Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Get well soon tang, hope its not manflu!!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Younganne wrote: »

Oh apparently it's waaaay more serious than that Anne #lurgy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

Younganne wrote: »

Sake, there is no such thing!

B I hope you are ok. Awful. Rest and mind yourself. Get sick cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

aquinn wrote: »
    Sake, there is no such thing!

B I hope you are ok. Awful. Rest and mind yourself. Get sick cert.

Typically!!! Just cause you've never had it doesn't mean it doesn't exist :P

Feel your pain, B. Take it handy!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Finally some running after 16 days this week!!! The bout of leprosy I caught off TbL took a bit longer to pass than I envisaged.

Monday 18.7.16

40 mins Easy - Was in Donegal for few days, hilly route around the in-laws, fook it was warm out!! Legs bit stiff.

Tuesday 19.7.16

40 mins Easy - Fook it was hotter today, hilly route again, legs bit better. Took in a swim in Rossnowlagh later in the day and put a Northie into his box to over parking on a public beach!!

Wednesday 20.7.16

Rest - Busy day with young lad and helping/observing round baling took up the day.

Thursday 21.7.16

Rest - Travelling home and stop off for shopping put paid to any run.

Friday 22.7.16

55 mins Easy - One of my usual routes around home, legs better on this. Amazing what effect just over two weeks of missed running does.

Saturday 23.7.16

63 mins Easy - Lumpy enough route around home again, christ it was warm, sweated my usual buckets in this kind of weather.

Sunday 24.7.16

63 mins Easy - Done this after work entirely on grass around the Porchfields in Trim, sweated up storm again. Will be make more use of this route while the long evenings last, very forgiving on the legs.

28 miles for the week, I'm happy with that after nearly two weeks of illness. The goalposts have been moved again regarding goal races for the rest of the year, Frank Duffy and Race Series Half are now the nailed on 'A' races. Herself has been told there is NO chance of this being altered. There will be no slacking from here till 11.30am on the 24th of September!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Ed Mc Groarty

tang1 wrote:
    40 mins Easy - Fook it was hotter today, hilly route again, legs bit better. Took in a swim in Rossnowlagh later in the day and put a Northie into his box to over parking on a public beach!!

Doesn't everyone park on rosnowlagh beach?

Oh they do, this particular man tried claiming he had his own personal parking space and was quiet aggressive when I parked using fowl language in ear shot of my kids. He was told in no uncertain terms that it was a public beach and I would park where was free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Welcome back. Sure running is far less stressful than a day at the beach :D. Nice mileage for your recovery week and see we have the same race goals. I might extend my period of dedication to running until around 11:43 on the same date.

denis b wrote: »
    Welcome back. Sure running is far less stressful than a day at the beach :D. Nice mileage for your recovery week and see we have the same race goals. I might extend my period of dedication to running until around 11:43 on the same date.

Cheers, you joining us for the Bull Island run on the 6th of next month?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

tang1 wrote: »
    Cheers, you joining us for the Bull Island run on the 6th of next month?

Cheers. Didn't spot that. Name added.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Good to see you back in the saddle.

Re your schedule, does this mean missing the flatline in Athlone and the Clew Bay half in Louisburgh on the 24th?

And what about Mayo v Westmeath in Croker on Saturday?

snailsong wrote: »

Re your schedule, does this mean missing the flatline in Athlone and the Clew Bay half in Louisburgh on the 24th?

Yes and yes on Flatline and Louisburgh P, herself's plans are as changeable as the Irish summer!!! In response to the GAA question put it this way, I won't be here next Saturday evening singing the praises of my native county. Could be embarrassing after the Dublin game!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Yes. And many of them get caught by the tide too. Very inconvenient having the tide flood a car park. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Yes and yes on Flatline and Louisburgh P, herself's plans are as changeable as the Irish summer!!! In response to the GAA question put it this way, I won't be here next Saturday evening singing the praises of my native county. Could be embarrassing after the Dublin game!!

Are ye going to be in Croker? A rare opportunity to see Westmeath and Donegal on the same bill. Possibly going myself, not sure yet.

I'll be in croker shouting for yiz next weekend, and hope to see you for FD and HM too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Good to see you back at it, B. If I'd known you were in DL last week I'd have invited you to my Killybegs session or at least hooked up for a few easy miles. :p

Are ye going to be in Croker? A rare opportunity to see Westmeath and Donegal on the same bill. Possibly going myself, not sure yet.

Na, I'll be in it the day after alright shouting on more maroon & white in the shape of Galway. Have to keep the Da happy, I couldn't let him loose in Dublin traffic, he'd get onto a roundabout and never come off it!!!

annapr wrote: »
    I'll be in croker shouting for yiz next weekend, and hope to see you for FD and HM too!

Cheers Anna, will see you for sure at FD and HM.

Murph_D wrote: »
    Good to see you back at it, B. If I'd known you were in DL last week I'd have invited you to my Killybegs session or at least hooked up for a few easy miles. :p

I read the reaction alright you got, must be a North Donegal thing that!!!! The boreen where L's family home is situated is used daily by Tir Conaill AC, counted 25 of them passing Tuesday evening on there club session in the sweltering heat.

Killybegs is still South Donegal, but quite far from Tir Chonaill's Ballyshannon/Glenties/Donegal Town catchment area. Know of one marathon runner from there and a couple more recreational joggers but not much else!

I go away for a few days and I miss everything!!! You're not coming to Louisberg now?!! BOOOOOOOO to that :(

Glad to see you made it through the other side of the lurgy, I know it was touch and go there for a while, you're a brave solider..... :D

Monday 25.7.16

20 mins Recovery@9.49min/miles

Recovery run in the lashing rain, legs slowly coming back to themselves. Feet are still at me a bit but managing the best I can. They don't bother me while running but can be sore still in the morning.

Tuesday 26.7.16

6 miles Easy@9.04min/miles in 53min 21secs

Got out late afternoon to do this, man it was warm out again. Glad I was only doing easy miles, sweated buckets and I only ran 6 miles. Legs improved again.

Wednesday 27.7.16

6 miles Progression@7.27min/miles in 44min 47secs

Plan from Coach called for 6 miles Progression working down to HMP, I ran it as follows:

1E@9.01
    1ST@7.46
    1MP@7.18
    1MP@7.17
    1HMP@6.40
    1HMP@6.39

Happy with how this went as it is the first thing I've ran that resembled fast miles in over 3 weeks. The HMP miles felt very comfortable I know there was only two of them, but I genuinely expected to struggle a bit doing them. Did I mention it's been awful warm lately!!!

#noslacking

What's the delay? I though't you'd have updated this mornings run before you got home :D I hope you didn't get lost....?!!!

Thanks so much for your support this morning, you're a star :):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

Glad to see a hashtag signoff Tang. Now I know you mean business :)
    Good luck with the FD prep.

Thursday 28.7.16

Rest

Friday 29.7.16

6 miles Easy@9.02min/miles in 54min 11secs

Easy run out and back on one of the local roads, legs feeling better and noted improvement with my feet almost zero dull pain from the PF. Stretches physio gave me beginning to take effect.

Saturday 30.7.16

The plan from coach called for 2E, 3HMP, 2E today, I had been talking to Firedance earlier in the week about how I wanted my first one to be kind and gentle, she said she unfortunately couldn't promise me that first time, that I was in for a tough, rough ride from her with guaranteed pain at the end when I was done. I'm on about my first parkrun so get ye're minds out of the gutter!!

I lost my parkrun virginity in Cabinteely, up early and embarrassed to say I got lost, bad from a man in my profession. I at least don't rely on a fancy GPS device in my car and still manage to get lost in a piddly little town like Mullingar like some!! Got over and bumped into FD who was on Race Director duties, had to use the bog and you know your in the Southside when you have to part with 20c for the pleasure. Bumped into FBOT and MrsMc who were over touring from DNS, was chatting away to FBOT when FD caught us unaware with the start!!

Settled into my stride and pace easy enough and took it all in, wonderful park to run in even with the sadistic hill to be taken in 3 times. HMP miles worked out as follows:

Great to have this done and out of the way by 10am, FBOT duly took his obligatory 1st finisher and looked comfortable in doing so from my vantage point behind him. Joined him at the finish in supporting the remainder of the field over the line including a smiling MrsMc who looked very comfortable to doing her steady miles and no doubt could have gone faster. After a warmdown retired to the coffee shop where FBOT was buying on the back of his hatrick of 1st finishers, thanks again M, for some chat and gossip.

Great experience this and can see why parkrun is so popular across the world, pleasure to meet two other touring St Anne's regulars in R & O, thanks for having me FD, it won't be as long till my next one I guarantee that.

Sunday 31.7.16

10 miles Easy@9.03min/miles in 1hr 30min 30secs

Very warm & humid out this morning doing this and sweated buckets getting through it, happy with how it went and no sign of the Cabinteely hills in the legs at all which I'll take as a good sign. Spent the afternoon in Croker with a massively disappointed Old Man as the Tribesman were put to the sword by the Premier County. Very naive display from Galway!!!

Shade over 37 miles for the week which, heading back in the right direction with that thankfully. Looking forward to seeing what's in store for next week.

#noslacking

^^^^ :D:D:D:D

Monday 1.8.16

Rest

Tuesday 2.8.16

6 miles Easy@9.03min/miles in 54min 23secs

Done this after work around the Porchfields entirely on grass, enjoyable run that passed without incident. Legs feeling good.

Wednesday 3.8.16

2E, 12 x 45secs@5k pace off 30secs recovery, 2E

Had once more planned to do this after work around the Porchfields but scrapped that idea with the wind that was blowing as it was far to exposed a location to do these. Got home & ran to a road the other side of Motte Hill as the 2 mile warmup, it was sheltered by the wind from both the Hill and the trees so the near gale was of minimum issue. Got into the reps straight away as I had to get home to let herself out for a run, done six out and six back to even things out, they went as follows:

5.48, 5.48, 5.46, 5.45, 5.46, 5.47, 5.43, 5.45, 5.21, 5.48, 5.48, 5.46.

Couldn't be happier with these, the 5.21 one was the result of a sudden gust of wind that nearly lifted me off my feet!! Great little session, two miles home to warm down. 6.15 miles total.

Thursday 4.8.16

2.09 miles Recovery@9.36min/miles in 20mins

Up to the GAA pitch again for more running on grass, legs feeling good after previous day's session. The odd pinch from the right Achilles only thing of note from this.

#noslacking

Welcome to the wonderful world of parkrun, B! It's very addictive :)

Nice going Barry. Impressive HMP. About time you did a parkrun, well done on holding back, I'm sure the temptation to race FBOT must have been powerful. :)

Murph_D wrote: »
    I'm sure the temptation to race FBOT must have been powerful. :)

I was brought up to respect my elders D!!!