Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,669 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

decent performance today thought they stuck at it, which must be hard when the games over early and the opposition start acting the maggot. I must have missed the rule coming in that says you can only hand out yellow cards in pairs, one to each team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

salmocab wrote: »
    decent performance today thought they stuck at it, which must be hard when the games over early and the opposition start acting the maggot. I must have missed the rule coming in that says you can only hand out yellow cards in pairs, one to each team.

Yellows to Connolly and Kilkenny in particular were a joke. It's pure cop out refereeing and it actually became a bit of a shambles today, luckily the game was over and it won't mean much in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,669 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Yellows to Connolly and Kilkenny in particular were a joke. It's pure cop out refereeing and it actually became a bit of a shambles today, luckily the game was over and it won't mean much in the long run.

I thought Connolly especially did well to hold his temper.

salmocab wrote: »
    I thought Connolly especially did well to hold his temper.

Yeah he was close to losing the cool I think but managed to restrain himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭closeline

Lot of talk about Dublin and money. Obviously one area is coaches I presume Dublin has an enormous amount of coaches compared to other counties?

But where else is there advantages? I presume there is quite a few players employed as coaches.
    I once heard that Dublin players are provided with meals for the week. This is some advantage if true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭kyote00

My uncles third cousin once saw a Dublin player getting on a bus with a pram... it wouldn't fit so he left it there .... Just gets another free one from the GAA HQ :cool:
    closeline wrote: »
    Lot of talk about Dublin and money. Obviously one area is coaches I presume Dublin has an enormous amount of coaches compared to other counties?

But where else is there advantages? I presume there is quite a few players employed as coaches.
    I once heard that Dublin players are provided with meals for the week. This is some advantage if true.

kyote00 wrote: »
    My uncles third cousin once saw a Dublin player getting on a bus with a pram... it wouldn't fit so he left it there .... Just gets another free one from the GAA HQ :cool:

I call bullsh*t on that one. Dublin players wouldn't be caught dead on the peasant transport. The County Board provide a full time driver I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Lot of talk about Dublin and money. Obviously one area is coaches I presume Dublin has an enormous amount of coaches compared to other counties?...............

Not the most up to date figure granted - but we had 1359 juvenile teams under the auspices of Bord na nOg and 494 adult teams - so there's a requirement for over 1,800 coaches - I'd imagine some of them would perform a dual role in hurling & football - while others may coach Saturday & Sunday teams, not including mentors and other volunteers - if most clubs adopt our approach 90% of these people will have taken at least a level 1 foundation course - thats some serious twine invested by the clubs themselves in coaching
    I call bullsh*t on that one. Dublin players wouldn't be caught dead on the peasant transport. The County Board provide a full time driver I believe.

Any of the lads I've met drive "the best made cars in the world" ;)

Bambi wrote: »
    Saw bastic walking around town with his foot in a cast :confused:
    DoctaDee wrote: »
    Went over on his ankle playing with TSS - no worries regarding his fitness from his perspective (fingers crossed)
    Stoner wrote: »
    I think they come back in because they are better, based on that bastic must not be 100% he put a huge shift in during the league to secure his championship place

I saw him coming out the back of the Hogan yesterday - I'd have to say he was nowhere near fit and was walking with a very discernible limp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Sure they set philly mcmahon up a business delivering the food and all :D

Bambi wrote: »
    Sure they set philly mcmahon up a business delivering the food and all :D

Or you can get yer food from Kev Mc too don't forget !, then work it off in Phillys BK Fitness (Dublins Gym of the year) - could be talent spotted as Irelands next Arnie Swarzenegger and be represented by Bernard .. life is good ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,281 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

As expected a trouncing is what Kildare got lol I was in the coombe with my new little boy so I missed the game.

Congrats to Dublin a mighty team and best of luck in your future championship progress.

Kildare and Leinster football is toxic something has to change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I agree. Something different/else going on in Kildare though.

Had some great Kildare support near us yesterday.
    Two lads has some fairly toxic liquid in jam jars, hadn't see that in along time. Didn't dull their knowledge of the game though. But it did seem to help get them threw it. Stayed to the end too.

As expected a trouncing is what Kildare got lol I was in the coombe with my new little boy so I missed the game.

Congrats to Dublin a mighty team and best of luck in your future championship progress.

Congrats DK on the new arrival .. would you consider having the young lad fostered in Dublin we'll get football into him ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

I have to disagree with this. No Leinster team is able to compete with Dublin and are quite a bit away from their skill level but to call them toxic is an insult. Every county player trains extremely hard and puts a lot of effort in. Weaker counties should be helped instead of having to listen to this and the derogatory comments of some pundits. Look at Kerry in hurling, they've made brilliant strides in the last few years and next year will be playing in the Leinster Qualifying group. A similar approach should be taken in football, in particular we should have a similar system with a Christy Ring type structure for the weaker counties.

This weekend I saw one of the most exciting second halves in a game I've seen in a long time. Westmeath's comeback was nothing short of sheer determination and a desire to win. It was a joy to watch. The atmosphere in Croke Park for it was amazing. It reminded me of when we won the Leinster Hurling Championship a few years ago.

We also saw Wexford, a team operating in Division 3 of the league next year, beat Down, a team operating in Division 1 of the league next year. This was a very good weekend for Leinster football and we should strive for more instead of putting teams down and belittling their efforts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,807 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Kildare and Meath are actually clearly getting worse though.

Dublin are pure class but are they better than they were in '13, say? I'd argue they're about the same level the last few years while Kildare have started sliding down the divisions.

None of the other counties in Leinster would get close to winning any of the other three provinces at the moment either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭Lombardo86

It really only hit home with me after his fantastic display yesterday - Ciaran Kilkenny is only not fully established within this team. On his day he can also pull the strings, be a fine distributor of the ball from one side of the field to the other - and also chip in with 3-4 points from play.

All of this - and he is only about to celebrate his 22nd birthday.

I look forward to seeing him for another 10 years in the jersey. Can be a phenomenal player at this rate well into the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭TheGoldenAges

Yeah seeing Kilkenny hit some awesome points yesterday makes you think if the outcome last September would have been different with him helping Flynn and Connolly with the long range point kicking versus Donegal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Past30Now

It annoyed me watching it live yesterday, and annoyed me even more when it didn't get so much as a mention on the Sunday Game last night.

Just watched the live match on the RTE player now and at least Marty and his colour commentator called the two yellow cards to Kilkenny and Connolly as wrong calls by the ref.

That issue aside, it was another good performance. I'm looking forward to the Leinster Final in a fortnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭dubdamo

Born in the coombe, I'm sure you're getting him a navy and sky blue kit😄

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭closeline

Obviously didn't get the response I was looking for haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Oh no. Dubs are on plenty of peasant transport. :D

https://c2.staticflickr.com/4/3924/14252771738_ec525b7674_b.jpg

Congrats DK on the new arrival .. would you consider having the young lad fostered in Dublin we'll get football into him ;)
    Ill get the football into him ;) training two underage teams now....

thanks btw jesus that dublin side are amazing. embarrassing seeing some of the ****e spewed by one kildare boards user in kildare forum last week. most of us respect each other no matter what.

Kavrocks wrote: »
    I have to disagree with this. No Leinster team is able to compete with Dublin and are quite a bit away from their skill level but to call them toxic is an insult. Every county player trains extremely hard and puts a lot of effort in. Weaker counties should be helped instead of having to listen to this and the derogatory comments of some pundits. Look at Kerry in hurling, they've made brilliant strides in the last few years and next year will be playing in the Leinster Qualifying group. A similar approach should be taken in football, in particular we should have a similar system with a Christy Ring type structure for the weaker counties.

This weekend I saw one of the most exciting second halves in a game I've seen in a long time. Westmeath's comeback was nothing short of sheer determination and a desire to win. It was a joy to watch. The atmosphere in Croke Park for it was amazing. It reminded me of when we won the Leinster Hurling Championship a few years ago.

We also saw Wexford, a team operating in Division 3 of the league next year, beat Down, a team operating in Division 1 of the league next year. This was a very good weekend for Leinster football and we should strive for more instead of putting teams down and belittling their efforts.
    Leinster championship in general is awful dublin are a shining light.. i would never belittle a county side but i question management and tactics etc

Ill get the football into him ;) training two underage teams now....

thanks btw jesus that dublin side are amazing. embarrassing seeing some of the ****e spewed by one kildare boards user in kildare forum last week. most of us respect each other no matter what.

Ah very good ... you can never truly replace the buzz of playing but coaching for me has been a great outlet.

When I take my mod hat off, I can tend to tune down my sensitivity radar when champo season comes round - I'd never fault someones passion for their county or the game itself - even if in some cases they're inherently wrong :o
    Leinster championship in general is awful dublin are a shining light.. i would never belittle a county side but i question management and tactics etc

I got no enjoyment watching a listless display from Kildare DK - how deep does the problem go ? ... this can't be just a clash of personalities can it ? .. I know the man on the ditch in Kildare was looking towards Glenn Ryan taking over - but there's many a time (personally speaking) when you've got to make the most of the cards yer dealt - (forget Dublin yesterday), my BIL is a lillie man represented them in the Juniors - he used to console himself that Kildare were a qualifier team - I haven't heard that from him the last while tho. All we can do is wish yiz the best of luck going forward .. someone needs to straighten the situation quickly

Ah very good ... you can never truly replace the buzz of playing but coaching for me has been a great outlet.

When I take my mod hat off, I can tend to tune down my sensitivity radar when champo season comes round - I'd never fault someones passion for their county or the game itself - even if in some cases they're inherently wrong :o

I got no enjoyment watching a listless display from Kildare DK - how deep does the problem go ? ... this can't be just a clash of personalities can it ? .. I know the man on the ditch in Kildare was looking towards Glenn Ryan taking over - but there's many a time (personally speaking) when you've got to make the most of the cards yer dealt - (forget Dublin yesterday), my BIL is a lillie man represented them in the Juniors - he used to console himself that Kildare were a qualifier team - I haven't heard that from him the last while tho. All we can do is wish yiz the best of luck going forward .. someone needs to straighten the situation quickly
    problems run deep politics etc

embarassing the way mcgeeney was treated imo fair enough we stagnated but something sly was happening with ryan taken on as a coach lol yeah right....

i still dont know why tom oconnor walked away but something stinks imo.

im as red blooded and passionate as they come but i personally believe the passion has gone its like the players dont believe in themselves. that dublin game was crushing i honestly feel this could be the beginning of a terrible few years for kildare. please god it will turn around but i have no faith in county board or jason ryan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

problems run deep politics etc

embarassing the way mcgeeney was treated imo fair enough we stagnated but something sly was happening with ryan taken on as a coach lol yeah right....

i still dont know why tom oconnor walked away but something stinks imo.

im as red blooded and passionate as they come but i personally believe the passion has gone its like the players dont believe in themselves. that dublin game was crushing i honestly feel this could be the beginning of a terrible few years for kildare. please god it will turn around but i have no faith in county board or jason ryan

Kildare are in the same position as the also rans in leinster. If Dublin were average, we'd all think meath, Kildare, westmeath, laois etc are great.

It's just unfortunate were coming up against the best leinster team ever. No point dropping the heads and giving up. I genuinely think the likes of us should treat the league as our main competition and the thing is that will actually improve us in the long run. Apart from that we can just knuckle down on the underage where we can actually compete. And pray Dublin come back down to earth and when they do we're ready.

RoyalCelt wrote: »
    Kildare are in the same position as the also rans in leinster. If Dublin were average, we'd all think meath, Kildare, westmeath, laois etc are great.

It's just unfortunate were coming up against the best leinster team ever. No point dropping the heads and giving up. I genuinely think the likes of us should treat the league as our main competition and the thing is that will actually improve us in the long run. Apart from that we can just knuckle down on the underage where we can actually compete. And pray Dublin come back down to earth and when they do we're ready.
    fully agree this dublin team are awesome simply awesome.. kildare underage of late have been very good so heres hoping in a few years we will be strong enough to trouble the likes of dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

fully agree this dublin team are awesome simply awesome.. kildare underage of late have been very good so heres hoping in a few years we will be strong enough to trouble the likes of dublin

Yeah Kildare definitely right up there underage and actually Longford have been good lately too.

The big thing for me though is u21. Kildare and Longford should be doing everything to funnel the best minor lads to the u21 team and try and keep them progressing. Getting them into football universities too. This is the area and age where the Dublin development programme really excells.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

RoyalCelt wrote:
    The big thing for me though is u21. Kildare and Longford should be doing everything to funnel the best minor lads to the u21 team and try and keep them progressing. Getting them into football universities too. This is the area and age where the Dublin development programme really excells.

Wasn't that McGill from rathoth at fullback for meath yesterday. I saw him a couple of times for the meath u21s he held Costello and Manion very well. Costello in particular. Yesterday he looked at sea, yet he was a super u21.