Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

If servicing yourself access to the fuel filter isn't great on these. iirc on the megane the best way to get to it is through the wheel arch. Not the nicest yokes the 1.5 dci to service.. :D.

Ye I seen it in another thread. I was thinking of getting them to give it a full service and change all the filters, oil, air, fuel, pollen at least I'd have a fresh start. Sure the pollen filter is a pig of a job to do you have to take out the clutch pedal ffs. It has a full service history (when I say full I mean every set of tyres it got was main dealer) with the dealer I bought it off and I know all the lads there so they probably wouldn't roast me too much but they are not a cheap or easy car to service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭kilianmanning

CIP4 wrote: »
    Ye I seen it in another thread. I was thinking of getting them to give it a full service and change all the filters, oil, air, fuel, pollen at least I'd have a fresh start. Sure the pollen filter is a pig of a job to do you have to take out the clutch pedal ffs. It has a full service history (when I say full I mean every set of tyres it got was main dealer) with the dealer I bought it off and I know all the lads there so they probably wouldn't roast me too much but they are not a cheap or easy car to service.

Ah classic french for you :cool: See how things pan out, if you've a spare weekend maybe give it a go, sure save a few euro :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Hahaha pollen filter clutch pedal. That's never getting changed in 95% of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

If servicing yourself access to the fuel filter isn't great on these. iirc on the megane the best way to get to it is through the wheel arch. Not the nicest yokes the 1.5 dci to service.. :D.

Ah the 1.5 is probably the handiest of them to be honest. In the Nissans anyway, I haven't touched them in a Renault to be fair.

A chain, two extensions and a ratchet set to tighten from underneath is the best way to take off the filter, bloody stupid setup really.

And you don't have to take out the clutch, you just stop being a bitch and work around it. :L

Ah classic french for you :cool: See how things pan out, if you've a spare weekend maybe give it a go, sure save a few euro :pac:
    Hahaha pollen filter clutch pedal. That's never getting changed in 95% of them!

Your right there SC I'd say they are hard put to change the fuel filter on them. I'd highly doubt my one has been changed as the windows tend to fog up a bit. I have workshop manual for it must look it up and see.

Actually the only thing that easy to do on them compared to the old one is change the headlight bulbs. The two units slide completely out of the front bumper on rails it's rather cool and makes for piss easy bulbs changes as I discovered when fitting my night breakers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Hal1 wrote:
    Must be raking up the miles so. I've 170k on mine atm .

Ya it's fairly eating road alright. Think i'll be putting less on it this year, was doing a lot of driving for a while. Think I put it on the road mid August '14 and it had 128k miles. Now, Sept '15 it has 151k miles. Prob be 170ish next summer. Probably be a cnut to pass on though, because of "the mad high mileage".

What year is yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,558 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

With nightbreakers they'd want to be handy changed!

Ya it's fairly eating road alright. Think i'll be putting less on it this year, was doing a lot of driving for a while. Think I put it on the road mid August '14 and it had 128k miles. Now, Sept '15 it has 151k miles. Prob be 170ish next summer. Probably be a cnut to pass on though, because of "the mad high mileage".

What year is yours?

Can't believe you have that over a year I would have said 6 months max. 23k miles on that and would you put much up in the Mondeo as well ?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    With nightbreakers they'd want to be handy changed!

I got over a year 35k km out of my last set and that was with my dips on alot of the time as I have a tendency to have them on if conditions are anything other than perfect. I was thinking would it be worth upgrading the H1 headlights to night breakers too.

But yay they certainly don't last as long as normal bulbs for example there is 120k km ish on the Octavia it's 4 years old in December and the drivers dipped headlight is original actually the only bulbs it blew was passenger dipped headlights once and about 3 drl bulbs nothing else at all. I never get how people go on about changing bulbs a lot as I never really get any blown bulbs at all other than that one night breaker.

CianRyan wrote: »
    Ah the 1.5 is probably the handiest of them to be honest. In the Nissans anyway, I haven't touched them in a Renault to be fair.

A chain, two extensions and a ratchet set to tighten from underneath is the best way to take off the filter, bloody stupid setup really.

And you don't have to take out the clutch, you just stop being a bitch and work around it. :L

Ah yes the Qashqai aren't too bad I guess :) never had any experiences with nasty pollen filters as of yet. ;)

I got over a year 35k km out of my last set and that was with my dips on alot of the time as I have a tendency to have them on if conditions are anything other than perfect. I was thinking would it be worth upgrading the H1 headlights to night breakers too.

But yay they certainly don't last as long as normal bulbs for example there is 120k km ish on the Octavia it's 4 years old in December and the drivers dipped headlight is original actually the only bulbs it blew was passenger dipped headlights once and about 3 drl bulbs nothing else at all. I never get how people go on about changing bulbs a lot as I never really get any blown bulbs at all other than that one night breaker.

Maybe try another decent brand bulb? Phillips make some decent bulbs, at varying prices. Never saw what was so brilliant about nightbreakers to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

So, looks like I'm repeating a year of college, but will be full time with work due to only doing 1/2 modules, project car time! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

So, looks like I'm repeating a year of college, but will be full time with work due to only doing 1/2 modules, project car time! :D

I can only advise caution here... Trying to run 4 cars myself at my age has been hugely costly...!

CIP4 wrote:
    Can't believe you have that over a year I would have said 6 months max. 23k miles on that and would you put much up in the Mondeo as well ?

Not as in tune with the mileage on that. About 12k a year I'd say. Serviced that during the Easter Holidays and it's 3k miles off another one. But about halfish was done by me.

166man wrote: »
    I can only advise caution here... Trying to run 4 cars myself at my age has been hugely costly...!

Sure I'll only live once, might as well do it while I'm young :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Can I just type out a list of parts and have someone find the cheapest way to buy them for me?
    Is there an app for that?

I'm not even messing, I'm stressed. Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Sure I'll only live once, might as well do it while I'm young :D

The mans advice is invaluable. You can see what my lifestyle has done to me.... I'm only 25 :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,204 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

The mans advice is invaluable. You can see what my lifestyle has done to me.... I'm only 25 :(

A crabbed, saysoned man of fifty already. Assuming the thing is logarithmic, by the time you actually are fifty you'll be 115 or so. :pac:

Project car sounds nice. Are you in final year ? I started back this week 4 th year and it's been one of the busiest weeks I've ever put in and the first few weeks are always the quietest. 1 presentation given, 3 assignments handed up, 2 career fairs attended and a graduate programme. Seems every company but the one I want is giving out jobs but I suppose that's always the way I need to find a second preference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

166man wrote: »

The man just wants to have his e39 along with a project car, not 4 Alfa's (May aswell be 12 cars) and 40 x D Turbos! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,204 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

nd wrote: »

I heard about that, it seems the tractor's brakes packed in for some reason. Lucky no-one was mangled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

jimgoose wrote: »
    A crabbed, saysoned man of fifty already. Assuming the thing is logarithmic, by the time you actually are fifty you'll be 115 or so. :pac:

My hands look like they've worn out 2 bodies, various ligaments sound like failing cv joints :p
    The man just wants to have his e39 along with a project car, not 4 Alfa's (May aswell be 12 cars) and 40 x D Turbos! :pac:

Not an alfa round the place! Just bigger petrols and a few d-turbos.... More engines than cars :D

Ya seen that about the jd's brakes going. One of the papers said "one car wrote off". Eh excuse me if I'm wrong... but I see 2 if not 3 cars that are headed to the breakers... :confused:

Project car sounds nice. Are you in final year ? I started back this week 4 th year and it's been one of the busiest weeks I've ever put in and the first few weeks are always the quietest. 1 presentation given, 3 assignments handed up, 2 career fairs attended and a graduate programme. Seems every company but the one I want is giving out jobs but I suppose that's always the way I need to find a second preference.

Would've been heading into 4th. I was probably going to defer it anyway as I don't think I have the mindset right now for 4th year anyway. The way it's worked out means I can sort out a project car like I've wanted for a while and also prepare properly for 4th year and get a project idea nailed down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Not an alfa round the place! Just bigger petrols and a few d-turbos.... More engines than cars :D

I didn't just quote you in that post :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Ya seen that about the jd's brakes going. One of the papers said "one car wrote off". Eh excuse me if I'm wrong... but I see 2 if not 3 cars that are headed to the breakers... :confused:

I'd say two maybe.
    But I'm sure that will buff out:

248042-189496.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

stupid cannonball, my 30 minute journey home yesterday evening became an hour longer because of idiots rubber necking to have a gawk at the point. Cars were getting their stickers put on.

Would've been heading into 4th. I was probably going to defer it anyway as I don't think I have the mindset right now for 4th year anyway. The way it's worked out means I can sort out a project car like I've wanted for a while and also prepare properly for 4th year and get a project idea nailed down.

Ah ok not so bad. You definitely have to be in the mindset to do it final year projects become your life especially for second semester. Ah sure we will get through it. Your young enough anyway so time is not as much a factor. Fingers crossed I'll be out and finished and still 21.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Dia1988

I recently performed a professional scan on a 2000 VW Polo 1.0 mpi that had a continuous flashing light when the ignition and engine were turned on.

I scanned the entire ECU and there were no airbag codes stored on the ecu.
    It is also unusual that the airbag light continuously flashes. It does not stay on.

I tried checking the binnacle etc but no luck.

Anyone got any ideas?