Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Running Chaos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Tuesday 27/09/2016 Rest

Wednesday 28/09/2016 6 miles @ 8:48
    Took it handyish for this as there was a good wind blowing in all directions.

Thursday 29/09/2016 5 miles @ 8:50
    Planned 10 miler cut short.
    Dark out and a bit windy again. Not great conditions for set paces or checking on watch so planned 10 miles with the odd burst thrown in. A bit after 2 miles and I started the first pace increase. When I slowed I felt a sudden pain in the arse. The other side from the glute problem so not sure if it is same problem or just a little cramping or something from battling into the wind. Or maybe a lot is in my head. The pain was dull and constant if I went anywhere near 8:40 or faster. Stopped and did some light limbering up movements to see if I could ease it out. Jogged/hobbled home in disbelief...

It didn't cause me and issue after I got home and showered. Did some more movements to see if it would present itself again but no sign of it.
    Not great for the old confidence going into the galwaybay half on Saturday so took today off.
    Gonna line up for the half and see how it goes. Nervous as hell in every aspect of it. Even if the legs are good I'm fearful of lack of fitness... Squeaky bum time....

Friday 30/09/2016 Rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Gonna line up for the half and see how it goes. Nervous as hell in every aspect of it. Even if the legs are good I'm fearful of lack of fitness... Squeaky bum time....

Have a great race! Weather looks decent enough.

Saturday 01/10/2016 13 miles @ 6:51
    Galway bay half marathon....
    Main aims of this were 1 See if body holds up with some stress thrown at it, 2 assess fitness level, 3 Final indicator as to if it is safe to proceed with DCM at a non race effort(I know I'm not fit enough,not strong enough, not confident enough to race it).
    Struggling with niggles the last while and was coming back nicely until last thursday when it seemed as though I had some sort of relapse. I was a bit devastated tbh and considered pulling the plug on the half, and indeed the rest of the year.
    Took friday off and said I'd head down to the half and see how the warm up goes and then play each mile as it comes, fully prepared to walk away at any stage.

During the warm up there was no issues, apart from feeling a touch light headed which I'm now putting down to nerves :D

Race on and off I went....
    I didn't have any bogger this time for company, although I did see a very lean, slick version just before the race :)
    I did my usual sweating buckets after only the first mile and was thinking to myself this doesn't look good. Sweating this much so early usually indicates I'm going out to hard, and as in my previous post I was concerned (justifiably) about my fitness level.
    Stuck at it anyways, straight away I noticed by running on my own more concentration required to keep pace. Last year the first fews mile with the bogger were effortless compared to this. Fied thinned out a lot over the first couple of miles and I noticed there wouldn't be any sort of 1:30 group to hitch onto.
    Miles 1-3 6:47, 6:44, 6:48

Going grand now, mixture of concentration and the odd joke interaction with fellow runners. Towards the end of the 4th mile was the first 180 turn around with a bit of a drag after the turn. Put in a lot more effort after the turn to try to maintain pace but looking back I still lost out a little. Not much, just a few seconds, but thought I'd still be up.
    Plugged away for miles 3-6 but not really gaining any time. Couple of second over each mile but nothing to alarming.
    Miles 4-6 6:53, 6:53, 6:53

The next 3 miles brought us back into the start/finish area before heading out for our second loop. It was nice getting back there for a few more shouts from family friends. I was working hard now but not in a panic/gassing it kind of way.
    The legs were tired and had little zip in them, but I felt like this from the start, which although sounds bad, was kinda reassuring at the same time :D
    I tried to push a little to regain the few seconds I was down but it was a bit of a slog, and I didn't put a dent in the deficit at all :( Still though, happy I was still moving :)
    Miles 7-9 6:49, 6:51, 6:51

Getting into the meat of it now and I'm slacking.. Worse again, I'm slacking and I know it. I'm on my tod more or less, a few to far ahead in my mind. Not sure whats behind. It feels noticeably hotter now but I reckon that's just me.
    Mile 10 had that 180 turn, and on that small little drag back up the short hill, I wilted. I felt fooked but tried to keep motoring.
    TBH, I'm not sure if the front people came back to me, or the back people caught me, but there was suddenly 3 people around me... WHOOWHOOO :D
    Those were 3 hard miles. I see 2-3 people I know up ahead. These people usually are well ahead of me at every distance but I don't get carried away. They could be jogging around, end of season down time, or just out for a jog.
    Miles 10-12 7:00:eek:, 6:58, 7:02 :eek::eek:

Just over a mile to go and I'm wondering how to empty an already empty tank :)
    I have to point out, usually in a race of any distance, my breathing goes nuts towards the end. Not just in the final sprint, whenever I'm digging in or working hard for a time.
    This time however I'm fairly relaxed breathing wise. It all in the legs. They are dead and are useless to me in my mind. I'm pushing on in my mind but the legs are numb. I'm battling with a couple of people around me and I'm not sure if i'm bluffing or if I have something worthwhile to offer.
    Mile 13 6:42

Sprint for the line..... Oh wait....
    I hear the watch beep for 13 miles and I decide to make a move on a green shirt guy ahead. I feel like I have a good kick on my day and I vision a slick move past green guy. Green guy was supposed to be blown out of the water, and in awe of my powerful acceleration to the glorious finish.......
    But my "kick" lasted about 20 meters before I thought"Oh fook, to early), and green guy passed me again...

I was somewhere between amused,gutted and relieved at this point so kept going on behind green guy.
    Mile 13-13.2 6:23

chip time 1:30:26 (just over a minute down on last year)

Thoughts.... Delighted....
    Not often you'll hear me being delighted about being a minute down on PB, but I'm extremely thankful.
    I feel that getting around dublin is a reasonable expectation at a gentle pace.
    I feel/know that my progression is severely hindered by two factors, body condition and club involvement. And I know I need both to get maximum benefit..
    I've been saying over the last 2 years i'll sort these 2 issues but nothing has changed. The last(current) niggle issue is probably going on for a couple of months, mostly because I've said I'd lower volume and "intensity" but that did little to help tbh. Best nip these thing in the bud from now on...

Sunday 02/10/2016 6 miles @ 9:45

Out for a recovery run tonight. Thought the legs felt grand after the run yesterday, so was very surprised to see these paces tonight.
    Went out to run very easy. Usually when I do this paces would increase to 8:30/8:40 if unchecked.
    9:45, 9:38, 9:28, 9:41, 9:38, 10:05

Felt good after so that's that's main thing :)

Monday 03/10/2016 10 miles @ 8:45
    Day off work so enjoyed an extra day time run. Dropped the car to the garage for clutch replacement and went on my run from there. Lovely day, great to get it done before the wind and rain in the evening :)

Tuesday 04/10/2016 7 miles @ 7:52
    Back to work today :(
    Nice run in the evening about town. Keeping it to 8min/miles and legs felt good :)

I can almost feel/picture the walk to the RDS on Saturday afternoon, 29th Oct..... Leaves covering the footpath, touch of butterflies in the belly, and a hint of panic wondering if I've forgotten something :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Your confirmation slip, Marty. You've forgotten to print the confirmation slip. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Nice job on the half, mind that arse :D

snailsong wrote: »
    Your confirmation slip, Marty. You've forgotten to print the confirmation slip. :D

Funny how you mentioned that.... I do be a tad OTT regarding the acceptance slip... I print 3 of them, one in my wallet, one in my bag, and one in my arse pocket... Totally irrational but keeps my mind at peace :D:D
    Firedance wrote: »
    Nice job on the half, mind that arse :D
    Ha ha, I'm spending more time worrying about my arse than my
    running lately :pac::pac:

Wednesday 05/10/2016 5 miles @ 9:01
    Easy/recovery miles.... Felt a bit tight today so decided to play it safe..

Thursday 06/10/2016 Rest
    Unplanned rest day.... Things just dragged on all day and just "ran" out of time....

Friday 07/10/2016 7 miles @ 7:59
    Legs felt great after the previous 2 days easy/non running....

Saturday 08/10/2016 20 miles @ 8:03
    Pulled the long run in a day early. Decided to do this as I saw that there was cross country on sunday and I wanted to go for my first look at it, plus I'd be able to have a couple of Saturday night beers :D
    Planned on 6*8:40min/mile, 6*8:00 min/mile, 6*7:30 min/mile, 2 CD miles..
    I thought by doing this session I'd have a ballpark area for setting target for DCM.
    Every now and then I began to feel like it was tough going, but TBH, it was all in my head. Those thoughts left me as soon as I dismissed them and I would carry on with little problem, even in the latter stages. By the end of it I was fairly tired but not in a heap by any means.. Very happy with it...
    strava link

Sunday 6 miles @ 8:59
    Nice recovery run, most enjoyable...
    Made my way down to the local cross country... Was a bit disappointed to see I hadn't done my homework when I realised it was juveniles :D:D
    Still though, I stayed for the lot and actually enjoyed it.
    First time seeing cross country in person and I totally get it. The essence of racing. No watches being looked at, bit of jostling for position, good pacing/bad pacing, sprint finishes, the lot :):)
    They might have been kids but the effort put in by all was clear to see. All smiles afterwards... Have to go see grown ups some day :)

Breaking news..... Congrats to snailsong first male home in the breaffy 10k, fighting off second male by 2 seconds :D:D

Pity he got chicked by 2 women :D:D

Great running P :) :P

Breaking news..... Congrats to snailsong first male home in the breaffy 10k, fighting off second male by 2 seconds :D:D

Pity he got chicked by 2 women :D:D

Great running P :) :P

Thanks Marty.
    These are no ordinary women, these are Mayo women!
    Norah has a marathon pb of 2:48 and improving. Ann returned to racing this spring after a while away. She was first woman in the Galway half last week in 1:24. She's in the F50 category. Delighted to follow them home and just about hold off my clubmate.

Marty, have you ant interest in the Moylough 10k next weekend? North Galway championship I think. It's a super fast course and ideal for a sub 40 attempt. Might go myself and have another crack at 39.

Thanks Marty.
    These are no ordinary women, these are Mayo women!
    Norah has a marathon pb of 2:48 and improving. Ann returned to racing this spring after a while away. She was first woman in the Galway half last week in 1:24. She's in the F50 category. Delighted to follow them home and just about hold off my clubmate.

Marty, have you ant interest in the Moylough 10k next weekend? North Galway championship I think. It's a super fast course and ideal for a sub 40 attempt. Might go myself and have another crack at 39.

Some woman alright.. I read a piece on her recently enough, probably after the galway bay run...

Super fast and me don't usually together 😠But ya never know... I'll see what my schedule is and might pop up 😊

Monday 10/10/2016 7 miles @ 7:57
    Felt grand after yesterdays recovery...

Tuesday 11/10/2016 Rest
    (Planned)

Wednesday 12/10/2016 5 miles @ 8:47
    Planned for more of an easy run, but the legs/body said recovery..... Strangest feeling ever. In general, feel great, head out for run and feel sh1te.... Grand at recovery pace but no will/energy/enthusiasm for anything else....

Thursday 13/10/2016 Rest
    Unplanned rest day. Family stuff...

Friday 14/10/2016 3 miles @ 6:16 (Croi 5k)
    Sister entered me in this and in the end was glad as I wouldn't be available for the moylough 10k snailsong was on about... Just as well maybe :D

Got down a bit late but wasn't to bad as I had a jog warm up to the start area :) Bit if panic when I seen marshals ushering people down alongside the railing to the back. A quick gaze over the start area suggested that I should be right up there, no great amount of familiar speedsters about, just a few faces a kinda recognise.
    Bit the bullet and ran down through the marshals as if I didn't know better and settled in grand..
    Chatting at start area suggested the field wasn't to stacked with quality(myself included), just a few who I would consider "well ahead" of me at the moment.
    Bombed out at the start in about top 10. Pace was a shock to the system got got into it handy enough. Few hundred meters up the road and I did my usual pace check...
    NO GOOD :D:D I can't see the reading even with the backlight!!! Onwards!!!
    I know I'm doing "good" pace initally, charge out of the line, clear road,bit of tail win(small bit), and settle in.
    Surprised to see 5:58 first mile. Small bit of wind behind me but still a tad fast for my liking.
    At around 1.5 miles, we turn at blackrock for a return on the path. Coming up to the turn i'm puffing a bit, nothing major, just seem to be working a bit harder as on my own since about 700meters out :rolleyes:
    Second mile 6:15...

Continuing back into the breeze and I know I'm flagging a little.. Temporarily I try a few things, pumping the arms/concentrating on stride/form but the will and energy are starting to wilt.
    Trying to get on pace with nobody around is damn hard. Struggle away and slowly try to reel in a lad up ahead.. Gradually get close t5o him but running out of road :(
    Third mile 6:37
    Bit extra 6:12

Didn't catch him but wasn't to pushed :D:D
    Like 19:46 gun time is decent from where I am now, but could also be a lot better.... A lot of pudge on me now :)
    Glad I didn't make it for the 10k today :)

3 miles @ 9:40 cd

Saturday 15/10/2016 5 miles @ 9:01
    Felt good today, but as the day wore on, I felt a twinge (hip), hot bad but decided to take cautious approach.,.. #Grand by the end of it :)

Not a bad 5 at all, esp as you went off a bit quick. Pity you're not at Moylough today, see you in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Not a bad 5 at all, esp as you went off a bit quick. Pity you're not at Moylough today, see you in Dublin.

He knew you'd be putting him in your pocket if he turned up, bit like Mayo & Galway in the football the past 10 years or so........

tang1 wrote: »

He knew you'd be putting him in your pocket if he turned up, bit like Mayo & Galway in the football the past 10 years or so........

In fairness, they have the Nestor cup. They can take comfort in that.

Best of luck later.

Thanks, B. Sub 39 or bust. Most likely the latter.

Oi, cheeky fookers!!!!
    We still got silverware ☺
    If I took it a bit handier going out I might have shaved a few seconds of the time but not much I'd say.
    It was a good workout for me at least. Ballinrobe 5k was probably the last time I raced a 5k so happy enough.
    The 10k would probably have killed me alright!!
    Secretly glad I'm not doing the 10k though, should still get some kind of long run in this evening..

Best of luck P, give it welly... Don't come up short like the rest of the mayo lads ☺

I did make the point that ye got more silverware than us. Don't get too fond of the Nestor cup, it's only on loan.

Ran 38:55 in Moylough. Splits 19:55/ 19:00. Love this course, everyone gets a pb.

I did make the point that ye got more silverware than us. Don't get too fond of the Nestor cup, it's only on loan.

Ran 38:55 in Moylough. Splits 19:55/ 19:00. Love this course, everyone gets a pb.

Great stuff P, very well done. Nice negative split.

tang1 wrote: »
    Great stuff P, very well done. Nice negative split.

+1! Well done to ye both :)

No run since Saturday....Sick....
    Cold, achey, chesty, feeling totally drained. ...
    Urgggg. ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Urgggg. ..

Oh I know that feeling, snap. Hope you're feeling better soon

Urgggg. ..

Oh noooooooo! Stay indoors and wrapped up - a few hot whiskeys might help too :D

Sunday 23/10/2016 10 miles @ 8:32

First run in about a week. Felt tough going in patches.
    I'm still not 100%, the chest isn't to bad, but would really need need a huge amount of kleenex on any run.
    The run wasn't to bad in general, just a bit of a grind at times. The calf tightened up a couple of hours after the run, but not in an injury kinda way. I'm sure it will be fine in the morning...

So with all that, my thoughts are on DCM. With everything going on niggle/injury wise, I was happy with the aim of just going around easy pace. Then I start to feel good and slowly start to think about going around sub 3:20 like last year.
    Then this sickness starts and I'm like WTF...
    So as of now I'm between going around easy, or giving it a miss altogether.
    I really want to go around, so if I feel I can do that without it being a slogfest, I'll do it.
    It will probably be a decision I'll make at the end of the week anyway, but for now it's 50/50....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Well Martyboy , how are you getting on?
    Have you fully recovered? are you running Sunday??

Best of luck Sunday Marty, knowing the stubborn, tough SOB you are everything will fall into place, run well.

Still on the mend but think I've made enough improvements to line out. Just did another couple of short easy runs with the main aim to get to the start line. Staleness could be an issue along with all my other issues :D:D
    Minding myself tonight and tomorrow.
    Packing my bag and trying to come up with a sensible strategy for Sunday....
    Nothing to sensible coming to mind.... All I'm getting in my head is
    "YOLO M*********ER) :D:D

The Blue Donadea top will be the top of choice, most likely hop on the 3:20 bus and see will it carry me to my destination...

Hope to see ye all on the other side :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,765 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Good luck Marty!