Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people keep rottweiler and pitbulls?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,617 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Discodog wrote: »
    I would have to agree with Hellrazer (at the risk of him fainting with shock ;)). .

Hell has just frozen over and theres a Pot Bellied pig flying outside the window and I have pains in my chest from the shock.

Back on topic though--The point I was trying to make is "Why get mad??"

It doesnt change peoples views and honestly if I was Tinkerbell and got that response(not even a comment just 3 mad smileys)Id be thinking "Thats a good way to argue a point,Im not changing my views due to that response"

Theres enough people that disagree with the RB list that maybe lobbying your local TD might get them to revisit it.

You all know the trouble Ive had with the RB list and social workers and the adoption Im going through at the minute.Its keeping me from getting the dog I want ie a Rottie but believe me my local TD is going to get a right bollocking come next election time.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,187 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Does anyone have a rottie/pitbull I can hug :D

I am slightly nervous, of all strange, big dogs, but not ignorant. GSDs are without a doubt my favourite breed!

• Registered Users Posts: 730 ✭✭✭antomagoo

Tinkerbell should have really read the whole tread first. very unfair and well wide of the mark to say only 1 in 5 are good responsible owners

IvySlayer wrote: »

I am slightly nervous, of all strange, big dogs, but not ignorant. GSDs are without a doubt my favourite breed!
    You can hug my rottie anytime you want she loves affection :p

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

IvySlayer wrote: »

You can hug my cooper (rottie) anytime, he loves giving kisses and cuddles.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

I said that 1 in 5 thing as just a general thing - for all you guys on this thread who are good to your animals, there are probably more than you who don't treat their dogs well (that goes for ALL breeds, and all animals really), otherwise you wouldn't have the likes of dog shelters and things being over-crowded with unwanted pets the whole time.

I have read SOME of the thread (the first few pages) - not the whole lot, I will though. I didn't just read the title!

And I think it's unfair to get angry at people who say they wouldn't trust animals on the restricted breed list. Why would I ever want to have a dog as a pet that I was afraid of? Anyway they just ain't my kind of dog anyway, same reason as I don't like small dogs. I like Newfs and lab / retrievers, they are big and cuddly, so placid and gentle and I would gladly have one of them in my home. And I just like those dogs.

tinkerbell wrote: »
    I said that 1 in 5 thing as just a general thing - for all you guys on this thread who are good to your animals, there are probably more than you who don't treat their dogs well (that goes for ALL breeds, and all animals really), otherwise you wouldn't have the likes of dog shelters and things being over-crowded with unwanted pets the whole time

Thats a fair point. There is alot of staffies and rotties that end up in shelters.

I have read the rest of the thread now and I'm sorry if I offended you guys. You guys all seem to have lovely, well behaved dogs, it's just the breed are not for me that's all (just like some breeds would not appeal to you guys!)

So the list of restricted breeds are:

American Pit Bull Terrier
    Bull Mastiff
    Doberman Pinscher
    English Bull Terrier
    German Shepherd (Alsatian)
    Japanese Akita
    Japanese Tosa
    Rhodesian Ridgeback
    Rottweiler
    Staffordshire Bull Terrier

Of all on that list, I don't mind the German Shepherd or the Japanese Akita - I like the look of them. I'm just not fond of the others. And my basis isn't just on the restricted breed list - there are plenty of dogs that I don't like the look of - jack russels, all terriers (yorkshire, westies), chihuahua - I mean all those can be quite aggressive, I don't think it's right that the restricted breed list doesn't have those but it has so many others on the list, I find that terriers and jack russels can get quite snappy and aggressive - so I stay away from them too.

So it's not that I have an opinion on the restricted breed list, it's just that the dogs that I personally am not fond of, happen to be in that list. And also, I think that the dog will turn out how its owners treat it. It's not the breed but it's the owners that are the problem.

PS I think that this story is so sad :(
    lrushe wrote: »
    Wrongly euthanised...

Family dog killed after trying to save dying owner

Cleveland, OH - It appears that breed misconceptions may, yet again, have contributed to the euthanasia of a beloved family dog.
    According to a recent story, faulty assumptions caused the death of a loyal companion that valiantly tried to save his dying owner.

antomagoo wrote: »
    Thats a fair point. There is alot of staffies and rotties that end up in shelters.

They do, as well as greyhounds, etc. are always in shelters.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Interesting - I'm in the market for a dog at the moment. Am spending a lot of time looking - have six cats, so need to bring in a pup for their sake.

Believe it or not, was very tempted by an English Mastiff pup at a shelter!! DH had the horrors at the whole idea ("we'll be bankrupt feeding it!"), but in my mind, taken in as a puppy and properly socialised, the adult dog would be a large, dribbling, snoring, couch potato animal, likely to be a mattress for the cats, and with a very limited tendancy to chase a running cat, so yes, I was seriously considering a dog that could reach 70kgs as a safer companion animal for me and my cats than a 20kg dog with terrier, collie or sighthound in its lineage...

Which ironically goes to show I'm as capable of discriminating against a dog on the basis of its breed as someone who is afraid of the restricted breeds list?!

Interesting - I'm in the market for a dog at the moment. Am spending a lot of time looking - have six cats, so need to bring in a pup for their sake.

Believe it or not, was very tempted by an English Mastiff pup at a shelter!! DH had the horrors at the whole idea ("we'll be bankrupt feeding it!"), but in my mind, taken in as a puppy and properly socialised, the adult dog would be a large, dribbling, snoring, couch potato animal, likely to be a mattress for the cats, and with a very limited tendancy to chase a running cat, so yes, I was seriously considering a dog that could reach 70kgs as a safer companion animal for me and my cats than a 20kg dog with terrier, collie or sighthound in its lineage...

Which ironically goes to show I'm as capable of discriminating against a dog on the basis of its breed as someone who is afraid of the restricted breeds list?!

Love the English Mastiff but wouldnt be worried about being bankrupt feeding, its finding big enough bags to clean up after it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭adser53

antomagoo wrote: »
    Love the English Mastiff but wouldnt be worried about being bankrupt feeding, its finding big enough bags to clean up after it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 294 ✭✭cjf

Fair play for going to a shelter!! So many dogs there needing homes! Alot of times they are guys who look great as pups but people have not given any thought to how mush care they will need. Alot of bigger guys RB's and also Boxers, lab's etc. that make cute pups but soon as they hit 6-8 months people just cant cope and give them away. Its sad! Good luck with your search always a staffy, boxer or GSD to be found looking for a good home and sadly many are at thet 6 month age. Got my chap at 6 months and although would have been nice to have held him in my arms at least once (he was too big when got him) I still would defo advocate for getting a dog in need!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭lrushe

So it's not that I have an opinion on the restricted breed list, it's just that the dogs that I personally am not fond of, happen to be in that list.

That's the thing about the Restricted Breeds List, it might only have ten breeds on it today but if you let people think that that's ok to dicriminate like that tomorrow there might be ten more dogs added, those dog breeds could be any breed to have ever bitten a human, including your beloved Newfoundland, those that enforce it won't care that your particular Newfoundland is placid. Its the boat us RB owners are in.

• Registered Users Posts: 629 ✭✭✭cotton

Tinkerbell, I have 4 dogs, 3 are restricted breeds and one is a labrador/retriever.

Of all of them, the labrador/retriever is definately the one to watch & is grumpiest of them all.

That's the thing about the Restricted Breeds List, it might only have ten breeds on it today but if you let people think that that's ok to dicriminate like that tomorrow there might be ten more dogs added, those dog breeds could be any breed to have ever bitten a human, including your beloved Newfoundland, those that enforce it won't care that your particular Newfoundland is placid. Its the boat us RB owners are in.

Its true that none of the dogs on the RB list are of the fluffy cutsie kind but as mentioned it is a personal taste thing and where one person sees a vicious face another sees pure love. The tough part is that as these guys are on the list it make it even harder for people to see past the sterotype and see the individual dog. It is a shame and when people have commented on how my two look or if they are nervous of them I just cannot see it as all I saw the day I laid eyes on them was big brown eyes and a giant smushy nose! My 2 may wear the outfit of an RB but put them in a newfie outfit or a lab outfit and no one would know the difference!! Thats the hardest part! But worth it cause I know they fab any anyone who gives them half a chance knows how fab they are its like a secret love club and haters are not invited!! haha anyone I meet with a RB we always end up chatting for ages about how great they are and loving and all the silly things they have done!

I have to admit I worry sometimes about the RB list being updated to include other dogs and the outright banning of some breeds. We always say we've come across more vicious small dogs, terriers, collies etc that aren't on the RB list and it's so true (in my experience) but I would never wish for a tit-for-tat scenario where the list was changer to include these dogs. The core arguement all RB owners put forward is that (to use the common saying) it's deed not breed and it's always the owners responsibilty.
    If I had my way, I'd scrap the RB list, have the same rules for all dogs and a lot more accountabilty on the owners. If there were stricter rules on animal welfare and punishments given to the owners responsible for dog attacks then I think things would be much better. The scanger who mistreats his dog that then attacks someone, is free to go out tomorrow and buy another one after the other dog is PTS.
    Better education is needed for potential dog owners (and a lot of current ones too) and schemes like the canine good citizien awards should be promoted and encouraged (lower licence fees for awardees etc)
    The complacency and ignorance of a lot of non-RB owners can be dangerous as they believe their beloved lab, or whatever, can never bite which as we know too well, isn't the case. The existence of the list may even be a reason for certain undesireables choosing the breeds they do.
    I like to think things will change for the better eventually but I fear it's more likely that there's going to be a terrible incident here which will lead to hysterics and a rushed law revision (as happened in the UK almost 20 years ago) that will ban/enforce stricter rules on certain breeds and there'll be no coming back from that. Everytime we read about a dog attack in Ireland in the papers, the closing statement is always by a neighbour or family member demanding that these breeds be banned. See the evening heralds sensationalised article a few weeks ago about the akita who bit a very young child in clondalkin (i'm not saying it wasnt awful before someone says otherwise) while the mother was nowhere around. Banning breeds didn't work in the UK (i think it made things worse) but we all know the irish government prefer to follow other countries blindly, rather than pioneer new laws and systems themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Tbh, it is a concern of mine too. I don't know whether it's a good or bad thing that the issue isn't a big one over here.

My gut feeling is that if the hysterical mothers were given their way, it would be illegal to own any dog greater than 1 foot tall except for farming or security purposes, and all dogs would need to be muzzled and only brought into designated parts of public parks, completely excluded from the rest of the public.

Yes, that's extreme but not a massive leap. All dog owners need to wake up to the fact that the RB list has no basis in fact and there is absolutely nothing to stop legislators from adding any other breed to this list. It sounds insane to say, but the RB list is a form of dog apartheid; i.e. the difference between a rottie and a lab is the same as the difference between a white man and a black man - it's skin deep and nothing more. All dogs are members of the same species, possessed of identical physiology.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,857 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

It is clear that whoever drew up the original RB list did not have a clue about dogs. The same thing has happened with the Dog Breeding Bill & will probably happen with the proposed Animal Welfare Bill.

Much of our legislation is made on the hoof which is why it ends up being amended or thrown out by the EU. There is every likelihood of a breed ban in the future. It will probably come about as an over reaction to an incident.

I do know some people that were involved in the UK PB ban. I think that there was one particular attack where a PB went for it's owner. He survived with horrific injuries. The argument then was not that the dog had attacked but that the attack was so determined. I believe that his family had to literally beat the dog off. I know that when the incident was examined the dog was a doted pet. There was no obvious reason for the attack & this was used as ammunition by those seeking a ban.

The real worry is the huge increase in "undesirables" using dogs as a weapon which is bound to increase the number of incidents.

cotton wrote: »
    Tinkerbell, I have 4 dogs, 3 are restricted breeds and one is a labrador/retriever.

Of all of them, the labrador/retriever is definately the one to watch & is grumpiest of them all.
    cjf wrote: »
    Its true that none of the dogs on the RB list are of the fluffy cutsie kind but as mentioned it is a personal taste thing and where one person sees a vicious face another sees pure love.

cjf - you hit the nail on the head with what you said here. It's not the restricted list I am talking about - those dogs on that list like those bull terriers, I just don't like them. It is a personal taste thing. I do not like the look of them. That's the problem. They could be lovely wonderful pets but I do not like the look of their faces and just the look of them scare me. I just feel uncomfortable around them. It is true - I prefer the fluffy cutsey doggy, and I feel more at ease.

I am sure you all have lovely dogs and cotton - you said the Lab in your lot is the one to be wary of, there are grumpy dogs in all breeds, sure dogs are like humans. They have emotions too. It's just how they are brought up is how they behave. So bad owner = bad dog. Good owner = good dog.

It's not that I'm discriminating of those breeds in that list, I just don't like those bull terrier type dogs. I don't like bull dogs either - had an encounter with one of them, it wasn't vicious to me or anything but it was a bit aggressive like snarly or whatever. I have to say I was terrified and it was this tiny fecker of a thing. Just had to run away from it fast and hide (it was too small and fat to catch up to me!) - to me, those type of dogs just don't have friendly faces.

By the way, I like German Sheperds and Akitas, I think Akitas look so lovely and cuddly (Sarah Michelle Gellar has a gorgeous Akita doggy). It's just personal taste though - what you like and don't like. Like Barrys Tea and Lyons Tea!

I didn't like the look of Greyhounds until I got one (by accident) & now I could not imagine life without one.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭Neilw

those dogs on that list like those bull terriers, I just don't like them.

You can't say this is not a nice bull terrier :D
    pup.jpg

This is my one as a pup.
    DSC01444.jpg

cjf - you hit the nail on the head with what you said here. It's not the restricted list I am talking about - those dogs on that list like those bull terriers, I just don't like them. It is a personal taste thing. I do not like the look of them. That's the problem. They could be lovely wonderful pets but I do not like the look of their faces and just the look of them scare me. I just feel uncomfortable around them. It is true - I prefer the fluffy cutsey doggy, and I feel more at ease.

Even thou he may not look like a typical cutsie cuddly if ya look real hard u will see his cute side. . .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭lrushe

They could be lovely wonderful pets but I do not like the look of their faces and just the look of them scare me. I just feel uncomfortable around them. It is true - I prefer the fluffy cutsey doggy, and I feel more at ease.

Yeah they'd put the fear of God into anyone :D

picture.php?albumid=1172&pictureid=6081

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Discodog wrote: »
    I didn't like the look of Greyhounds until I got one (by accident) & now I could not imagine life without one.

Would you believe a mate of mine cross bred a Grey with a Pitbull!..

I can't post its photo, but 'whispered' (poster here) has seen it.

One of my neighbours has a Westie that is in love with my female Greyhound. They make a very funny couple. She pushes him with her nose & he rolls over. He lays on his back & nibbles her ears. She bites his !. They will spend 10 minutes in this embrace with tails wagging. You can see her trying to work out if he's a dog or just a big rabbit !

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,617 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Jesus you`d never be able to outrun that "dangerous dog" !!!!

has he given it a designer name? I like pithound myself. A suitably terrifying name for the worlds fastest maneater :D

The real joke is that our government already consider my Greyhound to be dangerous as it is illegal to have a Greyhound off lead & even more bizarre it is illegal to walk more than four of them !.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

adser53 wrote: »
    has he given it a designer name? I like pithound myself. A suitably terrifying name for the worlds fastest maneater :D

Or call it a 'Grey Bull', totally mess up the authorities heads :pac:

Its a lurcher!!!! any sighthound mix is classed as a lurcher! Pits and staffs x'd with greyhounds are becoming a more popular cross as the pit or staff adds stamina to the the greyhounds speed. . .or so is the theory! The sad thing about this is that the desired ones are the ones that are most grehound like as opposed to the ones that will be more bull and this leads to the unwanted pups being culled or thrown away because they not matching the exact type the breeder wanted.