Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Because you chose to own 4/5 cars :pac:

So I am penalized?
    Just doing my bit to support the economy by paying so much tax I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

So I am penalized?
    Just doing my bit to support the economy by paying so much tax I guess.

Yep, that's the way the country is ran, penalize those with more than one car and with larger engines :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

It's just a money making racket tbh.

No it's not, we need the NCT to check people's cars and make sure they are of road legal quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Not bad for 70,000 whistle powered miles to be fair. German reliability and build quality IMO! :cool:

It lasted some lenght in fairness! Hopefully the next one lasts as long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,060 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Insurance>>Tax>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>NCT imo

I can't drive my car, my tax is broken!

Insurance>>Nct>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Tax imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

No it's not, we need the NCT to check people's cars and make sure they are of road legal quality.

Sure it drives grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Nct Nct Nct..... speaking of the Nct, I must book mine this week. Not due until the end of January but I'll have it booked anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Money making racket, can't get a date, new rules are BS etc etc. Little do they know that it can pretty much be done at any stage now.

My advice would be as soon as you pass the NCT book your next one, that will guarantee a date when its due.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Insurance/Nct doesn't put bread on a guards table.

Gardai look first for tax then insurance.

The only one I would have voluntarily is insurance. Actually if it were not mandatory I probably wouldnt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Gardai look first for tax then insurance.

The only one I would have voluntarily is insurance. Actually if it were not mandatory I probably wouldnt.

Hmmmm. Not having third party insurance means a driver is a scumbag with no morals IMO. But I can imagine there are plenty who wouldn't bother unless it was mandatory, there's enough of them as it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Tax is easy money for the state. Insurance keeps me from getting broke if I hit something. NCT? Money making racket mostly. They failed the C5 on the indicators not being orange enough. They were pretty orange and looked exactly like indicators. Seriously?

The Jimny isn't long out. I'm not in a huge rush to get it done.

Hmmmm. Not having third party insurance means a driver is a scumbag with no morals IMO. But I can imagine there are plenty who wouldn't bother unless it was mandatory, there's enough of them as it is!
    Even if it were not mandatory - like it is not in several 1st world countries at present?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Even if it were not mandatory - like it is not in several 1st world countries at present?

Yes - I can't by myself pay for the type of care someone would need (and deserve) if by some tragic mishap they ended up in a wheelchair or something.

Give an example, I was under the impression that basic 3rd party was covered by reg fees or whatever in different countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

The NCT needs to have shorter waiting lists. 12 weeks is daft. I can book a CVRT for tomorrow if I tried hard enough. Don't give me the rubbish of saying you can book it three months in advance, my work roster doesn't even extend that far ahead. It shouldn't be a case that you book it three months in advance.

It needs to be more transparent. Removing silly fail items would go a long way to removing the "the money making racket" idea that people have. (see below)

It needs to have these daft fail items (such as the orange indicators) made a fail advisory at the very least. Every time I go to the NCT, I expect to fail on some nitpicking item; the Defender failed years ago on a wonky door hinge, anyone who's had one, knows that they all have slightly wonky hinges. I went home and cut a washer in two, hammered it into the gap and sent it back in. Admittedly it was free to retest but still the inconveniences of wasting a morning off and wasting diesel. Did the wonky door hinge affect it when it was shut? No. No safety impact.

Make the actual issues that affect the safety of the car and only those fail items.

OSI wrote: »
    But which of those countries doesn't provide a state mandated public insurance fund?
    Good point.
    We already take too much in government contributions per litre of fuel so I can't see people being happy with another add on.

Yes - I can't by myself pay for the type of care someone would need (and deserve) if by some tragic mishap they ended up in a wheelchair or something. .
    Well if that happens it will be as a result of something they do themselves.
    I drive correctly and if someone crashes into me well that's their fault not mine.
    Give an example, I was under the impression that basic 3rd party was covered by reg fees or whatever in different countries.

As above, didnt think of that.
    Is liability insurance mandatory in all 50 US states? I don't think so and I don't think they collect insurance at the pump/reg fees there either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

My mother was asking me about the nct the other day as the octavia will be four years old next year well not till next December. She's never actually done an nct as her cars were never old enough.I think they are on about hiring more staff to clear the backlog. Although even now if you wanted an appointment if you rang for a cancelation you'd get one handy enough. As someone mentioned above cvrt tests are a lot easier to get an appointment for but they are over double the cost and every year which I think they should be more mileage based as well as considering age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

New wheel bearing - really didn't think it was as noisy as it was. Sanity is restored.

Bpmull wrote: »
    My mother was asking me about the nct the other day as the octavia will be four years old next year well not till next December. She's never actually done an nct as her cars were never old enough.I think they are on about hiring more staff to clear the backlog. Although even now if you wanted an appointment if you rang for a cancelation you'd get one handy enough. As someone mentioned above cvrt tests are a lot easier to get an appointment for but they are over double the cost and every year which I think they should be more mileage based as well as considering age.

Jaysus there's a lot of dropoff they'd want to be hiring more staff like :) sure last year there wasnt the same backlog I had to bring my 535d in I think in November and there was a 2 week waiting list and that was only because I wanted a weekend day to suit work but it was even easier to get an appointment for my superb (its first NCT like your shhhkoooda bretheren! :cool:) I got one within I think 1 week like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Jaysus there's a lot of dropoff they'd want to be hiring more staff like :) sure last year there wasnt the same backlog I had to bring my 535d in I think in November and there was a 2 week waiting list and that was only because I wanted a weekend day to suit work but it was even easier to get an appointment for my superb (its first NCT like your shhhkoooda bretheren! :cool:) I got one within I think 1 week like.

Although if you do look at the amount of cars being tested every year it dramatically increasing as logically if there's not as many new cars being bought and older ones that need a test every year are being kept on the road then that equates to a lot more tests. So I think they need to be building new test centres at this stage you can't just keep increasing the number of cars been tested every year and not increase the amount of centres and staff.

Blonde question here, but it's been a while since I've been on this motorway. The M18 between Gort and Limerick, and continuing on out the M20 I think it it (towards Adare), is it just the one toll on it, or was there another added? And is it barrier free?

The Limerick tunnel is the only toll barrier (€1.90 I think) if you decide to use it which I recommend you should if you're travelling the adare direction (not far from me). Be prepared for a traffic jam in adare if you're passing during the day.

Right gotcha, seems straight forward of a run, only going as far as Adare itself, wedding time :D

Adare weddings can be the cause of those traffic jams! :P What hotel is it? If its the woodlands you won't actually have to go into the village

Adare weddings can be the cause of those traffic jams!  What hotel is it? If its the woodlands you won't actually have to go into the village

Not sure actually I know it's the Ardee Manor one anyway. It's not until next June, so I've plenty of time to find out!

Ooooh very posh indeed! JP McManus bought it recently.

Woops, mean't to say it's not that one :P We're not that posh :D

Either the woodlands or the dunraven arms so. Still very nice spots