Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Reserve Applicants-Introduce Yourself (see Moderator note in post#1)

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭halfback5

hi guys I'm a good bit behind most of ye, waiting on interview at the moment, I'm expecting it shortly though.
    Pulls up chair :)

• Registered Users Posts: 19 littlebubble25

Hey halfback5...
    I'm also waiting on interview:)...when did you send off your application?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 GRHopefull

Hi All,

I've read over many threads before deciding to join!!

I applied to GR 11/09
    Sent an e-mail 04/10 by PAS confirming my interest
    Eventually received date 07/10 for my Test
    Recevied reply from PAS 08/10 I passed and fill in BR form
    BR Form completed and stamped by local station 08/10
    Interview with local Sgt. in 08/10
    BR checks still being completed...... I understand can take up to 2years!!

Question : Does local Superintendent have a meeting before BR checks are completed or wait till same are completed before meeting?

got the magic letter this morning, have interview and report writing exercise on the 20th :eek:

Best of luck with your exam.......

Only advise I can give, be very mindful of the time allowed

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭westcoastboy

Lads, as a Garda Reserve for 2 years now, i notice that people turn up and a lot leave after a year, even people with a lot of free time, so you go to all this trouble forms , medical etc, for what.
    The benefits are for me:
    it looks good on application forms for jobs, promotion.
    you are meeting new people, reserves and full timers.
    the €1,000 pays towards a holiday or part of it anyway...
    best of luck..

Hi lads,

I accept what Westcoastboy says about a lot of effort.......... going through it now...

Personally, I feel it is worth it,
    1. To prove to myself I can do it
    2. I've always wanted to join the full time force but economics dictate otherwise
    3. It's a very good in-sight into what full time members actually do.. also gives us an oppertunity to give back to community

If persons leave after a year that is their business.... I'm assuming as there are still reserves there over 2yrs it must be some reward
    (no disrespect intended at all).

If a member leaves af 1 year, I assume it's about reserves having limited powers. Surely joining reserves is nothing to do with power/power tripping (or is this the only reason anyone joins reserves to have power/power trip) rather than be a Garda presence (all be it a GR) and a bridge between local community and full time Guards!!

I don't think this is the forum to be discussing the above......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Sierra86

Hey,

New to this but have been reading this thread for awhile...got my letter this morning and have my interview and exam on the 20th..:eek: should be good though :cool:

Sierra86 wrote: »
    Hey,

New to this but have been reading this thread for awhile...got my letter this morning and have my interview and exam on the 20th..:eek: should be good though :cool:

I'm not the only one who got the letter this morning so :P

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Lads, as a Garda Reserve for 2 years now, i notice that people turn up and a lot leave after a year, even people with a lot of free time, so you go to all this trouble forms , medical etc, for what.
    The benefits are for me:
    it looks good on application forms for jobs, promotion.
    you are meeting new people, reserves and full timers.
    the €1,000 pays towards a holiday or part of it anyway...
    best of luck..
    GRHopefull wrote: »
    Hi lads,

I accept what Westcoastboy says about a lot of effort.......... going through it now...
    I don't think this is the forum to be discussing the above......
    [

Sorry you dnt think that it is the appropriate place,

I think that GRHopefull means that that kind if info would be more suitable in this forum here as opposed to this introductory thread. (I've copied your post over into that thread)

If I am right, then GRHopefull, while I appreciate your assistance, please try not to moderate in the forum (back-seat modding is not permitted).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭lippy88

february 2010 applied to GR.
    april 2010 interview and exam.
    may 2010 received e-mail confirming my acceptence(i sent away my BR form 2 weeks later).
    september 2010 meeting with Super-All went good:)
    Can anybody tell me is there a way to track my BR Checking?? I have seen maybe 2 or 3 posts already in this forum regarding this aswel but none have been answered to!Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Mc Jakester

Finally got word, Medical next month...all going well, Templemore February '11...Long wait 1 year 6 months....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Nikkigirl

Hi all
    well im new here,
    im waiting on a call for the medical,

took exam in febuary10
    br form april10
    interview with sgt may10
    interview with inspt may10

so im pulling up a chiar.............

ps; also rang hq couple of weeks back backgrond checks still been done-but im hoping that im in next months medical!!
    crossin my fingers

got a letter in the post this morning to say I passed the interview and report writing:cool::cool: Was sure I was going to be let down by the report writing as I ran out of time and didnt get to finish it, thankfully I did a very good interview.

Now to fill out the BR form:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭snorlax

applied 24th June..interview on the 17th November..:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭robo008

I did the first interview/test in April this year, BR form in same month I had the Sgts. interview as I handed in the BR form as he was on desk at the time and had a moment spare, (wish i had known as I was just out of work still in snickers and a raggy t-shirt) Had the Supt. Interview wit an inspector, as the Supt. was on leave in early June. Still havnt heard anything regards a medical or even if I have passed these interviews! Would love to start in the reserves before next regular Garda recruitment comes round, which I have heard is this month?????? Anyone care to add any information on this many thanks...

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭rookie09

Did you try ringing HQ regarding the status of your application...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭robo008

No i havnt rang HQ, is there a number specifically for applications or do you just their general line?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭dentalnurse

when are the background checks done? is it when you've completed your interview? iv sent my application how long do ye reckon il be waiting before i hear anything>?

I'll give u my dates...

Oct 08 I applied
    feb 09 I did the written and interview
    April 09 I did the Sargent interview
    June 09 super interview and checks sent off
    oct 10 they called for me to fill in an exemption form as I don't have maths
    now.... Waiting for the comissioners to say YES!!!

did my test and interview today..just about finished the test in time (literally the last word!(..people were lovely and its was only 20minutes :)..the test was 45minutes and half the people didnt show up who were suppossed to be there..pity

sept 10 I applied
    october 10 I did the written and interview
    november sent off BR form
    now the big wait:(

Applied March 2009 and passed Medical November 2010 ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭rookie09

kerry4sam wrote: »

Well done! I done it yesterday and passed...roll on february:D

• Registered Users Posts: 319 ✭✭lehanemore

Excellent news Kerry!!!

well done

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,684 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Go kerry! Here's hoping you don't have too much longer to wait.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Excellent news, I'm delighted for ya!

sent in my BR form...I presume they contact you for the medical and meeting with the superintendent? thanks!

if i only have two UK addresses (the rest are irish) is it likely to speed up the process?

• Registered Users Posts: 243 ✭✭Spartan09

Applied March 09, started training Feb 10, Attested Nov 10

• Registered Users Posts: 13 colmwills5

Hey Guys.
    Applied April 09
    Super interveiw Oct 09
    Medical 15 Dec 10
    Should Start training Either Feb 11 or Mar 11
    Can,t wait!! I've been waiting long enough.
    ROLL ON FEB 11:D

Applied March 2009
    TEMPLEMORE FEBRUARY 2011 HERE I COME :D