Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coming out or not when I'm visiting apartments

14567810»

• Registered Users Posts: 40,982 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

tunedout wrote: »
    You're kind of missing the point there. What I'm saying is most straight people will have absolutely no problem being discriminated against on the basis of their sexuality so why should gay people feel so offended.

I'm not sure what your point is? Is heterophobia a big problem? Do heterosexual people get beaten up because of their heterosexuality? Do heterosexual people get rejected by their families because of their heterosexuality? Do kids get bullied in school for being straight? Does religion teach that heterosexuality is evil?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Even if it is specific to me I still find it worrying that you might think I'm a homosexual, without my saying it. This would be a strong negative for me with regards living with a homosexual. I could be giving off 'signs' that they might interpret incorrectly unbenownst to me. That for me would be a worrying scenario.

Seriously. Every single gay man you ever meet is not going to fancy you, is not going to make unwanted advances, is not going to have fantasies about turning you !!!!!!

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

You're kind of missing the point there. What I'm saying is most straight people will have absolutely no problem being discriminated against on the basis of their sexuality so why should gay people feel so offended.

I think most would tbh. I know I would.
    The same way I'd be offended if I was discriminated over my gender, colour, accent, home, birthplace, etc. I have no control over any of that including the fact that I'm straight and I would not be impressed if I was discriminated against because of it.

Also, the only discriminatory factor I have ever used in picking a place to live is cheapest and closest to work

• Registered Users Posts: 5,820 ✭✭✭floggg

For me it would be awkward and uncomfortable living with a gay person after they chanced me.

OK. I'm not going to discuss my sexuality anymore or engage in that debate because
    a) it is miles off topic
    b) I am fully comfortable with my sexuality and no exactly where I'm at.
    c) I think there's an element of people trying to take the p*ss there.
    d) I've just learned, that like George Clooney, I don't care what people think my sexuality is.

We have a bunch of hypocrites here though, because while everyone is roaring about equality I'm willing to wager that anybody who is living in shared accomodation here has chosen that house on a discriminatory basis whether they like to think it or not. :)

Social cohorts discriminate. That is nature. That is why we have groups of lads and groups of girls walking around the shopping centres. That is why we have old age pensioners playing bingo together, 'Irish' pubs, gay bars, clubs and bars (and indeed whole communities) with mainly black people in them, and kids making friends with people their own age, and, no doubt, houses of gay people living together.

It's nature, it's normal, it's not something we should be running around crying discrimination about. People tend towards their own 'categories'. And people shouldn't be getting all offended because it's completely normal.

It would be a sad world if we had to rename those bingo nights to Ageist nights, and we had Club Racism in full swing in downtown Racistville, and kids were sexist racist ageist animals.

People here need to be realistic and see that the whole human societal structure is discriminatory. And sexuality is not entitled to any preferential treatment, unless one, single, genuine reason can be given for that.

You're right, there's an element of taking the piss in some of what I've said. You're being quite absurd and irrational at times so there is little point trying to engage you at a strictly intellectual level.

That said, there is also an equal element of truth. My perception of you is of somebody with issues around sexuality. Maybe you are as heterosexual as you say, but there are some issues there.

Either that or you are quite irrational and illogical on issues such as this or otherwise on issues of discrimination.

With regard to your assertion that everybody discriminates in grounds of age, sex or race etc with regard to who they live with or socialise with, you fail to grasp the rather large difference between somebody who tends towards living with or socialising with members of a similar demographic, race, sexual orientation and somebody who will not countenance living with them under any circumstances.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 448 ✭✭tunedout

floggg wrote: »
    You're right, there's an element of taking the piss in some of what I've said. You're being quite absurd and irrational at times so there is little point trying to engage you at a strictly intellectual level.

We are very far from engagement at an intellectual level, what we have here is 1 guy trying to give his point of view (be it right or wrong) to a very biased group of people who have an ideal of a society where people should not even bat an eyelid or give an ounce of thought to the differences between a homosexual person and a straight person. And you can't seem to understand why people might have preferences, regarding sexuality, the same way they have preference regarding gender and age, in the formation of their social circle. Your ideal world would be , in fact, chaotic.

That said, there is also an equal element of truth. My perception of you is of somebody with issues around sexuality. Maybe you are as heterosexual as you say, but there are some issues there.
    Ha ha. You couldn't resist. As I said in a previous post my own sexuality is very off topic. Suffice it to say, I am very aware of what my sexuality is :)
    My main concern would be for how silly the basis of your suspicion is. If you regard a person who has a preference to live with straight people, as having sexuality issues, for me, that is akin to a person who has a preference to live with male people, as not being sure of their gender :D
    But I know your'e just winding up there.

With regard to your assertion that everybody discriminates in grounds of age, sex or race etc with regard to who they live with or socialise with, you fail to grasp the rather large difference between somebody who tends towards living with or socialising with members of a similar demographic, race, sexual orientation and somebody who will not countenance liv

You fail to grasp, that in many regards, there is no difference between 'tend'ing towards those with similar demographics, and 'reject'ing those of different demographics. You've just tried to dress it up nicely :)

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭paulmorro

Loving your passive aggressive smilies there.

Anyway, fair play for knowing your sexuality. However you clearly have hang ups about sexuality itself. You can try talking yourself out of hole you're in but the fact of the matter is you have said some very derogatory things, your reasonings for not wanting to live with gay people are flawed and pathetically weak and a complete misunderstanding o a bunch of people who you clearly feel are perverted.

You haven't given good reasons for not wanting to live with gays, whatever you might think you honestly haven't. You've just given abuse.

paulmorro wrote: »
    Loving your passive aggressive smilies there.

Anyway, fair play for knowing your sexuality. However you clearly have hang ups about sexuality itself. You can try talking yourself out of hole you're in but the fact of the matter is you have said some very derogatory things, your reasonings for not wanting to live with gay people are flawed and pathetically weak and a complete misunderstanding o a bunch of people who you clearly feel are perverted.

You haven't given good reasons for not wanting to live with gays, whatever you might think you honestly haven't. You've just given abuse.

While it may be difficult for a gay person to agree on a good reason for not living with gays, I assure you I've given a few good reasons. We have a pitiful case of extreme bias here which is a problem when discussing this issue.

Even if I only considered it from a Darwinian point of view, it is in my best interest to socialise with straight people. I know you can't see any of this. But I try anyway for some reason. Blinded by bias is the real tragedy here.

Here's another passive agressive smiley for you :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Kiwi in IE

We are very far from engagement at an intellectual level, what we have here is 1 guy trying to give his point of view (be it right or wrong) to a very biased group of people who have an ideal of a society where people should not even bat an eyelid or give an ounce of thought to the differences between a homosexual person and a straight person. And you can't seem to understand why people might have preferences, regarding sexuality, the same way they have preference regarding gender and age, in the formation of their social circle.

What is the difference exactly between a homosexual person and a heterosexual person? What is there that needs thinking about?

I would have to assume you have a very narrow 'social circle' if it excludes all sorts of people based on age, sexuality and gender.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

I'm not entirely sure I can stand the irony of this thread anymore...

But in all seriousness folks, at this point the thread is going around in circles and I see absolutely nothing that constitutes discussion, which requires taking on board what other people have to say, if you can't salvage something here soon I think the topic can be put to bed.

While it may be difficult for a gay person to agree on a good reason for not living with gays, I assure you I've given a few good reasons. We have a pitiful case of extreme bias here which is a problem when discussing this issue.

Hate to burst your homophobic bubble here but I am also finding it a wee bit tricky to think of a 'good reason for not living with gays' and I'm straight.

Kiwi in IE wrote: »
    What is the difference exactly between a homosexual person and a heterosexual person? What is there that needs thinking about?

One of the main differences I can see from this forum is that many homosexual people get offended if a heterosexual would rather live with heterosexuals. Many heterosexuals are fully happy with the idea of a house of homosexuals looking for homosexuals only.

Kiwi in IE wrote: »
    Hate to burst your homophobic bubble here but I am also finding it a wee bit tricky to think of a 'good reason for not living with gays' and I'm straight.

Strange, I asked 5 or 6 of my friends would they ever live with a homosexual and they all said no, saying more or less the same as I said, that it can be awkward, it can lead to tricky situations, they might not be comfortable with homosexual activity in the house etc. We must all be homophobic, as must the few other people who contributed in the thread saying they wouldn't live with a homosexual.

By the way if I have a homosexual friend but I don't want to live with a homosexual, am I homophobic?
    I am genuinely, honestly surprised at how easy one can be labelled a homophobic..

Ye will need a word that means someone who actually doesn't like homosexuals, and wouldn't be friendly with one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭oisindoyle

One of the main differences I can see from this forum is that many homosexual people get offended if a heterosexual would rather live with heterosexuals. Many heterosexuals are fully happy with the idea of a house of homosexuals looking for homosexuals only.

Therein lies the lack of understanding and failure to heed listen or grasp anything that EVERYONE on here has told you.

Straight guys have come on here and said they have no problem with shareing with a gay guy,only you do.

Gay guys have come on here and said gay guys do not and cannot "turn" a straight guy gay ,you on the other hand thought otherwise (bizzarely so ) and on and on it went .

Why "homosexual" people got offended was because of your blatant homophobic comments .
    End of ,,,,,,,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭oisindoyle

Strange, I asked 5 or 6 of my friends would they ever live with a homosexual and they all said no, saying more or less the same as I said, that it can be awkward, it can lead to tricky situations, they might not be comfortable with homosexual activity in the house etc. We must all be homophobic, as must the few other people who contributed in the thread saying they wouldn't live with a homosexual.

By the way if I have a homosexual friend but I don't want to live with a homosexual, am I homophobic?
    I am genuinely, honestly surprised at how easy one can be labelled a homophobic..

Ye will need a word that means someone who actually doesn't like homosexuals, and wouldn't be friendly with one.

Well heres the definition for you AGAIN but lets not forget that you did make many many homophobic comments on this thread on this thread that is now 19 pages so far (heaven help us all ) but heres the definition again so you can tell all "your friends"
    Homophobia encompasses a range of negative attitudes and feelings toward homosexuality or people who are identified or perceived as being lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender (LGBT). It can be expressed as antipathy, contempt, prejudice, aversion, or hatred, and may be based on irrational fear.

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭Awake&Unafraid

And here we go with this "homosexual activity" rubbish again. Can you not comprehend that gay people don't have sex all the time?! I know you're going to say you consider homosexual activity as two gay men holding hands etc also. You're uncomfortable with that? With two men showing love and affection to each other?

You also consider homosexual activity as sex too correct? Even though its a natural thing for two people that are in love to share with each other, you wouldn't be comfortable with that, correct?

What you are doing, is discriminating based on sexual orientation, whether you see it or not.

Even if I only considered it from a Darwinian point of view, it is in my best interest to socialise with straight people. I know you can't see any of this. But I try anyway for some reason. Blinded by bias is the real tragedy here.

Here's another passive agressive smiley for you :)

Do you think your own opinion is unbiased?

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 5,820 ✭✭✭floggg

We are very far from engagement at an intellectual level, what we have here is 1 guy trying to give his point of view (be it right or wrong) to a very biased group of people who have an ideal of a society where people should not even bat an eyelid or give an ounce of thought to the differences between a homosexual person and a straight person. And you can't seem to understand why people might have preferences, regarding sexuality, the same way they have preference regarding gender and age, in the formation of their social circle. Your ideal world would be , in fact, chaotic.

Ha ha. You couldn't resist. As I said in a previous post my own sexuality is very off topic. Suffice it to say, I am very aware of what my sexuality is :)
    My main concern would be for how silly the basis of your suspicion is. If you regard a person who has a preference to live with straight people, as having sexuality issues, for me, that is akin to a person who has a preference to live with male people, as not being sure of their gender :D
    But I know your'e just winding up there.

You fail to grasp, that in many regards, there is no difference between 'tend'ing towards those with similar demographics, and 'reject'ing those of different demographics. You've just tried to dress it up nicely :)

I wasn't just winding you up. You do seem to have issues regarding sexuality/your sexuality.

My phone only posted half of what I had typed.

I had continued to explain the difference but it didn't post.

Essentially, there is a difference is as such.

John is a white male from the midlands in his mid 20s. because of his background, age and interests, most of John's friends are white males from the midlands in their mid 20's to early thirties. Thats just because they are the group he is most likely to socialise. John does however have some very good female friends and a small number of friends from different age groups and ethnic backgrounds. John lives with three other white guys in their mid 20s, because they happen to be his best friends and they get along well. John is happy to live with anybody really as long as they get along we'll and are comparable.

Sean is a white male from the midlands in his mid 20's. as a rule, Sean only socialise with other white males in his age group. He has no friends from other tonic groups because he operates under the assumption that they are all the same, and they will automatically have nothing in common. Sean places a lot of emphasis on arbitrary characteristics such as age, sex, race and doesn't see the point in trying to know anybody not in the same demographic as him. Sean lives with three other white guys in their mid-20s. The fact that they are white men in their mid-20/ was very important to him when deciding who to live with. Sean cannot contemplate not living with white men of his age under any circumstances.

See the difference there Sean?

Strange, I asked 5 or 6 of my friends would they ever live with a homosexual and they all said no

No not strange. You already indicated earlier that you think it is normal practice to exclude people from you social circle based on age, sexual orientation and gender. Therefore your five or six friends probably have attitudes just like you. Also providing explanation as to why some gay people may feel more comfortable with gay room mates. If there are five or six people with an attitude like that in your immediate vacinity, chances are they may end up with one as a room mate. The chances of a straight person moving in with room mates who experience an irrational, ignorant 'discomfort' around straight people, and therefore make the environment unpleasant for the straight person, would be pretty remote.

This would be another big worry about living with a gay. I've seen it mentioned a few times here, an expression of discomfort with the idea seems to lead gays to think that the person is actually gay. This is a big worry. It's a complete failure in terms of judge of character and could lead to a very awkward situation if the gay saw it as a reason to attempt to 'turn' a person. The most worrying part is a few people have mentioned it so it must be part of some common fantasy, that the straighter the person, or the more discomfortable the person is with homosexuality the more appealing they are to the gay.

HAHAHAHAHA! Oh dear should I keep reading back? I read the posts about 'homosexual noises'. I think my all time favourite 'homosexual noise' would be the song "The sidewinder sleeps tonight" sung by Michael Stipe of REM (actually I could be wrong that song might be a 'bisexual noise').

In all seriousness OP, in my opinion this thread proves that unfortunately it is a good idea to disclose your sexual orientation. In an ideal world it would be a non issue, but a decision not to discuss it may result in you discovering two weeks into a six month lease that you are living with someone with an attitude like Tunedout. If I were to discover that I was living with a room mate with views like that I would have to move out. And I am straight!

• Registered Users Posts: 92 ✭✭Tainor

It is sad that in this day and age, there are still people in Ireland that live in the delirium that was a CBS society, years ago! Shows that we still have a way to go, before true acceptance is achieved!

Original poster, I think it is better to disclose your sexuality to people, you will be sharing your living with for some time. It is a matter of integrity and personal respect to be able to feel comfortable with discussing this on your own terms, rather than feeling the need to go back into the closet, just because of the reaction you might get from people you currently/or in the future PAY and SHARE all EXPENSES with.

After all, if it is expected that heterosexual people can bring back guys/girls to the place of living, than ergo same should apply to homosexuality. Hence you personally should be making people aware of your sexuality prior, unless your decision is to live a celibate life.

I find the prior discussions about, homosexual activities and notions that homosexuality is "sick" and "unhygienic" absurd and unnecessary distraction from the original purpose of the thread. I know for sure, all of my straight friends (of which I have a lot) will disagree with this ridiculous idea, about hmosexuality!

I think this thread requires a healthy dose of moderation, and analyses of whether anything further said, can be of support to the question proposed by the original poster! As this is bluntly going off-topic and looping in circles, with prejudice and personal opinions, rather than factual support for claims made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

This has been a long aul visit to the apartments anyway :P

At this stage the thread is just going round in circles. I don't see any point in leaving it open.

Terry Pratchet