The Weird, Wacky and Awesome World of the NFL - General Banter thread V2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Brandon Weeden.. i shudder at the thought he actually played for the Dallas Cowboys...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

BBC has had the Newton comments towards the top of their sports headlines since yesterday and the lead headline now.
    Turns out the female had an unsavory racist tweet herself from her past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭Innish_Rebel

BBC has had the Newton comments towards the top of their sports headlines since yesterday and the lead headline now.

Yes she had an unsavory racist tweet - needs to be addressed.
    It doesn't make his comments or more importantly (I thought) the tone and body language okay or acceptable...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,285 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Yes she had an unsavory racist tweet - needs to be addressed.
    It doesn't make his comments or more importantly (I thought) the tone and body language okay or acceptable...
    Yeah I have no idea why that was relevant at all. "Person you never heard of was racist years ago" isn't a significant headline.

Newton is a fantastic qb but he is prone to media gaffes that would be easily avoided. I'm thinking of his post super bowl behaviour and last week after winning when he threw a little mini tantrum at the press and refused to talk to them, leaving them with some lovely footage of him acting like a spoiled child. Needs to realise being the face of the team brings responsibilities in terms of how you carry yourself in the public eye. I hope he figures it out, and his apology for this at least LOOKED genuine and not just a pr script, because on the field and, mostly, off it, he's one of my favourite players in the league.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

It was a bit of a gaffe from Newton, but yer ones statement was foolish considering her racist previous. She'd have been better off taking the moral high ground saying she was there doing her job and is good at it, rather than the woe is me we're being denigrated. But again, it is just another example of people looking their hardest to be offended at things. It happens everywhere these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

bruschi wrote: »
    It was a bit of a gaffe from Newton, but yer ones statement was foolish considering her racist previous. She'd have been better off taking the moral high ground saying she was there doing her job and is good at it, rather than the woe is me we're being denigrated. But again, it is just another example of people looking their hardest to be offended at things. It happens everywhere these days.

Yes, her tweets don't make his behavior any better - he was a complete d1ck about it - but she went on a crusade about him after it and it was fair for others to check her attitudes too. Now it's racism v sexism, which does America hate the most?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I suppose that type of attitude and opinion isn't exactly uncommon in men's professional sport, it's just that most have the cop on not to display it at a press conference.

Anyway I hope his apology is accepted and everybody can move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

I didn't get Cam's comment at all. The NFL seems to have more female journalists and reporters than any other sport I can think of. He must be asked technical questions by women every single week.

Yep, often better to be magnanimous. It sounds like she was making a lot of it, as if she had never seen an eyebrow raised before then. But even if she was privately upset or conveyed it to him, again privately....when she went public she opens up her own previous public utterances, and they look very bad.

Anyway, he's apologised.

Not sure she has...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Beefy78 wrote: »
    I didn't get Cam's comment at all. The NFL seems to have more female journalists and reporters than any other sport I can think of. He must be asked technical questions by women every single week.

It was just a really fecking stupid comment, not really different to gamers making dumb comments about women getting involved there. One of the best pundits on the sport I've heard, can't remember her name, is indeed a woman - think she was on the Dave Dameshek podcast before the end of last season and she was just incredible, especially at breaking down the chessboard element of play calling. Some other people on that podcast know their stuff quite well, but it was a bit like watching Jeff Reinebold late in the season vs the other Sky pundits. There was a very noticeable gap between her knowledge and the others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,778 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Cam made an idiot of himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,415 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Billy86 wrote: »
    It was just a really fecking stupid comment, not really different to gamers making dumb comments about women getting involved there. One of the best pundits on the sport I've heard, can't remember her name, is indeed a woman - think she was on the Dave Dameshek podcast before the end of last season and she was just incredible, especially at breaking down the chessboard element of play calling. Some other people on that podcast know their stuff quite well, but it was a bit like watching Jeff Reinebold late in the season vs the other Sky pundits. There was a very noticeable gap between her knowledge and the others.
    Was that Cynthia Frelund?

Yep, often better to be magnanimous. It sounds like she was making a lot of it, as if she had never seen an eyebrow raised before then. But even if she was privately upset or conveyed it to him, again privately....when she went public she opens up her own previous public utterances, and they look very bad.

Anyway, he's apologised.

Not sure she has...
    She has. But I don't know or care who she is, so who gives a sh1t either way? Newton is the face of a billion dollar franchise and one of the most recognisable people in American sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Patww79 wrote: »

People need to rear their own kids though.[/quote]
    I'm not sure I follow your point

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Patww79 wrote: »

This "he's a celebrity so he needs to act in X way" thinking because of being a role model or some other guff. He is who he is and you can't rely on sports people or movie stars, etc to teach your kids morals. All too common these days.[/quote]
    I never mentioned kids, dunno if anyone else did. My point was that stuff like this can start to define you as a public figure and overshadow your on field efforts. People mentioning that she was wrong to make a big deal of it or noting that she once said something racist are missing the point that she doesn't matter in the slightest, her only significance is proximity to Newton. If I came in this thread and said "hey guys a random arse of a journalist once said "******" years ago" it would rightly be deleted as off topic. By the same token, her reaction to what Newton said is also irrelevant, because it doesn't alter what he said (and neither does the fact that she once said something racist). I'm not big on condemning players for saying stupid ****, he said something stupid, he's apologized (more apology than was necessary by far actually), whatever. But any attempt to make it about what your one said is weird to me because there's no particular reason we would care what some randomly selected individual once said.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,626 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

If I came in this thread and said "hey guys a random arse of a journalist once said "******" years ago" it would rightly be deleted as off topic.

It probably wouldn't, mods around here are pretty lazy when it comes to stuff like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭TOss Sweep

This was so close to being a magical finish :D

https://twitter.com/TonyGerdeman/status/916646092086894592

Fair play to the kicker, what a moment to step up. He'll be a hero for the rest of his days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Until he misses one next week, and they drop him from the team before expelling him. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭TOss Sweep

Just when we think some of these players do dumb things Dolphins OL coach is about to lose his job if its confirmed this is him in the video in this link. Chris Foerester allegedly snorting cocaine folks.

http://dailysnark.com/women-releases-video-dolphins-ol-coach-snorting-cocaine/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,546 ✭✭✭Masked Man

He's resigned.

Losing your job because you filmed yourself snorting coke while professing love/talking dirty to your pregnant mistress/escort (?) is one hell of a way to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

TOss Sweep wrote: »
    Just when we think some of these players do dumb things Dolphins OL coach is about to lose his job if its confirmed this is him in the video in this link. Chris Foerester allegedly snorting cocaine folks.

http://dailysnark.com/women-releases-video-dolphins-ol-coach-snorting-cocaine/
    Masked Man wrote: »
    He's resigned.

Losing your job because you filmed yourself snorting coke while professing love/talking dirty to your pregnant mistress/escort (?) is one hell of a way to go.

What the absolute funk.....
    That's beyond hilarious...

Masked Man wrote: »
    He's resigned.

Eejit, did he never watch Love/Hate? Sure as soon as he met Nige he shouldda known there would be trouble...

"filming this crime spree is the best idea we ever had!"

First Dolphin to go out on a high...even Csonka and co. didn't get to do that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,326 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Legendary QB, YA Tittle has passed away aged 90

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,111 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

They don't make em like they used to

This is an iconic photo of him

yatittle.jpg