Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Friday 5.8.16

Streets of Athboy 5k - 19.05

Probably should have given this a miss the way I was feeling all day, splitting headache and sweating profusely for zero reason. The missus got home from the young lads swimming and I went to lay down for a half hour, conked it on the bed and had to be woken. Not like me at all, left the house and only dawned on me in Trim I had no runners with me, I didn't fancy chancing running 5k in my flip-flops!! Turned around grabbed my runners and made my way to Athboy.

Windows down and air-con on full blast to keep me cool, got to Athboy and walked to register, few ladies making faces when I stood beside them, not surprised the smell of me!!! Went and done a warm up, legs were like lead and my head was opening. Really wasn't in the form but said to myself I had entered now so go see how it goes. Went to where I thought the start was but was informed by a marshal that they had moved it a kilometre out the road from the year I done it. This made the race even quicker as it was entirely downhill for first km.

Got to start and lined up, we were off quick enough. Usual hares tore off down the hill, few remarking 'This is easy', see ye in a few minutes lads!! Kept as disciplined as possible on the first km as others streamed past, knew I'd be passing them again before we hit the village, low and behold as we past where I thought was the start the 'easy' runners were going backwards. Into the town and decent support on the streets from a few people, first mile beeped at 5.46, bit fast but with the start could have been a whole lot quicker and I was as disciplined as I could.

Turned left out of the town into the country and flat roads, still feeling crap but doing my best to fight it. Legs getting heavier and heavier but I dig in and try run through it. A Na Fianna runner I know fairly well pulls along side me and says we should work together, I agree but explain to him I'm not at my best this evening so may not stay with him, we work off each other for a mile or so but with each passing stride my legs are getting heavier. Mile two beeps at 6.09, I hold on for another bit but told Na Fianna to push on, my goose is cooked, I just eased off I wasn't willing to flog myself the way I was feeling so I let him go.

Now I didn't give up or slack off,I felt there was zero point in pushing myself the way I was feeling with more important races coming up. I like to think I'm good at making myself hurt but I felt it wouldn't be beneficial to me in anyway tonight. I ran the last mile at 6.35 and the 0.10 at 5.36 as I held off the 3rd lady. Crossed the line and decorated the wall with vomit, classy I know!!

Not the race I wanted but I've missed 16 days running lately and ran not feeling my best. Put it this way, I ran probably at 75% and still ran faster than TbL ever would over 5k, I'll take that!!!! Onwards.

#noslacking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

As it happens I'm listening to Tom Waits. Nighthawks at the Diner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Well that puts Murph's dry retching in the happeny place #gross.

What are you like running a race when you're not well *wags finger* tsk.

Hope you feel better soon :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Hope you're feeling better soon, very warm out this evening.
    My sports therapist lives just down from the start and I noted the downhill start this evening on my way home, bet that caused a few people a few problems. Saw the start on FB , you looked very composed in your stripes!!

Younganne wrote: »
    Hope you're feeling better soon, very warm out this evening.
    My sports therapist lives just down from the start and I noted the downhill start this evening on my way home, bet that caused a few people a few problems. Saw the start on FB , you looked very composed in your stripes!!

Caught some out who thought 'this 5k crack is easy with this big downhill start' they changed there tune after 1k though!! Very quick race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

tang1 wrote: »
    Friday 5.8.16

Streets of Athboy 5k - 19.05

Crossed the line and decorated the wall with vomit, classy I know!!

Not the race I wanted but I've missed 16 days running lately and ran not feeling my best. Put it this way, I ran probably at 75% and still ran faster than TbL ever would over 5k, I'll take that!!!! Onwards.

#noslacking

Nice :) - my missus in her short history of participating in races has a history of vomiting after finishing, and I've expressed my jealously to her a few times... I think she gets it, though I'm not sure many others do. Nice work either way! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Great going for someone who hasn't been feeling well! Recover well .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

Hmm, not sure about racing when sick! Hope you're on the mend.

Saturday 6.8.16

6.10 miles Easy@9.02min/miles in 55min 02secs

Feeling much better than night before, obviously just some 24Hr bug i caught. Legs feeling spritely even after the previous evenings exertions, seeing as i had promised myself some hooch after the cancelled Boards Bull Island jaunt i kept to that promise. For those who like all things Craft Beer, Beavertowns 'Blood-Orange IPA' is delish.

Sunday 7.8.16

Rest, had hoped to get out for my Long Run but missus got caught for a double tap at work and was gone from 6am till midnight Sunday, no run for me.

Monday 8.8.16

12 miles Easy@9.03min/miles in 1hr 48min 40secs

Had emailed Coach asking him to include yesterdays long run in this weeks plan and drop the rest day, he duly obliged. Got out after work into the heat and breeze, this was as comfortable a 12 miler as i have ran. Only thing that got to me was the thirst over the last 2 miles, unfortunately i cant afford to dream about Orange San Pelligrinos, so water had to do. I'm not form Clontarf:p:p

Tuesday 9.8.16

20 mins Recovery

Just over 2 miles covered around the GAA pitch, legs showing zero effects of yesterdays 12 miles.

Wednesday 10.8.16

6.05 miles Easy@9.02min/miles in 54min 38secs

Having received a tex message from TbL at 11pm the night before begging for a date i got up and washed my hair so i was looking my best for this. He rings at 4pm with some bullsiht excuse that his flight got delayed and heavy traffic on the M50. AMK has his head turned with the promise of a free fake tan and a shared hotel room in San Seb me thinks!!! Got out and done 6 easy miles on my lonesome, did i mention lately its awful warm. T-shirt stuck to me by runs end.

Thursday 11.8.16

6 miles Steady@7.51min/miles in 47min 08secs

Today was to be session day, work conspired against me for that not to happen, got home and had the option of no run or changing Saturdays planned 6 Easy into 6 Steady. The 6 Steady clearly won, felt great doing this, probably my favourite run in training is steady miles, sweated the obligatory buckets on this.

#noslacking

Yup, +1 on the steady miles :) love 'em

Glad to see I'm not the only one in the bad books too!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Do they not have any of that San pelegrino in your parts sure it's just fizzy Miwadi !!!! Don't be slagging me 'mr craft beer ' it's far from craft beer you were reared :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Do they not have any of that San pelegrino in your parts sure it's just fizzy Miwadi !!!! Don't be slagging me 'mr craft beer ' it's far from craft beer you were reared :)

And Orange craft beer at that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    And Orange craft beer at that!

Wouldn't mind you were the one ordering orange San pelegrino first !!!

Mrs Mc wrote: »

Knew you'd like that!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

tang1 wrote: »
    AMK has his head turned with the promise of a free fake tan and a shared hotel room in San Seb me thinks!!!

I thought he said he wanted a fake Tang :P

Friday 12.8.16

2 E, 3x15min@MP off 3min Rec, 2E

Working early so had clear afternoon to get this done, ate and drank well in the morning and was looking forward to getting out and getting this done. Home, changed and out the gap as had to get back to let herself off for a Funeral down the country. Two mile warm up and straight into the MP sections, chose a hilly route as I believe the FD and Half are supposed to be more than lumpy so no point running on flat terrain. MP sections were very very comfortable, as they should be. Splits as follows:

15mins MP@7.19
    15mins MP@7.16
    15mins MP@7.14

1.5 miles cool down, nice little session and bit of a confidence boost. 10.42 miles all in.

Saturday 13.8.16

20 mins Recovery, usual trot around the GAA pitch on grass. Legs feeling great after yesterday's MP session.

Sunday 14.8.16

12 miles Easy@8.30min/miles 1hr 41min 56secs

Just to give the Lemon his tang1 fix I decided I'd go meet him in Spideal for a trot on route to Clare. Met him at the Texaco garage and he literally had to lift the belly off the steering wheel as he got out of his car!!! We headed back for Galway and as he has said before, motorists along this road have fcuk all respect for runners, TbL being the gentleman that he is played chicken with the cars as I ran on the path!!

Got off the main road around Furbo and bumped into a cyclist he mentioned to TbL there was no HGV's allowed on the road but he ignored him, the miles flew by as always. He even bought me and ice-cream after as a young one in the shop asked me did I need a nappy the amount of sweat that was running off me.

C as always, pleasure to run with you thanks for the laughs. Young lad never shut up about you the whole way to Lisdoonvarna!!

50 miles for the week, heading into next week and FD with a bit of confidence, be hoping for a PB at least but 64.xx will be the main thing.

Monday 15.8.16

20 mins Recovery, done this with herself around the park in Lisdoonvarna. Nice run, missus is getting fond of this running lark, maybe arguments in future on who's going running when!!!

Tuesday 16.8.16

6 miles Easy@9.05min/miles in 54min 28secs

Spent the day over on Inis Oirr, I've been traveling down to the West of Ireland for the past 37 and a half years, 10-12 times a year in my younger days, and am ashamed to say this was my first trip to the Aran Islands!! Glorious day in a fantastic location, cycled the length and breadth of the island towing himself along behind me, good cross training!!

Got out in the evening back in Lisdoon, still sweltering out. Standard run apart from getting a smack from a wing-mirror of a car on the arm!! All I could make out was it was a Toyota Avensis, current model, fcuker was moving that fast couldn't get the reg number. Own fault for running the road I ran, stung for a bit but that was it thankfully.

Wednesday 17.8.16

10 miles Various@8.20min/miles in 83mins 16secs

Got out about 10.30am for this, very early for me!! There's no such thing as a flattish route in the Burren, headed out of town towards Kilfenora, there's a climb out this road like a mini-Summit in Howth, less than half the distance but twice the incline!! That was part of the warm up though thankfully, session called for 2E, 1HMP, 1E, 3MP, 3E so I thought. The two easy were handy, the hills warmed me up but the legs did not like it, the cycling from the day before were taking its toll.

The HMP mile was ok, bumpy mile but good practise for the Race Series, mile Easy then 3MP. The MP miles were the hilliest MP miles I've ever ran, more up than down and some of the ups were nasty!! But these miles felt oh so easy, felt like I was floating along. I was constantly checking my watch to make sure I was going fast enough when in reality I had to reign the pace in a few times. MP splits were:

7.24, 7.18, 7.17.

Three miles warm down coasted by, TbL thought I was bad Sunday, he should have seen me after this. Literally had white foam on my legs from the sweat!! I was only to do 2MP miles but session called for 10 miles total, luckily I done 3 cause Coach can't count!!! Rest day tomorrow, legs need it a little bit, will help come Saturday.

#noslacking

Am getting in early with the good luck wishes!! have a super race on Saturday B, it's unlikely I'd make it back to the PP much before 12 by which time ye'll all be gone home with your PB medals :) Remind me what the goal is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Firedance wrote: »
    Am getting in early with the good luck wishes!! have a super race on Saturday B, it's unlikely I'd make it back to the PP much before 12 by which time ye'll all be gone home with your PB medals :) Remind me what the goal is?

Jaysus, AM. The target is only two posts up. Are you not even bothering reading his posts anymore :p

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Jaysus, AM. The target is only two posts up. Are you not even bothering reading his posts anymore :p

Oops!!! so it is.... :o am very old and forgetful??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Firedance wrote: »

I think he said sub 64:pac: :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Best Luck Saturday, you have had some progress over last few months, all things
    been even I think sub 64 no bother to you. Have a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Hope to see you tomorrow, and have a good race! No using the inclement weather to sandbag, sub-63 should be no problem... :D

Singer wrote: »
    Hope to see you tomorrow, and have a good race! No using the inclement weather to sandbag, sub-63 should be no problem... :D

Jeez it's gone from sub 64 to 63 in one post!! Sub 65 is the goal!!Have a good one yourself B, will no doubt see you at some time, run well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Good luck tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Have a great race, Tang! Save a bit for the last hill, the rest of it is just a bit bumpy, nothing major.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Have a great race tomorrow Tang , I hope you hit your target.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

Best of luck tomorrow B, sub 65 all the way!! by the way what is your 10 mile pb?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,407 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Have a good one, I'm sure you'll hit that target!

jake1970 wrote: »
    Best of luck tomorrow B, sub 65 all the way!! by the way what is your 10 mile pb?

66.41 from Trim in February L.