Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

S05E09: The Dance of Dragons - Have NOT read the books

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭xper

Also, what did Trant do to get put on Arya's list? I've forgotten.
    He's one of the King's Guard and he particularly enjoyed doing Joffrey's dirty work. Think he was the one who slapped Sansa around before Tyrion intervened ("...that was a threat. see the difference?"). Of course Arya wouldn't know about that - she hates him because he was the one who killed her sword fighting/water dancing tutor, Syrio.
    ... unless I'm mixing up my King's Guards.

I was glad that it had been heavily flagged in previous episodes that Shireen was facing a nasty end. If that had been sprung on us, red wedding style, I don't think I could have watched it. The extra "distressing scenes" warning coming back from the ad break on Sky Atlantic pretty much confirmed what was about to happen and for once I appreciated the spoiler.

I thought the dragon sequence was well done. No the CGI was not perfect in a couple of shots but you did have a sense of the dragon sharing the same large space as the human characters. Not quite sure where people are getting the idea that Drogon was in trouble. To me it looked more like he was completely unphased by the spears hitting him. Also not sure about the assumption that Dany has abandoned her entourage. When last seen, she's directly above the arena. She just has to utter the Valaryan equivalent of Tora! Tora! Tora! to start taking out the remaining Sons of the Harpy. The "dragon ex mechina" comment is spot on though. One wonders why they showed Drogon over Valarya when Tyrion and Jora were passing through - it just made his timely reappearance less credible than leaving his whereabouts completely uncertain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

I think it was implied in a previous episode though that Daenerys has a special link with Drogon. He also showed up after she executed yer man, when the rebellion was just beginning and when she was clearly going through a bad time. I think the idea is that he can sense when she's in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

PressRun wrote: »
    I think it was implied in a previous episode though that Daenerys has a special link with Drogon. He also showed up after she executed yer man, when the rebellion was just beginning and when she was clearly going through a bad time. I think the idea is that he can sense when she's in trouble.

Drogon....Drohgo...

Reincarnation perhaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Jorah Mormont such a mans man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

The Dance of Dragons
    Stannis "Which dragon would you choose?"
    Shireen "I wouldn't have chosen either. It was all the choosing a side that made everybody so horrible"
    Stannis "Sometimes a person has to choose. Sometimes the world forces his hand. If a man knows what he is, and remains true to himself- the choice is no choice at all. He must fulfill his destiny and become who he was meant to be. However much he may hate it."

:(:(: (

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,147 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

A couple of hundred harpy with spears and no one takes a pot shot at dani?

An ambush by the harpy in the arena where they all conveniently were masks so we can identify the bad guys?

If would be assassins could get that close to dani someone should have thought about bringing a crossbow.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

Drogon....Drohgo...

Reincarnation perhaps?

Ha! Maybe! I thought it was more because she's "the mother of dragons". It proves that she truly does have a connection with these creatures and they will fight for her and protect her (this is just drogon though, who knows how her imprisoned babies feel about her at this point).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭sonic85

ricero wrote: »
    Jorah Mormont such a mans man

Well bar when he got his ass handed to him by that warrior from braavos! He was an excellent fighter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,349 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

The more I think about Shireen's death, the more it annoys me more than saddens me.

She was probably the only sweet, innocent character in the show and they fecking burned her alive. It's like they're trying to live up to the tag of killing fan favourites in gruesome ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Austria! wrote: »
    I agree. Who hasn't burnt their own daughter alive at some stage? It's PC gone mad.
    Yeah am doing that now as they didn't have one of those warning voiceovers after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

I agree. Who hasn't burnt their own daughter alive at some stage? It's PC gone mad.

They go excellent on a barbecue with a side salad and some beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Less CGI for me the better.

Really? Do you realise how much cgi there actually is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Exactly, I mean it's as if people didn't notice that he's really really sorry he had to burn his own daughter alive.

Ok, I can see where you're coming from, but the point I'm making is that Stannis is as much a slave to his own lust for power as Reek is a slave to Ramsey.

Stannis finds himself caught in a losing tactical position with his only option being sacrificing his only daughter to the God of Light (in which he only believes because Milisandre has promised him the Throne).

There's about as much logic in hating him as there is in hating Reek. They both know they're doing wrong, it's just that they really don't have much choice in the matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Drogon....Drohgo...

Reincarnation perhaps?

Mildly interesting, no spoilers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Can we talk about the fact that 2 of her dragons have been on the short leash for 2 years in the show now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

wp_rathead wrote: »
    The Dance of Dragons
    Stannis "Which dragon would you choose?"
    Shireen "I wouldn't have chosen either. It was all the choosing a side that made everybody so horrible"
    Stannis "Sometimes a person has to choose. Sometimes the world forces his hand. If a man knows what he is, and remains true to himself- the choice is no choice at all. He must fulfill his destiny and become who he was meant to be. However much he may hate it."

:(:(: (
    SHIREEN: It’s alright, father.

STANNIS: You don’t even know what I’m talking about.

SHIREEN: It doesn’t matter. I want to help you. Is there any way I can help?

STANNIS: Yes there is.

SHIREEN: Good, I want to. I’m the Princess Shireen of House Baratheon and I’m your daughter.

They hug.

STANNIS: Forgive me.

EXT. STANNIS’ CAMP

It is clear that Stannis can see clearly. The problem is the only thing he can see is the Iron Throne.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,372 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I honestly didn't think that Stannis would go through with it. I was fully expecting him to buckle at the last minute, put a sword through Melisandre and release Shireen. That he didn't and stood watching his daughter burn was the most shocking thing in all 5 series to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Zaph wrote: »
    I honestly didn't think that Stannis would go through with it. I was fully expecting him to buckle at the last minute, put a sword through Melisandre and release Shireen. That he didn't and stood watching his daughter burn was the most shocking thing in all 5 series to date.

No way, I thought her only chance for survival was for Sir Davos to kidnap her but as soon as he said his goodbye I knew she was done for, plus add in the fact a shocking moment was overdue for the episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 OldieWilson

Less CGI for me the better.

Yeah, they should use a real dragon next time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

Overheal wrote: »
    Can we talk about the fact that 2 of her dragons have been on the short leash for 2 years in the show now?
    I really hope it doesn't end up where because Drogon is the biggest dragon and himself and Daenerys seem to be pals right now that the other two dragons just go "whatever" and pretend they were never imprisoned :mad:

9lvuo.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭macpac26

Jaysis some right moany folk in this thread, I really enjoyed the episode and the series so far. It seems people want a hollywood blockbuster every week. The same people who either watch it illegally online or download torrents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭secondrowgal

What happened to Verys? We haven't seen him since Tyrion was captured by Jorah and taken to Dany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Sheeeeit

If the whole point of Dorne this series is to set up Trystane Martell as a member of the small council then they could have done it a lot quicker without all of the terrible scenes from there throughout the season. I think Trystane in King's Landing will be important, but jesus did they have to drag it out that much? I know they needed air time for Bronn & Jaime but ****ing hell the whole thing was terrible. Especially the sand snakes, everything with them has been laughable

Vojera wrote: »
    I really hope it doesn't end up where because Drogon is the biggest dragon and himself and Daenerys seem to be pals right now that the other two dragons just go "whatever" and pretend they were never imprisoned :mad:

I'm interested to see what's going to happen with them too.

If anyone is interested in lore, apparently keeping dragons in enclosed spaces impedes their growth. Drogon is supposed to become massive, as big as Balerion, the dragon Aegon rode when he conquered Westeros (http://nerdalicious.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/World-Ice-Fire-Aegon-Game-thrones.jpeg). What will happen to the other two or how big they'll actually get now that they've been kept in a dark prison for a long time, I don't know, but dragons are supposed to continue growing all their lives.

Another interesting tidbit is that supposedly Daenerys can't control more than one at a time. Back in the days of the Targaryens conquering Westeros, Aegon controlled Balerion and his sisters rode Vhagar and Meraxes. The dragon has three heads, so they need three riders. The dragons can also bond with people other than their so-called 'mother' or 'father'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭hypermuse

Sheeeeit wrote: »
    but ****ing hell the whole thing was terrible. Especially the sand snakes, everything with them has been laughable

Except for the boobies... Mmmm delicious!

What happened to Verys? We haven't seen him since Tyrion was captured by Jorah and taken to Dany.
    I would imagine he's making his way to Meereen seeing as he has been supporting a Targaryan revival all along. I hope it's not too long before he's back, I enjoy his character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Sheeeeit

hypermuse wrote: »
    Except for the boobies... Mmmm delicious!

The only good thing(s) about the Sand Snakes. She was the only one I fancied before that scene too.

nm wrote: »
    My only complaint is Oberyn Martell's widow, Ellaria whatever her name is.

One second she won't even drink with a Lannister and hates Doran Martell for being spineless.

Then with one real explanation at all (one threat) she completely folds, forgives Doran, then for no reason at all assures Jaime she's cool with him as well.

I don't actually believe her, though. She was given a choice to submit or die, which isn't much of a choice. She might use Trystane's presence in King's Landing to get close enough to exact some sort of revenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Writing and acting was poor in that episode imo.
    Could not agree more. The show just seems to have become ridiculous now. Stannis, the experienced battle commander can't even organise security at his camp, so twenty men led by Ramsay can sneak in one night and screw up his whole campaign to take the Iron Throne. And they lost the opportunity for more Ramsay screen time. Disappointing.

So then Stannis absolutely has to sacrifice his daughter because it's the only way out. Oh come off it.

More Jorah. He is just annoying now. Have some dignity and go away now, ffs.

Danaerys, the Keanu Reeves of Game of Thrones. As vacant and expressionless as a pane of glass.

A dragon showing up in the nick of time. Well, wasn't that convenient.
    The unsullied should be renamed the unhelpful, fecking useless in a spot of bother.
    Yes. Or The Unready. Possibly the most useless band of 'elite' soldiers, given a pasting by a band of medieval soccer hooligans with daggers and awkward gold marks.

Ser Meryn, the most mediocre bad guy in GoT. Maybe he'll kick the cat on the way out of the brothel to add some depth to his character. Get a real job, Meryn.

Arya Stark. YAWN.

And The Atomic Sandkittens. Can't wait for their new album.

Stupid. Stupid. Stupid.

/rant

I enjoyed rest of it though. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

No Dornish tits.
    Episodes disappoints.