Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Justice Minster Alan Shatter opinions on the man

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

So why didn't he progress to be a barrister instead of trying to bluff his way into that position?

Busy being a TD, writing legislation and looking after a vast foreign property portfolio I would imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

mikom wrote: »
    Another troll tread being lead a merry dance by the military "officers".
    Lock it up folks.

You can always go somewhere else if you don't like it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

mikom wrote: »
    Another troll tread being lead a merry dance by the military "officers".
    Lock it up folks.

Any chance you'd ever consider engaging in these threads, instead of accusing others of being trolls? It's a bit tired really.

How would you cut the €12 billion deficit? Any suggestion as to how Shatter should reform the extraordinary wage bill of his department, while not having to make any cuts to the services provided to the public?

Busy being a TD, writing legislation and looking after a vast foreign property portfolio I would imagine.

You sound like "my daddy works in KPMG".

• Registered Users Posts: 51,652 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

So bluffing is what bluffers do then. OK.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭razorgil

So why didn't he progress to be a barrister instead of trying to bluff his way into that position?

cos, as usual he thought he was better than everyone else, and didn't have to study.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Have you anything to add to the debate, or are you just here to make snide comments as usual?
    Sergeant wrote: »
    Any chance you'd ever consider engaging in these threads, instead of accusing others of being trolls? It's a bit tired really.

How would you cut the €12 billion deficit? Any suggestion as to how Shatter should reform the extraordinary wage bill of his department, while not having to make any cuts to the services provided to the public?

Lads, have ye no cash in transit jobs on at present?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

More personal abuse. Perhaps you'd like to post on some of the points I've raised, as opposed to replying on hyperbole (riddled, brainwashers, spin doctors)?

I thought you enjoyed personal digs and hyperbole?
    It doesn't matter to the usual band of whiners, me-feiners and loony left types who seem to think that a utopia is always possible.

Utterly deluded individuals.
    Lots of utter drivel being spouted here tonight by honchos who have all the questions and none of the answers.
    The usual petty, nasty and sneering Irish begrudgery masked as social justice.
    It's the huge elephant in the room, but most of the gringos around here seem to be focussed on the mouse.

Consistency obviously insn't one of your strong points - but you're certainly well versed in hypocricy.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Being a solicitor is the the real deal, take the states for instance where they have single legal entity 'Attorney at Law'. The plight of legal practitioners in this country is the old British Common Law system. An outdated system.

Consistency obviously insn't one of your strong points - but you're certainly well versed in hypocricy.

It isn't personalised abuse. I get slightly annoyed at the endless complaining about politicians and the government. It's like Shatter sits down at this desk and sets about deliberately riling people up. I'd love to hear some concrete and realistic ideas about how to close that deficit. How we can continue to have Celtic Tiger era services and rates of taxes, despite being frickin' broke.

It's all so negative and lacking in insight. It's just an online version of Liveline.

People complaining about their lot. It is me-feinism.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,652 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Being a solicitor is the the real deal, take the states for instance where they have single legal entity 'Attorney at Law'. The plight of legal practitioners in this country is the old British Common Law system. An outdated system.

But surely being a solicitor is not the "real deal" for Shatter if he tried to become a barrister without qualifying for the position.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

It isn't personalised abuse.

The terms you complained about are no more personal, and certainly less personal than the insults you are directing towards everyone disagreeing with you on this thread in the thunderdome. You are just a hypocrite. You can give it out but you can't take it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Hypocrisy, you say..........
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Sergeant viewpost.gif
    It isn't spam. I happen to think that the government is doing a reasonable job, and I'm expressing that.

So far on this thread we've had the following:

Shatter's appearance being remarked upon.
    His speaking voice.

Can you smell the hypocrisy......

From the "Has Luke Flanagan's Dail Speech ensured his re-election" thread.
    Quote:
    If anything good has came out of this sordid affair it's that we won't be hearing much of his shrill and antagonising voice.

You said it, bub....
    Quote:
    Or dirty-looking crusties like Flanagan and Wallace who engage in the type of hypocrisy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 397 ✭✭Blahblah2012

It isn't personalised abuse. I get slightly annoyed at the endless complaining about politicians and the government.

I know. It's our fault. We did it. Isn't it awful that they have to clean up our mess.
    It's like Shatter sits down at this desk and sets about deliberately riling people up. How we can continue to have Celtic Tiger era services and rates of taxes, despite being frickin' broke.

Shatter doesn't give a sh1t about "the people"!!!!
    And as for services...waffle.
    It's all so negative and lacking in insight.
    People complaining about their lot. It is me-feinism.

I know...it's nowhere near as bad as its seems. Sure didn't bobby Ewing come back from the dead.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭razorgil

It isn't personalised abuse. I get slightly annoyed at the endless complaining about politicians and the government. It's like Shatter sits down at this desk and sets about deliberately riling people up. I'd love to hear some concrete and realistic ideas about how to close that deficit. How we can continue to have Celtic Tiger era services and rates of taxes, despite being frickin' broke.

side-trackin, we're here to talk about mr. shatter

But surely being a solicitor is not the "real deal" for Shatter if he tried to become a barrister without qualifying for the position.

In this country if you do Law you decide on Kings Inns or Blackhall Place after grad (btw you don't have to have a law undergrad or even a degree). Usually in Barrister you specialise in a certain area. Solicitor is more broad.

I know. It's our fault. We did it. Isn't it awful that they have to clean up our mess.

The Irish (as a collective group) certainly contributed to the mess we are now in. To say otherwise is rubbish. We voted in FF-led governments on 3 occasions because they bought elections.

Fact of the matter is that we cannot continue to have Celtic Tiger era levels of pay and services, when we don't have Celtic Tiger era levels of cheap credit washing around. We're not as wealthy as we thought we were, and now the budgets have to balanced. That's the reality, and unless some other alternative comes along, then this isn't going to change. And the opposition know this.

The Irish (as a collective group) certainly contributed to the mess we are now in. To say otherwise is rubbish.

Ah yeah. Sure it's only Irish that live in Ireland.
    It would have nothing to do with the ECB giving out too much credit.

Cutting our cloth to suit our measure..and yet huge pensions, wages etc for the top dogs in the public service.

Ah yeah. Sure it's only Irish that live in Ireland.

Did you shout stop yourself when FF-led governments were buying elections with tax breaks, inflating public sector pay and offering grants for all and sundry?

We now have less money to spend. That's why all these nasty increases in tax and rates, and all these cuts to services are taking place. That's the reality.

Did you shout stop yourself when FF-led governments were buying elections with tax breaks, inflating public sector pay and offering grants for all and sundry?

We now have less money to spend. That's why all these nasty increases in tax and rates, and all these cuts to services are taking place. That's the reality.

Sure FG got in because they made bullsh1t promises..and because they weren't FF

Fine Gael would have done no different! But it's the governments pandering to the troika and ECB that sickens me! European/ German banks gave out Monopoly money yet we have to pay or back in full and and drive our country into years of austerity and recession! "Labours way not frankfurts way" my arse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Personally I don't see what the hysteria is about. Theres been far narkier, abrasive ministers for justice than Shatter. The only difference is he's been charged with making cuts.

Nodin wrote: »
    Personally I don't see what the hysteria is about. Theres been far narkier, abrasive ministers for justice than Shatter. The only difference is he's been charged with making cuts.

Yes, Dermot Ahern wasn't exactly known for his amiable and easy-going nature either, not that it mattered.

And this is a portfolio that has been held by such men of integrity and honour as Ray Burke, P Flynn and Séan Doherty.

Nodin wrote: »

But we can't trust him, the guy's Jewish.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,068 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The same kind of tax breaks and grants as ministers such as James Reilly avail of.. even though they don't actually depend on them?

He gets a tidy sum from the tax-payer each year to pay for the upkeep of his mansion in Moneygall.

http://www.thejournal.ie/minister-and-wife-claim-tax-breaks-on-13-bed-moneygall-mansion-127346-Apr2011/

The auld sense of entitlement transcends the class divide in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

CJ Haughey. And P Flynn. P Feckin Flynn. McDowell's legislation was largely unnessecary and/or unworkable (remember ASBO's) and the cops hated him, Ahern was a thick......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

I remember you arguing against spending cuts in the DF and closures of barracks etc... how come you're so much in favor of the same thing when it comes to AGS?

He was in the Army.

Religion should not come into it, I don't care what religion anyone is if they are fair and decent to people,!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,068 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Augmerson wrote: »
    He was in the Army.

Yeah, I had gathered that. Bit of cognitive bias going on there I reckon. I wonder if he'd be singing the praise of Shatter if major cutbacks were applied to our military budget tomorrow.

It's a fine example of that 'I'm alright Jack' attitude that Yitzhak et al have been decrying in a number of threads lately.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Maudi

the crook gets the renovations paid for by the taxpayer.THEN has the cheek to CHARGE the same taxpayer again to look at it..i hope life is always as rosie for him......