Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

My 2001 Focus had 187 miles on it and it never missed a beat. Least troublesome car I ever owned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

job seeker wrote: »
    Really?

8,625k miles a year. Average.

At least it isn't clocked if you think about it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

wonski wrote: »
    8,625k miles a year. Average.

At least it isn't clocked if you think about it:D

I suppose..

And what millage maximum would you expect out of a 1l out of curiosity?

My 2001 Focus had 187 miles on it and it never missed a beat. Least troublesome car I ever owned.

What engine had it?

Was a 1.6 petrol. But it was a bigger/heavier car. Don't really think the engine size will impact too much on the life of it.

I've found my first car so. :) it needs a set of alloys though.. It has stains on the back seat and the accelerator pedal has a squeak.. But apart for them problems its a very solid car..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,364 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Finally happened to me.

Picked up my pristine low mileage 08 Bravo with all the bells and whistles this Summer (looks like a T-Jet but with the 90bhp 1.4 motor). Significant sacrifices made to own it and spent way more than I had ever planned (or had).

Tonight I left it parked on a quiet side street for an hour while I visit a friend and come back to find the quarter panel stoved in. I didn't see it until I got home. It's pretty hard to be philosophical about it at this stage I can tell you. I hope the maggot that hit my beautiful car tonight wakes up tomorrow and stubs his toe harder than he ever has before. I mean like really, really hard. Like stubs it just short of hard enough to do bodily damage.

If I happen to be that 1 in a million guy that had CCTV present, working and aimed in the right direction I'll let you know after I stop holding my breath.

I parked my last car every other night in a busier, messier side of town for about 18 months when I was with my ex and there was never as much as bird poop landed on it and I barely turn my back and look what bloody happens.

I've found my first car so. :) it needs a set of alloys though.. It has stains on the back seat and the accelerator pedal has a squeak.. But apart for them problems its a very solid car..

You'll always have a few problems. The brake pedal on the Focus, when you pressed it, sounded like a hungry belly creaking for food. :D

10 minutes with a steamer and the interior will be lovely and free for you to put your own stains on the back seat (:o). If it's your first car chances are you'll take good care of it anyway.

Speaking of taking care of things, I brought my car to a car wash. Whenever I'm too lazy to clean my car I bring it to the same car wash the whole time. Sounds bunch of lads. Seems to be about a dozen of them at it, and they do a good job.

Car always looks immaculate... from the right distance...

But after my last wash there (Monday) I decided to call it a day. If there was ever any doubt of it needing machine polishing, there isn't now. The €7 car wash has well and truly left it's marks. :o There are parts of the car were the swirling is so painfully obvious it almost makes me sad. A particular section on the rear driver's side door is like a circle of dull paint. I'll go over the car with a bit of rapid detailer myself as a short term fix and hopefully get a chance to do a proper polish and wax on it in the next week or two. :(

cantdecide wrote: »
    Finally happened to me.

Sorry to hear that. Worth taking a trip back to where it was parked to see if there's any damage on any other cars? You might find some paint on your bravo to throw you in the right direction of at least what colour car you're on the lookout for?

Terrible news, though.

I remember someone scuffed the Rav4 when I had it. I was absolutely furious. I was in a car park with about 30-40 other cars in it and I checked every single one of them (even though I knew it wouldn't be them). There was green paint on my bumper, and there was no green car in the car park, but I still, just out of sheer anger, circled every other car there looking for bumper damage. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

I suppose..

And what millage maximum would you expect out of a 1l out of curiosity?

There's reports of the 1l Yaris engine doing 600000 km.

It's a very good engine. The water pump is the only real troublesome part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

So just ordered myself some new black kidney grills from America hope they arrive soon :)

Can anyone recommend anyone for remapping? Or how much I'd be looking at? Be a few weeks before I get it done can't afford to have no car at the moment with herself due in just under four weeks so I'm on standby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

166man wrote: »
    Life's too short to have a diesel too chap...!

I wish I could afford to have a three strike policy with cars.... Howandever I don't, so when faults crop up, I get em fixed and drive it on, saves me losing thousands in depreciation too...;)

How sitting on the side of the road broken down is comparable to driving a diesel I don't know. I will definitely consider petrol the next time but I don't see the issue with diesel once your doing the mileage for it the people that have them and do 5k km a year I think that's stupid alright. A lot of the newer petrols are doing 40mpg say and a good newer diesel will do 50mpg min you could live with the 10mpg difference but now you have to live with the 15 cent difference too in a litre. A lot of extra money wasted there if your doing any kind of decent mileage. I mean to me spending anymore than 60 quid a week on fuel is very high assuming your not doing huge commutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

CIP4 wrote: »
    How sitting on the side of the road broken down is comparable to driving a diesel I don't know. I will definitely consider petrol the next time but I don't see the issue with diesel once your doing the mileage for it the people that have them and do 5k km a year I think that's stupid alright. A lot of the newer petrols are doing 40mpg say and a good newer diesel will do 50mpg min you could live with the 10mpg difference but now you have to live with the 15 cent difference too in a litre. A lot of extra money wasted there if your doing any kind of decent mileage. I mean to me spending anymore than 60 quid a week on fuel is very high assuming your not doing huge commutes.

You can't take it to the grave cip man!

I pay over and above the norm, maybe 30 or 40 a week more when i take petrol and tax into it, than a normal road user.

I don't however pay anything for depreciating.
    In fact, they are appreciating these days.

So I'm probably well up on someone like yourself losing plenty on depreciation, not attacking you.

Depreciation is the one nobody ever seems to look at!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

F*ck me, opinions taken to heart again :rolleyes:

I will say this much, if you're doing the mileage and not spending more than €60 a week, surely that's agri diesel.... Or have I missed something?

Meanwhile in pigeon land, a tough decision has to be made.... Much more thought has to be given :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,377 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

[...] Or have I missed something?

[...]
    LPG? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

Life's too short to have a diesel too chap...!

I wish I could afford to have a three strike policy with cars.... Howandever I don't, so when faults crop up, I get em fixed and drive it on, saves me losing thousands in depreciation too...;)
    CIP4 wrote: »

I think bolded part of text was just tongue-in-cheek, presumably no offence intended.

Next paragraph was a statement of realities of his motoring life.

Insurance renewal finally sorted :D Kind of did it late so I'll be driving around with no insurance disk for a few days though :\

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

Did this used to belong to a few lads on here?

Dr.Rieux wrote: »

Did wat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

5W30 wrote: »
    Did wat

Image didn't appear so had to go fix it, there now

Sobanek's yoke IIRC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

joujoujou wrote: »
    LPG? :)

Apart from!

Meant in terms of diesel cars :p

Got 2 quotes for the 1l Yaris..

ARB - 2600

FBD - 805

Hmmm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Was that quote over the phone? I think FBD doesn't insure cars 2001 and older. They couldn't give me a quote anyway.

5W30 wrote: »
    There's reports of the 1l Yaris engine doing 600000 km.

It's a very good engine. The water pump is the only real troublesome part.

600000 km. Oh my god..

GvidoR wrote: »
    Was that quote over the phone? I think FBD doesn't insure cars 2001 and older. They couldn't give me a quote anyway.

Twas over the phone. I'm insured with them under my dad on his policy the last 4 and 1/2 years so that's why it's so low...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Twas mine! I then sold it onto Sobanek.

Wonderful, wonderful car!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭polan

Wonderful, wonderful car!

beautiful car`

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Yep, Sobanek's. There wasn't enough kick in it for his tastes when it came to his past-time of driving into benches etc. :pac:

*Awaits wastegate/diesel jibe*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Just spoke to 123 over the phone as I needed to switch the policy to another car I do own and she said "we don't normally allow temporary change to a car registered in your name":confused:

They allowed me to have it insured for 3 days only due to my circumstances.

You can't win with them, can you?