Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment - Stage 3 2016/2017

• 24-03-2016 1:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭

New thread with regards to the interview to avoid confusion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭RedmondHR

Bit early to start this no :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭smiley963

RedmondHR wrote: »
    Bit early to start this no :p

Think positive ha 😬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭MondeoMan92

Little bit early but at least we have a point of reference now instead of tripping over other threads

Sup Bitches, Im here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Achilies

Anyone having trouble downloading the form?

Yea, in work and doing it on my phone. Will do it properly when I get home.

I have tried two different computers and it stills says that adobe is not up to date,even after downloading the recent one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭baldshin

I'm working in a printing shop, with all the latest software imaginable, and can't get it open!

Will try it when I get home, If I have any luck and you still dont will send it to you.

baldshin wrote: »
    I'm working in a printing shop, with all the latest software imaginable, and can't get it open!

Yeah it looks like they probably forgot to upload it or there is something wrong etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭MrBlack93

Congrats to those who passed today.
    I've got a question, at what time of day did you receive your message on the publicjobs website? I'm having an issue here where I got a text and an email notifying me that I have a message but there's no new messagel in my public jobs inbox??? Anyone else experiencing this??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Elliot192

Can't open that form for love nor money!

MrBlack93 wrote: »

I've got a question, at what time of day did you receive your message on the publicjobs website? I'm having an issue here where I got a text and an email notifying me that I have a message but there's no new messagel in my public jobs inbox??? Anyone else experiencing this??

I got mine around four thirty, if that helps?

Anyone have any luck opening that interview form?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 dosyrosy1990

Achilies wrote: »
    Anyone having trouble downloading the form?

Did you get to download the form?

Can you send me on link please? Mine won't open.

DosyRosy! Open the file.
    Download the file and save it to you computer.
    Open the file through your documents.
    Should work that way.
    If not will send it too you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Aishlingoc

Is the order of merit where we placed out of everyone doing the 2nd stage?

Yea, order we will be called up for interviews i'm guessing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Aishlingoc

DosyRosy! Open the file.
    Download the file and save it to you computer.
    Open the file through your documents.
    Should work that way.
    If not will send it too you.

Tried this and it didn't work for me, any chance you could send on the link in your own time, thanks.

Feeling a bit sick looking at that interview form! (Thanks for the tip on how to open it btw) I don't have any community/voluntary experience. Also big gaps in my employment history. Is that me gone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

know them feels! its very Intimidating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭df14

The 2 questions on the interview form is hardly all they will judge us on is it? Surely there's going to be more info given to us when we get our date and times??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭Mudmask

df14 wrote: »
    The 2 questions on the interview form is hardly all they will judge us on is it? Surely there's going to be more info given to us when we get our date and times??

Have you recieved the information about competencies? There are six you will have to demonstrate to the interviewers using examples. I can't remember them at the moment but I think they should be available online or at least in the thread on the interviews from the last competition.

Mudmask wrote: »
    Have you recieved the information about competencies? There are six you will have to demonstrate to the interviewers using examples. I can't remember them at the moment but I think they should be available online or at least in the thread on the interviews from the last competition.

Ya I saw them alright mentioned from before but didn't receive anything mentioning them so was just wondering

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭Mudmask

df14 wrote: »
    Ya I saw them alright mentioned from before but didn't receive anything mentioning them so was just wondering

Ah yeah if you haven't gotten them yet it will come with your date and time :)

Just checked my message from last year, you will get a familiarisation booklet with your invitation to interview, just a couple of pages. The competencies were: Resilience, Serving the Public, Problem Solving, Interpersonal skills, Personal Effectiveness and Commitment to the role.

Mudmask wrote: »
    Ah yeah if you haven't gotten them yet it will come with your date and time :)

Just checked my message from last year, you will get a familiarisation booklet with your invitation to interview, just a couple of pages. The competencies were: Resilience, Serving the Public, Problem Solving, Interpersonal skills, Personal Effectiveness and Commitment to the role.

Nice one thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

anyone know of anywhere where you can do like a mock interview or whatever?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Montague4LC

Do people know if its very hard to pass this test if youre not a garda reserve?
    And lets say your order of merit is 300 does that mean you placed 200th out of the 1700 that did stage 2?

Depp wrote: »

Maybe careerservices ? None available at the moment sadly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Turbo T

Have a look at www.gardaip.com.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭flyton5

I know of a recently retired sergeant who does competency based interview prep. Includes filling out the forms with you etc. If you pm me i'll find out if she can accommodate people. A friend of mine did it before the last campaign and he's now stationed in Kildare. I'm booked in with her for Monday. Price is lower than anywhere else I've seen and she says it will take about 2 hours in total.

Edit: She's in South Dublin and you have to travel to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Af88

MrBlack93 wrote: »

What date did you do your stage 2? I sat mine on April 1st but haven't heard anything back.

Should we put our Leaving cert as a qualification yous think ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭tictac__x

Should we put our Leaving cert as a qualification yous think ?

I would think so, anything you got a certificate for I think, thats what I'm putting in anyway ☺

Yea, I dunno. The layout does not really suit it for the leaving cert:/
    Anyone else having difficulties for section B? Cant seem to enter anything at all!

More info today I wonder???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭stringbox

Lads can somebody send me a link to the application form? I'm on holidays and back on Friday and I can't open the form in the internet cafe here.

I don't have admin priviledges on a public computer so I can't open it!

This computer doesn't have the latest version of adobe so it won't open the PDF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭AnMuinteoirOg

Check yer inboxes :)

Got mine there, now the fun part :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Af88

Anyone got their result that sat the test on April 1st?

Lads, a word of warning to anyone filling out the interview pdf form. Save and keep saving it! Adobe just crashed on me and I lost the lot! We can still send it in tomorrow, right?

Ok - probably stating the obvious - but it wasn't to me in my sleep deprived state - maybe type out what you want to say in a word doc or something then cut and paste into the pdf form (as well as saving all the time). Had fierce trouble with it all last night. The form kept closing down on me. Sometimes it kept the changes I made and sometimes the )(*&^;&$* did not. Lesson most definitely learned. Make your lives easier. Now I need to sleep!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭stringbox

Everyone get the form in yesterday? I got my date too.

Anyone know if you need girlfriends family on form b? I know it says partner but is that engaged or what?

df14, I dont think we need to put our girlfriends family on it. I wont be, less effort and think it only asking for legal technicalities .If for some reasons turns out I need to put it on it, will I will just say I am single.

I rang hrm yesterday to ask and they said only if living together which I am so I've no way around it

Yea suppose no way around it, also girlfriend probably wouldn't like it as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭danube

What do you do if you don't have the details of some of your uncles/aunts? eg; date of birth, address...