......... cyclists, from my personal experience, tend to be tossers in real-life and even more so on Boards.

The LGBTwhatever Forum ......... they ain't open to any real adult debates regarding their "issues".

The Animal/Pet Forum .......... not a bad place if you need some quick general (very general!!!) advice but wouldn't hang around too long unless you're a "four legs good, two legs bad" type person. Some of them would happily feed your toddler to their darling furry friends!!

The Atheist Forum .......... that lot are best left to wallow in their own self-induced purgatory.

The Feedback Forum ........... I've realised that it's more for show than for anything else. "We listen, we care, your input is important to us ........... now, who's next to ignore?". :rolleyes:

The DRP Forum .......... should be avoided at all costs as you're doomed if you end up there, the outcome is 99.9% inevitable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Soccer forum is best avoided unless speaking about the game as a whole.

Personal issues is nothing more than a curtain twitchers paradise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I avoid the Animals&Pets forum, god help you if you suggest anything out of line with their groupthink.
    Got a ban there for suggesting a person with a rat infestation problem should use Storm rat poison.
    Was immediately accused of animal cruelty, and further more, was accused of being a cat killer. Because "its well known that people use Rat Poison to deliberately poison cats" WHF?

Religion & Christianity forum has about four self appointed posters with their own axe to grind, who seem to bend every question to their own particular hobbyhorse theory.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

The gym and jogging forums. Avoid them all.

'I've never seen a jogger smiling. The minute I do I might go jogging.'

You will never see a jogger or gym bunny smiling. Avoid them and everything they talk about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,690 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    I avoid the Animals&Pets forum, god help you if you suggest anything out of line with their groupthink.
    Got a ban there for suggesting a person with a rat infestation problem should use Storm rat poison.
    Was immediately accused of animal cruelty, and further more, was accused of being a cat killer. Because "its well known that people use Rat Poison to deliberately poison cats" WHF?

Religion & Christianity forum has about four self appointed posters with their own axe to grind, who seem to bend every question to their own particular hobbyhorse theory.

Exact same as you and the exact same reasons too. I find some of the posts in the Animals&Pets forum somewhat concerning :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

There's lots of forums I never go in to because I have zero interest in them - I honestly don't even know what half the titles under Tech mean. There's a few I actively dislike and avoid though - TLL, TGC and A&P. All for the same reason, that I feel there's a group think issue in each one. On the other hand I lurk in several forums I have absolutely no connection with, and sometimes wonder what the hell am I reading them for - but there's just something about them I find fascinating. The Farming one being the main one and also Weddings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

I avoid:

Oulones and Oulfellas - Because Im ageist.
    LBGTQ - Because Im a homophobe.
    Sports - Because Im not quite a jock.
    Computers & Technology - Because Im not quite a nerd.
    Religion - Because its all bollox.
    Farming - Because im not a culchie.
    TLL - Because Im sexist.
    TGC - Because im not metrosexual.
    Politics - Too many cry babies in there.
    Conspiracy Theory - Too many psychos in there.
    Celebrity & Showbiz - Fcuk that noise
    Sex & Sexuality - Its quieter than my dead Grannys moped.
    Leitrim - Yeah right
    Sponsored Forums - Screw you guys.
    My Little Pony - Whhhhhhyyyyyy???!
    Mustard - So sad.
    Outdoor Pursuits - "Doggers Anonymous"
    Pro Wrestling - Sweaty half naked men rolling and grabbing.
    Psychics & Mediums - Get bent...didnt see that comin did ye!

Everywhere else is sound

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

The rugby forum. Because I would imagine it's full of the kind of people who like rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

There's no particular Forums that I actively avoid, although I do sometimes venture into TLL or TGC and venture out again quite quickly :)

There are some thread topics that I am allergic to - the Irish Language, Abortion, Feminism etc. It's usually possible to predict who dominate the posting there and what they will say, repeatedly. I'd love if Boards implemented an 'Ignore Thread' function, similar to the way you can ignore a member.

As for guilty pleasures, add me to the Farming & Forestry fans. Also Accommodation & Property - the stories of nightmare tenants, nightmare landlords and nightmare estate agents in there are strangely entertaining when you're not the one affected. History has some great threads too.