Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Reserve B.R Form (for background checks)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 DubNorth

tashamc wrote: »
    Thanks DubNorth.. I've now heard the next one is May 14th..

One of the people from my intake was speaking to somebody in HR last week and they confirmed that the next date for graduation is 23 April and that all those eligible will be notified soon. Lets hope they stick with this date!

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭freddiew

DubNorth wrote: »
    One of the people from my intake was speaking to somebody in HR last week and they confirmed that the next date for graduation is 23 April and that all those eligible will be notified soon. Lets hope they stick with this date!

Heard last night from Chief Super that it is May 14th

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

billyhead wrote: »
    Folks,

I filled out the aforementioned form and have recived an adult caution in the past for being drunk and disorderly (this was during Christmas 2007). I hope when they contact my employer as part of the reference checks they do not mention or bring this up. I am trying to forget about it and put it to bed to be honest.

The Adult Caution will definitely not be mentioned to your employer so you have no need to worry.
    sf94 wrote: »
    Hi All,
    Just in case anyone else reading was having the same issue as me in terms of not knowing a member of AGS to support the application.....I rang the Reserve office and was told that I can leave that section blank and print out the form and when I go to my local office ask the Sergeant who is signing the application would he be willing to put his name down and then this can be hand written on the form. Or she said you can just put down that you dont know any member (as she said not everyone applying will). I think I will go with the first option!!

Edit: Actually, maybe serving members would be able to give their opinion on this.......if asked would you put your name down as a reference for a Reserve candidate that you didn't know when signing their form?

If I had some dealings with you in the past then I would have no problem giving a reference for those dealings only. If you were a person I ahd never met before then no I wouldnt. Sorry if thats not what you want to hear but hey sure you probably dont live in my district and even if you did get your form into the station quick cos Im on leave!!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,118 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Hey all.

Filling out this monster of a form at the moment and have a couple questions....

1) Where it asks you to list Aunts / Uncles, you only list your actual family members, right? Or does it go to My Uncles wife, for example?

2) With regards the medical part, I was in hospital for a minor illness about 8 years ago, for four days. And just wee things like a broken finger or dislocated shoulder apart from that. Do all these have to be listed too?

3) As I'm currently unemployed, do i put down my last employer as the 'current employer reference'?

Thanks!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 sf94

Hey all.

Filling out this monster of a form at the moment and have a couple questions....

1) Where it asks you to list Aunts / Uncles, you only list your actual family members, right? Or does it go to My Uncles wife, for example?

2) With regards the medical part, I was in hospital for a minor illness about 8 years ago, for four days. And just wee things like a broken finger or dislocated shoulder apart from that. Do all these have to be listed too?

3) As I'm currently unemployed, do i put down my last employer as the 'current employer reference'?

Thanks!! :)

Hey,

I'll try and answer what I can:

1) Just your blood relatives (i.e. your parents brothers and sisters only). If your having trouble getting exact dates of birth you can ring the Register of Births Deaths and Marriages (cant find the number now but if you google it should find it), I rang them a few times and they were really helpful. If you have your granny's maiden name and a rough idea of the year they are born they should be able to find the exact date for you.

2) Don't know this sorry....what I would say is that if you ring the number for the garda recruitment office that you get on the letter to say you passed the inital interview they are unbelievably helpful so give them a call and they should be able to answer any questions you have.

3) I'm in the same postion, I put down NA for current employmer and then I got my old manager to give me a reference as my 'current employer reference'. I think they understand that in times like these a lot of people will be in this boat

Hope this helps....I think the best advice I can give on this form is to be honest and if you have any questions ring the garda office (I had them pestered!! :))

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Jeez mate I know exactly what you're going through ... I'm stuck in mine all week-end *feel a headache coming on*

- It's similar to the Form B for the full-time members found here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055289431 . I had to re-read the 13pages earlier myself

- As for current employment section, if you're currently unemployed then type N/A because underneath then it asks for all previous employments

sf94 wrote: »
    Hey,

I'll try and answer what I can:

1) Just your blood relatives (i.e. your parents brothers and sisters only). If your having trouble getting exact dates of birth you can ring the Register of Births Deaths and Marriages (cant find the number now but if you google it should find it), I rang them a few times and they were really helpful. If you have your granny's maiden name and a rough idea of the year they are born they should be able to find the exact date for you...
    Hope this helps....I think the best advice I can give on this form is to be honest and if you have any questions ring the garda office (I had them pestered!! :))

Hey cheers sf94 I never thought of ringing the Births, Deaths & Marraiges :o after googling though I found this: http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/birth-family-relationships/registrar_birth_marr_death
    Contact information for Registrars of Births, Marriages and Deaths is available here, including addresses, opening hours, etc.
    Further information is available from:

General Register Office
    Government Offices
    Convent Road
    Roscommon
    IRELAND
    Tel:+353 90 663 2900
    Locall:1890 25 20 76
    Fax:+353 90 663 2999

I must give them a ring tomorrow myself

How long after this form was handed in did people hear back re: meeting Super/Inspector and / or medical? Rough timeframe will be fine :)

• Registered Users Posts: 319 ✭✭lehanemore

kerry4sam wrote: »
    How long after this form was handed in did people hear back re: meeting Super/Inspector and / or medical? Rough timeframe will be fine :)

I met the Super 2 weeks later, then a Sarge, then my local Garda (I'm out in the boonies)

couple of phone calls from my local station, asking about relations etc

medical about 9 months later.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,672 ✭✭✭billyhead

I received a call the other day to go to the station for the Sergeants interview. I was just wondering what can I expect in terms of questions asked and the length of time it is. Also what do you suggest I wear (obviously not jeans and runners) and one more thing does this mean my background checks received the all clear and can I expect to be called for a medical shortly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Murphy(Cork)

I received a call the other day to go to the station for the Sergeants interview. I was just wondering what can I expect in terms of questions asked and the length of time it is. Also what do you suggest I wear (obviously not jeans and runners) and one more thing does this mean my background checks received the all clear and can I expect to be called for a medical shortly?

This means your background checks are about to start, the sgt does a few checks himself and then its up to the vetting office.

I wore a jeans and a shirt, it's not formal but at the same time it's not your every day chat.

Basically just goes over whats on your GR2 form (If it's still called that, been awhile)

It's grand, they're all sound

I was just asked a lot about my background....what I do in work, what do I do in my spare time, where do I socialise, who are my friends, why I want to join the reserves and then how I think I'd handle certain situations. I think in this they are just trying to get a better judge of the type of person you are. I had a fairly good random chat to the sergeant afterwards (but didn't think the actual interview went that well......she was firing questions at me thick and fast and I was quite nervous for some reason and think I came across to the sergeant as not knowing much about the reserves or what I was potentially letting myself in for). I just wore smart casual gear, jeans, shoes, shirt and a jumper. All in mine took 30 minutes (including the random chatting).

I dont think this means you've got the all clear on anything yet!! Next step is the Super/Inspector interview and then if you are successful at that it's a case of waiting for the background check and then being called for the medical.......

Basically just goes over whats on your GR2 form (If it's still called that, been awhile)

Its called the BR form now, apparently they changed it for the '09 applications

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 robdev

Longtime lurker on this forum, I decided to break cover because I hoped you guys could help me with a query regarding the GR background check.

Question 10 (c) asks if you have ever resigned, been dismissed or discharged from any employment. I was on a temporary contract with a company which was terminated because I had missed a lot of time due to illness. The periods I spent in hospital etc. were certified but some days I missed later due to complications were not.

Would this count against me in my application and would AGS contact all my past employers (this was seven years ago)?

Also I was wondering what is the situation if you don't know any Gardai to give you a reference? The members I did know personally are retired now.
    Would this put you at a disadvantage?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭paulbolg

robdev wrote: »
    Longtime lurker on this forum, I decided to break cover because I hoped you guys could help me with a query regarding the GR background check.

Question 10 (c) asks if you have ever resigned, been dismissed or discharged from any employment. I was on a temporary contract with a company which was terminated because I had missed a lot of time due to illness. The periods I spent in hospital etc. were certified but some days I missed later due to complications were not.

Would this count against me in my application and would AGS contact all my past employers (this was seven years ago)?

Also I was wondering what is the situation if you don't know any Gardai to give you a reference? The members I did know personally are retired now.

well when it comes to the backround check they are very extreme and every employer is contacted. and a member in your own local garda station is the normal anyway but it would be no harm putting in ex members too id say. its hard to say if your absence from would count against you getting in but its worth a try. attendence is very important doing the garda reserve especially training!!!! and a minimum of 208 hours is requested you do when training is finished. those hours will start when you begin training at the garda college. the backround checks may take some time to come back as some people were waiting to get in for 2 years. i think there is one more intake of the grada reserves this year although that could change.

Hi, with regards to this bit....I dont know any serving members either and was concerned about this but I rang the garda appointments office and they assured me that it is not a pre-requiste and they understand that not everyone will know a garda so I dont think it will hurt your chances (but in saying that I know a retired member so I put his name down and then when meeting the sergaent she kind of just dismissed it and asked did I not know any current members and seemed a bit unimpressed that I didn't......so I hope I'm right about it not being a disadvantage!!!)

paulbolg wrote: »
    well when it comes to the backround check they are very extreme and every employer is contacted. and a member in your own local garda station is the normal anyway but it would be no harm putting in ex members too id say. its hard to say if your absence from would count against you getting in but its worth a try. attendence is very important doing the garda reserve especially training!!!! and a minimum of 208 hours is requested you do when training is finished. those hours will start when you begin training at the garda college. the backround checks may take some time to come back as some people were waiting to get in for 2 years. i think there is one more intake of the grada reserves this year although that could change.

I hope you're right. This was a once off seven years ago because I really was sick. It just when its so hard to get in (470 taken from 22000 applicants I read somewhere) you get paranoid about any perceived flaw in your cv. Should I put down phone numbers for previous employers? I don't see a section for that on the form.

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

the garda clearance section is quite extensive!

every aunt and uncle i have, occupation, DOB etc

what exactly r they lookin for? major crimes or will my 60 yr old uncle who was hangin round a shop bk in the day and had his name taken gonna be held against me!?

are uncles/aunts my marriage considered?

delighted im passed the first stage, real excited as to what lies ahead!

Scouser wrote: »
    the garda clearance section is quite extensive!

every aunt and uncle i have, occupation, DOB etc

what exactly r they lookin for? major crimes or will my 60 yr old uncle who was hangin round a shop bk in the day and had his name taken gonna be held against me!?

are uncles/aunts my marriage considered?

delighted im passed the first stage, real excited as to what lies ahead!

Scouser only recently passed stage1 myself and i'm still all :D. No-one surely can be held accountable for the actions of their relatives, surely not! No in-laws required just immediate aunts and uncles, thankfully - for me that's enough :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Scouser only recently passed stage1 myself and i'm still all :D. No-one surely can be held accountable for the actions of their relatives, surely not! No in-laws required just immediate aunts and uncles, thankfully - for me that's enough :pac:

fair play! mite cya in templemore with abita luck! :L

have u been waiting long for the medical etc to come up?

did u send form B in?

Scouser wrote: »
    fair play! mite cya in templemore with abita luck! :L

have u been waiting long for the medical etc to come up?

did u send form B in?

with some luck :D

Ah I'm only waiting a few weeks yet and expecting some months' wait being honest. I only handed my form in about a fortnight ago, don't envy anyone who has to do theirs...real thorough job!

I'd be a newbie to this GardaReserve section :o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

first thing id say if you were sick and i mean really sick then you couldnt have worked so i cant see that goin against ya.my employer afaik was not contacted although the local lads would know him well.i knew a few members and out down one but i think its all about building a character of the person and a few words from a member is a help in building this profile, but i dont think its an advantage imo.
    one thing i would say to you is just be completely honest with everything you put down,because if you start tweaking of leaving out things it could come up again

• Registered Users Posts: 40 THE PIPER

Just got word today to say I have passed interview and written test,What happens next?when do you fill out the BR form:confused:

THE PIPER wrote: »
    Just got word today to say I have passed interview and written test,What happens next?when do you fill out the BR form:confused:

Fill out the BR as soon as you like!! It's pretty daunting and can take a bit of time so the sooner you make a start the better I guess. Once done hand it in to the local station and you will have a meeting with a sergeant and then a Super

Well done Piper :D

Well anytime from today - They will only take that form from you once you pass the Interview.

Thanks for all the responses guys, you've been a great help.

Thanks Sam,:) Will make a start at the weekend on it.Not too many people in my family so it shouldnt be to much trouble.Any idea what the story is with interview with local super,what kind of questions etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DK47

hey piper, were you waiting long to get called for interview?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 gerry05

Well done,had my interview and written test today I think I failed:mad: it,interview lasted about 15mins they mainly stuck to the three competencies. just feel my answers were not that good and also abit vague.

How long before they get back to you after the tests???

dkhill47 wrote: »
    hey piper, were you waiting long to get called for interview?
    Applied at the end of febuary,so not too long to wait.