Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Running Chaos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

snailsong wrote: »
    As I said before, when Galway takes on Mayo there can be only one outcome....

Those official splits are gun times not chip. The clock was indeed 1:30:01 as you hit the mat. I think I was robbed of 6 seconds and since we started together I'll award you 1:29:55 :-).
    Very good for running solo into that wind.

Did yourself and tang come up for the tea afterwards? I thought I might see yourselves and a few other Boardsies there but maybe I missed ye while I wad getting the rub down.

I'm not commenting on Galway V Mayo, Obviously Dublin are the best of the lot :D

We all came back for tea afterwards but I think you lucked out with the massage, the Q was too long and we left! Dammit, see you in 5 weeks though...

Well done again Marty, if that's a gun time then you do have a sub 1:30, click into your name and it gives you your chip time!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Looks like sub 1:30 :eek: Bloody good going on that course in them conditions. Well done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Great run Marty! Well done and recover well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Great going Marty, you ran the smart race. Thanks for the shout out when I was hobbling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

As I said before, when Galway takes on Mayo there can be only one outcome....

Those official splits are gun times not chip. The clock was indeed 1:30:01 as you hit the mat. I think I was robbed of 6 seconds and since we started together I'll award you 1:29:55 :-).
    Very good for running solo into that wind.

Did yourself and tang come up for the tea afterwards? I thought I might see yourselves and a few other Boardsies there but maybe I missed ye while I wad getting the rub down.
    Actually yes, I see the 1:29:55 now that I click on it :) Anywhere around the 1:30 and I would have been happy though, so all good.
    No, I waited around the finish area for over 30 mins before the cold got to me... Close to hypothermia I was :)
    Firedance wrote: »
    I'm not commenting on Galway V Mayo, Obviously Dublin are the best of the lot :D
    LOL :D
    We all came back for tea afterwards but I think you lucked out with the massage, the Q was too long and we left! Dammit, see you in 5 weeks though...

Well done again Marty, if that's a gun time then you do have a sub 1:30, click into your name and it gives you your chip time!!

Thanks for that, yes, I see a 1:29:55 :)
    Neady83 wrote: »
    Looks like sub 1:30 :eek: Bloody good going on that course in them conditions. Well done
    Why thank you :) Conditions may not have been the best, but certainly not the worst for it, couldn't complain to much :)

What's next on your agenda again??
    Ososlo wrote: »
    Great run Marty! Well done and recover well!
    Aww thanks A, I'll be getting in contact with you over the next week about a few things... Shhhhh...... :D
    tang1 wrote: »
    Great going Marty, you ran the smart race. Thanks for the shout out when I was hobbling.

Not much of a shout, I saw you pull to the side a bit after the 8 mile mark and said to myself "oh fcuk"...... You were very recognisable in your attire :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Not much of a shout, I saw you pull to the side a bit after the 8 mile mark and said to myself "oh fcuk"...... You were very recognisable in your attire :D

I was hoping the attire got me concessions as it would normally do, but I've copped on that it doesn't work in the running world though. Free toll up and down though(me hole!!!!)

By the way Marty, they forgot to scrape the cow shyte from the road....of which there was a lot!!! My poor runners will never be the same :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

tang1 wrote: »
    I was hoping the attire got me concessions as it would normally do, but I've copped on that it doesn't work in the running world though. Free toll up and down though(me hole!!!!)

For some of us though, it was very reassuring to know that we can still outrun the cops! :-).

Why thank you :) Conditions may not have been the best, but certainly not the worst for it, couldn't complain to much :)

What's next on your agenda again??

A goal, ITERA 5 day non-stop adventure race in August. We've a few 12 and 24 hours adventure races lined up to get us to August.

Running wise, the Eamon Moloney 10km in Ennis and the Kilnaboy 10mile in good ol Clare. I'm hoping to have a good crack at Kilnaboy. I'm going to miss Craughwell this year because I've a kayaking course to do.

Will you do Craughwell? or the race series?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

Well done on the sub 1:30 marty, great running.

A goal, ITERA 5 day non-stop adventure race in August. We've a few 12 and 24 hours adventure races lined up to get us to August.

Running wise, the Eamon Moloney 10km in Ennis and the Kilnaboy 10mile in good ol Clare. I'm hoping to have a good crack at Kilnaboy. I'm going to miss Craughwell this year because I've a kayaking course to do.

Will you do Craughwell? or the race series?

"A goal, ITERA 5 day non-stop adventure race in August. We've a few 12 and 24 hours adventure races lined up to get us to August."
    I know a good doctor you need to talk to 😀 Mad woman. Some serious training needed those I'd say, I must keep a closer eye on your log ☺

I won't be doing craughwell, just the tailend of training and then minding myself for rotterdam. Will enter the 5k series alright, great value and well run. Will you enter yourself?? I think either bulmers74 here or career move on your side did that killinaboy run last year. Might be worth looking back for info on course if it's your first time running it ☺

Saturday 05/03/2016 13 miles @ 6:49 (Kinvara Half)

Sunday 06/03/2016 5 miles @ 8:23

Saturdays kinvara half was a run I was looking forward to as usual. Really like this race, done it the last few years.
    In short, I felt I was........

Edit.... Report lost to the damn internet forever......
    It wasn't great anyway :)....
    Summary.....
    Issue with pacers initially so sent along with 3 lads, they fell off at end of mile 5, splits 6:48,6:40,6:52,6:50,6:46. Mile 6+7 on my own, tough going head/side wind, no craic :)Splits 6:58,6:50
    Turn right at start of mile 8 looking for reprieve but greeted with a little drag of a hill, still alone. The odd soul ahead gave me something to work with, not much, but something.. Drifting off pace again but nobody passing me, and on a slight positive, I pass a few, not many, but I take out some targets :) Splits mile 8,9,10.... 7:04,6:58,7:04

Brain is fried at this stage and I'm just keeping it going. I feel a reprieve from the wind, and into a gently downhill and In say to myself to "have a go".... A go at what, I don't know, but a bit of fight creeps into me, or maybe just a little flame is lit.
    I knuckle down with a renewed hunger and drive. I'm not sure where I am really time wise, but I want to "have a go" kinda ending. As I go on the markers turn to kms from the 10k race, and my baby brain at this stage can kinda calculate something like 4min/kms target at some stage in the final 2-3 miles...
    Concerted effort of body and mind, and I feel a bit of a pace increase. Really tough going, but the progress and the feeling of an "end in sight" attitude, keeps the demons at bay. I'm going well pace wise at this section, but i'm well and truly in the red zone. Mile 11,12,13 splits 6:37,6:48,6:39

The final .2 miles (Split 5:25).... So short a distance, but make or break of many a goal. To be honest, at this stage I haven't a clue if I'm on for 1:29 or 1:32, and I have absolutely no thoughts of time.
    I'm going as fast as I possibly can and I don't care how ugly it looks. Coming down towards the final right hander and some woman shouts" 12 seconds to go, 12 seconds to go"...
    I knew she meant 12 seconds to the 1:30 mark but I had no perception as to how far I had to run.
    Upon hearing that, CLICK.... I found that lost gear I had been missing the last while. Over the last few races, I missed the fight in me. I missed it more than the PB's to be honest, and for me it's the best part about racing. Ran like Mo(in my mind) for the last few meters, but delighted to dip under the 1:30 by 5 seconds :D:D

Not to interested in the time(40 secs of PB), but delighted I hit a decent target, delighted I didn't get injured(thoughts are with you buddy), but most importantly to me, delighted I found my "Mo gear" again :D:D

You finished like a train Marty. Looking at the splits, I took 11 seconds from the last spotter mat to the line. You took 8.

Half the battle is in the head, well done.

fantastic result Marty Mo :D

Monday 07/03/2016 7 miles @ 8:18

Tuesday 08/03/2016 5 miles @ 8:46

Took it a tad easier today as the legs were a bit tight.
    Nice little skip around the neighbourhood.

Lots of summer races popping up on the calender that's catching my eye. Like a kid in a sweetshop I am :D

Monivea half? Ballina half?

I don't think I'll sign up for the race series, I did last year and only did two of them because other things came up and I need to focus on the longer stuff for the summer. Don't forget, Friday evening at 8:00 ;)

Monivea half? Ballina half?

I don't think I'll sign up for the race series, I did last year and only did two of them because other things came up and I need to focus on the longer stuff for the summer. Don't forget, Friday evening at 8:00 ;)

I see the Monivea half is now the Athenry ac half ☺☺ I'll give that a go again, enjoyed it last year. I'll do 5k series too, I enjoy the pain of doing my annual stint of 5ks 😀

Ya, I can see your priority is with the longer stuff, with the stuff you are planning I'll forgive ya for not doing the 5''s ðŸ˜

Ever think of venturing North, Marty?
    Streets of Castlebar 5k this Sunday?
    Kilmovee 10k on Easter Saturday?
    River Moy half in May?

Post Rotterdam I'm hoping to try a 50 miler on the Western Way, Maam bridge to Westport.
    It's on July 2nd and I'm on the look out for a buddy to do it with. Come on, you know you want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Well done. Nice report :D

Ever think of venturing North, Marty?
    Streets of Castlebar 5k this Sunday?
    Kilmovee 10k on Easter Saturday?
    River Moy half in May?

Post Rotterdam I'm hoping to try a 50 miler on the Western Way, Maam bridge to Westport.
    It's on July 2nd and I'm on the look out for a buddy to do it with. Come on, you know you want to.

Never really thought of heading up your way for a run, but will give it more consideration now that you mention it. Most of my races to date have been Galway based with the odd run the other side of the country.
    I really should look into Mayo/Clare/Limerick events too I suppose :)
    Strangely (scarily) enough, when I first read about your 50miler offer, straight away in my head I was thinking ok, sounds good :D:D Then I thought a bit more about it. At nearly €100 notes is it? , and having to register at about 5am, and possibly having to sacrifice a few shorter races around that time, It all kinda puts me off the idea.
    Funny after Conn last year I said to myself that's it and now some longer races are tickling my fancy a bit :)
    All the best with it if you go ahead anyway, would you have any time/pace in mind for it??
    Well done. Nice report :D

Why thank you stranger :D Nice run today, but keep an eye on the niggle in the hip. (Not in a lecturing kinda way :) )

Wednesday 09/03/2016 Rest

Thursday 10/03/2016 10 miles @ 7:15

Took a rest/lazy day on Wednesday. Planning to be running for next few days so not to pushed about taking it off.

Got out early today for 10 miles. Initially was going to go at 8min miles but when the first mile came in a bit faster I said I'd try and keep it going. Had to keep a bit of focus on the run and non of my usual daydreaming, but found it grand in general.

Firstly, the Kilmovee 10k is an excellent event. well attended and a fast course, but for a biatch of a hill at 9k. Kilmovee is close to Knock Airport, if you're wondering, so itd be straight up the n17 for you. Its 2 weeks out from Rotterdam, when I normally do a 10k so ideal for me. Would recommend.
    Also its time you allowed me home advantage.

I did that 50 mile route in January last year, with about 12 friends, for the craic. It was kind of a recce for this race, the lads organising the recce passed on it but someone else has taken up the idea. Its a lovely route, mostly off road and about 1600 metres of climbing. When we did it we took 12 hours, 11 of that actually moving, We went at the pace of the slowest person, I was probably second slowest. For the race I reckon 10 hours is a reasonable target.
    100 uid is a bit steep alright but maybe thats what it costs, numbers will be small. You'd have to spend a night in Westport I suppose, theres worse places to be. If youre coming I'll find you somewhere.

Also, I should add...
    2 years ago i was training for Limerick and, Easter being late that year, Kilmovee was exactly 2 weeks earlier. I ran 39:40 or so, my second ever sub 40.
    Just sayin.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Congrats on the 304th in the world rankings :)

Strangely (scarily) enough, when I first read about your 50miler offer, straight away in my head I was thinking ok, sounds good :D:D - now some longer races are tickling my fancy a bit :)
    I did that 50 mile route in January last year, with about 12 friends, for the craic

Who am I going to Rotterdam with :D:D #crazypeople!

You'll fit right in so ðŸ˜ðŸ˜

You can come too, Fd.
    Embrace the crazy.

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    Congrats on the 304th in the world rankings :)

I nearly bit.... About 3 hours I was going around trying to figure out what you were on about when I finally stumbled on it 😀😀

If I had known there'd be rankings I'd have put the foot down ☺

You can come too, Fd.
    Embrace the crazy.

This is what I'm worried about #easilyinfluenced :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

I nearly bit.... About 3 hours I was going around trying to figure out what you were on about when I finally stumbled on it 😀😀

If I had known there'd be rankings I'd have put the foot down ☺

You would've been higher if you were age graded!