Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Way to go Sinn Fein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

The begrudger's will just have to take their beating and move on. Or else stay in the station and talk about the past. These elections have shown up one thing the electorate have stopped listening to bull$hit. SF are on the rise for years, only fools listen to black propaganda.

This kind of scutter that the shinners are coming out reminds me of this:

Fianna Fail won the election yesterday. When you take FF, and FG and assorted centre right independents seats from yesterday, its clear that the majority of the country are still centre-right. That is under the worst possible conditions. As conditions improve, the protest vote will move back to the traditional parties and SF can continue to shout on the sidelines with the other scruffy independents up the back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

As conditions improve
    Nice crystal ball. Did you buy it at the party office souvenir shop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

jank wrote: »
    Well this overlooks the fact that we may not have had the war we did if it were not for Sinn Fein's murderous campaign. John Hume is the real hero of the north in my opinion.

What muderous campaign have Sinn Fein ever embarked upon ?
    Id like some evidence to prove your bitter but clueless point too thanks:rolleyes:

It's why the Shinners got 10% of the first pref vote in the last GE, but only 8% of the seats - and it's not going to change in the future;)

How's the 23% holding up btw?:pac::pac:
    Is that tea leaves or tarot cards you use to tell the future?
    Best SF election results ever, by some margin. Run out of Kleenex yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

This kind of scutter that the shinners are coming out reminds me of this:

Fianna Fail won the election yesterday. When you take FF, and FG and assorted centre right independents seats from yesterday, its clear that the majority of the country are still centre-right. That is under the worst possible conditions. As conditions improve, the protest vote will move back to the traditional parties and SF can continue to shout on the sidelines with the other scruffy independents up the back.

Do you mean those 'scruffy' independents who exposed the dodgy doings in the AGS which the suited and booted government tried to hush up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DubVelo

It'll take a pretty fair wind for conditions to improve. It certainly won't be as a result of policy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 56 ✭✭timtime

great to see the only Irish party in the election.doin well, fair play SF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    The important questions are:

How many councils now have an SF platform which can be built upon?

Depends if SF wants to get in bed with FF or FG even if they do in independents hold more power than SF.

Just some examples.

Carlow County Council

Government parties hold 8 seats, FF hold 5 seats and SF hold 3 seats. Even if FF and SF hop into bed together, it's the two independents seats that will sway the balance of power.

Cavan County Council

FG has 7, FF has 7, SF has 4. SF holds the balance of power, but there is a chance that FG and FF will join, smothering SF.

Even in LC with SF friendly parties such as the AAA and Workers party, the right still have more members.
    How many councils have SF as the main opposition party?

Not going to be know until after the election but

2nd biggest party (number of seats)

FF in 3.333 local councils

FG in 7.666 local councils

Ind in 6.666 local councils

SF in 1.333 local councils
    How many councils have other left wing councillors who may be able to make common cause with SF?

4 (6) The number in brackets include local councils where there is a SF friendly party but the combined numbers are just too low to make any difference.

Jester252 wrote: »
    Depends if SF wants to get in bed with FF or FG even if they do in independents hold more power than SF.
    Senseless. "Independents" aren't a party.

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    Senseless. "Independents" aren't a party.

True but the guy without a party holds more power in the future make up of local councils than the guy in SF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

timtime wrote: »
    great to see the only Irish party in the election.doin well, fair play SF

Nope.

Too easy.

True but the guy without a party holds more power in the future make up of local councils than the guy in SF.
    You are still pretending "independents" is a party who will always vote in unison.
    By their definition (and yes, I know a few are really FF or FG in sheep's clothing) cannot be relied on to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

TheJournal.ie ‏@thejournal_ie 43s
    BREAKING: Labour Party to release statement at 4pm at Iveagh House as speculation mounts that Eamon Gilmore will resign

Independent.ie ‏@Independent_ie 3m
    Eamon Gilmore to resign at 4pm. More to follow. #Labour

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    You are still pretending "independents" is a party who will always vote in unison.
    By their definition (and yes, I know a few are really FF or FG in sheep's clothing) cannot be relied on to do so.

How am I still pretending? When did I even pretend?

All you doing is point out why independents are more influence than SF regardless of numbers. They can sway, that is why the get a boost for political power.

Nothing is stopping the independent from joining together to have an independent majority, however unlikely.

Thus support my argument for SF being the 4th biggest political power in the country.

There is nothing more foolish than underestimating the power than an independent has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

I'm glad they've managed to shake off that whole unseemly incident where their party leader was arrested for ordering the murder of a woman and the disappearance of her body.

I'm glad that's all been cleared up. That's it now. Plain sailing for Sinn Fein from here on in. No more akwardness about dead people.

They obviously have feck all evidence despite them claiming it was a real arrest with new evidence and not a politically motivated arrest.

You can bet you ass they would love to lock him up for a few years so why didnt they?;)

Because their "evidence" is all biased heresay and thankfully we dont have Bermingham-6 incarriages of justice happening anymore or internment:o

Just some examples.

Carlow County Council

Government parties hold 8 seats, FF hold 5 seats and SF hold 3 seats. Even if FF and SF hop into bed together, it's the two independents seats that will sway the balance of power.

Cavan County Council

FG has 7, FF has 7, SF has 4. SF holds the balance of power, but there is a chance that FG and FF will join, smothering SF.

Even in LC with SF friendly parties such as the AAA and Workers party, the right still have more members.

Not going to be know until after the election but

2nd biggest party (number of seats)

FF in 3.333 local councils

FG in 7.666 local councils

Ind in 6.666 local councils

SF in 1.333 local councils

4 (6) The number in brackets include local councils where there is a SF friendly party but the combined numbers are just too low to make any difference.

Away with all your 'facts' and 'figures'.

You can use facts and figures to prove anything.

Don't you understand?
    Sinn Fein have won a glorious victory and the last thing this thread needs is someone posting up the truth.

Gerry for Taoiseach!
    Martin for President!
    and Mary Lou to head up the Department of Bondholder-burning!

Forward comrades.
    Forward to a brighter new dawn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Away with all (......)new dawn.

You seem to be getting a bit worked up there, oul flower.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

BREAKING: Labour Party to release statement at 4pm at Iveagh House as speculation mounts that Eamon Gilmore will resign

Labour might very well walk away.

Wait and see......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 56 ✭✭timtime

Nope.

Too easy.
    sorry i forgot, Eirigi too

Away with all your 'facts' and 'figures'.

You can use facts and figures to prove anything.

Don't you understand?
    Sinn Fein have won a glorious victory and the last thing this thread needs is someone posting up the truth.

Gerry for Taoiseach!
    Martin for President!
    and Mary Lou to head up the Department of Bondholder-burning!

Forward comrades.
    Forward to a brighter new dawn.

Do you actually have anything of worth to contribute beyond shouting 'Jean McConville' and playground type jeers?

I don't mind either way but if you haven't I'd like to know so I can skip over your posts.

Labour might very well walk away.

Wait and see......

They're itchin to go back to the polls I'd imagine:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Do you actually have anything of worth to contribute beyond shouting 'Jean McConville' and playground type jeers?

I don't mind either way but if you haven't I'd like to know so I can skip over your posts.

With his (continued) posting style, he wont be around much longer. "It's a statistical certainty" ;)

As a friend of mine just said 'Gilmore to fall on his sword after cutting Labour to ribbons with it.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Gilmore to announce his resignation at 4 today?

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0526/619609-reshuffle/
    RTÉ News understands leader of the Labour Party Eamon Gilmore is to resign from his position.

The Tánaiste is presently involved in discussions with his Cabinet colleagues and junior ministers but a statement confirming his resignation is expected at 4pm.

bumper234 wrote: »
    Gilmore to announce his resignation at 4 today?

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0526/619609-reshuffle/

Gilmore is walking before two different votes of no confidence force him out. Hope Joan "The Moan" Burton doesn't take over.

With his (continued) posting style, he wont be around much longer.

Things must have been so much simplier for SF/IRA when they could just bundle people into the boots of cars, bring them up the mountains and shoot them in the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Things must have been so much simplier for SF/IRA when they could just bundle people into the boots of cars, bring them up the mountains and shoot them in the head.

Aw, build a bridge and get over the bitterness. It's clearly eating you up inside.

Embrace the peace and let go of the anger. Honestly, you'll feel so much better for it.

Well, that answered my question.

You obviously are unable to engage in an adult discussion and playground jeers are the full extent of your debating abilities.

Bye Now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

Sweet Jesus , I am implacably opposed to SF , but even that one is beyond me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

I'm actually embarrassed for you :o