Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

tang1 wrote: »
    Monday 9.5.16

Rest, the missus was working so I was doing Daddy Day Care for the day.

Tuesday 10.5.16

20mins Recovery, up to the GAA pitch and took it nice and handy in the sun and daydreamed for the duration.

Wednesday 11.5.16

6miles Easy@9.02min/miles in 54min 20secs

Had a conversation with Murph_D and Singer Sunday about how well my knee had been since I got back from surgery on it in early 2014, it was sore for the first time in ages doing this. Especially the inside of my knee where the meniscus gave me bother, not so much to have to stop by I could feel the pain. Everything else felt good, got home and alternated the ice-pack and Bio-Freeze on the knee praying it would be ok.

Thursday 12.5.16

8miles@8.08min/miles in 65min 04secs including 10x90secs@5k pace off 2min rec

If the knee was at me at all during the day I was canning this session, felt good at work with loads of getting in and out of the car(not getting donuts & coffee!!) tested it and not a peep from it. Got home by half 4 changed and straight out the door, first time this year wearing a singlet on a training run. Did 2 miles of a warm up and was sweating worse than one of Pacing Mules pals at bath time!!! Straight into the 90sec reps, goal pace being between 6.10-6.20, I was on overload from the first one with the sweat!!!

The reps are boringly consistent and I couldn't have done this if I tried!!!:

6.15, 6.00, 6.15, 6.15, 6.15, 6.15, 6.15, 6.15, 6.00, 6.15.

Reps two and nine were downhill but the others are scarily to similar!! Felt good doing these even in the baking heat and with constant sweat in my eyes. Over a mile warm down and a complete sweating mess by the time I got back home!!!

You're gonna have to explain that bath reference to me ! :)

Edit - I'm guessing you're talking about the lads in the car last week !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

So holidays over for another year and no sooner off the ferry yesterday morning were we welcomed back to Ireland by a torrential downpour!! Training went reasonably well while I was away, I missed some runs but that was to be expected and I won't dwell on it. Have been upgraded to Master Cannonballer now with all the practise by the pool over the past 3 weeks but the French speak of a mythical Irish Fatman who goes by the name of Le bitter Lemon who's arse is so wide it can empty a pool!!

Spent a little to much time with my favourite Dutch friend Mr Hoegaarden over the 3 weeks but I was on holidays. Back into it in a big way from tomorrow with an eye on the St Cocas 5k in two weeks to see how much damage all the beer and bbq done to me not to mention all the ice-cream!!!

Monday 13.6.16

Rest, change of work location took up my day.

Tuesday 14.6.16

7miles Easy@9.08min/miles in 63mins 58secs

Bog standard easy run, my calves are very tight and is impacting on my feet with a bit of PF developing. Had same issue last year after returning from holidays, I ran quiet a bit on sand trails in France so this might well be the reasoning for it.

Wednesday 15.6.16

5miles Easy@9.10min/miles in 45min 48secs

Ankles and joints were sore on this, am due a change of runners so hoping that's the reason. Current ones are dead and feel lifeless.

Thursday 16.6.16

5miles Easy@9.06min/miles in 45min 28secs including 6x100m strides.

Wore my racing flats for this and no pains in my ankles or joints, ordered a new pair of runners today also.

Severely lacking in motivation and enthusiasm since returning from holidays. Surprised I've gotten out 3 times this week even, hopefully it's just post holiday blues. St Cocas 5k tomorrow week may not go as well as I hoped it would!!

Friday 17.6.16

2miiles w/u, 15mins@MP, 10mins@HMP, 5mins@10k off 3mins recovery, 1.75mins c/d.

Knew this would be my last run for the week so wanted to get out and enjoy it which I did. Warm and humid out but not near as warm as France past 3 weeks, enjoyed this much more than my other runs this week. I used to dread sessions now I look forward to the challenge of them and finishing them strong. Paces for the reps were as follows:

15mins@MP 7.26min/miles
    10mins@HMP 6.42min/miles
    5mins@10k 6.19min/miles

Felt strong throughout this and could have done more but left it at the 9 miles for the session.

Very disjointed training the past two weeks, some of which was my own doing but most due to holidays and changing work location this past week. Things should be settled from a work point of view now so time to take the finger out and get some solid training in before the Mullingar 10 on the 17th of next month. If I don't get the result I want it will be my own fault.

Edit: Happy Fathers Day to the rest of you Dad's!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭UM1

Wats next on ur list and wats after that ..

UM1 wrote: »
    Wats next on ur list and wats after that ..

St Cocas 5k next Friday evening then probably nowt till the Mullingar 10 mile, might do the Kinnegad 5k not entirely sure on that yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

St Cocas 5k next Friday evening then probably nowt till the Mullingar 10 mile, might do the Kinnegad 5k not entirely sure on that yet.

Best of luck tomorrow, B. Go out, give it a good lash and ENJOY!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Have a good one B, give it welly :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Have a good race tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Good luck tomorrow B - give it socks

Monday 20.6.16

Rest, suffering a bit from few drinks the night before. That's it for the hooch till after Mullingar at least.

Tuesday 21.6.16

7 miles Easy@9.04min/miles in 63mins 27secs

Much more love this week for running, got out straight home from work and it was a glorious afternoon for running, miles flew by and the body felt good. Big improvement on last weeks desire for running.

Wednesday 22.6.16

6 miles Easy@9.04min/miles in 54mins 24secs including 6x80m strides.

Had my new runners on this, as much as I like running in racing flats I know I'm prone to injury if I do to many miles in them. Went back to Nike for these as my last pair of New Balance just didn't agree with me and wore out very quick I felt. As evening before miles flew by and all felt good. Concentrated on relaxing and form for the strides.

Thursday 23.6.16

5.15 miles Easy@ 9.01min/miles in 46mins 25sec

Done this after work around the Porchfields across from the station, our shower is knackered at home so I had to wash being the sweaty SOB that I am. Kept this entirely on grass which was a joy, ground is dry but still more give from it than the tar path that circles the running routes here. Had hoped to get 7 done, but kept a close on on a nasty black cloud in the sky before it erupted with rain.

I joined Trim AC this week, so am now officially a club runner. The club vest will gets its first outing tomorrow evening at the Cocas.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,408 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Best of luck B, leave it all out there tomorrow evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Best of ....... (luck doesn't sit right when its all hard work :D ).... out there this evening with the new colours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Best of luck B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

Best of luck B, have a good one.
    Well done on joining the club, that should make it easier for me to spot you this evening, red and white stripes isn't it?

jake1970 wrote: »
    Best of luck B, have a good one.
    Well done on joining the club, that should make it easier for me to spot you this evening, red and white stripes isn't it?

That's it alright L, the candy stripes.

Ur like the bleedin robbie keane of boards...

UM1 wrote: »
    Ur like the bleedin robbie keane of boards...

As in his missus is a belter, cheers Anto.

As in more clubs...his missus is not a nice burd..had a few run ins with her ...im sure ur mòt is a belter #goldstarforputtinupwithu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Best of luck tonight Tang, in your new go-fast stripes :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Well done my friend, very well done indeed :D those sandbags go very well with the new club vest :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Sounds promising. :) Must be the candy stripes.

Friday 24.6.16

St Cocas 5k - 18.25(PB)

Having spent 3 weeks in France lately, the belly was a little bit more rotund and I had no great expectations for this if I'm honest. I was happy to go give it a good lash but definitely wasn't expecting a PB. Got to Kilcock at 7pm, registration was hassle free and got back to the car to pin my number to a Trim AC vest for the first time. Was heading to do few miles warmup and spotted jake1970 who joined me. Trotted down to the running track and chatted away till the start.

Got lined up in a decent enough spot and chatted to a few other runners waiting to get going, had it my head to just do the same as the Bob Heffernan and give it a lash to see how I'd go, no pressure on myself to run x, y or z time. The whistle was blown and we were away, not to many runners in the wrong place and I go into my running handy enough, the first mile is downhill so I was conscious not to flake off to much. Passing runners all the time and feeling good, Mile 1 beeped at 5.53. I was happy with that and felt comfortable running at that pace.

Into second mile and still passing runners or groups that had formed, feeling good still and strong. I knew there was a gradual climb up to the motorway flyover on this mile so kept the pace steady as I didn't want to flag going up the climb or after getting over it. Shortened the stride somewhat and passed a few more runners as I went up and turned left across the flyover for home. Felt good, climb didn't affect me thankfully as it ruined my race here last year. Mile 2 clocked at 5.56.

Was still feeling good and passing the odd runner here and there as the race had strung out. Started to flag a bit at 2.5 miles and could feel the pace dropping, looked at the watch and it was the first time I seen 6.xx on it since the race started. Right pull the finger out B, over half mile to go and your running another sub 6 mile to close this gig out. Kick in the hole I needed, targeting runners up ahead to chase. Came up to BinB's shoulder with 400m to go and gave him a shout, gave me a bit of a lift to. Mile 3 beeped in 5.58. Put what ever gas I had left into the last bit clocking at 5.42 and bursted over the finish!!

Gasping for breath I grabbed a bottle of water and headed for a sit down to catch my breath with BinB. Over the moon with this result, didn't honestly think I had it in me to run that this evening, second 5k I put zero pressure on myself to run a specific time, maybe I'm onto something!!

Special kudos to Firedance who came out and cheered us on tonight even though she's feeling under the weather, fair play AM your a legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Great stuff - well done :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Well done B. A gut buster of a pb and a reliable witness to verify the event. Congrats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Brilliant, B, definitely something about being more relaxed working for you, and of course all the great training too! Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

That's a great time, and a well run race! Not bad for your Trim debut :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Fantastic running B!! Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Wow ! Super time, congratulations !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

You were still passing people on the last few hundred meters, delighted for ya :)

Lovely to neet BibB & catch up with Jake. Also, although she doesn't log here a clubmate of mine hit 20 on the button tonight, well done C, so great to see this kind of progress.