Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people keep rottweiler and pitbulls?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

FunkZ wrote: »
    We'll bring Rua and Phenox (the biggest Ridgeback ever) :D

Cool, ill look out for you, just dont wanna be going up to random people with ridgebacks asking if their name is Funkz from Boards.ie lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Ah we will find you, I'm great at saying hi to people I don't know :)

And now to the beach.

Hope I don't bump into any Rottweilers or Pitbulls. They kill you...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

andreac wrote: »
    Oh very good, shes a lovely lady alright, have great craic at the shows with her too, lol.

No we are in ring 6 so come and say hi if you like. Im in the champion dog class (male). Im the short blonde girl with the rottie,:D

Ah cool, We'll definitly come up and say hello.:D I'm the tall blond girl with loadsa tattoos. FunkZ will be going with me as well so we'll both see you there.:D

edit, just saw the other posts after I posted...:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

andreac wrote: »
    Oh is it from the Kennel ROTTZRIDGE?? Jane? If so she has amazing dogs and a lovely person too.
    Im at the show in Dundalk on saturday too, showing my rottweiler:)
    Yeah the breeder is Jane. Lovely people.

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭adser53

Bullseye1 wrote: »
    I know Rhodesian Ridgebacks are on that list too. It really is a silly list.

Here is my vicious girl.

Aged 4 months;
    P1010210.jpg

And here she is at 12 months:
    DSCF1126.jpg

DSCF1133.jpg

Her father:
    Jaegar20front204.jpg

And her mum:
    picture.jpg

She's fabulous Bullseye! I love Ridgebacks but unfortunatly I've only ever had the pleasure of meeting 1 in the flesh but he was a fantastic dog

• Registered Users Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

You dog people are very strange and most unreasonable, so this will be my last post on this thread.

You are most definitely shoehorning, you keep trying to tell me that all dogs attack, i keep acknowledging this yet you continue to tell me.

The figures, the stats, on all fatalities from dog attacks in the US over the last few years say, quite clearly that most are caused by Rotts or Pit Bulls. I have provided the evidence, real evidence rather than the anecdotal "evidence" you all seem to favour.

Peace out loons!

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭adser53

Cheerio *slow sarcastic applause*

We're not telling you that all dogs attack over and over, we've all agreed on that. We're telling you that pits and rotties are no more dangerous than other large breeds. That little nugget is the important point you're missing.

And your "real evidence" isn't as clear cut as you seem to believe but if you want to believe it and, while you're at it, the lazy media hysteria surrounding these breeds, then by all means go ahead. No one is stopping you but your depriving yourself

The important things to remember though are that not everything in the Sun newspaper is true and avoid making eye contact with any Rotties you meet in future cos thats how they pick their next victims. ;):D if thats not on wikepedia yet I'll add it later myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭lrushe

Bodhisopha wrote: »

Peace out loons!

The words 'kettle' 'pot' and 'black' come to mind! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭DBCyc

I have provided the evidence, real evidence...
    Here is a list of people killed by dogs in the US since 2005.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_people_killed_by_dogs_in_the_United_States
    Four fatalities in the US this year, 2 by rottweiler and 2 by pitbull.

Hmmm, wikipedia...."real" evidence
    ...rather than the anecdotal "evidence" you all seem to favour
    EGAR wrote: »

This looks like real scientific/academic evidence to me, certainly not anectodal.
    Peace out loons!

Yeah, good man - off with you.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

DBCyc wrote: »
    This looks like real scientific/academic evidence to me, certainly not anectodal.
    It's about the best you can get, but still insanely unreliable for any legislative purposes;
    The data used was derived from dog bite incidents in Ireland provided by 100 owners of a dog (owner group) that had bitten a person and by 134 victims of bites by a dog not owned by the victim (non-owner group). The data was obtained by telephone interview of self-selected volunteer dog owners and bite victims between January 2004 and April 2005.
    There are a number of issues here:

1. Self-selection for certain types of studies, such as this one, tends to skew the results. Someone who has suffered a serious bite from a smaller dog or one with a reputation for being passive, is less likely to volunteer for a study (anonymous or not). Someone who has suffered a more serious attack from a bigger animal will be more eager to tell their tale to anyone who'll hear it.

2. 134 of the people chosen were attacked by a dog that they didn't own. Therefore at least 57% of the sample cannot be relied upon to correctly identify the breed of dog which carried out the bite. Even some of the 100 owners will incorrectly identify the breed.

In almost all cases, random selection produces far more accurate results than self-selection. In reality, any kind of serious study needs to interview closer to 10,000 people at random, whether they've been bitten or not, and to also ask these people to identify dog breeds at random to try and establish a confidence level at which we can say that witness identification of breeds is accurate. That is, if 50% of people are unable to distinguish a Pit bull from say, a Labrador, then we can reasonably say that any study which claims that Pit bulls account for X number of cases, has a 50% margin of error.

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭DBCyc

Those are fair points Séamus. I suppose even if there was strong enough reserch and evidence available to prove that restricted breeds are no more dangerous than other breeds of that size, it would be very difficult to get the legislation changed.

What politician would support it? Would it need to be legally challenged instead?

You could legally challenge it, but legal challenges usually require you to show that human or constitutional rights are being broken by the law. Since dogs have no fundamental or constitutional rights, any legal challenge would be tenuous at best.

The legislation is the Control of Dogs acts, which will most likely be revised at some point to increase the fines leviable for breaching the legislation. It's when this comes up for discussion that you need to be ready to pounce and campaign for a lifting of the regulations.

Ideally before that, an organisation based on the campaign would already exist, have made themselves familiar to the Minister for the Environment and have a bucketload of facts, figures and policies to hand. If you can get the support of the major rescue organisations, you'll be onto a winner too.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

Some really interesting points here. Several posts have alluded to the 'bad owner' rather than the 'bad dog' principle which I 100% agree on. But I also find the general non dog owning public's behaviour very irresponsible sometimes. I have a beautiful golden Cocker Spaniel and while she is the sweetest dog alive if she knows you, she isn't great with strangers and gets very nervous if she is cornered. The amount of people that let their children run up and paw strange dogs is incredible! I've lost count of the amount of times I've had to stop a child cornering my dog and trying to pet her just cos she 'looks' so cute. If my dog got nervous and snapped while the parent looked on, I'd be the one to blame. Sometimes I think it would be easier to own a RB dog, at least you would have less people running up and startling your dog, cornering them and then wondering why they growl!

Children need to be taught from a young age that although they shouldn't be afraid of dogs, they need to respect them.

Slightly cheating I know as she isn't a RB, but any excuse to add a pic of my baby!

P.s. The OP has gone very quiet, the troll must have eaten it's fill :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 616 ✭✭✭LucyBliss

ncmc, that's an interesting point about the way non dog owners approach dogs. I was away staying with relatives at the weekend and the amount of them that brought their kids to visit, but really it was to see the dogs. One dog will meet anyone and sit beside them on the couch (she'd build a nest in your ear, that one!), another barks when new people come in but give him a few minutes and he gets used to you; the third absolutely will not approach. This is a new thing, but I just tell people to ignore her completely and sure enough, she'll be over looking for pets. Yet, people still go after her going "Good dog, come here!" and all that, and she's freaking out trying to get away from them. I had one cousin almost chase the dog up the stairs. We had words. Well, I had words. He had a stroppy fit.

So this time I didn't care what people thought of me, I told them to leave her alone and I (in a nice way) taught the visiting children how to walk into the room when the dogs are barking and how to hand them a treat. One poor kid got so excited, she practically fired the dog biscuits at the dogs like bullets. The dogs were a bit "WTF??" Thankfully, she didn't stay long!

Your dog is beautiful. Thanks for sharing the pictures.

• Registered Users Posts: 294 ✭✭cjf

Yea I have a nervous girly too not sure what happened her as a pup but its the hand coming down towards her action that scares her! She is getting better but so terrified when I see the 'maulers' coming over. I always ask can I pet someones dog you just never know! She just get such a fright and barks then its all my fault and she a mean dog! Feel putting a teeshirt on her saying 'Dont look dont touch' !! haha and its mad cause out of my 2 dogs people always go to pet the smaller one when its the big lad who will just be best pals with anyone!

• Registered Users Posts: 616 ✭✭✭LucyBliss

Whenever my grandmother used to get into bad form, she'd shriek "Don't Look At Me, Don't Talk To Me, Don't Even Mention My Name!!" I reckon that's what my Meg has gotten into her head after all the times she and my grandmother would kip together on the recliner! So now that's what I tell people when they want to rub Meg and she's hastily beating a retreat. It gets the point across.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭lrushe

Had something similiar happen me yesterday with my Chihuahua. This kid came running towards her, arms outstretched ready to pick Cleo up, high pitched voice screeching "look at the Beverly Hills Chihuahua"!!! Had to physically stand inbetween her and my dog to stop her chasing her to tell her (in a pretty loud voice cause I was so annoyed) not to chase the dog that she was scaring her. The girls mothers face looked like thunder, I didn't care, how dare she be so irresponsible as to let her child run over to grab a strange dog and I'd have told her as much had she have said anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

I'm so glad I read this thread and the pics are just beautiful. I am ashamed to say I (as a huge cat person - see my baby below) I went along with the stereotype and assumed that Pit Bulls and Rottweilers were scary vicious dogs. Well I have to say my opinion has totally changed. Thanks all. :)

36938_403238415447_520855447_4879761_5424757_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Why do people have pitbulls? THIS is why people have pitbulls.

For those without time/video: two pitbulls living rough for at least 2 years are trapped and happily accept food from completely unknown humans who then carry them around, bathe them and generally fuss over them without so much as raising a lip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

kylith, that was fantastic. Thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Kimia wrote: »
    I'm so glad I read this thread and the pics are just beautiful. I am ashamed to say I (as a huge cat person - see my baby below) I went along with the stereotype and assumed that Pit Bulls and Rottweilers were scary vicious dogs. Well I have to say my opinion has totally changed. Thanks all. :)

Genuine offer, and I've made it a few times to people.

If your in Dublin and want to meet a some bullies I'd gladly let you meet and play with my guys.

attachment.php?attachmentid=121231&stc=1&d=1279842248

attachment.php?attachmentid=121232&stc=1&d=1279842331

We've never met anyone who didn't immediately fall in love with the bullies, in fact one poster in this thread got his Staffy after meeting Richo & Ruby!.

Jaysus, he's a big dog kylith. Big softies the two of them though.

kylith wrote: »
    Why do people have pitbulls? THIS is why people have pitbulls.

Amazing vid!! His face in the bath was just pure joy! They were so scared poor pets!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭fatmammycat

Gosh that made me tear up, poor animals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭fatmammycat

Heh, I nearly got knocked over by and over enthusiastic staffy out running the other week. As soon as I stopped she flung her self at my feet upside down for belly rubs, ADORABLE. Solid as hell too. Love them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭TooManyDogs

One of the most amazing stories about pitbulls I ever heard was from a woman in the USA who had a pit she worked as a search and rescue dog. The dog was getting on a bit so she wanted to get another dog to train up and learn from the first one. She decided to get a second pit because of their stamina and the fact they'll continue to work no matter how tired they are which is ideal for search and rescue.

The woman responded to an ad in the paper about pitbull pups for sale and arranged to go out and have a look, as soon as she arrived and saw the set up she knew it was a puppy farm rather than a real breeder so she and her dog went back to the car. When she got to the car she realised her dog wasn't with her, called for her and after about 30 secs the dog came running - with a pup in her mouth!!! The dog jumped into the car and hid the pup under the seat! The woman said she just got out of there as quickly as she could. Now that pup is working as a search and rescue dog and the first dog is enjoying her retirement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭i-digress

One of the most amazing stories about pitbulls I ever heard was from a woman in the USA who had a pit she worked as a search and rescue dog. The dog was getting on a bit so she wanted to get another dog to train up and learn from the first one. She decided to get a second pit because of their stamina and the fact they'll continue to work no matter how tired they are which is ideal for search and rescue.

The woman responded to an ad in the paper about pitbull pups for sale and arranged to go out and have a look, as soon as she arrived and saw the set up she knew it was a puppy farm rather than a real breeder so she and her dog went back to the car. When she got to the car she realised her dog wasn't with her, called for her and after about 30 secs the dog came running - with a pup in her mouth!!! The dog jumped into the car and hid the pup under the seat! The woman said she just got out of there as quickly as she could. Now that pup is working as a search and rescue dog and the first dog is enjoying her retirement.

That's brilliant! I'd love a pitbull brother or sister for my Roxie (labrador) in a couple of years. My dog is very well trained, most of the time :rolleyes: Would a second time owner be able to raise a well-adjusted happy pitbull?

Depends on how determined you are!! Loads of patience, positive training and love will raise a happy well adjusted dog (regardless of breed)! They are a responsibility and you have to be aware of all the negative aspects surrounding the breed so you have to have your rubber shield on when out walking but a more loyal loving devoted animal you will never own! Labs, retrievers etc are bred with a 'soft' mouth and as such tend not to over do it when playing but with Pits, staffs etc this needs to be taught and nice playing encouraged from the word go! There are also a slightly more independent breed and are capable of thinking for themselves when they feel like it so training needs to be consistent and positive. Defo a dog to bring to training classes! If you are committed to raising a well adjusted dog and do all the things advised to socialise and train your doggy then you will have 2 fab happy dogs!!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Genuine offer, and I've made it a few times to people.

If your in Dublin and want to meet a some bullies I'd gladly let you meet and play with my guys.

We've never met anyone who didn't immediately fall in love with the bullies, in fact one poster in this thread got his Staffy after meeting Richo & Ruby!.
    I'd love to, but ironically my Cairn X is too unfriendly :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 269 ✭✭CL32

That would be me. And theres pictures of that particular pudding belly back on page six.

Fair play Kimia, great to hear from an open minded person on these RB threads for once.