Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

S05E09: The Dance of Dragons - Have NOT read the books

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Well it looks like Dany is fecking off on the back of a Dragon, now those she free the other 2 or whats her plan? Given it looks like the biggest was still weak against a couple of men, surely she has to set the other 2 free and either flee or burn the city to the ground, like she mentioned to her late husband.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭OleRodrigo

I thought it was excellent..but my God, Stannis has crossed a point of no return. I can see a fiery end for him and Melisendre. RR Martin seems to be making a devastating critique of religious fanaticism.

The end was a bit pedestrian, but only because the CGI seemed rushed and combined with Danys wooden expressions it came off slightly cartoonish. Its a minor quibble, all the more obvious after the strength of last weeks ending.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Well that bit was hard to watch (you know what I mean) loved the ending

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

That scene with Shireen was by far the most difficult to watch in the series so far. Gruesome murders and rapes aren't at all fun, but that was rough.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Very poor writing and directing. Every single thing in this episode was telegraphed. Dorne is a total flop even with Jaime and Bronn. Shireen was just cheap audience manipulation. Mereen was half decent but two dei ex machinae in two minutes was a crappy piece of storytelling. Braavos didn't really tell us anything new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

OleRodrigo wrote: »
    I thought it was excellent..but my God, Stannis has crossed a point of no return. I can see a fiery end for him and Melisendre. RR Martin seems to be making a devastating critique of religious fanaticism.

The end was a bit pedestrian, but only because the CGI seemed rushed and combined with Danys wooden expressions it came off slightly cartoonish. Its a minor quibble, all the more obvious after the strength of last weeks ending.

Agree with all of that. The last minute or so took the shine off another epic episode. Great to see Ser Jorahs persistence finally pay off too. I'm delighted for him. :p I can't believe there is only 1 ep left. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

:(:(:(:(

I was just starting to warm to Stannis and then he goes and burns his own child alive. The fact that his fruit loop wife thought it was a step too far says all you need to know. I've said before that I thought Melisandre just sees Stannis as a means to an end. I think she has taken an interest in Jon Snow now since seeing him across the flames in Castle Black. I can see Stannis's men revolting or deserting. I doubt any of them have any real love of the Red God.

Where has Grey Worm gone? Have we seen him since Missandei was nursing him back to health?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭GottaGetGatt

I was thinking when Jorah touched Danny that he possible infected her with the skin virus he has?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭lbj666

This is the show that had a load of babies and kids killed in 30 seconds in season 2, the fact a child character could be killed off so coldly didn't come as a surprise.

I was fearing Shireen being sacrificed like we all were for a while so such it didn;t come as that much as a shock but the surprise it gave was Selyse turning and the whole mothers love theme coming back from the unlikeliest of sources and Stannis not flinching at all.

We learned from Robb Stark not marrying the frey girl is that you cannot let love get in the way of your quest for the Iron throne and ya gotta get your hands dirty. The difference with Stannis though is that the dirty work is not real things like house alliances or killing people at a wedding but a type of religious hocus pocus. Its hard to explain the Shadow baby that killed Renly as just from Mellisandres potions though and her buddy Thoros did bring back Berric from the dead a few times, we did see another priestess in volantis too.

I don't think she is fake by any means ,

She comes from way way east which we don't know much about.
    She wins over the "king" that lived on dragonstone, with all the dragon glass and she swings stannis' attention north towards the wall when he was still aiming towards kings landing. There is something about her, that not to say her plan whatever it is can't be a failure, whatever Thoros' plan was he gave up on it and resort to boozing most of the time.

As for quality of the season ya its been by far the poorest but things blew up so much last year that once the dust settled a bit it was going to be hard to bring it back up again.

What i worry about is that it seems what gives the book readers their kicks more and more going deeper into the series is theories and prophecies that come with it all and this is something the show can barely touch so we just stuck purely with plot.

By the way if all of us didn't illegally download the show they might have a budget for all the cgi ye want.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

lbj666 wrote: »
    By the way if not all of us didn't illegally download the show they might have a budget for all the cgi ye want.

Less CGI for me the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭naughto

By the way if all of us didn't illegally download the show they might have a budget for all the cgi ye want.

Balls to that look at last week thats where the budget went

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

If i didnt illegally download I'd be watching it on the Sky subscription that I already pay for, whether I follow the show or not.
    Bad CGI can be forgiven anyways with better story telling and acting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,768 ✭✭✭✭Encrypted Pigeon

GavRedKing wrote: »
    Well it looks like Dany is fecking off on the back of a Dragon, now those she free the other 2 or whats her plan? Given it looks like the biggest was still weak against a couple of men, surely she has to set the other 2 free and either flee or burn the city to the ground, like she mentioned to her late husband.

I reckon she is showing she has control of the dragons again, she was losing her control of the city when it looked like she couldn't control the dragons anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Very poor writing and directing. Every single thing in this episode was telegraphed. Dorne is a total flop even with Jaime and Bronn. Shireen was just cheap audience manipulation. Mereen was half decent but two dei ex machinae in two minutes was a crappy piece of storytelling. Braavos didn't really tell us anything new.

The fact it took 66 posts before anyone mentioned Dorne tells you how weak that part of the storyline is. It's like a little interlude between the adult story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

Stannis is no longer my favourite character after that!

I think Danny should look for her money back on these unsullied lads, they seem to die easily in rather large numbers.

Not a great episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Vojera wrote: »
    :(:(:(:(

I was just starting to warm to Stannis and then he goes and burns his own child alive. The fact that his fruit loop wife thought it was a step too far says all you need to know. I've said before that I thought Melisandre just sees Stannis as a means to an end. I think she has taken an interest in Jon Snow now since seeing him across the flames in Castle Black. I can see Stannis's men revolting or deserting. I doubt any of them have any real love of the Red God.

I can't imagine many in the north having much love or loyalty for Stannis, especially now that word will surely get out that he has burned his own daughter alive in the name of religion and ambition. I don't see that kind of carry-on inspiring devotion in people who love honourable, compassionate types like the Starks.

It's also pretty interesting to note that Renly called it on Stannis way back in season 1. He told Ned that Stannis wasn't fit to rule. I wonder how different things would be had Renly been allowed to rule, with the Tyrells to back him up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

why burn the girl?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

why burn the girl?

There is power in kings blood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

K4t wrote: »
    Another tedious battle scene transpires from there, similar to last week's ending, though more cleverly done, and with a dragon instead of a giant.

Jesus Christ, people don't tell me you are saying last week's episode with the Wights/White Walkers was a tedious battle scene!

Danny needs to leave Myreen.

She must see that the barbaric place is not for saving.
    Her unsullied is being whittled away.
    If they stay they will become too few to make a difference in open war.

Gather your braids & dragons & get to westeros.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Not a NSA agent

Stannis is no longer my favourite character after that!

I think Danny should look for her money back on these unsullied lads, they seem to die easily in rather large numbers.

Not a great episode.

I mentioned this to my girlfriend. I know she took every single unsullied including those that weren't fully trained but these guys are meant to be some of the best warriors in the world and this season they get cut down quicker than a character played by Sean Bean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭LFC CONNAUGHTON

Really hoping Stannis doesn't win at Winterfell and turns on Melissandra, still want Brianne to save Sansa though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭iamanengine

YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

That was everything I've ever wanted. Dragons <3

Aside from that, poor Shireen, was really hoping she would pull through. Stannis was becoming likeable and all.

Also, what did Trant do to get put on Arya's list? I've forgotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,790 ✭✭✭brevity

Poor episode in comparison to last week. Cant really understand Daenerys willing to put on that fighting ceremony considering there was a plot to have her killed. Would it not make more sense to try and root out these sons of the harpy? Or at least keep her up enclosed somewhere so that people cannot get at her. I dunno. She's a lot of learning to do tbh. And that dragon would want to toughen up if they are planning on ruling. 3 arrows and it was pretty much out of action.

Stannis is a wanker. I never really warmed to him but sod him and that red woman now to be honest. Hope Liam comes back and rams a sword through the two of them.

Hope the 4 lads left to fend for themselves in the pit are alright.

I mentioned this to my girlfriend. I know she took every single unsullied including those that weren't fully trained but these guys are meant to be some of the best warriors in the world and this season they get cut down quicker than a character played by Sean Bean.

It seemed like she had just had a few guarding her, not the whole army ready to protect her, gates were locked so no back up could come in. The sons of harpie are very much a guerilla outfit too. Still think the harpy best chance to kill was when Mormonts fight was happening not when he done and looking straight at her.

Jesus i totally forgot the burning horse at the start, another first.

these guys are meant to be some of the best warriors in the world and this season they get cut down quicker than a character played by Sean Bean.

They were prized for their loyalty & discipline.
    They take both to extremes & both traits were always the most elusive to attain for mediaeval armies.

However, they are essentially just spearmen & in close quarter combat are at a disadvantage.

They are ideally suited for open field fighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭OhHiMark

brevity wrote: »
    Cant really understand Daenerys willing to put on that fighting ceremony considering there was a plot to have her killed.

They've spent about a season or a season and a half explaining that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

My only complaint is Oberyn Martell's widow, Ellaria whatever her name is.

One second she won't even drink with a Lannister and hates Doran Martell for being spineless.

Then with one real explanation at all (one threat) she completely folds, forgives Doran, then for no reason at all assures Jaime she's cool with him as well.

Bizarre, GoT used to be better than that.

Other than that, ok episode. Need more Littlefinger though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,790 ✭✭✭brevity

OhHiMark wrote: »
    They've spent about a season or a season and a half explaining that.

Ya, but the Sons of the Harpy only just showed up. Surely taking them out the picture might be a priority.