Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Well you could always go M3 but a 328 would be less money and less hardship.

I'd be going jap for my track cars :p
    (runs for cover)

I'd just like a nice 325 on the road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Yea low is fine just as long as it's somewhat practical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

YbFocus wrote: »
    (runs for cover)

Same here. love a nice clean mtech E36 touring. Wouldn't be going near a track though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

(runs for cover)

I can see that, for multiple reasons.

We were talking about E36's though. ;)

I can see that, for multiple reasons.

We were talking about E36's though. ;)

I'd prefer an E30 touring but they're pricey. Someday maybe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Dartz

I love the wheels and the lowering, but for me personally its a bit too low.
    You have to be able to live with it :)

I had absolutely ground scraping cars when I was younger, yes I was one of them :) Had a Focus I literally fired money at :o

The RX has grounded once or twice - and it's on the suspension it left the factory with. It felt hideously expensive each and every time with visions of gearbox oil pouring out after each hit... or worse.

I've also stopped trying to 'middle' those half-ramps. You know the yokes that're litterally just a hump in the middle of the lane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Dartz wrote: »
    The RX has grounded once or twice - and it's on the suspension it left the factory with. It felt hideously expensive each and every time.

I've also stopped trying to 'middle' those half-ramps. You know the yokes that're litterally just a hump in the middle of the lane.

I've seen young lads around my way get beached on them, it's hilarious

Hairdressers stuck on speedbumps all across the country :p

Interslice wrote: »
    I'd prefer an E30 touring but they're pricey. Someday maybe...

First BMW I drove was an E30 318 M-Sport Touring in charcoal grey. I've been driving Bimmers ever since.

Actually that's a lie. I drove an E21 coupe once when I was about 17.

Apart from yokes I bought to flip I've owned two E30's; an E36; two E39's and an E38.

First BMW I drove was an E30 318 M-Sport Touring in charcoal grey. I've been driving Bimmers ever since.

Actually that's a lie. I drove an E21 coupe once when I was about 17.

Apart from yokes I bought to flip I've owned two E30's; an E36; two E39's and an E38.

Only ever driven a friends 318 E36 :P. Not mad into bimmers but would like to see what the fuss is about:pac:. They do nice looking estates which isn't easy. Even like the newer 5 series E60 and F10 tourings and I'm not pushed on anything they done after about 1998 at all really. Something just seems right about a RWD estate.

There's loads of different cars out there and each to their own. Personally Bimmers have always done it for me apart from the '65.

I've seen young lads around my way get beached on them, it's hilarious

I too have seen that...

It never stops being funny.

Actually, call me mad, but I'd like some softer suspension on my car to make it a real GT cruiser.

It has the interior for it, and the engine's butter smooth, but the sports suspension is really not well suited to Irish roads at times. It picks up every vibration.

And it'd match how I actually use it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I too have seen that...

Actually, call me mad, but I'd like some softer suspension on my car to make it a real GT cruiser.

It has the interior for it, and the engine's butter smooth, but the sports suspension is really not well suited to Irish roads at times. It picks up every vibration.

It really is, I thought id be nice to one fella and tow him off one, the scraping sounds were unholy :pac:

Suspension on the saab is stupidly soft, I want to lower it 35mm though

I too have seen that...

RX8 always struck me as a weekend car to take for a rip. Never understood why it's full off leather and fancy electronics.

It's both, really. Schroedingers sports car. It's a proper GT. And probably the cheapest Grand Tourer you can buy. It's a great car to just cruise long distances in in comfort.

And it'll rip it up when you get there. But it prefers good smooth roads. On a good quality road, you litterally don't feel any vibration at all. It's an eerie feeling.

The only thing it's bad at is communiting. It'll tolerate it, but you're guzzling fuel at low speeds and it's clearly out of its element.

I dunno. It feels special when you sit inside it, far more premium than what I actually paid for it. Anybody who's sat in it has found it a really nice place to be. I meant to take it to Cars and Coffee today, but I overslept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Off topic but a bit of a funny story here

Friend of mine, header that he is, was on the train.

Has portable wifi on his phone (think that's what it is, not sure how it works exactly)

He sets his name the exact same as Irish rails wifi, and removes the password.

Que roughly 30 people connecting to his wifi, thinking it was Irish Rails.

Oh the laughs we had switching on and off the wifi every so often, and watch people around us getting annoyed with "Irish Rails wifi"

Immature, I know, but it was mad funny. :D

Moral of the story, never use the train :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I either call mine The Wu-Tang Lan or FBI Surveillance Van 3 :pac:

Wasn't there something in the news last week, whereby the gardai were "spying" on someones house, and the people in the house picked up their wifi "Garda detective unit" or whatever it was called :pac: giving the game away....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

Moral of the story should be never use public transport full stop.

^ That happened me many times in my hay day... only for there to be a red light about 5 meters past the bus stop and it's guaranteed to be always red :o :pac:

Wasn't there something in the news last week, whereby the gardai were "spying" on someones house, and the people in the house picked up their wifi "Garda detective unit" or whatever it was called :pac: giving the game away....

Flowers
    By
    Irene

Flowers
    By
    Irene

2udxteg.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

My neighbours is 2 girls,1 router!

Off topic but a bit of a funny story here

Friend of mine, header that he is, was on the train.

Has portable wifi on his phone (think that's what it is, not sure how it works exactly)

He sets his name the exact same as Irish rails wifi, and removes the password.

Que roughly 30 people connecting to his wifi, thinking it was Irish Rails.

Oh the laughs we had switching on and off the wifi every so often, and watch people around us getting annoyed with "Irish Rails wifi"

Immature, I know, but it was mad funny. :D

Moral of the story, never use the train :pac:

****, I was sitting on a train with "Al, Qaeda Ireland" as myphone's SSID. Password was 'Detonate'

Would a chat thread in projects and builds be a good idea? Just for general stuff like whats a good rust remover. Where can you get such and such. Just crossed my mind there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Moral of the story should be never use public transport full stop.

i agree :pac:

Would a chat thread in projects and builds be a good idea? Just for general stuff like whats a good rust remover. Where can you get such and such. Just crossed my mind there.

Every subsection should have a chat thread tbh, keeps things tidy

****, I was sitting on a train with "Al, Qaeda Ireland" as myphone's SSID. Password was 'Detonate'

Friends of mine shared a house a few years back. I lived there for a few weeks but wasn't around when this happened. Neighbors WiFi was called Starburst. One of the lads took a shot at guessing the password. Turned out to be Opal Fruit.

OpalFruitsREX_468x281.jpg