Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

if we ever had a terrorist attack in ireland ??

• Registered Users Posts: 8,380 ✭✭✭cml387

Like winning the Eurovision, decent terrorism is something we just can't do anymore. Buck up your ideas, Ireland!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,849 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I'd be more worried about this sort of terrorist rather than Islamic terrorists, especially if we ever have a referendum on the 8th Amendment:
    My unpopular idea for the day is anyone who supports abortion should themselves be "aborted" just so they get a good feel of what is involved.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,810 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Rangers have helped with terrorist stuff before if I remember correctly.

Ah now, while many of them were of the Rangers persuasion, I don't think there has ever been any links proven between Rangers and the UVF ;).

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Ah now, while many of them were of the Rangers persuasion, I don't think there has ever been any links proven between Rangers and the UVF ;).

Big Chelsea and Linfield supporters also.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,609 ✭✭✭billyhead

Holsten wrote: »

And the ERU are one of the best trained specialized police units in Europe.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 423 ✭✭The Bould Rabbit

I'm assuming the OP is well aware of the whole Northern Ireland troubles and the terrorism that brought to this island and is referring specifically to the new wave of Islamic terrorism sweeping the world such as those witnessed in Paris, Sydney, Ottawa and many other places since 9/11.

And its a bloody good question.

I'd like to think that our security forces can rely on some of the experience they gained through many of the challenges faced during the troubles. However, as time goes by the experienced police and members of the defence forces are being replaced by those with none.

Also, since the Good Friday agreement, the threat of Northern Irish related terrorism has largely diminished and therefore defence budgets have been cut significantly.

So yes, like the OP, I too would like to know how prepared we would be in the event of a terrorist attack.

We don't need history lessons about the six counties. We already know about all that.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Sadly, it's not a matter of if, but when there is a major terrorist attack in Ireland. It may surprise you to know that Ireland has supplied the highest number of foreign fighters in Syria and Iraq:

independent.ie/irish-news/news/ireland-tops-list-of-jihadi-fighters-in-foreign-wars-30563746.html

Eventually, a radicalised fighter will return to Ireland and carry out an attack here. Ireland, unlike most countries, does not have a dedicated intelligence unit . All monitoring is carried out by the Army intelligence unit, G2, and by the National Surveillance Unit of the Gardai, which operate on a shoestring budget.

I don't think there will be a 'spectacular' type attack with bombs or aircraft, as these type of attacks require a lot of access to dangerous materials and advanced weaponry. Likewise, a location such as an embassy would be too well defended.
    But I do think we could well be facing a Mumbai style attack in the coming years, where a small cell of armed individuals attack a remote location such as a school or hospital where they could inflict massive casualties before the authorities had a chance to respond quickly.

Unfortunately, the public seem to have this 'sure we're Irish, it'll be grand' mentality when it comes to the reality of modern Islamic terrorism.

This is complete hyperbole.What reason will they have to attack here?.Are we going to randomly attack a muslim country?.Are the papers here going to suddenly start mocking Islam.You do realise that Irelands fight for freedom was well admired in the muslim world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

Would our allowance of the use of Shannon make us potential targets someday maybe?

This is complete hyperbole.What reason will they have to attach here?.Are we going to randomly attack a muslim country?.Are the papers here going to suddenly start mocking Islam.You do realise that Irelands fight for freedom was well admired in the muslim world.

Shannon is a pretty strong one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭DeJa VooDoo

Bloody sunday - Brits shot dead 14 civilians
    Kingsmill Massacre - IRA shot dead 10 civilians
    Greysteel - Loyalists shot dead 8 civilians

Dublin/Monaghan 1974.
    Loyalists, with the help of the brits, blew up 33 civilians.

FG/Labour shut down the investigation after 2 months.

Those parties only have things investigated that suit their political agenda.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,609 ✭✭✭billyhead

There is plenty of scope for potential attacks within Ireland. It's not something we are immune from because of our geographical location or our loveable nature. It is unlikely but possible.

Realistically, there are plenty of people living here who have strong, definite links to various international terror organisations. Some western nations have highlighted concerns over Ireland potentially being used to stage medium to large scale attacks. It is not something that is beyond possibility.

If an event along the lines of the Paris attack yesterday was to take place here, it would probably end the same. Not because we are under equipped or incompetent. It's down to response times really. This was a largely unpreventable attack. A small determined group with a definite plan, resources, local knowledge with no hesitation to carry out their task. It's a hard thing to defend against, especially when it can happen anywhere at any time.

I believe but am open to correction that, first on scene would be regular AGS members, then ERU/RSU depending where the event takes place. A last resort would be the Army Ranger Wing. None of which would have been in situ quick enough if the timeline was to be the same as yesterday.

We have a long history of internal terror threats from multiple homegrown groups. It's a small country. It is well known that IRA members and others of the various splinter groups have been involved in training with other international terror groups in various places. It's a crazy world we live in but I can't see a case where a planned attack will happen here. A spontaneous retaliation for a perceived injustice against a militant religious group......maybe.

True. No country is immune form these types of attacks. These lads are nut jobs who may not have a previous record so come from under the radar and just flip. As great as a countrys intelligence is it can not prevent attacks like this. It could certainly happen here.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

yipeeeee wrote: »
    Would our allowance of the use of Shannon make us potential targets someday maybe?

And irish companies supply systems to various weapons manufacturing companies who in turn supply the US military with the final product to be used

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 126 ✭✭harrymagina

I'd smear there balls and body in barbecue sauce and let a vicious pitbull run wild on the *****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

To be perfectly honest I doubt many extremists apart from Sinn Féin could point Ireland out on a map.

Ah yes, the auld Sinn Fein dig. No political affiliation here but you FG idiots really annoy the hell out of me. Latest thing is your T.Ds are being told not to go on Vincent Browne to debate. Your obviously running scared from SF.

The gards and special branch have done a great job of shutting down the rira in Dublin for the most part.

But it's time they switched their attention and budget.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭SwiftJustice

This is complete hyperbole.What reason will they have to attach here?.Are we going to randomly attack a muslim country?.Are the papers here going to suddenly start mocking Islam.You do realise that Irelands fight for freedom was well admired in the muslim world.

You think a cartoon is a valid and rationale reason for the Paris killings??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Sadly, it's not a matter of if, but when there is a major terrorist attack in Ireland. It may surprise you to know that Ireland has supplied the highest number of foreign fighters in Syria and Iraq:

independent.ie/irish-news/news/ireland-tops-list-of-jihadi-fighters-in-foreign-wars-30563746.html

Eventually, a radicalised fighter will return to Ireland and carry out an attack here. Ireland, unlike most countries, does not have a dedicated intelligence unit . All monitoring is carried out by the Army intelligence unit, G2, and by the National Surveillance Unit of the Gardai, which operate on a shoestring budget.

I don't think there will be a 'spectacular' type attack with bombs or aircraft, as these type of attacks require a lot of access to dangerous materials and advanced weaponry. Likewise, a location such as an embassy would be too well defended.
    But I do think we could well be facing a Mumbai style attack in the coming years, where a small cell of armed individuals attack a remote location such as a school or hospital where they could inflict massive casualties before the authorities had a chance to respond quickly.

Unfortunately, the public seem to have this 'sure we're Irish, it'll be grand' mentality when it comes to the reality of modern Islamic terrorism.

We are grand, sure aren't we being touted by the Muslim world as an example to follow when it comes to blasphemy legislation (the reason why no Charlie Hebdo cartoons were on the front of any Irish papers this morning).......
    According to Pew Research, an American research firm, 22% of countries have laws which penalise blasphemy or the insulting of religious symbols. The majority of these countries are Muslim lands which ban insults to Islam's prophet or holy book; but the list also includes quite a few mainly Christian countries where old laws banning blasphemous or religiously disrespectful speech have remained on the statute books, albeit rarely if ever invoked. Such countries include Denmark, Greece and Germany.

Ireland stands out among Western countries for having introduced a blasphemy law very recently. Since 2009, Ireland has had a law which penalises "the publication or utterance of blasphemous matter" with a fine of up to €25,000. The centre-right government which introduced the law defended its action by pointing out that the Constitution of 1937 requires the country to have anti-blasphemy legislation; the new law was an improvement on previous ones because the penalty was pretty mild and it covered other religions as well as Christianity.

.......and the government have said they've no plans to change the constitution!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 Cant Handle The Banter

Doubt it. The muslims have bigger fish to fry.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,810 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Generally after big attacks like this, the perpetrators will release the same old statement blaming the country involved for its involvement in Iraq/Israel/ ties with Saudi Arabia etc.

Considering Ireland has no dealings with any of that, (in fact until recently one of our only notable deviations from international norms is our support of Palestine), I'd imagine these extremists haven't much "pork" with Ireland.

It also wouldnt really register with most of them, attacking a big target like the US, UK or France will have a few muslims thinking "another strike on the west, more revenge against our former/current foreign oppressors". An attack on Ireland would be greeted with "They attacked where?"

On Irish muslims going abroad to support ISIL, and how this is evidence that they're out to commit terrorist attacks on Irish soil. I'll just say its very easy to become an Islamic militant. Just hop on a flight to Beirut/Istanbul, then get transported to Syria and be handed an AK47, and bam! You've fulfilled all the criteria.

World of difference between that and creating and sustaining a terrorist cell capable of both going undetected for a long period of time and carrying out a large attack on Irish soil.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

This.

Shur we'll be grand, jaysus not to worry!

Doubt it. The muslims have bigger fish to fry.

Very naive attitude.

These lads don't need a big reason and are only waiting to make a name for themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,705 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Gatling wrote: »
    Bombs triggered by remote and shootings but no sustained assault on civilians

Are you sure about that??

Very naive attitude.

These lads don't need a big reason and are only waiting to make a name for themselves.

Not really, of you think we are a target you misunderstand what they are about.

Take yesterday's terrible events - two lads with AK-47s in the centre of Paris could have killed a lot more than 10 people if they wanted - they didn't because they wanted the propaganda value of the act to resonate.

There's nothing of comparable propaganda value, nor nothing they value propaganda-wise here.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,549 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Ah yes, the auld Sinn Fein dig. No political affiliation here but you FG idiots really annoy the hell out of me. Latest thing is your T.Ds are being told not to go on Vincent Browne to debate. Your obviously running scared from SF.

You what!? I support the Amphibians party i'll have you know. Tiocfaidh ár lá!

Jawgap wrote: »
    Not really, of you think we are a target you misunderstand what they are about.

Take yesterday's terrible events - two lads with AK-47s in the centre of Paris could have killed a lot more than 10 people if they wanted - they didn't because they wanted the propaganda value of the act to resonate.

There's nothing of comparable propaganda value, nor nothing they value propaganda-wise here.

And our use of Shannon to refuel planes on their way to bomb **** out of middle east countries not too mentioned illegally transporting lads picked up isn't a good propaganda opportunity for them?

Come on.

And our use of Shannon to refuel planes on their way to bomb **** out of middle east countries not too mentioned illegally transporting lads picked up isn't a good propaganda opportunity for them?

Come on.

Nope - it's just an airport.

The US or UK embassies maybe, but if you can get this far and you want to strike at American air power why not go to the UK and have a pop at one the USAF bases there, or the bases in Germany, where some of the units involved in carrying out the actual attacks are home-based?

EDIT: Shannon is just used for 'ass & trash' airlift not as a staging point for attack aircraft.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,067 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Jawgap wrote: »
    Nope - it's just an airport.

The US or UK embassies maybe, but if you can get this far and you want to strike at American air power why not go to the UK and have a pop at one the USAF bases there, or the bases in Germany, where some of the units involved in carrying out the actual attacks are home-based?

EDIT: Shannon is just used for 'ass & trash' airlift not as a staging point for attack aircraft.

Used to transfer detainees also afaik

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Are you sure about that??

Yes unless somebody quotes 1916 or the civil war

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

Ah, sure anything can make you a target nowadays! It's ridiculous.

In 2004, a guy with links to al-Qaeda went into the Israeli embassy in Dublin and took a sketch of the ground floor. Could that make us a legitimate target from Israel? As we "failed" to prevent intel gathering that could potentially be used to harm Israeli citizens?

In relation to where our troops serve overseas and under what banner, that could make us targets from various groups too. It's ridiculous but could happen. We have annoyed any number of rebel groups over the years....al-Qaeda, Hizbollah, Janjaweed, R.U.F, Taliban. Troops are deployed in Asia, Middle East, Africa and Europe. There is a lot of exposure there which could result in idiotic reprisals from people that don't like what we are doing.

Even the fact that some Irish based firms manufacture and export billions worth of "dual use" components that can be used for civilian commercial and / or military use.

There really is no end to what can make you a target nowadays.