If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Brexit: The Last Stand (No name calling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,493 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

130Kph wrote: »
    Provo neanderthals who came very close to separating a 16 year old Fosters head, arms, legs & internal organs from one another in a ‘legitimate targeted attack’ …………..on a f*cking school-bus full of children - now mock her as a politician.

Classy, you guys are really classy.

No matter how rubbish she is as a politician (and she probably is) - these savage low life oxygen-thieves are the last people on earth to be criticising her.

Maybe this is some kind of sophisticated satire or performance art or something? It can’t be more of the same centuries old hate filled, primitive, antagonistic shyte…

Or maybe extremists really are that retarded :confused:

Oh yeah, and brexit or something.
    Now we get closer to the truth. There were only one true victims of the conflict/war. Sigh again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,039 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Why are they idiots? Are Sinn Fein voters idiots? They vote for what they believe in.

A lot of them are, yeah. NI is trapped in a weird twilight zone of sectarian politics. However SF are at least willing to talk about the implications of brexit. The DUP are knuckle dragging monosyllabic idiots which is why they can only manage to utter the word NO!

Brexit is coming. There are going to be changes. The smart thing would be to get all parties/stakeholders around a table to discuss potential negative impacts and how to minimise them. What's the DUP's reaction? Dur... No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,039 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Provo neanderthals who came very close to separating a 16 year old Fosters head, arms, legs & internal organs from one another in a ‘legitimate targeted attack’ …………..on a f*cking school-bus full of children - now mock her as a politician.

No matter how rubbish she is as a politician (and she probably is) - these savage low life oxygen-thieves are the last people on earth to be criticising her.

Maybe this is some kind of sophisticated satire or performance art or something? It can’t be more of the same centuries old hate filled, primitive, antagonistic shyte…

First thing. I hate the IRA. I've never said I support any of their actions and I think the targeting of civilians, including children, is especially despicable. No matter how much they protest about how they only attack "legitimate targets", a London restaurant is not a "legitimate target" for a nail bomb. Neither is a school bus. They are scum.

Second thing. I'm sorry she was on a bus that was targeted. Targeting that bus, or anyone whether military or civilian is wrong.

Third thing. Being targeted at a young age does not excuse her actions as an adult. It might explain it but it doesn't excuse it. She's a sectarian bigot who's living in the dark age. Her motivations are based on sectarian ideology and not on what is good for NI as w whole.

Grayson wrote: »
    A lot of them are, yeah. NI is trapped in a weird twilight zone of sectarian politics. However SF are at least willing to talk about the implications of brexit. The DUP are knuckle dragging monosyllabic idiots which is why they can only manage to utter the word NO!

Brexit is coming. There are going to be changes. The smart thing would be to get all parties/stakeholders around a table to discuss potential negative impacts and how to minimise them. What's the DUP's reaction? Dur... No.

Seriously, we are being conned here. For somebody who describes themselves as socially progressive to be defending anything the DUP say never mind everything they say, is dubious in the extreme.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 625 ✭✭✭130Kph

Now we get closer to the truth. There were only one true victims of the conflict/war. Sigh again.

I’d say almost exactly the same thing to any self-justifying UVF low-life if he posted his bile here.
    But of course you know all that.

Ye nearly blew her to bits in ‘86 in a school-bus & mock her NOW…. Really admirable bunch of fellas.

The GFA isn’t a role model for conflicts world wide. No, no, no.

Provos posts here --- they are the real model for conflict resolution worldwide.

{I personally expect no maturity from provos - ever. So I’m not surprised by any of this.

But do continue using this Brexit folly to stoke the auld hatreds in NI – in effect continue to make a mockery of John Hume’s values & trust. It’s quite impressive
    }

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

We must hold on until first light

Twilight: Brexit Dawn

I’d say almost exactly the same thing to any self-justifying UVF low-life if he posted his bile here.
    But of course you know all that.

Ye nearly blew her to bits in ‘86 in a school-bus & mock her NOW…. Really admirable bunch of fellas.

The GFA isn’t a role model for conflicts world wide. No, no, no.

Provos posts here --- they are the real model for conflict resolution worldwide.

{I personally expect no maturity from provos - ever. So I’m not surprised by any of this.

But do continue using this Brexit folly to stoke the auld hatreds in NI – in effect continue to make a mockery of John Hume’s values & trust. It’s quite impressive
    }

Bedtime for you mate. Nobody including SF can bring their past to decisions about the future. I judge her on her present not her past. Adams was shot BTW, how many use that to excuse his conduct?

Provos posts here

The only Provos here are the ones running around inside your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

Bedtime for you mate. Nobody including SF can bring their past to decisions about the future. I judge her on her present not her past. Adams was shot BTW, how many use that to excuse his conduct?

In Adams case he probably only had himself to blame for it.

I see you’re in comical ali mode now:

You’re comparing a senior commander in an illegal criminal/military gang engaged in futile full on military conflict with state forces - being shot

With

A 16 year old girl on a school bus bus joking & laughing with her pals almost being blown apart by a no warning bomb.

0.01/10
    The only Provos here are the ones running around inside your head.

Whenever any of you lads are asked- you won’t condemn them.
    So that’ll be the bullsh1t.

You’re comparing a senior commander in an illegal criminal/military gang engaged in futile full on military conflict with state forces - being shot

With

A 16 year old girl on a school bus bus joking & laughing with her pals almost being blown apart by a no warning bomb.

0.01/10

Whenever any of you lads are asked- you won’t condemn them.
    So that’ll be the bullsh1t.

I rest my case. QED

With a 16 year old girl on a school bus bus joking & laughing with her pals almost being blown apart by a no warning bomb.

Foster's Father was a reservist in the unionist paramilitary police (RUC). The guy driving the bus was a UDR man. Does it justify bombing the bus? No, but we're not talking about an Enid Blyton novel here with child-like divisions between 'goodies and baddies'.
    Whenever any of you lads are asked- you won’t condemn them. So that’ll be the bullsh1t.

I don't condemn the Black Panthers or Suffragettes either but that doesn't make me an African American or disenfranchised woman.

The PIRA was a symptom of the disease of a sectarian state. I think thier defensive actions earlier in the troubles were not only justified but essential. Some of the things they did are not justifiable by any sane person's standards. I would not blame young people who watched thier neighbours being 'lifted' (kidnapped, imprisoned and sometimes tortured) and being murdered by the RUC and the BA for wanting to fight back.

..... Does it justify bombing the bus? No, but we're not talking about an Enid Blyton novel here with child-like divisions between 'goodies and baddies'....

The word ‘but’ is the difference between you & I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

So a politician attending a conference is implicit support for the view of one of those at the conference?
    How warped is that? Think what that means about conferences in general.

Regressive and ridiculous defence there from somebody with a few hundred posts defending a Brexit you didn't agree with. Sigh
    You've called my position regressive but you haven't actually explained why it is in you it view regressive. All I can see is you seem to think favoring a united Ireland = progressive and favoring unity with Britain = regressive. Where neither of these ideologies are, on their own, progressive or regressive.

I understand that you're annoyed the first minister cost the conference authenticity by boycotting the event but you must understand it in the context that Kenny's comments on a UI being part of the discussions on Brexit crossed a line. Arlene as a unionist first minister of NI then had a duty distance herself from those comments to send a very clear signal to both the British and Irish governments that no, unification is not on the table under any circumstances.

Attending an all Ireland conference after the Irish Taoiseach raised the possibility of a United Ireland would have sent the opposite signal that unionists are open to consideration on the idea.

Put it this way. Imagine the British PM raised the possibility of Ireland rejoining the UK then chaired an all British Isles conference chaired by the British to synergize foreign policy. Would the Taoiseach attend? Of course not. To expect a different reaction from a British nationalist is unrealistic.

You may not like that Arlene snubbed her nose at Kenny, or even agree with her. But you should at least understand why she did it and that any step towards a united Ireland in any circumstance is going to be opposed.

The word ‘but’ is the difference between you & I.

Oh I'm more than happy there's a difference between us. I don't live in a Ladybird book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

You’re comparing a senior commander in an illegal criminal/military gang engaged in futile full on military conflict with state forces -being shot.

Is all violence not comparable....or is just violence you approve of can't be compared?

Oh I'm more than happy there's a difference between us. I don't live in a Ladybird book.
    Yes, I & the vast majority on both sides of the border live in the same ‘ladybird book’ as John Hume & Seamus Mallon :rolleyes:

But, I’ve made my point. So- as for Foster & her policy towards Brexit – from here on, when those who support the gangsters who attempted to murder her now mock & pour barely disguised bile on her, I’ll hold my tongue and just marvel at the differing rates of evolution within the human species.

But

'But' is the difference between you and I. Thankfully.
    I'll .. marvel at the differing rates of evolution within the human species.

You're an an admirer of neanderthals. Good for you.

catbear wrote: »
    Ask any English person how'd they feel if France occupied Kent and they'd say its wrong. Same applies to the UK occupying ulster and that's that.
    You're forgetting a key part of English history, Norman conquest, 1066 and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

You OK hun xox?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

You're forgetting a key part of English history, Norman conquest, 1066 and all that.

Yeh. 1000 years of oppression. And now they want free. And are being more than charitable to any Normans still living in Britain and saying they can stay and have the same rights to live and work there as the indigenous Anglo Saxons.
    And there are Irish people who dont understand why they are choosing to do so. Think 1922, people.

It should be noted that Arlene Foster isn't adverse to violence herself. When fellow loyalist Billy Hutchinson refused to express regret for his sectarian murder of two Catholics she refused to condemn him.

She did condemn Anna Lo, member of the Alliance party, who said she was anti-colonialism and that the partition of Ireland was artificial.

In other words Foster puts unionism over human life. To make matters worse she's also bigoted againt gay people. A nasty peice of work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

steddyeddy wrote: »
    It should be noted that Arlene Foster isn't adverse to violence herself. When fellow loyalist Billy Hutchinson refused to express regret for his sectarian murder of two Catholics she refused to condemn him.

She did condemn Anna Lo, member of the Alliance party, who said she was anti-colonialism and that the partition of Ireland was artificial.

In other words Foster puts unionism over human life. To make matters worse she's also bigoted againt gay people. A nasty peice of work.

No where else in Europe would her brand of idiocy be put up with

I refuse to believe your average unionist/loyalist youth population (anyone bslow 35) is any way represented by her and cronies

She's as bad as the brand of nutters what arise in america every so often

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

Not worth the paper it is written on. The Irish state gave up the claim to the land of Northern Ireland with the Belfast agreement.

It remains codified in the constitution. Also when the Assembly is suspended:
    devolved matters revert to the Conference's remit. The latest meeting of the British Irish Intergovernmental Conference took place in Dundalk, 26 February 2007. The BIIGC guarantees the Government of Ireland a say in areas of bilateral co-operation and on those matters not yet devolved to the Northern Ireland Assembly or the North/South Ministerial Council.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British/Irish Intergovernmental Conference

You can pretend all you like that you live in some far off colony of Britain's in the 17th Century but you live in Ireland surrounded by Irish people and places with Irish derived names. You'll probably not have noticed the osmotic movement of workers, goods, services, sporting teams/fans, medical patients etc that happens more-and-more too that tends to blur that imaginary line somewhat. Even you can claim Irish citizenship. Yours is the mentality that, rather than push unification down the road, will help bring the date closer.

Well done.
    It is hilarious how desperate you are to think the Irish state has big influence on Northern Ireland affairs when it clearly doesn't. They have no say on who is elected to represent the people at Stormont, they have no mandate here in Ulster. Martin Mcguinness does, Enda Kenny doesn't.

Northern Ireland is part of the United Kingdom and will remain so unless the NI people decide otherwise as stated in the Belfast Agreement. The Irish state doesn't have one representative in Stormont passing legislation or effecting our laws. The DUP would not be in government otherwise.

Before 1999, Articles 2 and 3 made the claim that the whole island formed one "national territory". It is a myth to say the Irish state is running the affairs of Northern Ireland when it isn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

It is hilarious how desperate you are to think the Irish state has big influence on Northern Ireland affairs when it clearly doesn't. They have no say on who is elected to represent the people at Stormont, they have no mandate here in Ulster. Martin Mcguinness does, Enda Kenny doesn't.

Northern Ireland is part of the United Kingdom and will remain so unless the NI people decide otherwise as stated in the Belfast Agreement. The Irish state doesn't have one representative in Stormont passing legislation or effecting our laws. The DUP would not be in government otherwise.

Before 1999, Articles 2 and 3 made the claim that the whole island formed one "national territory". It is a myth to say the Irish state is running the affairs of Northern Ireland when it isn't.

Have quite a large say in 1/3 of Ulster

Provo neanderthals who came very close to separating a 16 year old Fosters head, arms, legs & internal organs from one another in a legitimate targeted attack ..on a f*cking school-bus full of children - now mock her as a politician.

Maybe this is some kind of sophisticated satire or performance art or something? It can t be more of the same centuries old hate filled, primitive, antagonistic shyte

Some of the provo admirers on here would think she should have been murdered or even thankful for being attacked by a bunch of cowardly terrorists.

Where's the evidence for that?

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    You've called my position regressive but you haven't actually explained why it is in you it view regressive. All I can see is you seem to think favoring a united Ireland = progressive and favoring unity with Britain = regressive. Where neither of these ideologies are, on their own, progressive or regressive.

I understand that you're annoyed the first minister cost the conference authenticity by boycotting the event but you must understand it in the context that Kenny's comments on a UI being part of the discussions on Brexit crossed a line. Arlene as a unionist first minister of NI then had a duty distance herself from those comments to send a very clear signal to both the British and Irish governments that no, unification is not on the table under any circumstances.

Attending an all Ireland conference after the Irish Taoiseach raised the possibility of a United Ireland would have sent the opposite signal that unionists are open to consideration on the idea.

Put it this way. Imagine the British PM raised the possibility of Ireland rejoining the UK then chaired an all British Isles conference chaired by the British to synergize foreign policy. Would the Taoiseach attend? Of course not. To expect a different reaction from a British nationalist is unrealistic.

You may not like that Arlene snubbed her nose at Kenny, or even agree with her. But you should at least understand why she did it and that any step towards a united Ireland in any circumstance is going to be opposed.

Hmmm. You call the Taoiseach 'Kenny' and the NI FM 'Arlene'. We know which side of the bread you put the butter on.......

steddyeddy wrote: »

Where's the evidence for that?
    It is how the ideology works. Seen it for most of my life and the defence of it.